We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Once Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Protaras, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Once Again”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Once again another great holiday. The staff give excellent customer service 100%, starting at breakfast great choice and Som has such a lovely smile as he cooks the eggs, then you have Yiannis and his team at beach bar who deliver great service and always have time for you(and great Gin Fizz). During the day Angelo from entertainment team comes round he has a great personality, then Tasos bar manager who always has the time for you, Justine who we used to meet in the morning that nice friendly chat and not forgetting reception Leondis and Maria, but all staff are really out to please. We love the setting, choosing your sunbeds for holiday duration (no rushing in the morning) clean beach towels daily, clean hotel, perfect, that is why we have returned more than 20 times

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet_warrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,380
    343
    96
    31
    18
See reviews for
626
969
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

First time at this hotel and we can't praise the staff highly enough. (stayed 3 july-14 july '13) We fell in love with Cyprus and the people back in the 80s and this hotel captures everything we fell in love with. From the moment you arrive the staff are so welcoming and cannot do enough for you. We were on half board and eat in the open roof top restaurant every night. The buffet was excellent as was the service we received from Neo and his staff - thank you Neo and team for providing a first class service! So did Yannis serving us lunchtime snacks and Tassos and his team, providing us with our cocktails before and after dinner - all provided with a friendly chat and smile. The location is as you will see from brochures Internet pictures is great -as with other hotels on this stretch of beach - but what makes this hotel is the STAFF. We stayed in a full sea view room which was spacious and comfy would recommend sea view room. My only regret is that this was our first visit but now that we've experienced this lovely hotel with the welcoming atmosphere created by the staff and the delicious breakfast and evening meals - we will be going back sometime next year! Thank you everyone at Sunrise for making our holiday so brilliant! Viv Craven and family also known as the cocktail family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and have nothing but praise. Like others we found the sunbed allocation an excellent idea. We had beds on the grass initially but after the first week the pool staff had reserved us poolside beds and came to tell us we could move - we didnt have to ask.
We were on halfboard and thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal in the Panorama restaurant - so much so that we didnt even try the Italian or Greek dine-around options ! We did eat in the Reef when the tennis was on but this was a little disappointing. We found the food here to be rather bland, and I have to say the chairs in the outside seating area were THE most uncomfortable I have ever sat on !

An attendant for the gym wouldnt go amiss, as some of the equipment was a little difficult to work, but this wasnt really a problem as such.

The hotel's wi-fi is shocking ! I barely had signal anywhere and had to dangle from my balcony 5 floors up to try and get it, and then after a few minutes it would be lost and I would have to sign-in again ! I know it was free so I shouldnt grumble, but my phone wouldnt send or receive texts whilst I was away and the internet was the only way I could keep in touch with my son at home. It picked up the wi-fi of a hotel 2 stops away better !

We found virtually all of the hotel staff to be friendly and pleasant with the exception of one woman on Reception. I forget her name, a red haired lady, but she never seemed able to raise a smile and was generally quite stand-offish. A shame considering how lovely everyone else was.

Drinks prices in the hotel are ridiculous ! but I guess this is the same the world over.

I would definitely return to this hotel and to Cyprus. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a seaview room, and eat in the Panorama. The buffets were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starbucksluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a wonderful time again in June, this hotel never disappoints you. From the moment you arrive and greeted by the porters and Maria at reception until the time you leave, they cannot do enough for you. Neo who you will see at breakfast and what a selection and also during the day (when does he rest). Lunch time drink and snack with Yannis, a pre dinner drink served by Tassos and his team, dinner on the terrace or at one of the other restuarants. The rooms are lovely and clean. Kyriakos if you read this your staff are credit to you, I just wish other hotels looked after their guests as well as yours do. Look forward to seeing you all again in September

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsdens39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we stayed here for 2 weeks end of june-beg of july, hotel is right on the beach, has a lovely pool too. perfect location, right in the centre. we had a room nearer to the main strip and we could just about hear a slight noise at night time- but nothing much.
you get allocated sunbeds on your arrival - if you dont like the place you have you can ask to be moved. this is such a good thing as you have them for the whole holiday.
we booked bed and breakfast but did upgrade to half board for 8 nights due to the food being so good in all their resturants and it was a good price. the food is lovely & the view is also nice.
beach bar was overpriced- not sure if this is due to walkers by stopping there so they put the prices up- but if it was discount should be given to guests showing a room key.
hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much.
clean and tidy hotel.
lots of guests there had been there before and keep coming back, if we were to return to cyprus we would book this hotel again or the sunrise pearl (next door, same company- just its newer and smaller)
tip- we booked a tour from a company across the road (across the road in between sunrise pearl and beach hotels) we went to famagusta for 25 euros each and had such an amazing time. we had a local driver who spoke very good english, he had also lived in famagusta before the turks took it over. worth the pennies!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tash_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is the only hotel we have returned to as we like it so much. Our last visit was twoyears ago and again found the service first class. All of the management were familiar faces and was amazed that on our first full evening we were greeted by the bar manager as he still recognised us. The food in the restaurant was again supberb with lots of choice and the service was first class with Teo leading the way. Entertainment was good and Antonio was good fun and not over the top. All staff worked very hard as a team and this reflects on the quality of the holiday. I would definately recommend this hotel. Will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is just perfect I will break it down a bit

The rooms - The rooms were what I would describe as just normal hotel rooms the one that we stayed in didn't over look the sea or anything but to me that didn't matter as you barely spend much time there any way the rooms are clean and tidy and the best ing is there is a proper shower! And you get some decent TV channels for that time in between coming in from the pool and going to dinner

The pool and surroundings - the fact that you get allocated sunbeds is AMAZING it takes away so much of the stress of the holiday not having to worry about what time you get up! We was in the garden bit which was just fine by us as we are not massive pool users plus its only a 30 sec walk to the pool the pool is lovely and not freezing cold it's refreshing but not freezing and it is literally right in the beach so you can just take a walk down to the sea then go back to your sun bed,

The food and drink - we were half board and the great thing is some of the places you could eat we're outside in the main strip so you still got that holiday thing of choosing where to eat and all of the food was lovely the restaurant in the hotel is on a level over looking the sea and its just stunning if you go to the American restaurant have the chocolate cake for pudding as its the best cake I have ever eaten I would go back just for that!!

It's in a good location close to shops and bars if you fancy but you don't get any noise from the street as its set back a bit from the road.

The only negative thing I would say about the hotel is the prices of the soft drinks for 2 small bottles of water it was 3.40 euros!! When you can get a big six pack of water from the shop for less than that and a large coke was over 3 euros and they don't sell big bottles of water and I find I drink more when you have a big bottle and stay hydrated its just frustrating as they don't like you to bring your own drink in by the pool so should def make it a bit cheaper and sell big bottles

But I would def go back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,062 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing