We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Me & my husband came to stay here for our honey moon. What can I say, it's perfect. All staff were very welcoming & easy to talk to. Our room was lovely & cleaned every day( the view wasn't all that good but we didn't spend much time in the room to care about the view) Our located sunbed was really good, we got a choice of where we wanted to go (we decided on the beach) it was lovely & quiet (only 4 sets of 2 beds in our area) We had breakfast that was nice & a variety of choice. Loved how close it was to the beach, also close to town that has plenty of places to eat or shop. Only thing we didn't like is the fact we came very late on the Sunday night and our flight home was late aswell so we had to pay (what we thought was abit high of a fee) for late check out, considering we didn't really get here untill late Sunday it would of been nice if the fee was waved (feels like we payed for a day we didn't really get) but other than that it's a fab hotel and we will defo return in future.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I am writing this review on our last night as Me and my wife have a drink on the terrace of the hotel bar overlooking the sea. We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and it failed to disappoint. We have been treated like royalty and staff have been very welcoming. Our room and the rest of our hotel is spotless and the location (right on the beach) is breathtaking. Only negative we have is that I just had to pay €35 for a late checkout. We had terrible flight times which resulted in us not getting to the hotel until gone midnight on our arrival and out flight home is at 11pm. I feel that with late flights and for the amount we paid for this holiday, a late checkout should come as standard. Apart from that we will no doubt be returning

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dafyddflay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is set by the most wonderful beach and blue sea - set to rival any tropical sea. The hotel has a good system of allocating you a sunbed when you arrive, so you don't have to worry about not finding a sunbed. The food is excellent and we saw many weddings while we stayed here. The room was good, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Protaras has changed since my last visit many years ago. The Sunrise Beach Hotel is on the main strip and offers everything to meet your needs. From arrival, the welcome from staff at the hotel is faultless. Their sunbed allocation system is a huge bonus and they endeavour to find you a space where you would like to remain for the duration of your stay. Initially we wanted the pool area which is a very popular area for sun beds but were glad to be allocated a space in the gardens near the bar. With hindsight the pool became quite noisy so it was good to be set back from there and enjoy the peace and quiet apart from the tunes coming from the bar which were really on trend. Shops, restaurants, bars, supermarkets, boutiques all a stones throw from your sunbed!
Wifi in your room is not great but we managed to pick it up easier when we went onto the balcony.
The area is very family orientated and the Cypriots cannot do enough to oblige.
If you wish to sample the madness and party life style of Ayia Napa this is a short bus ride away on the 102 bus from outside the hotel, you can also get this bus to the waterpark which seems to be very popular.
If you start to miss home make your way to Steens restaurant a fabulous home from home atmosphere with home cooked food and incredibly obliging staff. It is very popular with families and it is wise to book. As there was only two of us we were served very quickly and food arrived very fresh and hot. The Lemongrass is also a lovely pan Asian restaurant and well worth a visit.
Indeed Protaras has changed but much for the better.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a side sea view room. Although the view is ok most rooms look onto an area of wastela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We've been back over a week now and we miss it terribly, what a fabulous 11 night holiday; the weather (ave 36C in the shade), superb central location, ALLOCATED SUN LOUNGERS - YAY !!! (NB more hotels please adopt this model ... IT WORKS !!!) extremely friendly staff, excellent food, great activities (to keep a 13 and 15 yr old entertained) and evening entertainment, as well twice daily swims in the crystal blue sea and lots of reasonably priced water-sports too - all in all we've had a fabulous time, met loads of lovely people - many who having been holidaying at the Sunrise Beach ( and the Pearl next door) for years, and I can see why...

As a family, we have rarely been to a hotel / resort that we have felt the immediate draw to return as there are so many beautiful places in the world still to to visit and explore, but I can safely say this is the first time we have ever been somewhere that 'ticks all our boxes', and would definitely consider returning !!

If I had to say exactly what it was - it would be the attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff. It was our wedding anniversary whilst we were away, (we'd asked our Thomson booking adviser to email the hotel beforehand , but sadly he hadn't as they were not aware) However, when we mentioned it to Neo the Maitre D', he could not do enough for us, champagne on our actual anniversary date and then dinner at his special table in the restaurant on our last night with another complementary bottle of wine. Sophia and Justine were equally as lovely as were Angelo and Michelle who kept the boys busy during the day too. My husband had many a long chat over a beer with Stavros in the pool bar (who made amazing ice-cream milk shakes !) and I will never forget my morning smile from Som, whilst waiting for my eggs / pancakes - thank you to you all :)

See you again very soon Sunrise Beach !!

Top tips -
1 Side Sea view rooms on the west side had the last of the day's sun - which was nice to sit to the balcony with a drink before getting ready for dinner.
2. All rooms have a mini bar but reception were happy for us to remove all items and keep to one side and use the fridge for ourselves - great for teenagers who want chilled drinks/chocolate after a day in the sun and chilling wine for us :)
3. The staff are happy to provide ice to take to your room.
4. Sun loungers are allocated on arrival and towels can be changed daily, if you would prefer a pool-side location this can be accommodated quite easily with the 2 attendants
5. You can use the dine around option if on Half Board - 1 visit per alternative restaurant per week. In our 11 nights stay we went to the Lemongrass (Pan-Aisan), Marcello's Italian, and the reef American twice, all excellent choices. Its easy to book just using the electronic terminal in hotel reception.

Room Tip: Top tips - 1 Side Sea view rooms on the west side had the last of the day's sun - which was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWoo4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from 10 days celebrating our wedding/honeymoon holiday.

Not worth the amount we paid. Improvements need be made; I feel I have been misled from reviews and Thomsons as they class this as 5T* Platinum especially as this was a special and to be the most memorable holiday. I have also reviewed from my wedding experience.

The hotel lobby and pool area looks really good but not all the rooms are to this standard especially for the cost. We stayed in room 432 an inland view room which is just a nice 3* room considering Thomson class the hotel as Platinum. We never thought from being on the balcony we would be looking on to the bin area and delivery drop-offs.
Rooms were cleaned daily although not 5* standard we had dirty cups/cutlery put back in the draw rang reception maid arrived 15 minutes later with clean but still went to leave without the dirty ones until we said are you going to take them. Glasses were left on the side even though you could tell they had been used. Fridges weren’t big enough we had to put the mini bar items in the draw just to fit in milk and water. My wedding cake was brought up to my room from the kitchens as they would not store it till we left. It was uncovered as they had thrown the box away that it got delivered in and would not supply me with one, so we had to ring for some foil, surely its common sense to cover a cake.

The sunbed allocation is good if you get where you would like, initially we were put on the grass nowhere near the pool and I did not like the thought of my bag left with my phone, camera etc unattended and out of sight. You have to keep asking if you want to be by the pool area, we were moved but by 3pm we were in the shade. The best location is by the pool on the beach side but this was always occupied, even though most times people weren't on the beds during mid day so it seems a waste to me!
There was only 1 plug near dressing table and then it was too far for my hairdryer/curlers to reach so I couldn’t see in the mirror we had to pull the whole table out every time to unplug the kettle just to do my hair each day, which got annoying. (Hairdryer in room not powerful enough)

WIFI did not work anywhere in hotel

XS Watersports just down from the hotel is a MUST we spent a lot time on the water and was so worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesSiobhanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived tired late at night and was greeted by Marina, who checked us in, we were then welcomed by John our thomson rep who had stayed to say hi. We were given a glass of fresh orange which was greatly appreciated.
The room we had was a sea view room, it was a view to remember forever ! The room was clean, and just what we expected it had everything we needed, breakfst time and we were met with a very warm welcome by all the staff the guys who cook the pancakes and eggs smiling every morning, Neo who is on the ball all the time,Dianna who bought over my coffee every morning with a smile very hardworking and friendly staff ! Enough choice of food and all very fresh. The pool allocated seats was great we were allocated seats by baby pool but after requesting to be moved more central so we could keep an eye on our 8 year old little swimmer we were moved in 2 days ! brilliant ! towels are provided evrey day and cold flannels and fresh fruit throughout the day a nice touch, the food in the panoramic restaurant is great as is the service the other restaurants located for use are very nice with lemongrass being my favourite !
All the kids club staff were amazing Michelle with the aerobics and chatting around the pool Kristina with club the wonderful Angelo who entertained the other half with all activities in the hotel, Stavros for being friendly at the pool bar. All the girls in Othello too. My final thankyou is to Maria who made our holiday with an upgrade to top floor, my husband had recently been ill and this was such a lovely surprise when we were offered this room it was beautiful xxxx thankyou Maria !!! Location you couldnt ask for more, i can see why people return to this hotel year after year. We hope to return next year to say hello to all the staff we left behind im missing already !

Room Tip: Sea view is a must with clear glass balconies to appreciate the full view, sun in morning none in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nataliejayne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#27 of 65 in Protaras
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Hotel

Address: Hotels Ave | P.O. Box 33043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Protaras
#3 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £125 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Protaras
Hotel Sunrise Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing