We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel bent over backwards for our sons wedding in August”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pernera Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel bent over backwards for our sons wedding in August”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This Hotel is fantastic.There were 63 of us who travelled for two weeks for our son and daughter in laws wedding in July/August 2014..The food was great lots of different choices.Bedrooms very clean as was the rest of the hotel.Hotel staff were very friendly and worked very hard as indeed did the entertainment team.Nothing was too much trouble.If you are planning a wedding do not hesitate to book,our son and daughter in law decided to have there reception on the beach instead of the room they had said they wanted.they more than accomadated them.Thank you to all the staff we will certainly be back
Mrs Pauline Campbell.

Room Tip: just facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulinedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    368
    98
    28
    7
See reviews for
424
467
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the first time as a family of three that we had stayed in Cyprus. We choose the hotel based on its location and very good reviews from Trip Advisor. We booked with First Choice and flew out on a Thomson flight from Gatwick.

On arrival at the hotel, which is about an hours drive from the airport, on an air-conditioned coach, we were greeted by the First choice/Thomson rep and pointed in the direction of the check in desk. We were checked in very quickly and given good instructions on how to get to our room, but more importantly information about the hotel, beach towels, restaurants and timings for breakfast lunch and dinner. We stayed in room 155. There are no ground floor rooms. The room we had was a family suite with a large balcony. Unfortunately our view was of a supermarket and what looked liked an abandoned building site. Having said that we don’t normally use our balcony, unless we need to dry some clothes, so the view wasn’t a deal breaker. The room itself was nicely appointed, very clean and modern. We had a kettle, TV, bath, shower and a box next to the bed, which controlled all the lights, which meant no one had to get out of bed to turn the lights off. A nice touch. Rooms are cleaned daily and sheets are changed twice a week with towels being changed every three days.

The hotel itself is kept clean and tidy and there is a modern feel about it. Some areas need attention, but like most hotels nothing is ever perfect.

The pool area is kept clean and tidy. Pool/beach towels are changed every three days. You are requested not to reserve sun loungers, but this seems to be ignored! If you have not been down to reserve a sun lounger by 8am, the chances of getting one are slim. It seems people reserve them very early. You will see them not being used until around lunchtime, which is very frustrating!!

Even though it has “beach” in the title, don’t be fooled! The tiny piece of beach they own is very small and holds only a very small number of sunbeds. Getting into the sea from the beach is not easy, as you have to cross some very rocky areas. There is a sort of slipway down to the sea, but again this gets very hot and is also quite rocky and slippery. The best beach is Pernera beach itself, which you can use, but you must pay for any sun loungers and parasols (these are the blue ones). Here you will find a nice sandy beach, although its not white sand and therefore the beach gets very hot to the touch. The sea is lovely and warm and very clear. There is a watersports center, on Pernera beach, where you can pay for a whole host of activities, including jet skies, para sailing, banana boat rides etc.

Breakfast is good. There is plenty to choose from. They have hot porridge, pancakes, an assortment of Danish pastries and cookies, yoghurt, sliced meats and cheese, cereals and plenty of fresh fruit. You can also help yourself to tea, coffee and fruit juice and soft drinks. Breakfast is also open until 11am when a continental breakfast is served.

The pool bar is where you will get the majority of your drinks from and this is open form 10am until midnight. From 11am the pool bar serves snacks until 6pm. These include, chips, warm pitta, toasted sandwiches, nuggets burgers and pizza slices.

The buffet restaurant was good. There was always plenty of variety on offer. One report suggest that it is pork every night, well that might be the case, but there was always fish, pasta, lamb, chicken, beef and turkey to go with it. We found that each night there was enough of a varied menu to provide choice as to what to have. There were also plenty of fresh salads and soups. They also provide plenty of desserts and fresh fruit with cheese and biscuits.

We had the opportunity to dine in the Thallasa restaurant, which is the a la carte restaurant on site. We were given a complimentary meal and we found it very enjoyable. Its nice to have a sit down meal and get waited on now and again. The food was good, the service was good and I would recommend giving the Thallasa restaurant a go.

There is a supermarket on site, which sells a broad range of products from newspapers to drink, ice creams, snorkeling masks, hats sun cream and many other items. If you want to venture out, just up the road is a small town with plenty of bars and restaurants, along with supermarkets, (not big ones and they all sell the same and the prices are very much the same too). There are also several souvenir shops, a Doctors and a pharmacy.

The town of Pretoras is a short bus ride, which is around €1.50 or you can take a taxi for around €7-10. The hotel will arrange a taxi for you.

The hotel caters mainly for UK visitors and those from Russia. The split seemed to be about 55% UK 40% Russian and the rest are from Europe and some locals, who manly visit at the weekends.

Wifi at the hotel is free, but its best used in the morning or early evening. You can get coverage in the main reception and by the pool bar. I did manage to find a spot around the pool where coverage was excellent, but again this is during the daytime.

The entertainment team are great. They do a great job of getting people involved, but there is no pressure. They are happy to stop and have a chat about your holiday.

All in all we had a great time. The weather was fantastic and we meet some really friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms without a sea or pool view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steventon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Had an amazing holiday at the Pernera Beach from start to finish. Staff were so friendly. Food and drinks were good plenty of variety. Lovely room comfy bed and very clean nice to have a fridge and Safe in the room at no extra cost. Will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

1st i wanted to mention Stavros on reception....cuddnt have had a warmer friendlier guy to greet us after arriving late evening after an awful flight...top bloke...right my holiday...there were 9 of us and we all enjoyed it....its well worth upgrading to superior rooms...views were fantastic n modern bright clean rooms with huge comfy beds....n loved the 'mood lighting' in room n hallway nice touch...every1 on reception was very helpful..our kids loved the entertainment and the team try to work hard...pool was nice but little frustrating that sunloungers were took early by selfish guests that didnt use them till hours later!!!.....and although its the hotels policy not for this to happen...it does...the views when sitting outside to eat lunch was beautiful...but must say there understaffed and it was alittle manic at times felt alittle sorry for the 2 waiters working outside.....was disappointed with the food....was hard to tell what it was half the time and looked like slop n quite unappertizing....but it filled a hole i guess....so room for improvement on the food other than that a gr8 holiday had by all :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leisab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Pernera Beach hotel. Cyprus is lovely and we had a great time....BUT....

Check in.
We arrived late at night. Fast check in. Had to take our own bags to the room in a ridiculously small and hot lift. No water provided (no shops open) so bought water from the bar area. Dont think this is acceptable in an all inclusive hotel! The little things count.

Rooms
We paid extra for a family room...not sure it was worth the extra £300 as there was still only a camp bed and our double. Air con was non existent and constantly reset to 24 degrees which meant we woke in the night and had to change it. Bathroom was ok..the beds were so hard! It was like sleeping on the floor.

Cleanliness
Cleanliness coats nothing!! Reception was clean and modern. The pool was disgusting. We didn't allow our son in it for long as you couldn't see your own feet in the water! Tiles around the pool mucky. On more than one occasion trays p plates left outside people's rooms from the night before and not cleared away til the next afternoon.

Sunbeds
Despite hotel rules Sunbeds were saved and their were not enough to go round. We ended up paying for loungers on the beach in order to get a spot some days. Other days we managed to get on the grassy area. The beds were really uncomfortable too.

Food and drinks
The drinks had such a small amount of alcohol and were not refreshing at all. They tasted awful. The bar area smelt of old beer. Food was ok to fill a hole but nothing special. Quite bland and re used from lunch to dinner. A la carte was also nothing special...over cooked steak and prawns. We ate out in local restaurants so really wished wed not paid for all inclusive.

All in all not our cup of tea...would return for a cheap room only deal as pernera
beach and protaras are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunworhiper83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Such a lovely hotel on the beach. Clear sea and soft sand with watersports if desired- cheaper than the main Protaras beach and no where near as busy! Staff in every area of the hotel were great, food was dif every night and drinks were very varied! A la carte restaurant was fantastic! Rooms were modern and cleaned every day at a high standard. Only €8 to main Protaras town which takes about 5 mins in a taxi or you can bus for €1.50! As a young couple, I feel it was great but also caters well for families; we met so many lovely people in addition to the staff. Would def go again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L13_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My boyfriend and I, who are both 24, stayed at the Pernera Beach for 2 weeks in August and had the most amazing time! From start to finish our holiday was pretty much perfect and I would have loved to stay for longer! It was our first time in Cyprus and we would definitely return.

We arrived at about 3am after a very long day and turbulent flight, and were met by the very friendly Stavros, who always has a smile on his face! It was lovely to have such a warm welcome. All of the hotel staff are absolutely fantastic, so friendly and helpful, I can't praise them enough. It really makes a difference to your holiday!

We booked a sea view room which was well worth the extra money as we had a lovely view of the pool and the sea, beautiful to wake up to in the morning! The pool at the hotel wasn't huge but it never got too busy. Pool sunbeds went quite quickly but we preferred to sunbathe on the lovely grassy area beside the pool as there was much more of a breeze here and a better view of the sea. We never struggled to get a sunbed, despite waking up at 11am some days!

The food at the hotel was brilliant - much better than other all inclusive hotels we have stayed in. Breakfast had a huge selection of cereals, yoghurts, cakes, fruit as well as full English breakfast and freshly made pancakes and omelettes. Something to suit everyone! Lunch and dinner were served in a different restaurant to breakfast, which overlooked the beach and was lovely to sit outside and enjoy your meal. There was a different theme each day, such as Cypriot, Greek, Italian, Mexican, etc. Every day there was a huge selection of meat, fish, potatoes, pasta, salads, soups... we never struggled to find something we liked! They didn't repeat too many of the dishes either which was good, especially being there for 2 weeks as in previous hotels I have been sick of the food by the second week! There was always chips and more basic food for fussy eaters, but we loved to try all of the different dishes, especially on Greek and Cypriot night. During our stay the hotel had an 'International Evening' with live music, smoked salmon canapés and champagne which was really nice too. Desserts were always beautifully presented and tasted delicious, and there was always ice cream too. I really couldn't fault the food, as although some days there were a few strange dishes, I always found something I liked. the hotel also has an A la Carte restaurant called 'Thalassa', which all guests get one free meal in, and then 25% off if they want to return. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here and would recommend!

Drinks at the hotel were great - important when you are all inclusive! There was a long cocktail list to choose from which I was very pleased about, and although some of them were slightly synthetic tasting, most of them were lovely! The wine was really nice, and my boyfriend liked the beer although he said it was quite weak. The hotel had a wide range of spirits and liquors, including local substitutes for drinks like amaretto, malibu, tia maria and baileys.

The hotel entertainment team were great, especially Mike, Laz and Kitty, who were so friendly. They ran a range of daytime activities like water polo, archery, darts, yoga, water aerobics, etc, for those who like to join in - we preferred not to and were never hassled like we have been in some hotels before! The evening entertainment could be a bit hit and miss, but most nights were really good. The fire show in particular is brilliant, the parrot show is really good fun, and the Cypriot dancing was great too! We spent most evenings by the hotel bar but there are quite a lot of bars and restaurants in the local area (5 min walk) to go to if you prefer to go somewhere different.

The hotel location is really good - we visited Protaras during our stay, which is the main resort, and were so glad we chose to stay in Pernera instead. Pernera is far more unspoilt and picturesque, with lots of little bays and coves, a lovely little harbour and traditional Greek church within walking distance, but with a good amount of shops, bars and restaurants too. You can walk to Protaras in about 20-25 minutes along a coastal path. Protaras is far livelier and busier - worth a visit but better to stay in Pernera. There are buses that run to Protaras really regularly and very cheaply, as well as cabs which the hotel can book for you. You can also get the bus/cab to Ayia Napa, which is worth a trip if you've never been!

There is a range of trips and things to do in the area but we preferred to relax most of the time! We did a 3 hour boat trip from the little harbour by St Nicholas church (Golden Coast harbour) which cost 10 euros and was well worth it. The boat took us to see Famagusta (the deserted town) and Cape Greco, with a stop for swimming in the sea. You can go in the morning or afternoon, and it's a really nice half day out. We also walked to Profitas Elias Church, which is on top of a hill overlooking all of Protaras - it is 156 steps up the hill but a spectacular view and lovely breeze at the top!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday, the location, staff, food and hotel were all perfect! The only thing that bothered us was having to wait until our last day to book a late stay room - we weren't being picked up until 9.30pm on our departure day, and despite asking when we checked in, were told we had to wait till our last day to see if there was availability. Luckily there was, so there was no problem, but it would be best to be able to pre-book this to avoid worrying about wasting your last day. If you are considering booking this hotel I would definitely recommend it - you'll have an amazing time and not regret it!

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view and it was definitely worth it, amazing views from our balcony, especially ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becca_189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pernera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernera Beach Hotel

Property: Pernera Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 33005 | Ifaistou 17, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#8 Family Hotel in Protaras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pernera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in "Pernera", a small area on the outskirts of Protaras, which has developed into a resort of its own. The hotel is right on the sandy beach of this quiet resort with restaurants, bars and many shops nearby. The Pernera beach hotel has a rich variety of sport and leisure facilities including:supermarket/souvenir shop, conference room, hairdressing salon, squash court, whirlpool bath, sauna, gym, massage room, two floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court, mini football ground, darts, games room, sun terraces, lounge bar, children playground, indoor swimming pool, a large outdoor swimming pool, children's swimming pool, a scuba diving center, water sports and a great variety of in-house entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pernera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pernera Beach
Pernera Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing