We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday and wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday and wedding”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the sunrise beach hotel 3-17 July and got married in the hotel during our stay. We travelled with family from 9 months to 82 years. When we arrived we were very pleased with our corner suite room. Fantastic views and lovely decor. The rest of our party had booked sea view rooms but were put in rooms at the side of the hotel which the hotel classed as sea view rooms. You had to turn to the side to see the sea so we would call them side view rooms. As they had paid the extra for sea view they all asked to be changed but had to wait till the morning for the reservations team. They were all moved with no issues and as a token gesture we were also upgraded to corner suite with jaccuzi :) During our stay we spoke to lots of people who had their room changed so don't be afraid to ask if you are not happy. Pedros was very helpful and helped everyone move their belongings. All of the rooms were very nice inside and very clean. The maid's did a fantastic job.
The sunbed allocation was great At first we had loungers in the garden which was very relaxing. We asked to be moved to poolside which wasn't a problem. Once other guests left we got their loungers :)
The food in the hotel was very nice. There is lots of choice at breakfast and you can choose to sit inside or outside. The lunch was also lovely, the portions were a little big though. The dinner was the best. It wasn't your usual school hall type buffet. You went inside to collect your food and sat outside overlooking the pool and sea. There was always entertainment during dinner. The pianist was very romantic. The staff at dinner were very pleasant and very professional. Our favourite waitress was Anna. She was always very friendly and was always asking if were looking forward to our wedding. The personal touch from Anna made us feel very important.
Entertainment at night was okay. It was very subdued and not many people stayed to watch it. However, if you didn't fancy a lively night on the strip this was a nice contrast. The entertainment duo were very nice people and tried their best to get you involved during the day (we were much too lazy).
Protaras strip was very good. There is something for everyone with lots of nice restaurants, fast food places, shops and bars.
Everyone had a lovely holiday and we will go back to Protaras.
Now to the wedding (I remember reading these reviews as a bride to be, desperate to read about the weddings).
I thought there was going to be lots of weddings whilst we were there and it would be a bit like a conveyor belt. Actually in our 2 week stay we saw about 6 weddings. We were the only wedding couple booked on our day so we got to choose between the 2 venues. We chose the garden deck as it was the more private of the 2. The food and banqueting manager (I really struggled with his name) was lovely. He met with us a few times and was very flexible with the menus etc. Roseann was our Thomson wedding co-ordinator and she was fantastic. She really did go out of our way to make sure our day was extra special. She deserves an award. The wedding package came with chair covers but we paid extra to have to whole area decorated including chair bows, a flower arch and flower stands. I would recommend this as it really was beautiful. We also had two violinists which was very romantic. All of these extras can be booked with you co-ordinator. The photographs and DVD were also booked through Thomsons and were of a much higher quality than we thought. We left our guest for just over an hour to go to cape greco for sunset pictures. I love our sunset pictures and it was a lovely experience. We then had our meal on the garden deck and it was gorgeous. We had speeches and then plugged our ipod into the sound system for some dancing. It really was the most perfect and relaxed night. If you are thinking of getting married at Sunrise Beach you wont be disappointed. The hotel also have a few surprises for wedding couples which I wont spoil for you.
I am so pleased I chose Sunrise Beach and I can't wait to go back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrshstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    328
    92
    30
    16
See reviews for
586
901
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

booked the sunrise because it was no1 on trip advisor for the resort and it deserves its place at the top, booked half board and found the food and the service was excellent the waiters/waitresses very attentive with nice atmosphere and outlook in the panorama resturant ,liked the fact your loungers are reserved, we were accomodated when we asked to change the position of ours, had room with sea view which was very nice but upgraded room to corner suite with 2 balconys which was fantastic .special mention for Neo the maitre de ,helped to make our holiday one to remember

Room Tip: recommend the corner suite a bit more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have just had two weeks at the Sunrise and it was perfect. I have been coming here for ten years and cannot find a better place in the world. The beach is excellent and is the best in Cyprus. The beach and Protarus has an added feature this year by a beach pathway, (promenade) with seating and llighting for an evening stroll. It is an assest to the Sunrise and Protarus. Our rooms were perfect with breath taking views. My children have had the time of their lives thanks to the Animation Team, Andy and Lilla. All the staff are very helpful and kind, a special thank you to Tassos and Micheal at the Apollo Bar, Yanis Beach Bar, Maria and all the reception staff. I have and will recommend this Hotel and Protarus to anybody. Thanks for making it a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Full Sea View is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We returned last Sun , 24th from a very pleasant 2 weeks at the Sunrise Beach. We have been lucky and stayed at some lovely hotels over the years , and alhough not the best, this certainly is up there.
Location is excellent , beach front , but also in the centre of the strip. From our 'limited sea view' room , we overlooked the sunbeds on the grass with a better than expected view out to the sea. Being on the strip , you would expect noise , but it wasnt at all bad and i am a light sleeper !!
Hotel - very nice , staff are very good , allocation of sunbeds upon arrival for duration is a good idea , and we did get a choice , and decided to have the beds on the grass which we were pleased with. The room was ok , but we were disappointed with the tired carpet , we are used to tiles (which you would expect ) , every other room we walked passed when the door was open had tiles (which we didnt notice til 2nd week) ,so just stay clear. of room 308 !! We booked B&B due to the strong reviews of restaurants we had read , however when you arrive at the hotel you are offered a discount for 4 dinners for the price of 3 or 3 for the price of 2 at the buffet restaurant or 2 others on the strip, which we took up , and were pleased we did as sitting eating next to the sea in the evening is not too shabby is it ? + the buffet food was good and varied for all you picky eaters....
Recommended restaurants and pubs - Andama (sis restaurant of The Corner) is superb , the owner is charming and funny and the greek food is delicious by far the best mousaka I have ever had and the flambeye steaks lovelly !) , The Molti is also very good , more multinational cuisine. In our opiinon stay clear of The Corner as were both disappointed , esp as reviews on here quite good, and the Italian opp hotel (cant recall name ) gave me a poor quality pizza , and if italian cant make a good pizza , why try anything else on his menu !? There are a couple of other good italians , one has a Gangster theme , cant recall name but it is obv , it is popular and we had to que to get in.
Spent most of our evenings in Rockafellas which has a good vibe , most acts a bit cheesy but fun , Kyle s pretty good , but it is the Soul Man who is the star of this place(who recently one the Cyprus XFactor equilivant - or something) you should go see him , if you like your soul , blues etc.... Last tip , there is a laser and 'dancing water' show on the strip ......dont bother, really..... All in all a fab break at a very good hotel , good food with perfect (for us ) weather !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HertsGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and i have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at the Sunrise Beach Hotel. It was our first visit to this hotel and it certainly lived up to our expectations. We had booked a full sea view room through Thomsons which was spacious, clean and very comfortable and lovely sea views. After a few days we decided to upgrade to the corner suite which was amazing. You can actually watch the sunrise whilst lying in bed!!
The allocation of sunbeds on arrival, the ice cold flannels and pieces of fresh fruit that were given to you whilst you were sunbathing around the pool made this hotel stand out from the rest.
We normally stay 4 star or 4 star plus for our main holiday and would definately rate this hotel as the best one we have stayed in.
All the staff work hard to make sure you have an enjoyable holiday.
We did eat out on a few occassions, and visited some bars. We found Protaras to be very good value for money. We would like to make a special mention to the Parko Restaurant as the food was excellent and it had the service to match.

Finally i would like to say "Well Done Sunrise Beach , Keep up the good work and hopefully we will see you next year!"

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for two weeks the hotel is in a perfect location, in the middle of Protaros, yet at night time you do not hear a sound. It is located on the beach, and the water is perfect.
The staff are very helpful. I would advise going to the beach, even though there is a charge for the beds it is worth it. Most pubs have nightly entertainment, we kept going back to the only fools and horses bar, great entertainment. There are a lot of restauraunts to visit but the ones that stand out for me were , Anatolia at one end of the town, there is a greek restauraunt at the other end of the town near the road heading down to Nausica beech, and a third restauraunt called Oscar, you will not be disappointed. Also avail of the big red bus tour for a day to see some of the island, the staff at the hotel did not know anything about it ????, but these is a booking kiosk on the main street. Protaros is definately a place for a relaxing holiday, and the sunrise beach is a perfect hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooddown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked this hotel via the internet around five weeks prior to departure.
We had stoped in Protaras two years ago and loved the beaches, location and people.
The Sunrise did not fail to impress, high quality, friendly,spotlessly clean
Location superb right on the beach
Sun loungers allocated for your stay which stops the early morning sunbed fight#
Fresh Beach Towels included, lovely!!
We hope to return in September and again in July 2012 to stay at the Sunrise Pearl

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sykes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
1,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#13 of 66 in Protaras
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing