We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

I went to the hotel in July 2012, before one week, you have to pay for Wi Fi 40 euro per week and 6.00 euro for a day,( I pay for Internet connection 30 Euro in month in my house) to use the mini bar in the room you have to get the key from reception and pay for each day 3.00 euro to use it as fridge. The water you can get in each floor near to the elevator and it has horrible taste (probable they fill the bottle from their kitchen). Pictures are nice but I felt that you have to pay for each step there.
To reach to the street with all cafe and restaurants you have to walk enough around 20-30 min or get the taxi.
There is no fitness, was some aqua gymnastic in the pool but its not so nice.
Something else, when the cleaning woman came to the our room my mam told her that she will be in balcony just to not bother her, at the end cleaning women closed the balcony and left the old women there in the 43 degrees hot.
Amazing hotel, amazing people working there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
It is not fair to compare a home internet connection, covering a house, with a professional business connection covering 243 rooms with a lot of equipment and a big capacity of covering 243 houses (rooms). This service is provided in our hotel by an outside franchise company who spend a lot of money to cover the hotel and, of course, is covered with a charge. In our worldwide experience we have never stayed in a hotel where WIFI is offered free of charge. On the contrary, it is a lot more expensive than ours.

The use of the Minibar is offered with the condition of a minimum consumption of € 3.00 per day (1 to 2 drinks) which, if ordered, that is it ie, if you order 2 drinks (with a cost of € 3.00 or more), you simply pay for the drinks and nothing else.

To reach cafes and restaurants, you need one or 2 minutes with the shortest only 50-100 metres away from the hotel. To go to the centre of the resort (1.4km), where it is full of cafes, restaurants, snack bars, clubs, pubs etc. you may need 10-20 minutes depending on the pace of your walk.

We do not have a fitness centre in the hotel and do not advertise anywhere as having such a facility. Nevertheless, there is daily sport animation throughout the day including water gym in the swimming pool.

We have no information on the described action of our maid. The usual maid assigned for this room refuses such an action. The maid claims that she simply closed (not locked) the door, in order to preserve the functionality of the air-condition. If something like this happened, it was indeed a very unfortunate event that can happen once in a lifetime and we are sure that everybody can realise that this cannot be a policy of our hotel. In any case, we are changing the ISO / HACCP / Safety procedures, for which we are certified, so that nothing like this may happen again.

We welcome genuine uploads especially the ones with comments helping us to improve. However, it is not unusual to receive negative uploads as a result of a reaction of people violating specific rules, such as, the dress code or taking loads of food and fruits from the buffet to consume later elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    245
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
375
245
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for six nights in July and it was all we needed for a relaxing summer holiday break! Room was spacious and clean, same as bathroom. Furniture are old fashioned but still in good condition. The staff was friendly and polite and always willing to assist you. There are two outdoors swimming pools with a pool bar in the middle and plenty of sunbeds surrounding the pool area. Moreover there are, two levels of gardens with sunbeds leading to a small and beautiful sandy beach.

Negative point is the extra charge for using the safe box and refrigerator in the room as well as the wifi internet even in the lobby.

All in all it´s a lovely hotel, we would visit it again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

- Non air-conditioned areas, such as reception and a part of the breakfast hall!
- Wi-fi was chargeable!
- There is 3€ fee per day for the refrigator room use!
- There is a fee for the beach towels!
- Public toilets were dirty often
- The sun bed umbrellas do not really cover from the sun due to their shape
- There is a water tap in all floors, for free water but water is not at all drinkable
- There was a very bad urine smell from the room toilet
- Beds are in a very bad condition and it is not possiblw to rest at all

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElianaPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We are really surprised by the headline “Needs renovation asap”…Our hotel carried out all necessary, major renovations last winter and of course, in the uploaders comments, nothing like “needs renovation asap” is mentioned.

In our hotel, the air-conditioning is in operation 24 hours a day. Only the Lobby and Bar areas, at certain times, that air-condition is not necessary, are temporarily not covered. Nevertheless, the rooms and restaurant are fully covered and perfectly functioning. We do not have a special breakfast hall and, of course, we do not have any part of any restaurant not covered.

WIFI is indeed chargeable like it is chargeable in most hotels in Cyprus and around the world. We do not advertise anywhere that we offer free WIFI.

We do not have refrigerator facilities in our rooms. Refrigerators are available in self-catering accommodation. We have a Minibar service which is offered with the condition of a minimum consumption of € 3.00 (1 to 2 drinks) per day which, if ordered, that is it ie. if you order 1 or 2 drinks, you pay for the drinks and nothing else.

Our public toilets are constantly cleaned and supervised every half an hour. It is practically impossible to clean the toilets after every guest’s use.

This is the first time we have received such a comment regarding our sun bed umbrellas and we really do not understand why they “do not have coverage because of their shape”.

We are very surprised with the comment regarding our water fountains which offer free water to our guests. Our water system meets the highest standards. The water goes through numerous hygiene procedures and is certified by HACCP/ISO and Health & Safety standards. Furthemore, our water is controlled and tested by an approved company with international acclaim. Anyone is welcome to come and see our equipment and operation or can request to see our certificates with the water test results.

We have investigated the room and we noticed no smell of urine whatsoever. We did this at least 5 different times and dates since the departure of the uploader. No signs of urine smell were noted during our inspection, neither from previous guests staying in this room nor from current guests. The only way a thing like this could happen is from wrong use of the toilets by male guests of the room.

Our beds are of the best international, orthopaedic standards. In case guests complain about the hardness of the bed, we supply them with soft toppers immediately. The condition of our beds is not bad. On the contrary, they are in excellent shape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Cavo Maris in May this year and had a great time. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff helpful and friendly. We booked direct by email and the service from Solomos Leotsakos the general manager was first class. This hotel has loads of sunbeds and never had a problem finding a bed. From the pool there is gardens that lead down to a beautiful sandy beach cove. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel so easy access to Aya Napa or Protaras town for one euro. It's only a short walk into Protaras town where there are loads of shops and restaurants, about a 20 minute walk. We stayed on bed and breakfast and can say there was plenty of choice for all on a self serve basis. You can sit inside the restaurant or out on the terrace. The hotel room is a good size as is the bathroom. We will be returning as this hotel is away from the noisy town and in a lovely location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marshy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here with my partner for three nights. Room was very clean and well equipped. We were half board and food was lovely and lots of choice, Restaurant staff were very friendly as were reception staff. Pool area was very nice with adjoining beach which was lovely. Its a 20 minute walk into Protaras but a very pleasant walk. Would definately go back there as overall it was a lovely hotel and great value

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yelselselym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The resort is set on a nice cove. Pristine setting with a good beach. The property is a 3 star. Clean, resonably priced and all around a good value for families. Rooms are large, very clean but basic. The grounds are very well maintained and constantly cleaned. Food is good, however breakfast needed more variety. Would recommend this hotel especially for families with young children.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

First of all the staff seem to really care for tenants and that is very important for me!very spacious rooms and two swimming pools with entertainment programme every morning.(gymnastics in the pool by a very enthousiastic person).There is a kids place that is actually working:) on schedule and you get good info about what is to happen when! the beach is next to the hotel and has great waters and a ''golden'' sand. You can eat and drink using an all inclusive prepaid card or a la carte. I fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orestis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
4.6 mi away
Malama Beach Holiday Village
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Property: Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5313 , Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#14 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing