We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 4 November 2009

What could be a reasonable hotel is entirely ruined by an unbelievable attitude to Left Luggage, where the room has to be vacated in the morning but the return flight is many hours later - leaving luggage storage a necessity during the day.
I won't say what the situation is for obvious security reasons but it's incredible.

If the hotel could solve this, it would be a hotel worth considering again but not to the exclusion of others in the area.
Some minor bathroom repairs & a major deep clean of the room carpet (permanent sweaty smell) was needed to my room which was otherwise clean & comfortable.
Meals were good, unfortunately ruined only by permanently screaming infants every single night - a problem through the whole holiday.
Sea "view" rooms would not be worth it as they look over other hotels but would be quieter than the inland ones overlooking the night entertainment.
The Thomas Cook staff did a good job, especially Faye.
The day coach tours were mostly well worth it except for the Larnaca sunday market - it's just a boot sale for dodgy DVD's & designer clothes & held in the middle of nowhere.

Best place for last day buys in Protaras is the "Happy Days" - cheaper than the duty free in the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2009

stayed with husband for last minute break in oct 09. good value for money. had a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the car park and was disappointed to begin with until we realised that if you had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool then you had all the noise from the entertainment all week all night. hotel room was clean with tea/coffee facilities although it wasn't replenished on several days. bathroom had a shower/bath that was clean but dated. room was airconditioned. can't comment on the evening entertainment as we didn't stay in the hotel during the evening. we stayed half board. breakfasts were good - choices of full english plus continental and fresh fruit with tea, coffee and juices - note - the juices are watered down though. evening meal choices were decent - always able to start with a nice soup and soft bread, followed by varying types of salad, then main course - chips were supposedly only available as childrens meals if that is your sort of thing - but never once felt the need as the evening choices were good and plentiful. desserts the same each night but reasonably decent and always plenty of fruit on offer. if you aren't all inclusive then drinks are dear - 3 euros 40 for a pint of local beer - compared to 1 euro 50 right outside the hotel. house wine was around the 10 euro mark for a litre. coke and soft drinks also expensive. pool clean and very large although during our stay some guests were a little over exuberant during the water polo provided by the entertainment team. i think there are four pools in total. plenty of sunbeds - some better quality than others. hotel location is a 4 minute walk away from the sea although you could say that the room we stayed in had a partial sea view. new seafront makes it a pleasant afternoon/evening walk into the centre of protaris.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linksmanmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is my 3rd trip to the Tsokkos Gardens and have already booked for next year. Location is brilliant as its not right in the middle of Protaras which can be busy during peak season. Local shops are dotted around the hotel as well as a few bars with a few showing the sky football fixtures and reality shows if you're missing them!! I have stayed all inclusive and would recommend this as Cyprus has become very expensive - each night has a food theme and there is plenty of variety. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily and the staff work really hard. Entertainment is good and the reps always take the time to include holidaymakers with their daily schedule. Pools are brilliant and the area is very spacious with plenty of sunbeds. I have to say the friendliness of the staff is lovely with the hotel manager remembering us each year, he told us to fax him 2 weeks prior to departure to make sure we have a room that is suited to us - its a very personal touch and have noticed that there are a lot of familiar faces still there 4 years on. The new walkway to Protaras along the seafront is brilliant with great lighting and lots of seating areas..............I would and have recommended this hotel before and cant wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We found this hotel ideal for us and our 2 children. The hotel was very nice with a large main outdoor pool plus 2 others and baby pools too. Also had indoor pool in the basement. There were plenty of sun loungers with palm trees dotted around providing shaded areas.
I found the staff friendly and helpful and all seemed to speak English pretty well.

ROOM: Our room was a larger one on the first floor with a bigger than average balcony. We were facing out the back which wasn't a particularly pretty view but we were not disturbed by late night poolside entertainment and we didn't book the holiday to sit all day on our balcony so we were happy. The room on the whole was clean and tidy but the bathroom was looking tired. It was about what we expected.
If you are expecting a four star hotel, UK standards, then you may be disappointed but we thought this hotel was very comfortable.

FOOD: We found the food was very good and better than expected. There is the same thing provided for breakfast every day but there is a huge selection to choose from so you do not need to have the same every day unless you want to.
Evening meals were themed each night and again I thought there was plenty of choice. Food was constantly being replaced and I never once saw an empty tray. We ate late one night due to a long drive from Paphos and I was a little concerned that there might not be much choice left but I needn't have worried.
Fresh fruit is available every day (if nothing else, melon is always there!)

ENTERTAINMENT TEAM: This seasons team, Cat, Rich, Emma and Meg were brill and worked very hard at keeping young and old entertained. My children thought they were fantastic and keep moaning about how much they miss them now we are back home.

LOCATION: The hotel is in Pernera. 5 minutes straight towards the sea will get you to Marlita Beach. If you turn right, a pleasant 15 minute boardwalk will take you to the larger Protaras beach. We headed into town from here, turned left and continued our walk towards the Capo Bay hotel where we then headed back down to the beach at Fig Tree Bay. This beach was gorgeous with whiter sands than the others and stayed shallow for ages which was perfect for the kids. It took about half an hour to walk but was well worth it once you were there. (Paragliding is more expensive here). We liked to swim across to the rocky island there to snorkell and feed all the fish which swam around you.
If you choose to go left at Marlita beach, 2 bays along at the end of the walkway is another nice beach, shallow waters for small children and fish swimming around you. Sand is much like Protaras, darker and coarser than of Fig Tree Bay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bishybarnabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Myself and my partner stayed 7/10/09-14/10/09 at the Tsokkos gardens (hotel) and enjoyed our stay. This hotel actually is also apartments as well which share pools and facilities.

We were half board but recommend all inc if you don't plan on eating out, you can upgarde for about 19 euro as the snacks and drinks are very expensive (crisps 2.40) although there are 2 small supermarkets approx 2 mins walk if you needed anything. Our main moan was that on entering our room a rank old smoke smell met us, we went down to reception to complain, which they responded with some febreeze (it did help a little). The rooms were clean otherwise and the staff very friendly - although our beds were awful we couldn't sleep unless many beverages were had!! (may have been different in the apartments as the above reviews were there)

There are 3 pools one of which is the entertainment pool with lots going on, and the others nice and quiet, with enough loungers to swap and move with the sun. Location was great. General 15 walk along the seafront (very nice, well lit path) into the main strip. Even in October it was very busy, every kind of entertainment is there.

The hotel is aimed at families and not if you want a quiet holiday. The entertainment team are talking on the microphone from 10 til 11 at night, so can wear a little thin. The food was ok - a lot of choice for breakfast although fruit consisted as only melon everyday which was disappointing in such a country that grows most things. The evening was a little like a cattle market, the soups were lovely but the rest was ok.

If you want to venture, then the big red bus is fab. The les dennis look-a-like made the trip fantastic and takes you to agnia napa and across into Famagusta, both him and the driver Dave were fab. Our rep had said that it was booked up (knowing reps just want more money) we went down to the first pick up which is by the sea front just down the road from the hotel and asked and got on. So def recommended. We went also on a boat trip which was really lame so def avoid and save your money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orpingtonjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

just got back from the cyprus the tsokkos gardens was a nice hotel clean and freindly. The staff worked very hard to make guests welcome! would advise to stay all inc. as drinks and food were very expensive:( i stayed half board breakfast was fab but found evening meals were repetative & desserts were almost the same each nite, I wouldnt go to the hotel again as it was a bit to far away from main strip as i had a disabled person who couldnt walk far but otherwise i would recommend this hotel to familys with children

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Myself and my fiancee stayed at Tsokos Gardens between 10/10/09 - 17/10/09. We had a very nice time the pool area was lovely always plenty of sun loungers and room to move around which you do need to do as there are allot of palm tree's which do cause alot of shade. The pool is not lit up at night so if you have young children you’ll need to be extra vigilant.

The food was very nice, each evening meal had a different theme however my fiance did struggle a couple of evenings as she does not eat meat. Breakfast is very nice we had three courses every morning cereals, fried breakfast and doughnuts or cakes. However this will be the same every day, what you see the first morning will be there every morning thereafter with no variety.

The rooms were ok a little dated but provided everything you would need, only slight moan would be our key card didn’t work three times which was a pain as we has to keep going down to reception to either get a new key card or would have maintenance come and fix the lock on the door. One day the maid was unabe to get in because her keycard didn’t work on our door and instead of going to reception for us she just didn’t bother cleaning the room. Another day the maid took our towels and didnt give us new ones. There are extra charges for the fridge, safe and TV but this is expected in most hotels.

Entertainment is mostly for the kids, while most of the staff were always very friendly despite how many long hours they work, there were a couple of staff members who let the rest down. In the evening we ventured out to the Station Bar just across from the hotel, live entertainment every night and a compere to keep you entertained before and after the show, highly recommend a visit to the bar. Would recommend the hotel to people with children.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOM-IN-SURREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 65 in Protaras
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#54 of 65 in Protaras
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polycarpia Hotel
Polycarpia Hotel
#64 of 65 in Protaras
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#41 of 65 in Protaras
1,477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#48 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#27 of 65 in Protaras
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsokkos Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsokkos Gardens Hotel

Address: Athinas 18, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £60 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsokkos Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel is wonderfully set in a peaceful location just a short stroll from the lively area of Pernera with its many attractions. The golden sandy beach of Marlita Bay is just a short walk away. The focal point of the hotel is the large lagoon shaped swimming pool along with the well cared gardens. From your room balcony enjoy the idyllic view of the picturesque "Ayios Elias" church, a popular area landmark, along with a glass of wine. Located within a few meters is the new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great oportunity for an afternoon walk. Next to the hotel the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offers exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. A star choice for families and couples who seek a relaxing holiday an a warm hospitable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tsokkos Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsokkos Gardens Protaras
Hotel Tsokkos Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing