We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday at the start of season” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday at the start of season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent a week at the Sunrise Beach at the beginning of April. The hotel, staff, food and beach were fantastic. There were very few restaurants etc open in the town, many hotels were not yet open, but it meant that the lovely beach was deserted, and since we ate in the hotel most nights, this suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    326
    88
    26
    16
See reviews for
579
897
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed (husband, wife and 3 year old) at the Sunrise Beach Hotel for a week 8th-15th April and we had a partial sea-view room. At 7am every morning we were woken up by drilling from building work near the entrance of the hotel (they are building 4+ villa type complexes on the main road). This didn’t really bother us, as we don’t spend a lot of time in the room and our boy is an early riser.
Our son just wanted to play in the child’s pool all day, so we reserved sunbeds next to this pool. We were astonished to find out they were building a new hotel next door ( Sunrise Pearl). On the first day they were pumping up cement next to where we were pitched (please look at the picture). This was heavy duty work with JCBs and large cement mixers making it very loud.
I went to the welcome meeting the same morning and complained to the Thomson rep. He said they are aware of the work (hard to miss) and said they are constantly monitoring noise levels and relaying this information back to Thomson in the UK. HOWEVER the rep told me that Thompson (and the Hotel Manager) have decided NOT to inform UK customers when booking the holiday.
They suggested that we sunbathe away from the child’s pool as this is right next to the work. However our 3 year-old-son is always in the small pool so staying anywhere else on the grounds was not ideal.
As a result of my complaint, we were upgraded to Half-Board……so I recommend you do the same if you booked under false pretences. They couldn’t move us to another hotel so we decided to put it behind us and put up with the noise (and being over looked by the builders). They couldn’t even put the jets/fountains on in the child’s pool (saving energy even though they were at 70% capacity).
Hotel itself is lovely, clean and great staff. It’s priceless being able to hop-skip-jump down to the beach. Breakfast is very good, Dinner is good (no shorts allowed).
The building work is due to end in June.
Would I go back before this time? No
Would I go back after completion? Definitely Yes
When you pay brochure price on a holiday, I would expect to be told of extensive building work. I am all in favour of making informed decisions….Thomson/Hotel Manager took that away from us.
If you won’t be using the child’s pool, the building work will not really affect you as you can sunbathe well away from it in the large grounds. Most of our holiday was spent in this area so it impacted us more than others.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matty0682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had a fortnight at this hotel in April 2012 on half board basis. Superb hotel and food was of excellent quality as was the friendliness of the staff of the hotel. Pool area, gardens and beach were superb. You are alloted sunbeds for the whole of your stay so no need for towels out at 6.30 each morning!!! Great walks along the front of hotel stretching for about 3km to walk off your meal. Room was large, clean and well maintained but wooden floors meant that you heard noise above and either side of your room late at night and in the morning. Cleaners start early!!!
Holiday spoilt by building work going on next to hotel (they are building a 5 star sister hotel due to finish by June) and on approach to hotel. Nothing mentioned of this on hotel website or travel brochure. Woken just after 7am by noise from reversing diggers etc. However, if you ignore this then the hotel is excellent. The `Strip` consists entirely of boozers, restaurants, tat shops and supermarkets...ok if you like football but nothing for the girls!!!

Room Tip: Sea view masks some of the noise from the building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beeman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Bearing in mind that if you are booking this hotel for the near future you will probably be getting a very good value holiday the hotel has got work going on next door in their sister hotel but there is plenty of room to sun bathe in a very quiet lawned area with seaviews and a beach bar to the south side of the hotel. We are currently occupying a south side sea view room and I can personally say that I have not experienced being woken by any noise emitting from the buliding work. If you were to amble along the promenade heading towards Farmagusta you will notice that along this coastline that there is quite few new devolpments in progress or near to completion so what does that tell you about the resorts location ? The food available particulary the breakfast with the half board option is of a very high standard and there are ample staff to ensure that your every need is catered for. The house keeping is also of a very high standard. With regards to a reviewers comments on the cost of hotel drinks these costs are proportionate to staying in a five star hotel !

Room Tip: No sleep issues on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just returned from 7 days at the Sunrise Beach. It was a lovely break. We stayed on bed and breakfast terms only and enjoyed eating out at the many good quality resturants in the area. We had a suite and must say it was a real treat. The bed was so comfy, and add that to the full length window facing the sea with an electronic blind operated from the bed side - it was hard to get up! The weather at easter was changeable but had some good days as well as rain. Certainly needed a jumper or jacket for the evenings. The current building work is a bit off putting when you arrive but did not affect our enjoyment in the least. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the spa facilities are very good too. The breakfasts were aways good and the lunch time bar dining was not bad either. We also had a snack one evening in the bar which was good, I would say that I was a little disappointed with the quality of the towels, could have had more and of better quality and looking cleaner, but that was all regarding the hotel. Our only main disappointment with the holiday was the quality of the flight with Thomsons. There was little to no leg room which my husband at 6foot plus found extremely uncomfortable, and there was no entertainment which seemed to make four and half hour journey that much longer. We purchased extra leg room to come home.

Room Tip: A suite on the front of the hotel has two balconies - all day sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yosemitesam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a great hotel - spotlessly clean, great food and perfect location. Staff are friendly and the place is generally nice and relaxed. Drinks in the hotel are pricey - but thats what those stars do!!

OK - so the building works next to the hotel. They are significant and as at Apr 2012 they are still at groundworks / construction stage - which means JCB's, cement lorries etc etc. During the day we weren't bothered by the works at all, and we were lounging around right next to them most of the time. The only time they bothered us was at about 7.30am (when the works start) and when they were using a JCB to take sand / rubble from the sea to use on site (which was very noisy).

Would the works put us off going to this hotel next week? No - but we were annoyed that Thomson didnt provide more information so that we could make a reasoned decision. Dont believe that the remaining works are just superficial - its not true!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmsunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

just spent 7 nights at the sunrise beach hotel arrived back on sunday 15 april ,the hotel and staff are excellent, the beach location is perfect the water sports staff and choice of sports are 5star,it could have been a perfect holiday but the hotel is surrounded by building work starting at 7am every morning by diggers ,workmen, jcb, etc etc,

MY partner has been very ill for the past three years and all we wanted was a quite stress free holiday

I made a point before booking the holiday to get my travel agent to contact THOMPSON HOLIDAYS , To ask if any biliding work was in progress THOMPSON HOLIDAYS SAID NO BUILDING WORK HAS BEEN REPORTED THIS WAS A DILBERATE LIE ON BEHALF ON THOMPSON HOLIDAYS

The sunrise beach are building a 5 star hotel next door THE SUNRISE PEARL HOTEL, in the resort the thompson rep told us that the building work was reported everyweek back to thompsons in the uk,
However this does not get filtered back to travel agents

MY issues are with thompson holidays , not the sunrise beach hotel ,

Room Tip: the sea view is worth every penny, when the building work is finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SUNBEAM3-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing