We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, super location and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at this lovely hotel and, if our two teenage children have anything to do with it, we will be there again next year!

From the orange juices whilst checking in, to the wonderful send off by other holidaymakers and the entertainment team, we had a super holiday.

We were very happy with our two “limited view” rooms and were pleasantly surprised to be able to see the sea from them! At midnight on our first day we asked if, at some point, the adjoining doors between our two rooms could be unlocked. A member of staff arrived within minutes to open them. The maid was friendly and kept our rooms clean throughout our stay.

The allocation of sun beds made life simple and we enjoyed the free ice towels and cold fruit brought round to the sun beds each day!! The hotel has a lovely pool and gardens located right beside a “blue flag” beach where there are a wide variety of watersports available which were great fun.

The entertainment team of Angelo, Michelle, Anna, Kristine and Jana were brilliant, providing plenty of daytime activities – among them; water volleyball, table tennis, killer pool and water aerobics. Their enthusiasm and dedication from first thing in the morning until 10.30 in the evening was wonderful.

The drinks in the bar were a bit pricey but the bar staff were exceptionally friendly (in particular Sophia and Justine).

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. There was a very wide selection of food at breakfast and it was a very good quality. A special mention must go to both Som and Ajith (fried eggs and pancakes) – always happy and smiling. We enjoyed trying out some of the hotel’s restaurants (be warned the meals are large!) and we also found many other good restaurants along the strip.

Unfortunately, although there is free wifi in the hotel it only works well in public areas. Just a minor gripe! In all other respects the hotel and very hard working staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arrived at Sunrise on 3rd August to start my wedding holiday and got married on the 7th. Unfortunately this was not the best hotel. We were not made to feel special before or after considering we had our ceremony and reception there. I chose here as they only carry out 1 wedding a day so I thought I would get a brilliant service plus from reading other reviews.
I met with the hotel co-ordinator on the Monday who was lovely, but quickly got told by reception that there would be no room upgrade for the wedding night which I think is ridiculous as a hotel that specialises in weddings surely they should have a honeymoon suite for 1 night and the chances of a room for the groom to get ready in were slim, we had to keep checking he managed to get one for 2hrs but was still not cleaned by 1pm.
The morning of the wedding I had to ask for my room to be cleaned as it wasn't by half 11. We ordered room service and the food was still left in our room when we arrived back that night even though they had been in to drop off the €2.95 bottle of wine so we had to ring for this to be cleared. My photographer had to take pictures of my dress in the corridor as there was no where in the room for this.
The garden deck is nice but had sunbathers taking pictures of us during the ceremony. When you purchased drinks they wanted paying for straight away even during the meal rather than put it on a tab.The music system stopped working due to a fault during the night, so we had no music as they did not try to get a new one even when asked. They have no fans out on the deck which you could benefit from.
Champagne breakfast as it states was not we found the same bottle for again €2.95 in local stores.
It made my whole wedding experience a disappointment especially for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We just arrived from a 7 nights holiday booked with Thompson. This hotel was rated 5 stars but we think it should be 4 and a half. Last weekend we travelled to Rotterdam on a proper 5 star hotel, and we have been in better 4 star hotels in Spain. Everything is aged. There was no wifi in our room so our teenage daughter could not check her social status on-line, the only way was going to the reception. This is something that can be fixed quite easy, so I do not understand why the have not done anything about it now. The location is very good. There are many water sports activities, but they are not free. We did water ski, paraglading behind a boat, snorkeling and scuba-diving, but do not expect to see any fish or marine live, Cyprians just depleted the sea of any fish. Also there is not windsurfing anywhere in Protaras, so if somebody is advertising windsurfing or kitesurfing, they are lying. Anyway, the beach is fantastic, the sea is cristal clear, and at the end we forgot about this little details and the end of our holiday.

Room Tip: Even that it has free wifi, we could not get enough wifi signal inside the room. All teenagers had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenshelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from an excellent 2 weeks. The hotel and all the staff/reps were superb. Big shout out to Angelo (the 2nd best table tennis player of the season) and to Anna and Kristine for a great kids club.
Highly recommend
Andy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andywood30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staff are the best we have ever come across. Nothing is a problem, and Maria on reception is exceptional. We were given a sea view upgrade foc as it was our 25th wedding anniversary --- wonderful. allocated sun beds are superb as no early rising to get them and if you don't like where they are you can ask to be changed with no problem.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the strip on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanSimpson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I,ve just returned home from the Sunrise beach Hotel again it was great.
Everything was superb.
We did have a couple of problems but reception got them put right straight away.
Being August the hotel was busy, but it didn't appear so around the hotel and pool areas.
The allocated sunbeds - what a brilliant idea not having to get up at 7 to put towels on a bed. You keep the same bed for the length of your holiday, if you don't like where your sunbed is, you just have to tell the pool attendant and as soon as more are available they will move you. Other hotels should copy this idea. Everyone is allocated 1 sunbed towel which is extra long and has a pocket to go over the top of your sunbed.
Chilled towels are given during the day and also fresh fruit.
The staff from every area which we met are well trained, helpful, and well mannered. Sol in the breakfast room literally beamed with a lovely smile while frying eggs.
The Fun in the Sun staff who organise daytime and evening activities cannot be too highly praised, Angelo, Michelle Anna Christina (plus someone whose name escapes me), were superb encouraging you to join in.
The kids club my grandchildren (6 & 8) loved each day.
The hairdryer is in the bedroom for the lady who was asking.
We booked bed and breakfast and took advantage of the meal deal offered by the hotel and ate out other nights. We had some lovely tasty meals.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have just arrived back from staying at this fantastic hotel for 10 days. We stayed the first week with our family (there were 10 of us). This hotel suited every age from our 10 year old to our parents in their late sixties - there was something for everyone! Some of our group stayed half board and the rest stayed bed & breakfast - the food was great, lots of choice and the staff were so friendly. The final 3 days of our stay was spent as a couple on our honeymoon after marrying in another hotel's chapel. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. Sunbeds were allocated so no dash to reserve them on a morning. Towels were issued daily so no need to take your own and they were fresh every day. The pool and poolside areas were clean. The food and drink at the poolside bar was great. The beach was so clean and not overcrowded - the beach was literally on the other side of the pool!
Staying at this hotel definitely made our holiday and wedding so special - would recommend to anyone, it was fantastic - thank you Sunrise Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#11 of 65 in Protaras
1,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Louis Infinity Blu
Louis Infinity Blu
#17 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £129 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing