We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Crewe, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We have just got back from a great seven nights all inclusive stay at this hotel. We had originally booked to stay at the Anastasia only to be told a week before leaving that we were not booked into there due to a clerical error and that it was now fully booked! So after a bit of research we opted for this hotel (only offered three hotels to choose from!!) Which I'm so glad that we did as the Anastasia is only just in front of Tsokkos Gardens and wasn't what I had expected, it seemed to be very over crowded!

Anyway back to the Tsokkos Gardens, we arrived shortly after 6pm on the 13th Oct to be greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist who answered all our questions and gave us a map of the area. We were then shown to our room 348 by a Porter who also fetched our luggage to our room. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious enough for us two with only a lap shade slightly broken and a dodgy wardrobe door but at the end of the season I've seen a lot worse! Our room was on the third floor and at the end of the main hotel overlooking the pool with good views.

We found the food to be good despite all the bad reviews that we had read on here, with plenty of choice and the snack bar was excellent in the day time by the pool, where Angela looked after us very day.

In the evening the entertainment team from Thomas Cook worked hard and kept everyone entertained but we went out most nights so didn't get too involved as it was a bit repetitive for us. But it was very busy every night. The bar staff were very good and always offered us water at the end of night for our room.

All in all we had an excellent stay at this hotel and will probably go back in the very near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRFEELGOOD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    268
    170
    76
    41
See reviews for
381
257
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Travelled out 3rd Oct 2010 to Tsokkos Gardens on an all inclusive basis and was really impressed with standards of accommodation and food. We stayed in an apartment as the child age on all inclusive is 16yrs where as the main hotel child age is 12yrs even though you eat at hotel and all entertainment is held there too. Arrived 01.45am after a 2hr delay and were checked in quickly and offered bottle water we were the given apt number 706 which was clean and sun facing balcony. You had the use of 3 pools one at apt block was quieter which suited us fine but just around the corner was the main pool which was busier. I have stayed at the Anastasia apts and hotel twice which is also part of the Tsokkos group and is situated infront of this hotel.!! but i have to say the Tsokkos Gardens would be where i would return on another visit to Cyprus....The food at hotel was good and a had a great choices you know the food is good when everyone at hotel commented on how they were going home a stone heavier.!! Not a great choice of snacks but good enough if you had missed breakfast.!! Drinks where good too and a great choice of cocktails to choose from...The hotel entertainment team worked hard and yes it did become repetitive but so does all hotel entertainment they are introducing a kids club next year so that will be a help..Had read reviews previous to going and can not for the life of me understand why some people were complaining about the food I am A Travel Agent and have stayed in a lot of hotels and i would rate this hotel as one of my favourites for the quality and choice.!! Many guests i spoke to where going to book up as soon as they got home so that is defo a plus point in my view.!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliedurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This was our first trip to Cyprus and we had a really good time! The Tsokkos Gardens hotel was brilliant. There was a choice of 3 pools one large freeform pool which were all of good quality. Food was excellent with themes each night. The entertainment staff (from Thomas Cook were first class. our little girl (who is 4) loved joining in the Disco every night. We upgraded from half board to All inclusive for our final 5 nights and it was worth every penny.

Protaras is beautful the beaches are clean and the water is crystal clear and even at this time of year warm

We normally holiday in Majorca as we love that particular island but Cyprus and the Tsokkos Gardens hotel has left us wanting more. Can't wait to go back - asap!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardybwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The location - we thought we would be in Protarus but in fact we were in Penera which is a good 1/2 hours walk from Protarus and when you're knee are bad this is a long way. There are very few shops and the beach is a good 20 minutes away! and even then it was covered in sun beds and rocky!!!

Meaness - despite tea making facilties being provided, after the first day no more milk or teabags are provided. We were staying all inclusive but obviously this does not include tea / coffee in the rooms or the ability to watch the television, as an additional fee was expected to secure a remote control. Plus you are charged for a safe deposit box, fridge and pay a refundable deposit for a pool towel.

Noise - BIGGEST MOAN- Ear blastingmusic (???) that went on till the early hours. Sitting by the pool became an endurance test at certain times of the day!! Incidentally - the entertainers seemed to have speech defects as the end of every word spoken (shouted) was either missed off or unintelligible! The entertainment was both infantile and amateurish, in fact it was down right embarrassing to watch - especially as a lot of the guests were foreign and must have despaired at the sort of thing the English were supposed to accept as "entertainment"!!!
Good points - friendly waiters and reception staff. Food very good and plenty of sunbeds.

Two hour delays on top of the early book-ins were we know unavoidable, what was annoying though was to be told as we reached Larnaka Airport that our plane was two hours delayed to Gatwick, we felt cheated of the two extra hours that could hvae been spent sunbathing and an early lunch (that we had had to pay for and had missed on our first day because of another two hour plus delay on way out). As the Thomas Cook rep. was fully aware of the delay surely it would have been kinder to have let us spend the delay time in comfort rather than be cooped up in the Airport, as we were for four hours!!

Last year we went to Stokkos Beach Hotel in Protaras, 3 mins. from shops, 3 mins. from beach - gorgeous, we thought we would return there this year and took last years brochure to show the travel agent. Sadly, this was not where we ended up - traveller beware!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldwoman124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Having read the reviews after booking this hotel i was a little concerned,however i think some people just look for faults.
Yes it could do with a bit of up dating in the rooms ,but they were clean,beds comfortable,and even though we overlooked the entertainment we slept well as it stopped at 11pm.
Food was excellent and the staff were 1st class.
The entertainmenrtt team worked very hard and we were able to watch it all from our balcony.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed at the hotel in September 2010 and had a great time with Thomas Cook. Entertainment team were fantastic and helped make it a great holiday. ( Luke even wears females underwear to entertain). Hotel reception rooms and restaurant were excellent and a good selection of food available. Bedrooms could do with a decor update but clean and tidy with daily maid service. Prices around hotel expensive but upgrade to ' All Inclusive ' and your sorted. No need to be up early for a sunbed and pool areas are ' First Class'.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We were told this hotel could be one of half a dozen we might be allocated on arrival so I checked the reviews and went with an open mind, we arrived early morning and first impressions from outside were quite good, we headed to our room and were so tired from the flight we just crashed onto the (very hard) bed for a couple of hours sleep, when we awoke we inspected our room and it was just basic, seemed very tired and on closer inspection was quite dirty and it was not a place you felt you could sit in through the day the wardrobe door was unhinged and swinging open, the mirror above the dresser was flithy and just covered in dirty streaks, the carpet was filthy ( you only had to look at the soles of your feet after walking on it), the bathroom was tatty and in need of refurb and the hairs around the bath were a fixture that were still there at the end of our stay!!!, the bathroom sink was never cleaned during our stay. The patio door refused to budge so we huffed and puffed and struggled and eventually got it to slide open enough to squeeze through it, we reported it to reception and was told it would be fixed, we reported it twice more then gave up, it was NEVER fixed all week and we had to struggle every day several times to open and close it. Some of the staff never cracked a smile whilst others were very nice indeed. We were awoken every morning (EARLY) to the outside maids shouting very loudly to each other and dragging the outdoor chairs around in order to "clean". I even watched one of them rinse her flip flops in the pool!!!, i never once saw the pool water being checked for cleanliness. The entertainment staff did their best but to be honest this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel so you would like to think the entertainent would be somewhere up there, as i say they did their best and the children seem to love them but this hotel should have done better, on a better note the food was quite good but the cleanliness issue haunted me, you only had to sit and look at the front of the bar where the fruit juices were dispensed at breakfast and you would be amazed at the dirt engrained on those bar fronts and it was the same with internal hotel corridor doors/windows/banisters, they were filthy with handprints and dirt, seeing all this in public places made we wonder what the kitchens would be like.So although we enjoyed the location and found it no problem to walk into Protaras or down to the beach because of the issues stated in this review we would not stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loiner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
1,281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#55 of 65 in Protaras
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Polycarpia Hotel
Polycarpia Hotel
#64 of 65 in Protaras
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#35 of 65 in Protaras
1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsokkos Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsokkos Gardens Hotel

Property: Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Address: Athinas 18, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsokkos Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel is wonderfully set in a peaceful location just a short stroll from the lively area of Pernera with its many attractions. The golden sandy beach of Marlita Bay is just a short walk away. The focal point of the hotel is the large lagoon shaped swimming pool along with the well cared gardens. From your room balcony enjoy the idyllic view of the picturesque "Ayios Elias" church, a popular area landmark, along with a glass of wine. Located within a few meters is the new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great oportunity for an afternoon walk. Next to the hotel the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offers exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. A star choice for families and couples who seek a relaxing holiday an a warm hospitable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tsokkos Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsokkos Gardens Protaras
Hotel Tsokkos Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing