We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to my original review?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What happened to my original review?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I reviewed this over-rated hotel when my husband and I returned from 2weeks Oct 2012( our 30th wedding anniversary )so where has it gone? Yes 2012 Tripadvisor hav wiped my original review so had to restate again the terrible room with mould/damp on the walls Protaras is a nice resort but would never stay at this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    330
    94
    30
    17
See reviews for
593
907
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This review is not for a stay in the Sunrise Beach, but for their wedding facilities. We love Protaras, and when we decided to get married there, we looked for the right venue. We actually stayed next door in the sister hotel Sunrise Pearl, but they did not have a wedding facility. We visited in October 2012 and met the wedding planner (Maria), looked at where the wedding would take place and thought that it was perfect for us. We paid about €400 for the facilities and Maria's services. The decked area overlooked the grounds and the beach, seats were covered in white linen, a bar was provided and the sun shone. Maria arranged a fantastic photographer for us (Jorge), which cost us about €500, but we did opt for the top package and he was fantastic. She also arranged taxis to take my Fiancée (as she was then), grandchildren, page boy and bridesmaids from The Pearl to The Beach. The hotel couldn't have done any more to make our day special, hence this review. We did not use the tour operator wedding service as we felt it was expensive so we did it ourselves, and it wasn't that difficult and only cost half of Thomsons price!! Some of our guests stayed here and they loved it, but I cannot review it on that basis. There are quite a few venues in Protaras, but would definitely recommend the services of this hotel. We hope this review helps someone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Wicker-Chalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very delayed review
We got married and spent 2 weeks here at the Sunrise in June 13. On arrival we were greeting by friendly porters off the coach transfer with fresh orange while checking in. Clean spacious lobby and very helpful reception staff. Amazing glass wall overlooking the sea stunning view.
On arrival to our room we were slightly disappointed though especially as we were getting married at the hotel and would of thought they would of gone that little extra mile.
The room was adequate and the balcony over looked restaurant bin areas/car parks and bins and in the distance was the town strip.
Was told the view would be sea facing and no need to upgrade when booked through Thomson this wasn't the case. We approached the hotel staff who were so helpful but couldn't upgrade us as the hotel was fully booked wasn't their fault though. They ensured us though if they could they would.... and they did.

Later that week upgraded to another room with side see view for one day and then a an amazing suite for the last 4 nights sea facing. I would suggest if you can book a suite especially for a special occasion. I ended up getting ready for the wedding at my parents Vila as wasn't impressed with the room.

Couldn't fault the hotel, hotel staff made our stay extra special, The bar staff were superb and will always remember sitting out on the terrace with a Amaretto watching the sea at night.
Would recommend however, not as a wedding venue. Felt a bit too commercial and attention to detail missed by Thomson Staff on wedding day.

Cant wait to go back this year may stay in the Sunrise Pearl next door though this time
holiday 9/10
wedding 7/10

Room Tip: Suites are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greasby wirral uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Well I've been to most of the top hotels in this area of protaras coming here on a regular basis over many years and I have to report that The Sunrise Beach Hotel is a fantastic we'll run hotel that does stand up amongst the rest. The restaurant is brilliant with its own personal chefs to cook any type of breakfast in the morning to its wonderful selection of foods. The beach is just great for all ages..warm, clear, warm waters and with its own private sun lounge area..I mean private and clean. The staff here really do bend over backwards helping your stay be a wonderful one. Myself and my wife had a corner sea view suite..outstanding room and view of the bay...brilliant! It's a quiet hotel with some entertainment on certain days with its own bar area which is lovely. Anyway just check this hotel out as you won't be disappointed ... If you are into water sports or need a boat walk out onto the beach, turn right and walk along the beach path up to fig tree bay.. 5min walk and ask for Stavos water sports and ask to speak to Stavos himself..his whole family run a fantastic set up on the beach..he is a lovely Cypriot man that really wants you to have a lovely time in the bay. And so have a look it's a superb hotel.

Room Tip: 506 suite...excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have stayed at the sunrise beach hotel on two occasions one as a couple and one as a family, Truly amazing place to stay, perfect location on the protaras strip, right on the beach, Clean friendly and welcoming throughout the hotel, Reef restaurant was defiantly worth visiting, Rooms where cleaned daily. Swimming pool was cold but hey you do not mind that when its 40'c.
Like i say we would give this a 10 out of 10 and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lounovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is to share our experience from two consecutive two-families stays at Sunrise Beach Hotel in Protaras in July 2012 and the same month in 2013, which made us to book for July 2014 now again. Having visited other nice places in Cyprus before, we chose the hotel based on its location and available references to meet the needs of our daughter´s family, specifically the kids who were just 2,5 and 1 year old for the first visit. The kids truly enjoyed the shallow crystal clear waters and fine sand beach access from the first moment as we four adults enjoyed the swimming. We have been very satisfied with our decision and the hotel services so far, be it the overall amenities, friendly and helpful staff or very good meals choice for breakfasts and half-board dinners. As we prefer to take sun beds and umbrellas at the beach close to the sea edge because of the kids, rather than to stay at the pool no matter how nice the area may be, we just have to make a hint to other family visitors preferring beach to pool like us, in that it may be recommendable to plan a sightseeing or another activity in some of the weekend days, when local youth makes the beach more crowded and lively than usual.

Room Tip: We have the experience with side sea view so far, which is maybe nicer from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedrich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Me and my now wife booked up our wedding in Cyprus with Thomson for September 2013. Staff in store were friendly and helpful and went through every detail clearly with us. When it came to choosing our room for the sunrise beach hotel I said I want to pay extra for the sea view room, but I was advised by the agent not too because we would get a room upgrade on arrival anyway, because they do that for all wedding couples. So we were happy about that and being one less thing to worry about or pay for. All other planning went well and communication with the wedding planners was great and they were very helpful with our queries. Then when we arrived at sunrise beach hotel, we got checked in and shown to our room, only to find it wasn't the room we were expecting and the view was just over looking waste land and the back of the hotel. So I went to reception to ask why we had been put in this room when we were promised a sea view room on booking. The lady on reception wasn't really interested and told us we might get an upgrade for the wedding night and told us to take it up with our rep (who we hadn't met yet). The morning after we met our rep (Nikki) at the welcome meeting and told her our problem and said that again I would pay extra for the sea view. she seemed very helpful at first and also told us we should not have been told we would get an automatic upgrade when booking but she wanted to put it right, so she took our details as well as another older couples who were also put in the wrong room. We were relaxed with the thought that it was getting sorted out and we'd soon have our sea view room. Two days passed and we didn't hear anything from Nikki, but we had spoke to the other couple and they had got their room changed because it was their anniversary and other couples were getting moved to their sister hotel the sunrise pearl. So I went to look for Nikki and when I eventually did find her she was not very helpful at all and wasn't really interested in helping us out. So I went to reception and asked them if we could change our room and I would pay the extra price but I was told nothing was available but again told we could get a room change on the night of the wedding. I told my wife who was distraught and we feel it spoiled our experience because we couldn't relax or settle in the room because of the terrible view and we were constantly chasing reps and wondering if we would eventually get the room we were promised at the time of booking, because sea view rooms were available then and we were going to pay the extra for the upgrade in the first place. We then met Sarah the Thompson wedding planner (who also told us we should of had the upgrade) but as we had already arranged our own photographer and reception venue, all the was left for her to arrange was transport, 'the big red bus' which we were told was available for us on the day we needed it so we booked it and paid the money there and then. Then the photographer came and we showed him the wedding venue, hotel etc. he stated that he couldn't take pictures in the room because it was just too small and cramped. So he went to reception and explained he was a well known and popular photographer for destination weddings (Wes Simpson who was excellent) and said if they give us the better room he would mention them on he's website. They agreed and my wife got the room for the photographs on the wedding day but had to be out by 4pm. So the room was clearly empty and they did have rooms available after all but we didn't get to keep it. The day before the wedding Sarah left a message with reception for us to contact her so we did and she told us the bus was booked and we couldn't have it, but why take so long to let us know? and why tell us it was available in the first place? So we had to arrange our own coach to pick up the 52 guests. In the mean time we met Maria the hotel wedding planner who showed us the venue and took our music to be played. Then she told us we get a complimentary candle lit dinner at one of the hotels restaurants but had to book the table in advance, so we did. Then later realised we already had plans so went to see if we could change it but Maria had gone so we asked reception if they would change it for us, they pointed us to a computer to change it but that didn't work, so we went back but no one wanted to help. So we missed out on our complimentary dinner. So with nothing going to plan and after all that had gone wrong already we were dreading that things wouldn't go to plan on the wedding day. The wedding day came and everything did go to plan and it was it was a beautiful day, but no thanks to anyone at the hotel or the Thomson reps. We feel the staff and the reps didn't bother with us because we were a younger couple (25&26) and went out of their way to help all the older couples and people who were returning. And if it wasn't for friends and family being there it would of been an even worse experience. We chose Thomson and sunrise beach because of the great reviews and previous holidays with Thomson being so great. It was supposed to be the happiest holiday of our lives but after spending all that money booking and arranging things we felt let down by Thomson, the reps and the hotel right from the day we booked. We should not have been told we would get an upgrade if it wasn't true, especially when we where willing to pay extra for the room we wanted. We book a lot of holidays with Thomson and we have also booked our honeymoon to Mexico in March but we are seriously considering cancelling and going with some one else. We would not recommend anyone, especially younger couples to book their wedding with Thomson or sunrise beach hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Leerob88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing