We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andy 13 loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Andy 13 loved it !”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here with my partner for 2 weeks (10th - 24th July 2013) & I must say after reading some of the reviews was a little worried, but shouldn't have been the holiday & hotel were fantastic.This hotel is right on the beach, the strip is minutes away with plenty of shops & bars.On arrival the reception staff was very friendly and helpful, we booked an extra option of a sea-view room which was out of this world (well worth paying extra for) having a view overlooking the pool & the beach, the bed was massive and very comfy,with maid service and clean towels in your room daily.The air con which is much needed was excellent & very quiet, asked for extra pillows & got them straight away.We were AI & found the food excellent with plenty of choice, as well as the chef making fresh pancakes at breakfast, omelettes at lunchtime, fresh carved joints on a evening & flambéed deserts on the occasional evening.The pool was very clean being cleaned every morning, plenty of sunbeds, some round the pool & others on the grass right in front of the lovely beach.Lovely staff serving the local brew Kappa( which my partner was well imprest with getting the nick name'' the beer man'')local spirits & cocktails,soft drinks tea & coffee at the pool bar which is open from 10am till 10pm (would have like this bar to be open longer at night as we prefer the outside bar atmosphere to the lobby bar upstairs). All the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our holiday which we did & now looking forward to going back here again next year. A BIG THANKYOU TO ALL THE STAFF & keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: Pay that bit more for the front sea view rooms the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irisN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    211
    122
    61
    30
See reviews for
209
397
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have given this hotel an average score, but would say it was average - good. The rooms are basic,don't know if ours was a refurbed room, but wallpaper in hotel rooms and corridors is not the best idea and was bashed and peeling throughout the hotel. The bathroom certainly had not been refurbed. On arrival, we only had 1 towel and 1 pillow each (very thin pillows at that!), the towel issue was rectified the next day - we arrived late at night, but the extra pillows never materialised after asking for 3 days. We did find our room noisy (220) - this was due to a bar on the corner, but when we complained the girl on the hotel desk said, they did not have a license to play loud music after a certain time and that she would call the police, obviously this is a regular occurrence and to be fair only happened on the weekends.

I did not like the fact that you had to pay a deposit for virtually everything, including the tv remote control (didn't bother), the fridge key.... plus 2 euros a day for the fridge, the safe and the beach towels.(normal) The aircon was free though and pretty quiet!!

On the plus side, we were able to change our half board option from evening to lunch by getting lunch vouchers daily, which made us free to meet up with friends in the evenings. We did actually enjoy the food for the lunchtime offer and on the 2 occasions we ate there in the evening. There was a pretty good selection. We were also given a free voucher for arriving late at night and missing an evening meal which was a nice touch. The outside areas, restaurants and pool, sunbeds I would say were the better parts of the hotel with plenty of thick padded beds round the pool - these were obviously taken everyday, early tho!! Very attractive outside areas for a 3 star. The hotel is right on the beach, so you get a much needed breeze, but you also get people coming in from outside the hotel to use the sunbeds which we didn't like. The beach and sea were very nice and there are areas in the sea where there are no rocks.

There are a huge amount of Russians in this hotel and resort, which on the whole tended to be rude and noisy. This is not a resort we would normally choose to go to, but were there with friends.If you want a quieter holiday, I would not recommend.We also do not normally stay at lower star hotels, but this resort seemed pretty expensive when we booked. I think this Hotel was probably more of a 3+ star, due to the outside areas. The staff were also on the whole, very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Probably go for higher rooms and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LexieLou_No9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Before we picked this hotel for our Holiday,We looked on trip advisor,at every hotel in protaras, this hotel was coming out top,so we booked it,first impressions it looked great,what a shock when we got in the room, it was like being in the middle of a disco, music was very load until 3am, from a bar across the road,we were on the second floor 212 over looking the car park, next morning we asked for a move rooms,we were given rooms on the same floor but on the oppersite side,which was a little quieter,at first every think looked fine,on a closer look the bathroom was was discusting,black grouting,the toilet seat moved every time you sat on it, `,you couldn't walk round the room bare foot,as you had all bits sticking to your feet,so I don't think the floors were cleaned every day the only good thing about the rooms was the beds were very comfortable,although we had to ask reception on the 8th day,if we could have clean linen on the beds,has the cleaner could not speak any English,and she didn't understand, Thats enough about the rooms,
We was half board breakfast and evenng meal,you could change you evening meal and have lunch if you wanted,you had to get a voucher from reception
,Where to start here,the food was not good at all,some days it was slop,we walked out a few times,when we did eat in there the dining room the staff was not very pleasant,they were ready to take your plate before you had finished, there was one waiter he smelt so bad,(BO) put you off you food anyway,the last time we visited Protaras was 14 years ago,things have changed a lot its full of restaurants and bars are just a few minuets away from the hotel but that's all there is,and a few super markets, The hotel was full of Russians, they are the most arrogant rude people I have ever met,they pushed me out the way one day so they could get in the lift,they also walk in front of you when waiting for the lift,they do the same in the restaurant,they smile at you knowing full well they had done,We usually go to 4 star plus hotels,and this was 3 star,may be we have been spoilt,but we paid good money for this hotel £3600 for the four of us for 14 days,we were ready to come home before the end of the first week,i shall never return to protaras the only good thing about this hotel its right on beach,think twice before booking here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

really don't know why people are moaning about the hotel your in a perfect place perfect up to date hotel rooms are lovely all you need the room for is to sleep air-con is nice and cool hotel is bang in the middle of everything the strip the beach one downside is there's to many Germans and Russians normally this time round there are loads of locals but there not rude there friendly hotel staff a lovely will be coming back in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Westcott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had a great sea view but that was the only positive, food was more than basic as was the drinks, if your vegetarian don't stay here coz it doesn't exist. Sunbeds are crammed together, it's near shops etc. if you want a tacky holiday go here, it all looks exactly the same everywhere you go, weather was fantastic but that was the only up side. We were recommended this hotel by a workmate, we bought him a present of gobstoppers, enough said!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crookycrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

- Perfect location,shops,great restaurants nearby & of course the beach!
- Paid extra for sea view room,requested high floor,quiet side & to be at near front of building- we did get this so was happy- however- the following morning after settling in we had a note put under our door, when we spoke to reception they offered us a promotional upgrade in a 4 star close by! Sounds great but its not a promotion,I turned it down as I was happy with our room,I was aware other guests had complained about their rooms & wasn't going to waste a morning moving to another hotel because the hotel couldn't meet the demands of other guests or because they had overbooked! ( this happens a lot at this hotel apparently).
- Food- we stayed B&B after reading reviews- glad we did- breakfast was ok but could have been better,some mornings it was a struggle- there are so many great restaurants along the strip no need to go all inclusive- drinks & ice creams along the beach & nearby shops were reasonable.
- Rooms average,bit dated but it is 3 star & who cares if your just sleeping there? So long as its clean which it was- maids cleaned rooms well & were very friendly.
- You have to pay for the fridge & ironing board.
- Yes there is some noise with a bar across the road nearby but not that bad to be honest, my little one had no problem sleeping.
Had a fantastic holiday but only because I had researched the hotel thoroughly & knew what to expect- location is amazing- fantastic restaurants,shops beach on your doorstep & nearly forgot to mention the local bus service- really good! Cheap, regular, we had a few day trips to Ayia napa,nissi beach & went a few times in the evening with young child great time! Funfair,great shops easy to get to the water park for a fun day out!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fi06098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

There is no doubt that this hotel is in a perfect location,but the hotel itself is in bad need of renovation. We (my husband, myself and 2 friends just returned after 10 nights) To say the rooms are tired and dated is being generous, they re appalling!!! Food not too bad usual hotel food, in 10 days the sheets were not changed once, and on 2 occassions there were no towels in the room the maid had left beach towels in bathroom. Oh talking of bathrooms ours had an overwhelming smell of urine, the maid didn't do her job very well either the room always looked just the same as we had left it except for the bed being tidied (not changed). Love this part of protaras but will not be returning to this hotel, if we had paid pennies we would have expected this kind of hotel but we paid 4* prices

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#47 of 65 in Protaras
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#34 of 65 in Protaras
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing