We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pernera Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alva Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$201
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capo Bay Hotel(Protaras)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mandalena ApartHotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Coast Beach Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anastasia Beach Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Amore Hotel Apartments(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$147
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel(Protaras)(Great Value!)
US$102
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
670
416
118
32
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
416
118
32
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantanimation teamsea viewfire shownext yeartoasted sandwichswim up roomfree mealbreakfast restaurantfamily suiteadult poolbar stafflovely hotelfree safetoastiesayia napaevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We booked this hotel to be close to friends who live a long way away in the uk. We decided against Protaras itself as we felt it would be too touristy and busy for us. Thank goodness we did not book there - we went once for a drive round at night - it seemed like Blackpool! We also went in the day after a good game of mini-golf - every bar (mostly themed) had big screens with football blaring out. We were so happy to get back to Pernera.

The hotel is fairly small, and as other people here have said, is very clean. We had booked the upgraded sea-view room. At first we were given a room on the first floor, and our daughter couldn't see the sea, so we asked if we could be moved and were moved up to the top floor the next morning. The staff were very helpful indeed (as they were for the whole holiday) We hired a fridge for 20 euros per week, which was great.

The views from the room and pool area are fantastic, and you just need to walk down to the beach where you can hire pedalos and do other water sports. We ate in the taverna which had great views too, and the food was delicious - plenty of choice.

We have never been to a hotel with an animation team before, but we really enjoyed getting involved in some of the various activities. The 3 members were great, and didn't push anyone at all. I think many people just did their own thing. We also really enjoyed the entertainment at night with the various acts. Our daughter particularly enjoyed the parrot show, and even managed to take part in the min-disco on a few occasions (this only lasted 30 mins)

All in all, we would go back to this hotel as it was a relaxing holiday, with plenty to do. We would prefer to visit another part of Cyprus next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Booked the Pernera Beach Hotel as a last minute, week long break during the school holidays. Although it looked beautiful in the pictures, we were a little apprehensive as it is only a three star.

We did not need to worry as it went far beyond our expectations. We had a large, air-conditioned family room (not sea-view) and basically had a wonderful relaxing week. Pool was excellent for the children ( 8 & 9), lovely beach a five minute walk away, fantastic staff in ALL areas, although a special mention should be made to the animation team who worked real hard to keep everyone happy and entertained during the day and night. Food nice, plenty of choice at dinner with different themed nights. We did, however venture out to try a few restaurants and was not disappointed with any. Protaras could easily be reached by a 30 min stroll along their new boardwalk which had some breathtaking views.

Will definately return to Protaras and the Pernera Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneHornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Came back from holiday 2 weeks ago. Weather was fantastic if a little too hot, but cant complain!
Hotel was cool, clean and welcoming. Reception staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke very good english. The room was very clean and had a fantastic pool/sea view.
Stayed half board, the food was really good. Dinner was in the taverna which overlooked the sea, plenty of choice every night. Pool is'nt massive but was big enough. Entertainment every night ,although some of it not to our taste so we usually used this time to wander into the town for a drink, or along the coastal walk.
Plenty of water activities around the hotel. Most beaches charge for sun beds/umbrellas but about 2 mins. up the coastal path is a restaurant/cafe with free sun loungers and umbrellas.
Yellow boat trip was great, took us up the coast and stopped in a beautiful bay for swimming, snorkelling etc. Red open top bus worth a trip as is water park.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucylou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

For a three star hotel, we thought it was excellent. The rooms are in need of updating, but it was very clean, and the staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. There are plenty of facilites to take advantage of, and the food was plentiful & varied. It was quiet, but probably because children were still at school, which suited us. What little faults we found aren't even worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Sun holidays are not my thing. Don't get me wrong I love sporting a brown body,my problem is doing nothing... for days... in 40degree heat. With that in mind, when i agreed to a week in Cyprus as our last holiday was instigated by me and involved being quite active in the Scottich Highlands, i thought i would be bitting my lip with boredom while my partner soaked up the rays. With this in mind i had packed enough books to re-stock a large library, my entire music collection compressed onto an MP3 player with full charge - and plans to escape in a rent-a-car for a few days to explore the 'places of historical interest' presumably on my own.

We arrived at the Pernera Beach Hotel well into the evening. I have stayed at *** star resports in the Canaries and Balearics and they were... rudimentary. This place was well laid out, spacious, cool and welcoming. Information was displayed everywhere and all staff spoke better english than we. And that was just the reception area.

The room was far larger than anything we had been expecting or become used to; it was extremely tidy and comfortable and EVERYTHING WORKED! The view from the balcony over the arc shaped pool and sea beyond were nearly magnificent (ok it was dark, but it all looked lovely).

We were then told that the hotel taverna was still open for us to eat (it was probably about 9:30 by now) and we made our way down there. This consisted of a large tiled area outside, but covered, overlooking Pernera Bay. We could hear no 'emission of repetative beats' in the distance (ok im only 29 but puuuurlease, it gets real tired real fast doesnt it), and the service and food were pretty good.

So jumping forward: i didnt start reading any of my books until 5 days in, i hired a car on just one day and that was a bit of a disaster, we spent a large quantity of our time by the pool (something i thought i could never do) and the local beach and, but for one fat-head loud northern bloke who clearly thought he was WAY funnier than Peter Kay, all was peaceful.

They do do animation activities all day for all ages. Not my thing but it was good to see that there was a varied option. In the evening they have entertainment, usually a singer, and usually going on to around midnight (not good for an early night), and the cocktail bar has a happy hour between 8 and 9pm. There is essentially one pool area, an expanse of lawn going down to the beach, and even a little section of the beach that seemed to be reserved for hotel guests.

The main resort of Protaras can be reached by a pleasant 20 minute walk down the newly built boardwalk along the coast, and alternatively a 2 minute stroll-in land took you to the local stretch of bars, restaurants and shops.

I hope that this review is useful to those of you who normally yearn a bit of adventure and cant bear the thought of lounging around aimlessly with the great unwashed. I managed to do nothing and that suprised me. This is a hotel which doesnt attract large groups of shouting lads and lassies (it's is more set up for couples and families) as Protaras is a lot more laid back than Aiya Napa up the road. The local beach does host water sports and the diving school is attached to the hotel (the sea, on the whole, is crystal clear and teeming with fish) should you need a distraction.

While i feel i have 'done Cyprus now' - i prefer a bit more green scenery - that is really the only thing that would stop me returning.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shotgunsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews