We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming again from the Czech Republic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Lounovice, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coming again from the Czech Republic”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is to share our experience from two consecutive two-families stays at Sunrise Beach Hotel in Protaras in July 2012 and the same month in 2013, which made us to book for July 2014 now again. Having visited other nice places in Cyprus before, we chose the hotel based on its location and available references to meet the needs of our daughter´s family, specifically the kids who were just 2,5 and 1 year old for the first visit. The kids truly enjoyed the shallow crystal clear waters and fine sand beach access from the first moment as we four adults enjoyed the swimming. We have been very satisfied with our decision and the hotel services so far, be it the overall amenities, friendly and helpful staff or very good meals choice for breakfasts and half-board dinners. As we prefer to take sun beds and umbrellas at the beach close to the sea edge because of the kids, rather than to stay at the pool no matter how nice the area may be, we just have to make a hint to other family visitors preferring beach to pool like us, in that it may be recommendable to plan a sightseeing or another activity in some of the weekend days, when local youth makes the beach more crowded and lively than usual.

Room Tip: We have the experience with side sea view so far, which is maybe nicer from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedrich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    343
    96
    31
    18
See reviews for
625
969
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Me and my now wife booked up our wedding in Cyprus with Thomson for September 2013. Staff in store were friendly and helpful and went through every detail clearly with us. When it came to choosing our room for the sunrise beach hotel I said I want to pay extra for the sea view room, but I was advised by the agent not too because we would get a room upgrade on arrival anyway, because they do that for all wedding couples. So we were happy about that and being one less thing to worry about or pay for. All other planning went well and communication with the wedding planners was great and they were very helpful with our queries. Then when we arrived at sunrise beach hotel, we got checked in and shown to our room, only to find it wasn't the room we were expecting and the view was just over looking waste land and the back of the hotel. So I went to reception to ask why we had been put in this room when we were promised a sea view room on booking. The lady on reception wasn't really interested and told us we might get an upgrade for the wedding night and told us to take it up with our rep (who we hadn't met yet). The morning after we met our rep (Nikki) at the welcome meeting and told her our problem and said that again I would pay extra for the sea view. she seemed very helpful at first and also told us we should not have been told we would get an automatic upgrade when booking but she wanted to put it right, so she took our details as well as another older couples who were also put in the wrong room. We were relaxed with the thought that it was getting sorted out and we'd soon have our sea view room. Two days passed and we didn't hear anything from Nikki, but we had spoke to the other couple and they had got their room changed because it was their anniversary and other couples were getting moved to their sister hotel the sunrise pearl. So I went to look for Nikki and when I eventually did find her she was not very helpful at all and wasn't really interested in helping us out. So I went to reception and asked them if we could change our room and I would pay the extra price but I was told nothing was available but again told we could get a room change on the night of the wedding. I told my wife who was distraught and we feel it spoiled our experience because we couldn't relax or settle in the room because of the terrible view and we were constantly chasing reps and wondering if we would eventually get the room we were promised at the time of booking, because sea view rooms were available then and we were going to pay the extra for the upgrade in the first place. We then met Sarah the Thompson wedding planner (who also told us we should of had the upgrade) but as we had already arranged our own photographer and reception venue, all the was left for her to arrange was transport, 'the big red bus' which we were told was available for us on the day we needed it so we booked it and paid the money there and then. Then the photographer came and we showed him the wedding venue, hotel etc. he stated that he couldn't take pictures in the room because it was just too small and cramped. So he went to reception and explained he was a well known and popular photographer for destination weddings (Wes Simpson who was excellent) and said if they give us the better room he would mention them on he's website. They agreed and my wife got the room for the photographs on the wedding day but had to be out by 4pm. So the room was clearly empty and they did have rooms available after all but we didn't get to keep it. The day before the wedding Sarah left a message with reception for us to contact her so we did and she told us the bus was booked and we couldn't have it, but why take so long to let us know? and why tell us it was available in the first place? So we had to arrange our own coach to pick up the 52 guests. In the mean time we met Maria the hotel wedding planner who showed us the venue and took our music to be played. Then she told us we get a complimentary candle lit dinner at one of the hotels restaurants but had to book the table in advance, so we did. Then later realised we already had plans so went to see if we could change it but Maria had gone so we asked reception if they would change it for us, they pointed us to a computer to change it but that didn't work, so we went back but no one wanted to help. So we missed out on our complimentary dinner. So with nothing going to plan and after all that had gone wrong already we were dreading that things wouldn't go to plan on the wedding day. The wedding day came and everything did go to plan and it was it was a beautiful day, but no thanks to anyone at the hotel or the Thomson reps. We feel the staff and the reps didn't bother with us because we were a younger couple (25&26) and went out of their way to help all the older couples and people who were returning. And if it wasn't for friends and family being there it would of been an even worse experience. We chose Thomson and sunrise beach because of the great reviews and previous holidays with Thomson being so great. It was supposed to be the happiest holiday of our lives but after spending all that money booking and arranging things we felt let down by Thomson, the reps and the hotel right from the day we booked. We should not have been told we would get an upgrade if it wasn't true, especially when we where willing to pay extra for the room we wanted. We book a lot of holidays with Thomson and we have also booked our honeymoon to Mexico in March but we are seriously considering cancelling and going with some one else. We would not recommend anyone, especially younger couples to book their wedding with Thomson or sunrise beach hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Leerob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a week in Cyprus in june 2013, and chose the Sunrise Beach hotel. We were not sorry we chose this hotel, the room was very nice, decent bathroom, great breakfast, no stress with the sunbeds, and the clearest water in the world. The pool was also nice, but as the temperature was so hot, we mostly swam in the sea to cool off.

We chose to take a trip into Nicosia to get some history and culture, and it was a lovely city, but terribly terribly hot, the bus ride back was rather awful, because the bus had been standing in the sun, baking, for 4 hours while we'd been sightseeing, but it is a wonderful historic city, and deserves a visit if one is interested.

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing week in the sun. Some of the people with sunbeds next to ours had gone back time and time again for years, and we could understand why as it was a very relaxing luxurious place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

would just like to say thanks to all,fabulous stay again,2nd time we've been and going again in september,absolutely wonderful,must just streess that Mr Tassos,the bar manager is a great guy,and it will be great to see him again,glass of ice please

Room Tip: pick a sea wiew,wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

once again i have to compliment the management,staff,and facilities for a wonderful holiday in both months.the location on the best bit of beach in protaras coupled with the friendliest service and people make this a multi repeat destination for my wife and i.Once again special mention must be made of maria and her team in reception , neo who runs the panorama restaurant so brilliantly,ajith the head chef and his excellent team of chefs,and the human dynamo in charge of the beach bar, yiannis.His energy taking numerous orders,remembering them all at the same time serving previous drinks and food requests will leave you feeling exhausted-time for anotherdrink i think!.Too many people to name them all individually but they are not forgotten and we look forward to our return visit in 2014.Well done everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stay at the sunrise beach every year it is like going home to our family because we always have a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff when we arrive at the hotel and nothing is too much trouble during our stay. All the rooms are very clean and comfortable they are cleaned every day. The food quality is excellent, the head chef Ajith Perera is always smiling and comes out to greet everybody. We always have a laugh with Tascos, Andreas and Justine, we go to the beach bar in the day and have a good laugh with Yannis we are going back in August to see all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After getting off the bus from the transfer I was very disappointed with the hotel there was no warm welcome which you would expect from a 5 star hotel, after paying nearly £4,000 for the holiday for 2 adults and 1 child i expected a lot more, after complaining to the reception about the room we was allocated we was told the hotel was full and there was no other we could have. The rooms where nice, but for those who where getting married there was simply not enough room to do this in your wedding dress, in the end we complained 4 times until they moved us into the family room, which was twice the size and was perfect! had an amazing view of all the sea.The hotel itself the pools and the area was fantastic!! The bar staff was outstanding and could not do enough for you! we got married here on the 17th september and Maria the wedding coordinator made you feel very much at ease throughout the whole day. The restaurants are all fantastic and there is so much choice for everyone , overall we had an amazing wedding and holiday with out 39 Guests which all loved it. would recommend to others getting married but to not stop in the standard room / or standard sea view rooms as there is not enough room. Other than the room issue this was a perfect holiday in a perfect 5 star hotel

Room Tip: request a family room if travelling for a wedding or with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing