We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Cyprus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pernera Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Trip to Cyprus”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was mine and my wives first trip to Cyprus and found our stay here very relaxing and comfortable. The hotel is very clean and well looked after and we found that there was always loungers available ( although if you would like one by the pool itself I suggest you are up early ).
The hotel also has its own private section of beach which is small but as an option there is a large section of beach next door but this is open to the public and loungers and umbrellas are charged.

Off of this beech there is a broadwalk the me and my partner took a stroll along. Its a lovely walk which takes you right through to fig tree bay and beyond where we stopped for a lunch in one of the many bars etc available. A bus is available to take you back but I suggest you walk back too as we found out how much we had missed walking there.

In the opposite direction there is a small church over looking a harbour ( this is shown in the picture I have uploaded ) which I recommend doing of an evening as the sun sets as the views is stunning.

The entertainment within the hotel I found ok although in some areas lacking. If you don't like ABBA be prepared as this is a nightly choice of music.

The rooms are perfect for what you need. Spacious, comfortable and well decorated. Little niggle was that the air con in the room would not go lower than 18C and the tv quality is very juddery unless you want the news haha.

Food reviews I have seen are very mixed. In my view the food was fine, not great but fine. All was cooked well and yes is recycled in areas but in the likes of soups and salads. Speciality nights were also a welcome treat. The desserts made are proper tasty and a high recommendation. The wine available is also tasty and better than most house wines in resturants.

During your stay I highly recommend trying sizzlers which is just outside the complex. The steak is beautiful.

The big purpose of our holiday was to surprise our friend for his 50th birthday, which I believed worked perfectly and to also celebrate both me and my partner and our friends 10 year anniversaries. Another good holiday with them to remember and look forward to the next one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyYidzHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    397
    106
    29
    7
See reviews for
455
505
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here on a seven day holiday early July with First Choice. The transfer from the airport was only 50 minutes and on arrival what a lovely clean hotel. Check in was very smooth and the staff explained everything.We had two rooms on the third floor facing the pool and beach wow what a view to wake up to each morning. the rooms were well presented and the beds comfortable.There was a free safe and fridge.
Breakfast was taken in its own restaurant near reception. You could either have a cooked selection or continental.
Lunch and Dinner were taken in the Taverna near the beach. Selection was good with plenty of options.
The animation team were always on the go but you were never pushed into joining in.Day time activities included archery darts volleyball football and aerobics in the pool.Evening entertainment was very good as well .
All the cleaning staff and bar staff are extremely friendly.
There is a small shop in the hotel where you could buy souvenirs and newspapers.
Over all a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from our Family Holiday in the Pernera Beach Hotel. We stayed here from June 29th- 17th July 2013.
When we booked our holiday in February this year one of the main reasons for us picking this hotel from the other few we had selected was because of the Kids club for our 4 year old Daughter as the age for the kids club was 4-12 years but on arriving at the hotel there was a poster on the Entertainment board saying that it was 5-12 years now. Was a bit of a disappointment for our Daughter when she was told that she wasn't able to attend because she wasn't old enough after us telling her about the children's club. The kids club is organised by a group of Russian girls and some of the female English speaking Entertainers help out for the english speaking children. There is also a mini disco on at night for the children and the girls from the kids club are there to dance with the kids and show them the moves. The Disco is also kept at a nice calm manner with no one screatching through the sound system like most hotels.
All of the staff at the hotel where always smiling and welcoming you each day and always keen to know how you where enjoying your holiday everyone always had a smile on their face and you could tell that they really loved their job. We would like to give a special mention to Marius and George who worked at the restaurants who always just went that extra mile for everyone (especially my daughter) from the minute you enter till the minute you leave after meal times nothing was ever a hassle for them and they always made us feel welcome and again you could tell these two really enjoyed and loved their job.
We didn't enjoy the food at the Hotel and we chose to eat out in the evenings due to this. Breakfast was our most enjoyable meal of the day in the hotel . They did all the usual things for breakfast that you would expect to see. Lunch we tended to eat at the bar beside the pool. they did Pizza, toasties,fish fingers, chicken nuggets ( only on a Tuesday and Friday they would do the nuggets at the snack bar but if you chose to go to the restaurant you could have them every day. Also the chicken nuggets where just like McDonalds chicken nuggets i actually couldn't tell the difference.) Chips , burgers, Hot dogs ( only on a sunday would you get the hotdogs but are great too!)
The beach at the hotel was okay the sea was a bit rocky but if you went down to Fig Tree Bay it was just perfection! The water was crystal clear and not a rock in sight!!.
Now for the best bit...............MIKE, DESS, MIGLENA (MEGI BUT SPELT MAGI) JESSICA and AILSA You all make the hotel what it is. I believe that its because off all your hard work and efforts is the reason if not everyone then most people come back to this hotel. There was so many people we spoke to who said that they where here last year and came back this year to see you all as you all made such a big impact on their holiday last year they wanted to come back and see you all. You really all go that extra mile to make everyone feel Important and take them under you wings as a friend ( Especially Caoimhe my daughter) . The shows you guys all put on are fantastic everyone is always laughing along with you all during your shows which you all go that extra mile for! The team do a picture quiz every night which always gets groups of people talking as your asked to swap your paper with the next table for marking so thats always a great ice breaker to get other people talking to each other. There is always Bingo every other night and the prize money when we where there was never below 105 euro so its always a nice wee holiday top up. Mike also does tombola the nights Bingo isn't on and the prizes for this is great also........ . I can't pin point out what our favorite show was as we enjoyed them all . Make sure not to miss the Fire show or the Magician.
Mike's team are also in charge of the daily activities but there is never any Push from the team to make you join in like other hotels we have been to. The Dess and the girls will walk around the pool and give you a 10 minute notice of when the game will start and come back around and call out again when the game has a few minutes to start and thats it. If you wish to join in then you do so and if not enjoy your sleep in the sun!!
One Stop Entertainment You have a very special Team at Pernera Beach Hotel and I hope it doesn't go unrecognised.

Dess, Michael, Miglena, Jessica, Ailsa, Marius and George Thank you for making Caoimhe's Holiday Special and of course Mine and Kevins too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0nna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

stayed at this hotel from the 29th of june till the 7th of july ,. went out for my 50th birthday , my husband wrote to the hotel to let them know and they had left a bowl of fruit and a bottle of spamanti on ice for me , the welcome from stavros on the desk couldnt of been any better , the room was lovely with a view of the bay , and a king size bed , it was the first time that we havnt paid for a safe ,. and theres also tea and coffee with a kettle ,which was a bonus. the hotel is spotless , there was always cleaners around , who were very friendly ,the hotel is in a perfect location ,with no rowdy crowds , if you want this then go into protaras,. a visit in to famagusta is a must ,we went by car , but had to have a visa , theres a lovely square there with a fab 12th centuary church , and a great beach with crystal clear water , ..the dining and lunch area in the hotel is on the beach , the staff here work very hard well done to marias who didnt stop smiling ,. you could tell he loved his job , also maria ,who also gave you a good welcome we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel ,. . well done to all the staff and managment and a quick mention for vicky who collected the glasses at the bar ,. (well done ), hope to come back again , and please ignore any bad reviews of this hotel , we couldnt fault it ,

Room Tip: try to get a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I booked with First Choice to come here and celebrate my 50th birthday and we were not disappointed.

We arrived very late on Sunday evening as we were the last Thomson flight to arrive at Larnaca airport but the reception staff were very welcoming, sending us down to the bar for a welcome cool drink and a cheese and ham toastie before booking in. The reception area is very clean, modern and welcoming and everything was very well explained to us before we made our way to our room. As said in a previous review we had to use our room swipe card to activate the lift.

We entered our room (number 485 which the receptionist promised was one of the best!!) and wow!!! The room was large, clean, modern and the view from the balcony even at night was amazing, It was air conditioned (which would turn off when the balcony door was opened) and the beds were very comfortable, but a small grumble here is that they were twin beds that moved apart as soon as we sat on them and the maid would insist in making them up as singles every day. There was a free safety deposit box, fridge (with a bottle of water in, which when used was not replaced) and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large and the shower was very good. The sound insulation was very good and we did not hear our neighbours at all during the holiday. There was also a flat screen TV which had BBC and ITV channels but sadly the signal was very intermittent at times (but still managed to watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon).

This is our 4th All Inclusive holiday and the food here was not as good as we have experienced before but was of a good standard. It was always well cooked and well presented but lacked variety. The restaurant staff deserve a mention though as they were always polite, spoke and were welcoming at all times and worked very hard to maintain a clean, welcoming environment in which to eat. Breakfast was in the restaurant beside reception and lunch and dinner was in the taverna at the far end of the hotel overlooking a wonderful sandy bay.

We celebrated my 50th birthday on the first Friday (5th July) of our holiday and it is here that the hotel staff excelled themselves. My wife (without my knowledge) organised breakfast in bed with Champagne, and also booked a table at the 'a la carte' restaurant in the evening. She supplied some banners and balloons and the restaurant staff decorated our table and there was also a birthday cake at the end of a wonderful meal. My wife said they bent over backwards to accommodate all her wishes and nothing was too much trouble. A big Thank You to you all involved for making it such a memorable day.

The animation team worked very hard to motivate us but also were not pushy and were happy to leave you alone if that is what you wanted. There evening shows were put on at one end of the bar area which mean't that it was difficult to view what was happening unless you were fortunate to get seats right at the front. One downside we encountered on one evening after the magic show (which was one of the best shows), they brought a rabbit that was used in the show out so the children could have a photograph with it, but due to a lack of supervision it descended into a bit of a bun fight resulting in the poor rabbit being mauled, poked. prodded, suffering flash photography and generally frightening the life out of him. It left a bit of a bad taste in the mouth and was not nice to see.

The location of the hotel is very good and is in a quiet area but if you walk up the road you soon come across some bars (Mexican Ranch Bar, Blues Brothers Review was very good here) and restaurants (Sizzlers, were we had a fantastic steak meal). Also the bus stop is located up here and you can catch a bus into Protaras or onto Ayia Napa to get to the very good water-park for only 1.50 euros each. If you walk around the sandy bay from the Taverna you then find the boardwalk which takes you all the way to Protaras and is well lit at night (takes approx 25 to 30 mins). If you walk up the coast in the opposite direction then you will come across a delightful small church by a small harbour.

Overall we had a fantastic 2 weeks in Cyprus and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The icing on the cake for me was the surprise arrival of our dear friends from London to help us celebrate the second week.

Room Tip: Go for full sea view or partial sea view rooms and you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andylizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

11 night stay. Was a fabulous holiday hotel staff were extremely helpful, bar staff were excellent too! It was a beautiful setting, with a lovely view from our room of the small cove to the right of the hotel. The food was very nice, with plenty of options and varieties to choose from. At breakfast it was well organised with different stations. You could choose from from continental style breakfast, toast, different types of bread, various cereals, croissants and pastries with condiments. Then there was the hot breakfast options, eggs, beans, sausages, bacon (streaks) not rashers, fried potato cubes etc. There was also pancakes with syrup, sugar and fruit sauces available, as well as porridge and a large selection of fruits. At lunch there would be a soup to start, if not you could go straight on to your main. There was a huge selection of salads, fish based also. Pizza, grilled meats such as pork and fish steaks. There was always something available you would like. Desserts were mainly mousse based, rather sweet, but the berry cheesecake was lovely! At dinner the buffet style was repeated with same types of salad etc but different meats, fish and pasta dishes available. At dinner however there were two soups available the veg soups was very tasty. The desserts were altered but primarily stayed sweet and mousse based. Lunch and dinner were set in the taverna which overlooked right on the cove so it was a beach front restaurant as was the hotel. If you didn't fancy lunch one day you could go to the snack bar which was open from 10:00 - 18:00 this offered a large array of typical fast food but was very tasty. Also if you struggled to get up there was a late risers brunch between 10:00 and 11:00 which offered a continental style breakfast. The daily activities were always a great laugh with Dess from the animation team working tirelessly, this made the holiday that bit more enjoyable! You had many activities to choose from such as French balls, water polo, volley ball, football, table tennis, archery all supervised by Dess and all the hotel guests who participated did so with a friendly sporting attitude. So many friendships stemmed from theses activities. Also Megi did daily aqua aerobics, stretching and Zumba style dancing with the pool. She also supervised killer pool. Jess had an amazing voice and supervised other activities such as killer darts. Mike was usually dj ing and tried really with his jokes which made them funny. It was not just these four who were apart of the animation team but these four stood out for my family and I, Dess especially as it was evident just how relentlessly he worked! Bar staff were great as we're the cocktails! Would definitely look to return to the Pernera beach hotel! Also I would highly recommend doing the big red bus trip to Famagusta which was extremely interesting!

Room Tip: 4th floor had a better view of the other coves along the coastline. You could see as far as fig tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott08300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just got back from 11 days at Pernera Beach.Six of us in family, grandparents, parents and two teenage children. First impression on arriving at hotel at 11.30 p m was high standard of cleanliness. We were warmly welcolmed and advised to drop our cases off in our rooms then to go to the bar where we could order toasted sandwiches and drinks. We had a room overlooking the beach with breathtaking views. Room was basic, beds comfy .Nice to have teamaking facility and fridge. Free safe was a bonus. Soap only in bathroom, had to buy shower gel in hotel shop. Some food was rustic ( meat chunky and on bone ) but there were other meat dishes.Good variety salads, pastas, hot vegetables. Soup went down well with family. Desserts were eyecatching but a tad sweet. Ice cream not an alternative at mealtimes but could be asked for at bar, also fresh friut bar. Our portion sizes got smaller as the week went on whilst our waist size expanded !!! The bar staff were very hardworking, very few queues. I heard a remark that they were miserable, but they were willing to share the odd joke with me.Treat people nicely and they usually respond likewise.The entertainment team were good, but I have to single out Dess who does an outstanding job of entertaining you from
10 am untl 11.30 pm. with one day off a week. His energy and enthusiasim knows no bounds. He has the ability to get people from many countries together, participating in boules, archery , water polo, volley ball and football.He has a big personality and included us all, young and the more mature in the fun and games. Evening entertainment was good, parrot show, magic show ,fire eating and entertainment teams version of Mama Mia. All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely revist this hotel. Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwyneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#16 of 65 in Protaras
1,113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
1,087 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#15 of 65 in Protaras
863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pernera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernera Beach Hotel

Property: Pernera Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 33005 | Ifaistou 17, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#8 Family Hotel in Protaras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pernera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in "Pernera", a small area on the outskirts of Protaras, which has developed into a resort of its own. The hotel is right on the sandy beach of this quiet resort with restaurants, bars and many shops nearby. The Pernera beach hotel has a rich variety of sport and leisure facilities including:supermarket/souvenir shop, conference room, hairdressing salon, squash court, whirlpool bath, sauna, gym, massage room, two floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court, mini football ground, darts, games room, sun terraces, lounge bar, children playground, indoor swimming pool, a large outdoor swimming pool, children's swimming pool, a scuba diving center, water sports and a great variety of in-house entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pernera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pernera Beach
Pernera Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing