We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Back after two weeks in this hotel.
Marketed as 5* but lacks the detail for this.
However the staff are indeed 5* in service and attitude.
Location:
Great right on the beach and in the centre of town
Room:
Reasonable size but lacks drawer storage and had faults which should have been picked up previously by any 5* hotel.
Curtains did not draw fully across the patio doors
Sunshine backing similar and result was light wakening us in the early morning.
Fridge. Minibar had lost a leg and wobbled and was difficult to open/close.
Smoke alarm was flashing all night and illuminate the room in a red light
Shower head would not lock and just directed water down vertically against the wall.
I reported the smoke alarm problem to reception but no action taken
Two days later spoke to the rep in the morning and again in the evening when he asked if we wanted to play bingo!
That evening reception phoned at 1045 when we were preparing for bed and said they would send someone up. I declined as it was late and could they fix it in the morning. Which they said they would. Next day nothing happened, so I stuck two sticking plaster over the flashing lights to subdue the lights. Not happy with the service or attention to faults.
Sunbeds;
Good idea but had to wait over a week for a change from garden to pool area.
We paid for a sea view room and were placed on the mezzanine floor which meant a climb from reception of two flights of stairs or four flights from the poolside. Not ideal for some.
Entertainment:
Dire - with children’s action being catered for at 9 or 10 o'clock at night.
Food:-
Breakfast was great with all nationalities and tastes catered for by helpful friendly staff and a stern manager of sorts.
Lunch was average and the same manager stiff and average staff.
Bar area staff were super however and very attentive. Justine is a legend on this site!
Overall a very reasonable hotel which is revisited by a lot of people who we met - the Russians seemed to love it, but did not show any emotion regarding this or anything else.
Obviously loved by may but not a returnable experience for me.

Room Tip: Sea view high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike-netherlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    334
    95
    30
    18
See reviews for
607
922
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks, the first week with 30 of our friends for our wedding. The hotel and staff really are great, nothing is too much for them and all very friendly. The hotel is great, lovely pool, right on the beach and only a minute up the road to the main strip which has a quite a few bars and some lovely restaurants. The half board option is great as you get to eat out at any of the 4 restaurants (1 on site, 2 right next to the hotel and one up the road 200m) as well as the buffet restaurant if you want but would recommend the restaurants as all were fab and you can have 3 courses freshly cooked. All our guests loved the hotel and said would def come back. As for the wedding the venue was gorgeous and the whole day was exactly what we dreamed of, the wedding planner at the hotel and the Thomson planner were great and everything was so well planned I felt so relaxed and really enjoyed the day. We had the sea view garden deck which has a private bar and you have dedicated waiters all night if you have reception there too. The food was lovely all the guests said how much they enjoyed it. The flowers and our cake were amazing too and a good price, much cheaper than in the uk... We really couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: If u are wedding couple would recommend a suite as they are nice and new and large enough for brides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEvans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Without doubt this is a first class hotel where both the Management and staff have great pride and enthusiasm in looking after their guests. The allocated sunbed system is a massive step forward and works really well - many European and Caribbean holiday hotels could learn a lot from looking at the Sunrise process. Not only could you choose between 'garden', 'pool' or 'private beach' location (we chose beach), with a daily change of guests it was quite possible to change locations during your stay. Equally impressive was the fact that every couple of beds had a fixed parasol, so again no fight for 'brolleys' - absolutely fantastic!
The attention to detail for me makes a good hotel, and at The Sunrise there were a number of nice little touches like cold flannels handed out as you lay on your sunbed - nice when it's registering 35 degrees on the thermometer. Also, mid afternoon, one of the staff would come round all the beds with small samples of various fruits, low cost but a lovely little touch for the guests.
The staff are all so efficient and courteous in their manner. I applaud the Management for raising the bar on the customer service front. Not once during my stay could I say I received anything less than exceptional attention.
Much has been said in previous reviews, so I won't repeat them, however, I would summarise that this hotel has to be a consideration if you want to visit this part of the world.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I visited this superb hotel in early June and had 11 wonderful days here! Myself and my travelling partner had a fabulous time enjoying everything the hotel had to offer! The food options were brilliant, and there were dine around options which included an Italian and American Grill on site.

The location itself was nothing short of breathtaking! Crystal clear waters and the variety of bars and restaurants made this a place i'll never forget, I would have no hesitation in going back their sometime soon!

The staff and entertainers made our stay and we were made to feel very welcome. I must give a special mention to Justine, Sophie, Angelo and last but not least our rep John. Justine always had a welcoming smile as did Sophie, and Angelo gave us a lot of laughs playing killer pool & Bingo! :○). John our rep was amazing, he was everywhere and always available to talk no matter how big or small the problem or query was. All in all a fantastic holiday with great people in a wonderful place!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just returned after spending one week at this fabulous hotel, this is our second visit in as many years. We thought the first visit was excellent but it was even more friendly, if possible, this time around with many members of staff remembering us from our first visit!
The hotel has an excellent location on the beach front with options to sunbath around the swimming pools or on a 'quieter' grassy area which was our preference. The good thing here is that once you get allocated a sun bed its reserved for you for the duration of your holiday with no need to get up early and reserve with towels!!
The dine around option for eating is great with the choice of an Italian, Greek, Grill bar or the the latest addition a Thai restaurant, that is on top of the Panarama restaunant based within the hotel having different theme nights each night from around the world.
A few names I'd like to thank for making our experience so enjoyable with their friendliness include Maria(reception), Yiannis, Adamos and George(beach bar), Justine(Othello bar) and Angelo(entertainer).
We will have no hesitation returning again to this wonderful hotel again.
Hope this review helps convince you to stay!
Paul & Bridgette

Room Tip: On both occassions now we have been allocated room 203 with is one of the rooms overlooking the swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have been back to this lovely hotel again, all the staff are helpful and friendly special praise go to Neo the maitre d who tries to make everyones dining experience special, Yannis on the beach bar what a lovely person always happy and helpful even though he is so busy on that bar,
Angelo Jana and the thompson team thanks for the fun in the sun join in have some fun!
the food at this hotel is excelent, breakfast is very good lots of choices, evening meals also v good
the dine around option is amazing great food at all the restaurants but please check the deal at the fishbone it is not the same as the other four were you only pay for drinks and can charge them to your room, the fishbone only gives you fifteen euros pp and you can not charge to your room we ended up paying fifty four euros to our meal luckily we had enough with us to pay the bill. All areas of the hotel are kept clean the pool is always spotless the sunbed allocation is a fantastic idea, right on a beautiful sandy beach in a central location all make for the perfect holiday

Room Tip: sea view is amazing, on the back of the hotel is not, all side sea view rooms do not have a good out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent experience. Staff unbelievably helpful and efficient. Allocated sunbeds a great idea, together with the half board option of dining in two out of three other restaurants. The breakfasts were superb although felt sorry for the egg/pancake fryer.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Des25102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Property: Sunrise Beach Hotel
Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#8 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing