We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pernera Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed at Pernera Beach Hotel for 2 weeks at beginning of October and had a lovely holiday. The weather was perfect, wall to wall sunshine. Hotel was good, we had a 4th floor inland view room which was spacious and clean. We had the sun from early afternoon until sunset. Friends who went with us had a 4th floor seavew room, again spacious and clean. They experiened some noise from the evening entertainment but it didnt spoil their beauty sleep. We did watch a few of these shows and the entertainers worked hard. We particularly liked Elvis, he was tongue in cheek. Food was plentyful and of good quality, with lots of choice (even though some reviewers say not). We had a cocktail during happy hour but couldnt taste alcohol, so didnt have another, stuck to our own drinks or the local beer. We had a few lunches in the pool bar and found them very good value compared to bars outside the hotel. The toasties were tripple decker and very filling. Staff very attentive, animation team worked hard without being a nuisance, if you didnt want to join in they didnt push you. Plenty of sunloungers but must say the pool didnt seem large enough. The nearby beaches were pleasant too. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonfrombramley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

Hotel
Very nicely set out, pretty pool and nice taverna style looking restaurant. Room was very nice, clean white sheets and laminate floor always cleaned. Very good maid service. From the airport transfer this was clearly one of the best hotels in the area.

Food
Breakfast was copious full english (bacon, sausages, eggs - both scrambled, fried and boiled, fried potatoes, grilled tomatos, mushrooms, beans) there was toast, lots of condiments and sweet cakes with croissants. There were also emmental style cheese and ham, yoghurt and fresh grapefruit. I often found the bread a bit stale but the temperature for October was consistent mid 30s so I assume it's hard to keep bread fresh.

Evening meals was buffet style again and each night was themed. This is a lose term at the hotel as it was the same old stuff but maybe some ribs on the chinese night (I had expected a bit more variety). Looking at the restaurants in the surrounding area of Pernera it is quite pricey anyway so you do get a good deal at the hotel. The average price was 9 euros for a main meal - so practically 9 pounds for a posk steak and some potatoes so the hotel is good in that respect. Desserts are the usual odd coloured blancmanges, sickly syrupy cakes and on a few nights green custard??

Entertainment
Good variety around the pool everyday but mainly for men - archery, pool, football, volleyball, boules but some women played. There is a brilliant opportunity for a free scuba lesson in the pool and then it is 45 euros to go out privately and you get an amazing dvd of your trip with you in the water with the fish, over 50 pics of you in the sea with coral, fish and relics etc - really worth it if you like that kind of thing. Lunchtime quiz is fun too, but some of the entertainment team are a bit familiar and I did have to tell one quite loudly to stop touching me and to p*ss off.

The nighttime entertainment is pretty poor and so loud it is untrue - even across the other side of the pool from the bar we could hear kareoke and elvis etc until 1am. If you stay out all night anyway this is fine.

The 'happy hour' for cocktails is very good value but you rarely get alcohol in your drink. As soon as happy hour finishes you notice the drinks actually taste ok. A double proper bacardi and coke was 9 euros - so if you're ok with the local stuff that's great - my poor dad is not and was not impressed (oh and all cola on the tap is disgusting so order bottles).

Local Area
Plenty of English style places with kareoke which isn't my cup of tea. All I will say is that Knights pub is a little bit more Greek even though it looks English - it serves nice Greek food and good portions and theor drinks are very nice and strong and the same price as everywhere else. Musis isn't too loud either.

All the shops are the same old tat - no quality leather products or anything to bring home- even litres of spirits are cheaper in Tescos on offer!

Ayia Napa

We went to Vassos fish restaurant which was acceptable and our party that night (of 13) enjoyed the meal. The rest of the town is pretty gross away from the fishing part. The place is dirty and again - sooo many kareoke bars it is unbelievable!

TOP POINT OF HOTEL - STAFF ARE VERY NICE

LOW POINT OF HOTEL - ROOM ANYWHERE NEAR POOL - YOU WONT SLEEP UNTIL PAST 1AM!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Food&Drink!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed at the Pernera with a friend for 10 days Oct 09, glorious weather in the 90's so can't complain with that. Must admit I was really looking forward after reading the reviews but was disappointed.
Booked with Cosmos and didn't see a rep once, at the airport, coach or hotel. Asked for 3 things - quiet room, adjoining rooms and high floor. Didn't get any of our requests,
We arrived at 11.30pm on saturday night and after a long day went straight to bed but has no chance of sleeping. My room was 212 - first floor - right above the games room, and the door leading to the taverna/restaurant. Constantly noisy, and what with Karaoke from a nearby bar (the blue bay), didn't get quiet until gone 1am. The Karaoke was only on that night (although really loud music on Sunday) but the entrance door and games room was continuous. I did ask to get moved and the night porter was really helpful (English) and said he would put the request in as there were several rooms available but when asking at Reception (also english) the following day was told the hotel was full.
From what we saw, there were several different 'classes' of room. Their own brocure showed 3 different rooms, all of which looked far more luxurious than the ones we had. They did say they prioritised families so please do not be put off as the rest of the hotel was lovely. There was tv but the remote didn't work, and no radio - only in the luxurious rooms.
Food was buffet style and a variety of cooked / cereals / continental for breakfast although was the same every day. Dinner was a good mix of usually chicken, fish, beef/lamp and pork. not a lot of choice for vegetarians although there was salad and pasta.
Perosnally our rooms were adequate but not luxurious, the sun was on the room from 7am - 6pm so was extremely hot and the air con wasn't that effective if the maid leaves the curtains drawn back. You can rent a fridge, but drinks in any of the supermarkets were cheaper than the bars so buy your own. if possible go all inclusive as so many people say the prices are really dear.
Loads of the sunbeds were broken but had cushions, however as some people put 2 on their beds so they did run out, as we went end of season I could imagine they were short of beds in mid summer.
Lovely beach a short walk away and water sports.
Spoke to several people who go back year after year, but I'm sorry, I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat8606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

just come back from hols had a fab time really liked the hotel brillant food everything was great.xx defo go back.x

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danniwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

just came bk from perena beach end of september we went for 14 nights 16th sep-30th sep,we had a lovely time,hotel was very nice,we were staying in a inland view room for the first 5 nights but we decided to upgrade to the side sea view for the rest of our holiday it cost 4 euros per person,it was well worth the money,beautiful views of the sea,food was very nice,great selection,great daily entertainment,my husband in particular enjoyed it,great animation team ,we liked all 3 of them but think we prefered stan the most,nice guy, all make you feel very welcoming,wasnt to sure on the nightly entertaiment some of the same acts for the 2 wks we stayed there,hotel bar quite pricey,but they have a happy hour between 8-9 for cocktails so they r worth sampling lol,weather was fantastic came home with lovely golden tans,we went to fig tree bay twice which is in protarus across the new walkway very nice walk,beautiful beach,there is a small beach at side of hotel,that was very nice 2 ,sea really warm,all in all had a fantastic time at pernera beach would we stay again most definate,we luved it there,we already have holiday blues all ready,looking 4ward 2 returning back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

just back from pernera beach,really nice friendly hotel,booked superior room,had lovely pool/sea view room,bed too hard for me so mentioned to reception and within the hour mattress topper put on bed and after that slept like a log!.We usually go b&b as we like eating out but deal was half board so thought would give it a go,was pleasantly surprised with this, plenty to eat,lots of variety and desserts to die for,lovely location in taverna and every night had a table over looking the bay,Location of hotel perfect little bay lovely and sandy with plenty of sunbeds,but lovely walk along new walkway with lots of refreshment stop offs ,on way to larger beaches .Always managed to get sunbeds around pool or in gardens.animation team very good and enjoyed entertainment,thought rock chicks and illustionist very good.Stayed at sunrise beach hotel in protaras last year and even though is rated as a higher star hotel,I can honestly say enjoyed pernera beach more and would def go back for late break,weather wonderful,sea warm,food very good,friendly,and if you think drinks a bit pricey buy your alchohol at duty free and just top up in your room.Thanks pernera beach great hols only downside went for a week and wish it had been two!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Chose the hotel as we know the location, fantastic beach and was stll wonderful.
Hotel was average, very clean, friendly staff, and enjoyed the daytime activities.
BUT.....
Drinks were expensive, step outside hotel and half the price and full strength. We ended up buying our own spirits and juice and making our own!
Food, breakfast average as same very day. Not tell a lie, sometimes they ran out of things so was not the same. Dinner, every night was themed, yet strangly the meat were the same, the sauces different. Well the names were anyway. Call me picky but if you have a Greek night would actually liked to have seen some greek food, and so on for mexican, french, italian etc.
So we ended up eating out most nights, just up the road, Kartanas. Fantastic staff, very very well priced, and excellent steaks. Oh and a menu with other things on as well, and guess what local dishes!
So would we go again? Yes for the location, but if possible go self catering or at worst B&B.
Oh avoid any room with 59 in it, next to the lift, and they dont seem to service them well so they make strange noises!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachfunSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#19 of 65 in Protaras
124 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pernera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernera Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 33005 | Ifaistou 17, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Protaras
#9 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £129 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pernera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in "Pernera", a small area on the outskirts of Protaras, which has developed into a resort of its own. The hotel is right on the sandy beach of this quiet resort with restaurants, bars and many shops nearby. The Pernera beach hotel has a rich variety of sport and leisure facilities including:supermarket/souvenir shop, conference room, hairdressing salon, squash court, whirlpool bath, sauna, gym, massage room, two floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court, mini football ground, darts, games room, sun terraces, lounge bar, children playground, indoor swimming pool, a large outdoor swimming pool, children's swimming pool, a scuba diving center, water sports and a great variety of in-house entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pernera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pernera Beach
Pernera Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing