We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded all Expectations”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful 8 days at the Cavo Maris Hotel. The hotel was 1st class in every department and all the staff were so helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food was excellent in quality and there was so much choice for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The waiters and waitresses were so friendly and we were made to feel very special throughout our stay. This was my first trip to Cyprus and we all enjoyed our stay so much we will definitely being booking again at the Cavo Maris next year.

Room Tip: We had a side sea view on the top floor which had wonderful views of the bay and mountains to the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Maurice S

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your stay with us in July 2014.

We noted with pleasure your comments:
- a wonderful 8 days
- the hotel was 1st class in every department
- all the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble
- the food was excellent in quality...so much choice
- the waiters and waitresses were so friendly

We are really very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that.

We are very glad to read that although this was your first trip to Cyprus you "will definitely be booking again at the Cavo Maris next year". This for us is the best form of encouragement and also the best advertising for our hotel. We would be happy to welcome you again next year into our Happy Repeaters Program.

In the meantime we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for taking the time to write this review.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    256
    87
    35
    11
See reviews for
409
270
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just returned from a week at the hotel, which we booked very last minute. We were so very pleased with our choice as the hotel was excellent all round. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was of excellent standard, the rooms were fully equipped, spacious and clean with comfy bed. The hotel is in a quite location, outside of Protaras but it's easily reached as just a few stops away on the local bus service which runs every 20 mins. We liked the quiet location of the hotel although the hotel itself had daytime activities and evening entertainment, suitable for couples and families. The beach was a small cove but lovely with water sports available and sunbeds for hire. However the hotel has tiered level areas running down through the hotel gardens to the beach with plenty of sunbeds and shades on each level so you could choose to sit near to the pool and activities or sit in the quieter lower tiered areas closer to the beach.
The hotel has lots of relaxing seating areas in the lobby which has been partly modernised and is very calming and relaxing with views over the pool and garden. There is also a shop, large TV screen on which movies can be shown, tennis courts, pool, table tennis and air hockey.
We stayed in all inclusive and we really enjoyed the great choice of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Themed evening meals meant there was a great variety, all cooked to high standards and the service was great. The hotel has many repeat guests and we would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to return there ourselves.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Garyjackie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Garyjackie66

Many thanks for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us in August 2014.

We noted with pleasure your comments:
- hotel was excellent all round
- staff were very friendly and helpful
- the food was of excellent standard
- the rooms were fully equipped, spacious and clean with comfy bed
- quiet location
- plenty of sunbeds and shades
- themed evening meals...a great variety, all cooked to high standards
- the service was great

We are really very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that. It is a great encouragement for us to read that you "would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to return". We would be very honoured to welcome you again to our hotel and become members of our Happy Repeater Program.

We are constantly thinking of and making improvements so that each season our guests can have a more care-free and relaxing holiday. We take into serious consideration our guests constructive suggestions for improvements and adjust our plans accordingly. A lot of our improvements are based on guests’ requirements.

We thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just got back from an amazing week at this hotel, excellent service,food and hotel room. Its the first time we have been the Cyprus and will be going back again due to the friendly waiters and waitresses. They where very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel room was cleaned every day with fresh sheets. There is a wide variety of buffet foods from breakfast from a full English to cereals and plenty of variety of different breads, lunch also buffet from salads to a hot lunch and dinner also buffet style from salads to hot meals.The deserts were also delicious.We went All inclusive with unlimited drinks by the pool and snacks which was great.We had a side sea view which was great to see the sea and the countryside.We hired a glass bottomed boat and was able to see more of the area, which was amazing. The water sports was also good we had a ride on the inflatable donut which was an experience. Also a three hour boat trip where you was able to swim in deeper waters.The beach was lovely and sandy the water so clear that you can see the tiny fish swimming. We took the bus for 1.50 euros and a taxi for six euros to and from the town centre. The.The hotel entertainment was good, there was Greek dancing, karaoke, horse bingo, magic and fire shows, This hotel should be more like a 4 star hotel. We had an amazing time.We would definitely recommend this hotel and area.

Room Tip: We had 4th floor so we didn't have any body above us, side sea rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MandySarah1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear MandySarah1969,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your stay with us in July 2014.

We noted with pleasure your comments:
- an amazing week
- excellent service,food and hotel room
- friendly waiters and waitresses
- room was cleaned every day
- wide variety of buffet foods
- hotel entertainment was good

We are really very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that.

We are particularly glad to read that you would definitely recommend us. This for us is the best encouragement to continue our work and is also the best form advertising for our hotel. The fact that you would return to our hotel means we will welcome you into our Happy Repeaters Program along with many other guests.

We thank you again for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel on some future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is situated 5 minutes drive outside of Protaras town (taxi fare 7 Euros to the strip) so is a fair walk to the main town area however there are a few bars and restaurants nearby.

I travelled with a small group of friends and we found the hotel to be very clean and well kempt. The hotel is very family orientated with evening activities for children and a small play/park area for smaller children. Some of the entertainment we saw included greek dancing (with voluntary audience participation), dancing for smaller children, and a music related quiz.

We stayed in the hotel on a B&B basis. We only had breakfast a couple of days however it was standard fare; cereals, yoghurt, some fuit, juices, eggs, bacon etc.. nothing to write home about but I've seen worse selections. We also ate lunch at the hotel on a couple of occasions in the main restaurant and found the food to be very good indeed, very fresh and nice sized portions. The service left a bit to be desired however, some of the staff couldn't do enough for you whereas some of their colleagues were bordering on rude.

The beach in front of the hotel is in a slight cove and is smaller than I had expected. It is a public beach though so available to everyone however it was not overly busy on the couple of occasions we ventured down to it.

We spent most days on the beach running parrallel to the strip, in between Capo Bay hotel and Sunrise beach hotel to make the most of the beach and water sports available. There is also a nice selection of hotel restaurants on the beach which are very reasonable, I can particularly reccommend the Sunrise Beach hotel for fresh fish, salads etc and Koi at Capo Bay for Sushi (although the service was pretty slow).

The area in general is more suited to families, or couples wanting a relaxing break as there is plenty of decent restaurants and a couple of nice bars in Protaras. I suspect younger groups will prefer to spend their time in nearby Ayia Napa (Taxi is 15 minutes drive from Protaras; 14-16 Euros each way or you can get a bus from the strip for a few euros).

I didn't venture Ayia Napa in the evenings however it is well worth a visit early morning to see Nissi Beach which is lovely and doesn't get busy until 12-1pm - worth noting that after this time the bars on the beach all compete with very loud music so not the best beach to chill out on!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room. I had room 252 which overlooked the pool area and had a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Claire G,

Many thanks for your very good review following your stay with us in July 2014.

We noted with pleasure your comments:
- very clean and well kept
- hotel is very family orientated
- food very good indeed, very fresh and nice sized portions
- staff couldn't do enough for you

We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast, however we would also pose the question, what more is expected and should be added in a 3* hotel breakfast buffet to avoid being described as “standard” when it offers 3 different cheeses and 3 kinds of cold meat, olives, 3 different types of butter and margarine, 6 types of breads, rusks, croissants, fruit cake, 4 flavours of juice, water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, yogurt, fresh fruits, 7 different jams, honey and carob syrup, 2 types of eggs, bacon and low fat bacon, 2 different kinds of sausage, baked beans, baked tomatoes and salads?

Nevertheless, we thank you for choosing the Cavo Maris Beach Hotel to stay with your friends and for taking the time to write this review.
We look forward to welcoming you again on some future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Cavo Maris in Protaras exceeded my expectations by far. It is very good for a 3* budget hotel, certainly way better than some 4* I have been to and a very family friendly business.
I had booked a stay for a family 2 adults + 2 children. The children were supposed to be accommodated in bunk-beds, yet we were upgraded to a 4 bed family bedroom without charge. The room was roomy, clean and cosy, the bathroom very adequate, the porch as big as a tennis court!!! We loved the room!
The pool was nice, so was the restaurant at breakfast.
Just a friendly critical comment: The 3 elevators are slow and insufficient for a hotel of that size. Luckily, our room was on the 1st floor so we used the stairs A LOT! Perhaps the hotel should plan an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ar1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear ar1us,

Many thanks for your very good review following your recent stay with us in August 2014.
We noted with pleasure your comments:
- hotel exceeded expectations
- way better than some 4*
- very family friendly business
- room was roomy, clean and cosy
- pool was nice

We are really very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that.

We thank you for taking the time to write this nice review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on some future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at Cavo Maris in June we were all inclusive. The hotel rooms were recently refurbished and were lovely, we had a sea view which was beautiful. The food was fabulous and the snacks also v good. The grounds were on 4levels which suited us as we were able to get an area for privacy as there were many families with children and as we were a couple it was important to us. Plenty of sunbeds!!The pool was great and the pool bar was just fab...the waiter Yannis was so friendly and was very effecient try his Margueritas fabulous! The waiter service in the hotel was great also so friendly Alexandros especially. The hotel has values and is a family run business and this makes it more authentic... so thank you all for a great 2weeks......we were very impressed and would recommend it to our friends and familyx

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Jan A,

Many thanks for your wonderful review following your stay with us in June 2014.

We noted with pleasure your comments:
- rooms ...were lovely
- sea view which was beautiful
- food was fabulous
- area for privacy
- plenty of sunbeds
- pool was great and the pool bar was just fab
- waiter service in the hotel was great
- hotel has values

We are really very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that.

We are very happy to read that you will recommend us to your family and friends. This for us is the best encouragement to continue our work and is the best advertisement we can hope for.

We thank you again for taking the time to write this review and thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After looking at all the positive reviews on here we decided to book this hotel for our holiday. The hotel didn't disappoint! It was in a beautiful hotel in a superb location. The facilities are great and the hotel goes the extra mile to make sure your holiday convenient (cold drinking water throughout the hotel, plenty of sunbeds, 3 bars all over the garden area etc.).
They also have a beach which is a real treat. It's secluded and largely underpopulated in relative to other local beaches which makes it much nicer to be on.
Reception staff were super friendly and answered most questions (even selling tickets to excursions) but were not great at suggesting local things to do (such as the nearby sea caves) so do some digging around before you go.
We wasn't all inclusive so we often ate from the al la carte menu. The prices are reasonable with many options. Only criticism is the lunchtime vegetarian options were limited and can be improved upon.
Regarding location I find it to be perfect. Bus 101/102 is right outside the hotel and takes you to Ayia Napa/Protaras town center and fig tree bay/Kavo Greco etc. There are also loads of excursion shops and dive schools not far from the hotel.
Next time I come Cyprus I will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Get a side sea view or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Minesh P,

Many thanks for your excellent review following your recent stay with us in August 2014.

We noted with pleasure your very nice comments:
- beautiful hotel in a superb location
- facilities are great
- hotel goes the extra mile to make sure your holiday is convenient
- Reception staff were super friendly
- prices are reasonable with many options

We are really very happy to realise that our efforts are appreciated by our guests. We go out of our way for our guests’ comfort and our fully satisfied repeat guests of about 40%, proves that.

We have, however, noted your criticism regarding "lunchtime vegetarian options were limited" and will certainly look into it.

We are particularly glad to read that next time you will be visiting Cyprus, you will "definitely be staying here again!" On behalf of the team of the Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, we would like once again to thank you for making the effort to comment on our hotel. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.9 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
1,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Property: Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5313, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#12 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#13 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#14 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing