We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at the Sunrise Beach Hotel at the end of May. Can't emphasize enough how excellent the hotel was.
On arrival we were warmly greeted as we alighted the coach with a tip to book our sunbeds early the following day. This we did and as a result had excellent sunbeds around the pool with beautiful views of the sea beyond.

There were five in our party occupying three rooms and all had side see views which was well worth the extra expense. Our rooms appeared to be recently decorated with comfortable beds, individually controlled air conditioning, coffee table and chairs and mini bar [which we did not use]. There is also a safe in the wardrobe which is free to use and the porter will show you how it works when he delivers your cases. A flat screen TV sat on the dressing table and apart from the usual TV channels i.e. BBC World etc. there was also a TV channel showing English language movies. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and nicely decorated and both rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily.

With regard to meals we were on a half board basis which was the right choice for me being a picky eater as lunch was mediterranean cuisine and not to my liking. Breakfast, however, was delicious with plenty of choice to suit all tastes as was dinner. We also made use of the Restaurant serving grills [its name I have forgotten] where we had excellent steaks. There is also a Greek restaurant belonging to the hotel but did not use this so can't comment.

The Sunrise Beach opens on to the beach which has picturesque walks in either direction. The hotel also has an elevated terrace with a panoramic view of the beach where you can have a drink or snack while watching the world go by.

For those people needing ironing facilities you can borrow an iron and ironing board from reception. Don't know if there is a charge as i took my own.

On our departure day as, we had a late flight we hired one of our rooms until 6 00pm so that we could have a shower before leaving. Sorry can't remember the charge but it was well worth it for the five of us.

Entertainment at the Sunrise Beach is low key and my only suggestion would be to have professional international acts. If they did this we would not have had to leave the hotel at all

Protaras is a small Resort but it has plenty of snack bars, restaurants and bars

Incidentally the Sunrise Beach has a sister hotel opening next door called Sunrise Pearl, they were putting the finishing touches to the swimming pool while we were there That might be worth a try in the future.

All in all we has a wonderful holiday and would not hesitate to return. .

Room Tip: I would strongly suggest you pay the extra and have a side sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valley_Mam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just come back from this holiday stayed at the Sunrise beach Hotel, all staff at this hotel were very helpful and and especilly Angelo from the entertainment team every morning he chatted to everyone around the pool and gardens, and made us very welcome. Food was very good and with a great choice, our room was very clean on arrival, and towels changed daily. We had a family room with a partition and a wonderful sea view .The evening entertainment wasn't that brilliant but that was only a small downside to our holiday, as you could just go outside on the main strip and you have restaurants, pubs, clubs, we often went to the Love Boat to watch a number of tributes such as Freddie Mercury, Robbie Williams,The Blues Brothers.Also visit Rockefellows for a great time.I would recommend this hotel, as we meet another couple who have been coming for the past 28 years,

Room Tip: Sea view, well recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlovers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Overall very good hotel. The location is right on the beach - very clear and warm sea :) Its right in the heart of the strip. Walk outside and you have restaurants, bars, shops...

Angelo from the Entertainment Team was excellant! He spoke to us all the time and remembered our names. He made a real effort with everyone in the hotel. This makes a big difference when you have great staff like Angelo. 10/10! :)

The food was great and in the evening you always sat outside. This made your evening meal more enjoyable. The pool temperature was perfect and spacious. I loved the daily aqua arobics - the team made it quite fun! I liked the fact that the entertainment team made an effort to get people involved in small activities but were not too pushy. We had a family room which was quite large with a division. Loved the view of the beach and the clear sea from my balcony. (Need to book sea view). The hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Slightly more relaxed in the hotel in the evening. If you want abit more noise you can go outside - 2 min walk. The kids had a disco every night in the hotel.

Overall the hotel is very good :)

Have fun! xx Fiona

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view. It makes a huge difference :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Myself and my fiancée stayed here between the 24th June and the 8th July 2012.
Last year we stayed at the Capo Bay hotel, Protaras, and although we loved this hotel, we thought we would try somewhere different, and chose this hotel from the No1 rating on trip advisor.

En route, we were happy that we where promised 1st or 2nd drop off, due to it being a Thompson platinum hotel, however we where 3rd drop off. This wasn't so bad. On arrival at the hotel, we where in a large queue to check in, and where asked if we wanted to move next door to the Sunrise pearl. We declined this, but on reflection, i might have. Not because this hotel was bad, but as a couple who are 42 & 31, the clientèle where quite old.

The hotel was run a lot like the Capo, but wasn't as modern, and was slightly in need of updating. Our room was fine, and was situated overlooking tennis courts to the front. This wasn't a problem, as we rarely use the balcony, however we where awoken a number of times by noise. Normally delivery trucks or workman in the neighboring development.

We read reviews that the staff where very friendly, and on the whole they where, but barring the beach front bar staff, they didn't say a lot. I must make special mention to Yiannis at this bar. Him and his team where excellent, and really friendly.

We where B&B, and the breakfast was very good, with a great selection. Apart from the breakfast, we didn't dine in the hotel, as the choice and quality of the local restaurants is fantastic (Nickolas Tavern, Molti, Diva and Hobo to mention a few).

In summary, this is a very good hotel if you are over 60, and especially if you are a regular, but for us, its the Capo Bay all the way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meddy2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We are going back to the Sunrise Hotel again. This hotel and all staff are excellent we have now been about 6 times. the hotel is spotless as is your rooms, cleaned and fresh towels everyday. Sunbeds are reserved throughout your stay you can be around the pool or gardens and a short walk onto beach and beautiful clear sea. All staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble from the receptionists, waiters, pool attendants Bar staff Tassos, Andreas, Micheal hotel bar. Yiannis, Micheal,Stathis beach bar. Marios (1) & Marios (2) pool bar.

Highly recommend this hotel and we also see the same guests who go back like us time and time again. We can't wait until next week.

Marie & Richie from Bebington, Wirral

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marie501989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We arrived to find a lovely room, everything to hand, tea and coffee making all tucked away in a little drawer, welcome drink and a slice of cake, Very comforable bed after a long delay with the flight it was welcome. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The system with sunbeds is an excellent idea where you choose a sunbed either by the pool or in the garden and this is reserved for the whole of your stay ( so not getting up early to find a sunbed).

We stayed bed and breakfast and there was everything available for you in a lovely setting. The whole hotel is in a lovely setting backing on to the beach with lovely sea views and also just a minutes stroll up to the main strip. Would definitely go there again. We enjoyed one evening meal and again spolit for choice.

All in all we had a great week with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wraggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We booked this hotel and stayed for one week June 2012, on recommendation from a friend that has been going there for ten years. Our first impression on arrival was very good as the reception area looked nice and the staff were very welcoming. However we were allocated a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the kitchens and waste ground with a very nice looking JCB parked there. Having arrived late 2300hrs we could hear slight noise from the bars opposite so having an eleven year old child with us we thought this may be a problem, but the double glazing did its job. We were also disappointed with the standard of the room, whilst clean, it was very sparse, and in need of modernisation. We immediately requested a room change but were advised that the hotel was full.
The pool area was impressive, however, you need to be persistant if you do not want to be seated in the far garden area. Whilst this pre allocating arrangement does avoid the early morning towel problems, it seems to be that the best locations are alloctaed to 'returning guests' and by room standard ie seaview rooms get best sunbeds. Also it is annoying when you see prime positions empty for hours on end, when others could make good use of the beds. The sunbeds on the public beach cost 2.50Euro each for the day.
Food at the hotel was of a good quality and choice. Breakfast was buffet style and could be a bit hetic, that said there was a good choice and plenty of it, staff were always very accomodating and worked hard.
We were Half Board and enjoyed the restaurant setting which was one of the best we have experienced with stunning seaviews. Again Mr Neo the Restaurant Manager organised the staff and ensured his guests were well looked after. He did not let standards slip and enforced the rule that male guests wear long trousers to dine.The food was of very good quality and plentiful with variety each evening. On the last day we ate in the Reef bar and again the food was good. We did not take up the option of eating in the Greek Restaurant just up the road as we enjoyed the hotel food so much.
Our daughter spent time with Anrike in the Childrens club, mainly to avoid too much time in the Sun, and she really enjoyed, with Anrike making the extra effort to keep the different age ranges entertained. Thank You.
Overall a lovely hotel and we would return, but at the same time would expect the upgrades that other returning guests seemed to enjoy. We were not given the opportunity to move to the Pearl, but upon walking around the exterior, it looked impressive, albeit still work required to complete.
To summerise, the experience of the hotel varies greatly depending upon your room and sunbed allocation. The staff are very friendly and make the effort to ensure the guests enjoy their stay.
Location wise, it is only a short walk away from the bars on the main run, but far enough that we were not affected by them.

Room Tip: sea veiw rooms are high quality but are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank driftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#16 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £130 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing