We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent with the beach just a few meters from the pool. Also the centre of Protaras is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The service and the rooms are very good. Breakfast was very good. Only the value of the drinks are a bit expensive according to the quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
3  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have been to this hotel 3 times until now. It is very clean, the staff were friendly and the location is great because there is a small beach under the hotel and it is also 5 minutes by car from fig tree bay. The pool is really good and clean and there are lots of sunbeds for everyone! Lots of parking space. Breakfast is good. Overall it is a great hotel to stay at for your summer holidays.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a great time here in July and August this year. The room compared very well with other holidays we have had, the staff were lovely and looked after our girls really well. Was a good 20 minute walk into town but was a nice relaxing time which we enjoyed. Felt he food was really good and varied with different food every night. Entertainment was varied so we went into town when we wanted to. Lots of available sun beds and pool was warm really quickly. Had a great time and looked after all the time in a clean and well run hotel. Didn't bother with wifi or bar in room as on holiday!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking road miss the sun so were cool all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VW2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week.It was our 3rd time we stayed at cavo maris. Kids loved it. They wanted to stay for ever , they are still talking about it. They didn't want to leave from the hotel not even for a walk . They were looking forward for the night show. The location of the hotel is unbelievable convinient , ideal for families. Sea side hotel, 2 swimming pools (one ideal for kids) . The rooms are spacious and very clean. Old fashioned decoration but good condition and all facilities that you need. Friendly staff. Definetely family friendly hotel ideal for relaxing. Try it, you will have a great time. The sea side view is amasing. The spa and fitness is not ablication but not necessary.

Room Tip: Sea side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I was looking for a place to stay in Protaras last minute and Cavo Maris had a room left, after reading the comments on Trip Advisor I thought to give it a try.

Once we arrived in the room we thought of opening the mini bar to get a bottle of water when we found out that the mini bar was locked. We called Reception and they told us in order to use the mini bar we first had to pay 3 euros extra JUST to get the keys and prepay extra for any drinks we may have wanted in it.

When people usualy go on holidays they usualy don't take any towels since you can use the hotels towels. When we asked for a towel they told us we had to pay for it, it wasn't much but i mean we paid 112 euros just for a night and then they wanted so much more money for all these things!

The hotel has approx. 300 rooms. Around their pool there are only 10-15 sunbeds, so no way will find a sunbed unless you go from the night before and sleep on one.

I don't recommend this hotel.

Best hotels in Protaras:
Grecian Park
Capo Bay
Vrissiana
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Pearl Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ang A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Minibar and beach towels do not consist as standard facilities for a hotel of our category. The Minibar is not offered as described “with a rental charge of € 3.00 and on top the prepayment for any drinks required in it”. It is offered with the condition of a minimum consumption of € 3.00 (1 or 2 drinks) per day which, if ordered, that is it ie. if you order 1 to 2 drinks (with a cost of € 3.00 or more), you simply pay for the drinks and nothing else. Prepayment of any consumption or service in our hotel is not required. Guests can also charge everything to their room account.

Beach Towels, although not a standard facility, are offered by our hotel with a ridiculous charge of € 1.00 weekly just to cover the laundry expenses.

Our hotel has 243 rooms and it offers 4,000 square metres of sunbathing area, full of deck chairs and umbrellas for guests to relax. Around the pool patio, there are more than 50 deck chairs which are extended to another 450 also very near to the pool (5-6 metres) on the grass. We are very proud to be a hotel that does not have the problem of lack of sunbathing facilities.

We are surprised with these comments of this uploader who stayed as mentioned for one night in our hotel. Maybe they did not have the chance to see the 250 umbrellas and 500 deck chairs!!! Every website clearly shows that!!

In the headline, although “should not be a 3* hotel” is not mentioned in the body of the upload, we agree…It should be, if not 4*, at least 3* plus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I went to the hotel in July 2012, before one week, you have to pay for Wi Fi 40 euro per week and 6.00 euro for a day,( I pay for Internet connection 30 Euro in month in my house) to use the mini bar in the room you have to get the key from reception and pay for each day 3.00 euro to use it as fridge. The water you can get in each floor near to the elevator and it has horrible taste (probable they fill the bottle from their kitchen). Pictures are nice but I felt that you have to pay for each step there.
To reach to the street with all cafe and restaurants you have to walk enough around 20-30 min or get the taxi.
There is no fitness, was some aqua gymnastic in the pool but its not so nice.
Something else, when the cleaning woman came to the our room my mam told her that she will be in balcony just to not bother her, at the end cleaning women closed the balcony and left the old women there in the 43 degrees hot.
Amazing hotel, amazing people working there!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

It is not fair to compare a home internet connection, covering a house, with a professional business connection covering 243 rooms with a lot of equipment and a big capacity of covering 243 houses (rooms). This service is provided in our hotel by an outside franchise company who spend a lot of money to cover the hotel and, of course, is covered with a charge. In our worldwide experience we have never stayed in a hotel where WIFI is offered free of charge. On the contrary, it is a lot more expensive than ours.

The use of the Minibar is offered with the condition of a minimum consumption of € 3.00 per day (1 to 2 drinks) which, if ordered, that is it ie, if you order 2 drinks (with a cost of € 3.00 or more), you simply pay for the drinks and nothing else.

To reach cafes and restaurants, you need one or 2 minutes with the shortest only 50-100 metres away from the hotel. To go to the centre of the resort (1.4km), where it is full of cafes, restaurants, snack bars, clubs, pubs etc. you may need 10-20 minutes depending on the pace of your walk.

We do not have a fitness centre in the hotel and do not advertise anywhere as having such a facility. Nevertheless, there is daily sport animation throughout the day including water gym in the swimming pool.

We have no information on the described action of our maid. The usual maid assigned for this room refuses such an action. The maid claims that she simply closed (not locked) the door, in order to preserve the functionality of the air-condition. If something like this happened, it was indeed a very unfortunate event that can happen once in a lifetime and we are sure that everybody can realise that this cannot be a policy of our hotel. In any case, we are changing the ISO / HACCP / Safety procedures, for which we are certified, so that nothing like this may happen again.

We welcome genuine uploads especially the ones with comments helping us to improve. However, it is not unusual to receive negative uploads as a result of a reaction of people violating specific rules, such as, the dress code or taking loads of food and fruits from the buffet to consume later elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for six nights in July and it was all we needed for a relaxing summer holiday break! Room was spacious and clean, same as bathroom. Furniture are old fashioned but still in good condition. The staff was friendly and polite and always willing to assist you. There are two outdoors swimming pools with a pool bar in the middle and plenty of sunbeds surrounding the pool area. Moreover there are, two levels of gardens with sunbeds leading to a small and beautiful sandy beach.

Negative point is the extra charge for using the safe box and refrigerator in the room as well as the wifi internet even in the lobby.

All in all it´s a lovely hotel, we would visit it again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sm754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 64 in Protaras
1,786 reviews
3 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 64 in Protaras
1,205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#11 of 64 in Protaras
1,142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5313, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#11 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#13 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £64 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing