We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Time Would Return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Just arrived home on wednesday after spending 10 days with family.Obviously I read other reviews before going&was a little worried.Check-in was speedy,and cases taken to our room by porter.The room was ok(could have been cleaner,but not really a problem)There is tea/coffee making facilties in room(which is suprising as we was all inclusive)with coffee and teabags.Always nice to have a cuppa on balcony when first arriving.We was on the fourth floor,overlooking the park&apartments and pool to our left.Not very good with heights,but wasnt so bad.
Food was ok,although queing to be seated at night got A little annoying,but gave us an excuse to eat out in one of the little resturants on the sea front.The beach is easily reached,by following the road down past the "Station Pub" (good place to go after 12pm a/i service ends,they serve food and entertainment on every night).Lots to do on the beach,all fairly priced,I went jet-skiing,paragliding and snorkelling of one of the many little jetties along the sea-front.
We had A trip out to the water park,which is well worth doing,so much to do when there.We booked our trip the water park with "Mr John Taxis" very reasonable and reliable,they do other trips too.He was reccomended to us by previous customers that use him every year.
Hotel pool good through-out the day,and plenty to get involved with the Thomas Cook reps.They are A great bunch,so funny and my niece and nephew loved them.Must try the midday fitness in the pool,its fun and the kids get to learn all the dances that they do at night time too.The hotel does not lay on outside entertainment often,these guys do it all! They work their socks off,and are so enthusiastic,everybody seems to love them.Check out majiek,ha ha.All the females took A shine to him!.
Overall I had A great time and would return to this hotel,with family or for "A Girly Holiday".Ayia Napa is easily reachable 1euro on the local bus,or around 12-15euro in A taxi.We did visit one night but I found A little too busy,but worth going just to see it at night(there is A funfair there too).
This was my first visit to cyprus,and I will definatly return
Ps Weather faultless too,you"ll love your time here..x

Room Tip: Some do like A pool view,but personally not in this hotel,as it could be A bit too noisy due to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronnie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

we just returned home after a week at Tsokkos Gardens,it was a good value holiday
we have 2 kids and they enjoyed every day at hotels pool or at the beach
A big thank u to the general manager of the hotel who help us about a proplem we had
during our stay
we will go again

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank vak414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

What could be a beautiful hotel and pool area but needs to be maintained more , pool had black round the edge of the bottom of the pool as it never seemed to be cleaned properly with a vaccum , they only use a net to clean it definately not sufficient for the amount of debris lying in the bottom of the pool . We stayed all inclusive and were very upset to find out our all inclusive would stop at noon on day of departure even though we were not being collected until 7pm at night , on the plus side the food was always good and varied .
Best entertainment i have ever seen fantastic thanks to Aleise , Paris and Keir totally made our holiday , bar staff were also fab Karl , Julie and Andreas special mention to Majiek fantastic waiter couldn't ask for more , unfortunately will not be going back unless this hotel is given an overhaul especially round the pool area !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just returned with my parents from 2 weeks here I'm 17 nearly 18 and had the most amazing holiday. The service is brilliant nothing is to much trouble for the staff, they work so hard. The location is good as your 5 minutes from the beach and across the road from a shop. The entertainment team are amazing epically Paris they also work very hard. Everyone is just so friendly and helpful, I have been twice now and I'm going back next year it's that good. I would highly recommend it. The only thing I would say is a slight negative is that, towards the nd of july more Russians start to arrive and they aren't polite..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

No way is this a 4* hotel, have just returned from spending 2 wks at this hotel, we went all inclusive, their idea and my idea of all inclusive must be totally different. On arrival we went to reception and were told we had to pay to use the fridge 1.70 Euros a day plus 5 Euros deposit for a key for it, nothing in the fridge mind, not a bottle of water, nothing. The safe box was 21.40 Euros for 2 wks, we even had to pay 10 Euros deposit for a control to use the tv, whats all that about! We had to leave 10 Euros deposit if we wanted the beach towels, all I can say is whoever gives these stars out ought to go to the caribbean and check out their 4* hotels, this is about the tenth time we've gone all inclusive and this is the only time we have had to pay to put water in the fridge, usually we've had water,beers, pepsi and sprite put in the fridge every day, here they want to charge you 2 Euros for a bottle of water thats 70 cents in the supermarket across the road. The food was cold at every meal, we actually ate out quite a few times, the station pub across the road does a lovely breakfast. The only good food was the hot snacks at the poolside snackbar. The entertainment wasn't too bad, the team worked really hard to keep people amused day and night and they were really good with the kids that were there, Paris in particular was lovely and very funny and the bar staff and waiters were great, trying their best at all times, we couldnt fault their service. So to sum up, yes I would go back to Cyprus, as this is the fifth time ive been, I love it, but would I go back to this hotel.............DEFINATELY NOT!

Room Tip: we had a room over the large pool, very sunny in the morning and more shade in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handbags&gladrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Tsokkos Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your holidays with us, we do take constructive guest comments very seriously in order to further improve our facilities and services for future guests to enjoy. The Gardens hotel is an official 4star hotel and evaluations are done by the CTO (Cyprus Tourism Organisation). Generally speaking guests that have been on all inclusive in the Carribean and in Cyprus find it to be different - for instance as you state fridges in Carribean AI hotels are filled up and also to add they offer room service and sometimes even massage which is included in guests All Inclusive package. But just to note here, comparing also the All Inclusive in the Caribbean with the All Inclusive in Cyprus, to be subjective you need to compare as well the price you are paying for a holiday of lets say 7 days in Carribean or 7 days in Cyprus, as a holiday in the Carribean is certainly double... if not more! :) We highly advice all our future guets, prior to booking to check the details in the tour operator brochure or tour operator website in order to find out what it is included in the all inclusive package and what doesnt. For instance if you have done than then you would have known that the fridge is not filled up with items for all inclusive, the fridge is charged and a fully refundable deposit is required, the safe box is charged locally etc. For the beach towels, there is not any mention in any tour operator brochure or website that we provide them, however this is an extra service we offer - the deposit is fully refunded once you return the beach towels back. Guests have obviously the option not to use this service and either bring their own beach towels or buy some from local shops... no guest is forced to pay a deposit and use a beach towel! We found from all our previous guests that for us as a hotel to offer this service it is very convenient for obvious reasons and since they receive back the deposit there has not been any problem. We have since your stay improved the food temperature for future guests to enjoy. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the entetainment and our staff who will be definetly praised for their hard work. Wishes for a wonderful remaining summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went here for a week a family, entertainment great, bar and restaurant staff very friendly, food nice also. We stayed in the self catering block and rooms were cleaned daily, the apartments pool was a lot quieter than the Hotel pool. 10 minute walk down the promanade gets you to protaras main strip and is a nice walk along the sea front. Tsokkos is also beside some shops, bars and restaurants if you do not want to walk to protaras main strip. Would return here to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just returned from two weeks All Inclusive as the Tsokkos Gardens Apartments (not Tsokkos Sun Gardens Apartments). Our party of 12 was made up of 6 adults and 6 kids ranging from 4 months to 16 years.

Location: We found Pernera to be very quiet especially the bars and restaurants close to the hotel/appartments. Would recommend The Point (Greek Restaurant) in Pernera. Location wasn’t too much of a problem as the bus service in Cyprus is excellent. Only 1 Euro each (2.50 Euros each after 11pm) to travel between Pernera and Ayia Napa and kids travel free. You take the 102 bus to Protaras/Ayia Napa and the 101 back - buses run every 20mins until 12am then every 30mins until 4am.

The Accommodation: The apartments reception was very warm, hard to tell if there was aircon as all the doors and windows were kept open making it very humid. Our apartment was 810 (3rd floor) - THE GOOD - Large apartments, good aircon, large clean fridge, kettle and microwave (didn’t use), two large wardrobes (bring extra hangers) THE BAD - dated furniture/fixtures, beds too firm for my liking. THE UGLY - bathroom smelt like a urinal, badly stained shower curtain, broken sink (couldn’t use plug), dangerous sliding doors to the balcony (came right off the hinges), shabby stained sofa/child bed, torn/stained sheets, very poor maid service, floors not cleaned properly (feet black after walking barefoot), toilet not cleaned (just bleach squirted inside the bowl), on occasions dirty towels had been refolded and regularly not enough towels were left. We made a complaint to our Thomas Cook Rep who tried to have us moved to the hotel but it was fully booked and gave us an official complaint form. We had spent a lot of money on our holiday and tried not to let the accommodation get us down, after all it was the sunshine we came for and there was plenty of it!!

We enjoyed the pools and the cleanliness was ok but not great, pool area not cleaned and hosed down as well as other hotels I’ve stayed in, a few repairs needed ( a couple of missing tiles etc - overall not a big problem). We never had difficulty getting a sun lounger. There is also an indoor pool and a gym with a good standard of equipment.

The Food: Breakfast was good, cereal, cold meats and cheese, fried food, boiled eggs, toast/pastries/cakes/fruit and my daughters favourite freshly cooked waffles. Lunch and dinner was just ok, not a lot of choice but we always found something to eat which was generally cooked well, the fish was moist and the lamb was tender. Only starters were salad and soup, Desserts varied and weren’t great but the kids liked the jelly and ice cream and there was always fresh fruit and a cheeseboard. On a few occasions there was a shortage of plates. Snack bar was poor and the food not that tasty, All Inclusive guests can choose from a burger, chicken burger, chips and toasties (toasted sesame seed burger buns), you have to pay extra for a hot dog which I though was a bit cheeky as that’s what a lot of kids would eat. No pizzas or omelettes available.

The Entertainment: The entertainment team were great, they work their absolute socks off! Daytime entertainment consisted of poolside quiz, killer darts, water polo, table tennis/pool comps, water aerobics and a very funny team competition where volunteers get to make absolute fools out of themselves!! The evening entertainment was excellent, very funny (but no professional kids shows such as parrot or magic show). Kids disco, bingo and a varied quizzes and shows all performed by the Thomas Cook entertainments team, granted some my not be the best singers in the world but in terms of entertainment they were absolutely fantastic.

Hotel Staff: Found the reception staff to be friendly and spoke good English, the bar staff were also very friendly and polite, the restaurant staff was a mixed bunch, some very friendly and others darn right rude.

Kids Club: Was very quiet with only three kids in it, my daughter seemed to thoroughly enjoy herself and spoke very highly of Lucy and Rachel (kids cub team). My only gripe which is directed at Thomas Cook is that they have special kids club events such as a Monday night party which consisted of party games, face paint and few sweets and a charge of 15 Euros per child. Decorate a cookie was 5 Euro per child and Movie night was 10 Euro per child which was watching a Thomas Cook Dizzy and Shades dvd on a small portable TV and having a few sweets. Personally I could not see the justification in the high charges for some of these events.

For the kids: In Pernera they enjoyed the Aqua Balls 8 Euro; Neat Feet (Garra Ruffa) 7 Euro for 6mins/10 Euro for 12 mins and especially Frixos Watersports - Family Jet Ski 50 Euro, Jet Ski 40 Euro, Banana 8 Euro and my favourite the Crazy Squab 10 Euros each. In Ayia Napa they enjoyed Paliatso Luna Park, quite expensive as most rides were 3 tokens we found the wristbands better value at 25 Euro each and saved a further 20% from leaflets we got in the hotel reception. Waterworld is a must about 100 Euros for 2 adults and 2 kids - money off coupons were available in leaflets as hotel reception. Last but not least the Beaches in Protaras are lovely, warm water and plenty of fish, ideal for snorkelling. If your kids are fussy eaters you’ll be glad to know that there is a Pizza Hut in Pernera, Protaras and Ayia Napa and KFC and McDonalds in Protaras and Ayia Napa.

Overall we had a great family holiday, mostly down to the weather, company and entertainment team, we love Cyprus and have stayed as Tsokkos hotels before but would not return again to the Tsokkos Gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 65 in Protaras
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,501 reviews
1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#27 of 65 in Protaras
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#52 of 65 in Protaras
851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsokkos Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsokkos Gardens Hotel

Address: Athinas 18, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £61 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsokkos Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel is wonderfully set in a peaceful location just a short stroll from the lively area of Pernera with its many attractions. The golden sandy beach of Marlita Bay is just a short walk away. The focal point of the hotel is the large lagoon shaped swimming pool along with the well cared gardens. From your room balcony enjoy the idyllic view of the picturesque "Ayios Elias" church, a popular area landmark, along with a glass of wine. Located within a few meters is the new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great oportunity for an afternoon walk. Next to the hotel the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offers exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. A star choice for families and couples who seek a relaxing holiday an a warm hospitable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tsokkos Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsokkos Gardens Protaras
Hotel Tsokkos Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing