We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL STAFF EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent two weeks here started on 22nd september,Back again after 3 years only to find hotel decor the same as it was then


We spent two weeks here 22nd september,Back again after three years only to find the same decor as there was then.The lifts were new very good.Our room number was 210 right next to the lifts not recomended this was a meeting point for all coming and going plus it was right above the main entrance for arrivals and departures.On previous visits we had odd number rooms which put us away from this.It would have been nice to have the restaurant open in the evenings as it did blow a fair bit.
The resort was now a nice surprise it is now updated with walkways ramps,lights,drinking fountains.You can walk the whole resort now for miles wich we did a lot,it is lovelly for wheelchair users.To go back to the hotel we thought the food was good value for money.

Room Tip: Front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewarne296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sadly I have to report that I would not recommend this hotel other than for it's location on the Beach front. We booked a late trip out to Cyprus having been in Protarus for our main summer holiday renting a Villa within sight of the Silver Sands which at first glance seems a very nice hotel. How wrong could we have been, as basically the whole hotel is in need of some serious renovation as inside it is very dated and needs cleaning from top to bottom. Our room on arrival was not even properly cleaned with the previous occupants hair found on the floor under the dressing table along with various stains found on the bed covers, not a good start!! As we arrived in the evening and had booked Half Board we decided to go down to the Restaurant and eat. We got a half hearted welcome from the guy at the entrance and then proceeded to find a table (non of them were set and only had a table cloth on them) to sit at. The first table was still full of residue from the previous people who had eaten there and the 2nd one we found was not much better. However we sat and then placed a drinks order with the waiter who quite frankly reeked of B.O, sorry but that's how it was!! We then went to the Salad Bar where I witnessed two guests from Russia deliberating on what were the dressings in the serving pots and was then appalled as one of them took the serving spoon from the bowl, tasted the sauce in it, and then returned the serving spoon back into the bowl!!! Quite frankly at that point I said to my wife and daughter that we were going out for dinner and promptly left to go and eat at one of the many superb restaurants that we know in the resort!! The following morning we checked out and went to stay in an alternative hotel as there was no way we could have stayed a week in the Silver Sands. Still love Protarus, had a great week aside from the experience detailed and will still be going back to the resort next year, but most definitely not to the Silver Sands!!

Room Tip: There is no tip to help you choose a good room as they are all the same size they just have differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel early October. Had a night flight from Heathrow and arrived at 7am. To be fair did not book an extra night room but could not get in until 2pm. Did ask if had curtsey room but told no. We did get room 106 side view but near the sea and lovely view of Fig Tree Bay..so thank you to the lady on reception.
When we did finally get to our room clean and tidy ok for a 3 star. Bathroom a bit dated but clean. My husband asked for an extra pillow but never arrived. I have to say the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.
It did say about the environment and if your towels were ok to hang them up. They got take every day, unfortunately we didn't always get them back and had to ask on more than one occasion.
Food ok but a bit the same after a couple of nights. There was something for everyone.
I had a couple of massages while there by Alex... The man with the magic hands was totally relaxed and chilled. Overall not a bad hotel communal areas need a bit updating and some attention to detail in room ie. trunking not finished properly and cheap wooden floor.

Room Tip: Room 106 side sea view but over looking Fig Tree Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairebear2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a fantastic 2 weeks the end of September all inclusive at The Silversands Hotel. Firstly are room was lovely and the cleaners cleaned everyday. The staff, were do I start Ignasia from the cocktail bar & reception.is a very lovely friendly member of the team, happy smiling face when you approach the bar we will stay in touch forever. Then the bar staff and waiters/waitress's downstairs Vengelis, Pedora, & Elias and the girls all lovely terrible memory with names to all the kitchen staff. My only But but a big But is the entertainer a Bulgarian who never talks to English tourists he totally blanks you, he never once entertained in the hotel ??? WHY ?? the of employee's at the hotel work hard for their wages so why does he get paid for doing nothing ?? Oh sorry what he did do was take your room number when we arrived for our evening meal, but you had to approach him he would not ask you your room number. I know that for a fact as I said to my husband on a few nights I am not giving my number in if he doesn't ask and he never asked so I didn't give our room number in !! We had to leave our all inclusive and go down the strip as he never entertained once or is that so you don't stay and drink your all inclusive drinks ?? Well we have booked already for The Silversands Hotel next year but we have played it safe and booked half board incase you are crazy enough to employ this guys next season ?? at least that way we wont waste all inclusive !! Well keep up all the good work guys you know who you all are xx

Deanna & George Hart

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeannaHart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We just spent 2 weeks at the Silver Sands. We arrived around 11pm, and in all fairness, the staff on reception were pretty good and quite helpful, seeing as we had a 16 month old baby with us.

Our first impressions of our room (and the floor come to think of it) was that it was terribly dated, the bathroom looked as if it was still in the 90s and fair to say that the room could have done with its' fair share of TLC. That said, our room was kitted out with a travel cot for the baby and a nice clean bed. Little did we know that the beds wouldn't get any cleaner for the rest of the holiday.

The cleaning service left a lot to be desired - and this is my biggest bug bear. Our baby was teething terrible for the full 2 weeks, so some of his medicine etc was visible on the blanket at the bottom of the cot. So we assumed and hoped that this would be changed at least as regular as every third day, like the hotel brochure stated. But no...he slept on the same sheet for the full 2 weeks, regardless of how often we asked them to change it!!

I know Cyprus is a warm country, but seeing an ant infestation most mornings wasn't something that we anticipated. Every time we went into the room, we'd notice ants crawling from behind the skirting boards. Again, we complained, and again nothing was done. Cleaning was down to a minimum, and the ants were still saying hello when we left.

And then came the seemingly infamous double booking episode...not once but twice!! We told the so called manageress on the first occasion that we did not want to move, even to an all inclusive hotel, as we feared it would unsettle the baby. When they asked us again to move 3 days later, and when we declined their offer, the same manageress told us that "you cannot have a late check out then since you won't move hotel." Bearing in mind that the bus wasn't picking us up until 6pm, we were forced to check out at midday, and this upset the baby more than we ever imagined.

Believe it or not, there are one or two positives from the hotel, the location was great for the beach and the strip, the food was decent enough and the staff (apart from the manageress) were really good and accommodating, especially with the baby. And that's why I give our holiday a 2 star rating - if it hadn't been for the location, then I may have struggled to give it 1 star.

Room Tip: You can choose any room, but chances are, you would have been double booked anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just got back from a 7 night holiday at this hotel and I have good and bad comments...

Excellent location for beach and local bars, beautiful views, very clean, friendly staff, food ok

however we came here on an all inclusive holiday and this is not what we got.

I have stayed in all inclusive hotels all around the world and have never had such a poor all inclusive package.

ok so you got 3 meals, local beer, local spirits, very cheap wine and soft drinks that's it!!

No entertainment at all at the hotel day or night so as soon as you finish your meal on the evening the hotel shuts down you have to go out so what was the point in paying all inc when you have to go out to buy drinks all evening.

At lunch your only food option is to go into the restaurant as there is no snack bar,

The only time you can get food is the 3 specified meal times that's it.

As for the quality of the food its not the best but not the worst, however its tepid, cold wet plates, dried up salads, and if you don't each meat of fish forget it your option is potatoes.

all in all a nice hotel with ok food but don't go all inclusive

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel with friends for a wedding in Cyprus when we arrived late evening we had a drink and went to bed first impression was dated room when we got up the next morning the management wanted to see us we wondered what was up she told us they had overbooked and would we move to another hotel for the night and we would be upgraded to all inc for the week we did think there was a catch but no catch at all we moved for the night and came back next day taxi paid both ways for us it was a bonus even though we didnt use the all inc loads because we had 52 people on the resort for wedding. Staff were great especially vangelis on the pool bar I would go back as the beach front hotel is great hopefully it will be updated when closed for winter food was ok too

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £76 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing