We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver Sands Hotel Protaras Dont hesitate to book it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Silver Sands Hotel Protaras Dont hesitate to book it”
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We arrived back from the Silver Sands Hotel today 17/06/10 and had one of the best holidays ever. We were a little dubious about booking after reading some of the reviews especially regarding small rooms and the cleanliness of the hotel etc. Try it for yourself you will not be disappointed. The rooms are well equipped with a safety deposit box, television,fridge and hairdryer the bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water all day. Clean towels were left every day and the maids cleaned the room on a daily basis. We went bed and breakfast and there was plenty of foods to choose from they even had a chef cooking pancakes etc. The food was well cooked and replenished frequently.
The location of the hotel is directly on the beautiful Fig Tree Bay there are plenty of sunbeds and even cabanas around the grassed areas and the pool. It does get busy at weekends though when the local people come down but this is not a big problem. There are plenty of bars and restaurants just at the top of the road on the main strip. Would recommend Cheers for snacks and meals - huge portions! For something special try Eratos the food delicious and very welcoming staff.
There are plenty of watersports and boat trips which can be booked on the beach. If you want to see more of the island would recommend the Red Bus Company they do a village tour which is good. We did the trip to Famagusta with them to see the devastation caused by the invasion in 1974 . It is just a ghost town now hard to believe it was once the most popular area on the island and visited by all the rich and famous people. The guys who run the trips are very knowledgeable and friendly and the sight of a red London open top bus is quite a novelty.
We will be returning to the Silver Sands again very soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeffersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    192
    118
    61
    39
See reviews for
185
367
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Arrived at hotel about 2am with three sleepy kids. Straight to our rooms, 2 adults with child in each room. Two sea view rooms and one side sea view. Kids selected the rooms. The rooms were fine, the folding bed could have been a bit more substantial, our kids only weigh 4 stone. The rooms with sea view were very nice, the side one not so great. All rooms were clean and fresh linen provided as requested. All the public areas were spotless. We had to keep reminding the kids about toilet paper not down the pan, and after a history lesson by grandad they got the hang of it! The public toilets were kept very clean. This hotel is on the beach virtually, with sun beds on the grass and day beds dotted along the side, these were great for the kids to get out of the sun and sleep or play games. The animators organised pool games and competitions, beach games, and darts, table tennis. All games that everyone could join in, the parents enjoyed it as much as the kids! The food was very good, buffet style, but the kids had their own menu - chips with everything! our kids chose to eat from the adult buffet. They tried everything, and really enjoyed the food. No upset stomachs this holiday!
As a family of 6 adults and three kids I think we liked this hotel because we had both the beach and pool area to choose from. The kids all snorkelled over the rocks, found an octopus which they chased around the rocks, great fun. The water sports they enjoyed the pedalos with the slides, they also paraglided for the first time, The adults also jet skied, so something for everyone.
This was the grand parents third visit to Cyprus, the first with extended family including kids, everyone enjoyed it. The hotel, food, location, faciities, amenities were all at least 3*. I think our sons with their families will return here rather than Canary Islands in future years.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaySnodland_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Silver Sands in Protaras for 2 weeks - B&B - last June 2009. This was the 6th time Ive been to Cyprus and I must say I have never once been disappointed with the accommodation.
We were given a sea view room on the 3rd floor. It was clean, fresh towels every day, bed change once a week. The staff were polite and I felt no anxiety in leaving things out in our room when I knew the cleaners would be round (daily). We had air conditioning, a safe and a little fridge.
Breakfast was worth the money - fresh fruit, full english breakfast, donuts, cereals, toast, continental hams and cheeses every day. It was a help yourself buffet service and waiting staff were very quick to whip away your plates once you were finished or going up for another helping.
The hotel is on the beach and there was never a shortage of free sunbeds on the hotel grass. The pool was lovely and warm and the pool area kept clean.
We went snorkelling around the coral on the beach (there are rocky parts and sandy parts so something for everyone) and saw incredible brightly coloured fish everywhere.
Protaras has a huge selection of restaurants and bars in the evening. There are no nightclubs as such but we werent looking for that.
There are lots of supermarkets selling fresh breads and vegs for lunches (if you dont have that included).
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank parrbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

we had our first ever holiday abroad this year, and started our stay in the illiada beach hotel. we were offered a free upgrade to the silver sands which we accepted. from the moment you enter the lobby you can tell its a nice hotel, a friendly receptionist met us and signed us in. we were on the side which faces the illiada hotel, but could still see the sea from the balcony. the room was very clean and even had a kettle, something next door didnt!.
the restaurant is on level -2, but 2 lifts operate so never had to wait. staff in there were very friendly and always spoke and had a smile. the food was great, a good choice everyday, with a different theme for evening meals each night. lunchtime meals are huge, and plenty to choose from, even a section on the menu for the kids.
beach bar was always quiet, and you were served as soon as you got there, a large fresh orange juice was about 3 euros, can work out a bit expensive if you have kids in tow, so well worth paying the extra for all inclusive.
sunbeds were plentiful, all had little tables and parasols. pool was spotless although i didnt use it, as we were about 30 seconds walk from the sea! which was warm calm, and had lifeguards in attendance all the time. watersports were also available, but from private companies, i thought they were a little expensive in all honesty, but if thats what you are going for, then they are right there on the beach.
all in all an excellent first holiday, and we will definately be going back there

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

i went for a week for a wedding. in total there were 30 of us, 12 staying at this hotel.
i was in a room on the 4th floor, which the only complaint i can make about this is the lack of storage space. i was basically living out of my suitcase, and that you have to pay for a key to fridge (in some rooms) as there were so many of us we were able to compare rooms.

our room was cleaned and beds made everyday around 12, but we were up before that due to the building work that was going on opposite our balcony (in front of the main entrance) out of control of the hotel i know but why so early!

i wouldnt recommend on going all inclusive or half board. we were b&b, breakfast was the same everyday. fried eggs, scrambbled eggs, runny beans, bacon, some sort of roast potatoe and then sumtimes fried bread and hard boiled egg.
everyday there would be a random chef in the middle of the room cooking either pancakes or omlets, which was nice, there was also a selection of cakes, cereals and fruits. then obviously your tea coffee hot chocolate and fruit juice, and a toast making machine.
the staff were all brilliant (one of the waiters sounded like beevis or butthead and called every woman jane, amusing for the first couple of days)

the sunbeds for the hotel were on a grassy area so no sand on your towels :)
and very comfortable.
then there were more on the beach (about a foot away from the grass) but you have to pay for them, but there are more than enough around the pool (which wasnt too cold).

the location is fabulous! out of the hotel, turn right and your on the main strip. bars restaurants and shops (recommend happy days shop on corner and rives bar/restaurant as well as cheers)
but all were good.

will be going back to protaras, and this area. maybe not this hotel as like to see what else is out there, but if there were no other options i wouldnt think twice about staying here, i had a wicked time!

make sure you meet the receptionist at night, jim. lol

the weather at this time of year, 34 degrees the hottest, and 31 lowest! very nice tan, and if you dont like the sun too much, there are enough umbrellas and shade.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samip2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the silver sands hotel, protares. And overall we were really pleased with the hotel. Yes their is building work going on across the road from the reception and we did hear a few people moan about it but we had a room on the other side of the hotel so it didn't bother us. The room itself was fine with a nice side view of the sea, the bathroom was clean and the maids came in every day to clean, empty bins etc. We did have the odd spell of ants in the room but it was only one day so it really wasn't a problem. I wouldn't bother hiring the remote for the t.v for 10 euro because you only get one english channel to watch which wasn't very exciting. The location of the hotel was brilliant, right on the beach and right in the middle of the protares 'strip'...the noise from which we barely heard. Would recommend Promises restaurant and the olympus. We paid 15 euro to go on open top red bus tour which we thought was very imformative and at around 3 hours long was value for money. We wouldn't recommend going to larnaca sunday market, it,s probably the worst market we,ve been to, we thought if we didn't like the market we could go and look around larnaca..but the market is probably 5 or 6 miles out of larnaca so your pretty much stranded for two hours. But all in all it was a great holiday and we wouldn't hesitate in going back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinTipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Just back from Silver Sands, we stayed B&B, hope the following helps future travellers:-

Good points - hotel right on the sandy beach, good central location for Protaras, staff helpful and polite as usual for Cypriots. Fairly good value for money despite Euro poor exchange rate. Hotel pool clean and plenty of sunbeds.

Not so good points - The hotel has a problem with flies, at breakfast they are all over the food, its impossible to eat inside or out without flies bothering you constantly. Other guests were always talking about them. Some people either didn't have breakfast or took the food to their rooms. One guest invested in flyswot and a can of fly spray! Flies are also a problem around the hotel pool.
Hotel linen was stated to be changed every 3 days, we stayed 6 are none of ours wasn't changed at all. Rooms are dated and bathrooms need a total overall. Ours even had a complementary cockroach!! Maid service is minimum sometimes you got the right number of towels, loo roll etc sometimes you got none!!

The main areas of the hotel are modern with the reception area being impressive, the bedrooms need to be updated now.

We ate out in the many modern restaurants in Protaras where you can have a meal for 4 for 30 euros. Lots of bars, supermarkets and Rosso bakery is a must at the top of the road.

If the hotel overcomes the fly problem and updates the rooms then yes we would recommend this hotel to others. Otherwise head to Capo Bay hotel or Sunrise Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#47 of 65 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#23 of 65 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 65 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#33 of 65 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#11 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Address: Dimokritou 3, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing