We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* experience on 4* costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding end of June 2014. How this hotel gets a 4* rating baffles me. First off quite a long transfer from Larnaca airport as its last drop off.

From the outside the hotel is quite grubby & dated looking. Reception area is ok, could do with better A/C as at times it feels like there is none.

Rooms are badly dated & uncomfortable also walls are very thin you'll hear every noise from rooms next to you. The double room we booked was two single beds pushed together. Our "view" from the balcony was of waste ground behind the hotel. Also worth noting you only get 1 key for your room?!?

Food is very basic & bland with little variety from day to day consisting mainly of salads, pasta, rice & chips very little meat/poultry throughout our stay. No snacks such as toasties, crisps, nuts, burgers, available on all inclusive package between meal times. All inclusive stops at 11pm which I have never experienced before, very strange.

Entertainment is non-existent they do a mini disco for children in the evening but there is no entertainment whatsoever for adults.

Location of hotel is not that great either, certainly would not recommend to elderly/disabled or those with young children as there is no bars/restaurants or shops within walking distance.

On the plus side beautiful beach/marina just outside hotel overall we had an ok stay because of the family group that stayed here, but certainly not worth the money we spent to get here you CAN get a lot better for less.

On a side note our tour operator was Olympic Holidays truly horrific experience traveling through them. Did not know we had a rep on site, our 1 week all inclusive package stopped at 12noon on our 7th day even though our flight was not until 10:25pm so we paid for 7nts & after 6nts had to check out to then be asked to pay €20 for lunch! Our return transfer was late & to top it all off they then seated our group separately throughout the plane on return flight.

In short get more for your money at a different hotel & avoid Olympic holidays as a tour operator.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Sm1th90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Golden Coast Beach Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and you were not satisfied by the services provided. As i have checked from your reservation, you had not requested for a double bed, otherwise we would have arranged it. Regarding the food variety, we try to satisfy the desires of the vast majority by having a bit of all tastes and it is therefore difficult to satisfy each individual's needs. All snacks mentioned in your review except burgers are provided to all inclusive guests in the pool bar between 10:30 - 12:00 and 15:30 - 17:00 which are between the meal times of the restaurant. Our animation team as well as a lot of external entertainers provide each night a different show which is also suitable for adults. Examples of these are: parrot, magic, folkloric, dance and fire shows as well as quiz nights. Regarding the location of the hotel, a 5 minute walk from the hotel will find you to the area of Pernera which there is a variety of shops restaurants and bars. The main strip of Protaras however, is a bit further away and takes about 10-15 minutes with the bus. Furthermore, regarding the all inclusive package it is clearly stated that it stops at the time of check-out (until 12:00). Acknowledging the problem for all inclusive guests that have late flights, we have made the special offer where guests can dine for both lunch and dinner for the price of 10 Euros for adults and 5 Euros for children (drinks included), instead of the normal price of 17 Euros for lunch and 25 Euros for dinner (without drinks).

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We would like to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in our hotel, hoping that your next stay with us would be much more satisfactory.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We got married here in 2012 and have returned every May since for our wedding anniversary.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Protaras just beside a little harbour.
The staff in this hotel are wonderful making you feel like family. Everyone from cleaners to the managers are so polite and friendly, going out of their way to make you feel so special.
Food is wonderful we always go home having put a few pounds on, something for everyone the kids have a special area at night with their own menu if they wish.
A lovely pool area with plenty of beds also a slide and kids pool just a few steps from the small beach which also has water sports.
Look forward to returning next May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fozie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We and our team thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Golden Coast Beach Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for yet another time. It is very significant for us that our staff make you feel like family since making every guest feel special is one of our highest priorities. We would also like to thank you for your great compliments about the food and pool area.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look more than forward to welcome you back to our hotel next may.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed in the Golden Coast hotel for my mums wedding. This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at. There was a large group of around 20 people we travelled with and we were treated so well by the staff.

The hotel is situated in Pernera which is about a 5 minute drive from Protaras. We mainly stayed in the hotel as it was so nice and there was so much to do. The All Inclusive option was fantastic, I would have paid for the food it was that nice. They had a main buffet restaurant and in the day there was the option of the Lunch restaurant, plenty of choice for everyone. The pool bar served snacks throughout the day, and made lovely cocktails.

The rooms were nice, we stayed in the annex building, which was a 30 second walk to the main building through a little garden. The actual room was spacious and modern, very clean, and the maid came everyday. Try and request an ocean view room.

The hotel is on the beach, so you can walk from the pool area down some steps onto the beach where the hotel has more sunbeds. It's nice as it's at the end of the beach so you don't get people walking past etc. The pool is very large and there is a childrens pool, about once a week they put a blow up assault course for kids in the pool.

Spa facilities were great, had a hair dresses which is handy for the brides and also a makeup artist we used.

The entertainment was good, they had something different every night and always a live singer on at the restaurant. The staff were lovely and so helpful with the wedding. I would highly recommened this hotel it was more like a 5*.

Thanks Alot :)

Room Tip: Ocean view high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We and our team thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Golden Coast Beach Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you personally believe that we provide the services of a 5* hotel. Being referred as one of the best hotels you have ever stayed at is very special to us and we are very grateful. We would also like to thank you for your great compliments about the food, rooms, cleanliness, spa facilities and the entertainment of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel within the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Golden Coast with our two children for 12 days in June. What a fantastic experience that was!!! Everything was great! Food was very good and a lot to choose from and the separate buffet for the children at a different restaurant for lunch was really very helpful! Staff were all polite and friendly and really made us feel like home. Thank you all guys and we hope to see you all next year! Our two little girls will definitely want to come back anyways because they really loved the animation team!! They couldn’t wait every night for the kids disco to start they learned all the songs and dances by hard and we were dancing them together at the kids disco every night along with all the other parents and their little children! That was great fun! And after the kids disco every night there was a different show for the adults and all of them were great! Too bad that the animation program had to close every night at 11 pm because was too much fun but we really understand the reason the hotel management allows the animation only until 11pm especially with the very creepy neighbors’ they have next to them which is a complex of hotel apartments and they complain about the music! If I was able to speak to them I would just say that is unacceptable to complain about people enjoying themselves in another establishment being on their holiday and especially only until 11pm! But nevertheless that did not at all took something away for the great holidays we had at the Golden Coast! We are really looking forward to come back again to this lovely family hotel!!

Room Tip: Visit this hotel with your children! They will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great compliments and for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had a fantastic time with us at the Golden Coast and more of all that you believe you felt like home. We and our team are very grateful for your great compliments about the food, staff and your specific reference to our animation program.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Looking forward to accommodate you again in our hotel at your next visit to Cyprus.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We got married here in July 13 and we honestly had the most amazing time. The staff could not have done more for us, they treated us like royalty. We had a room upgrade for the 14 nights we stayed, a bottle of fizz in our room on arrival, another bottle of fizz and a birthday card for my now hubby the following day as it was his birthday (they must have checked his passport?!) They could not have been more helpful with the wedding organising, everything ran perfectly. We had friends and family stay also and we all had a fantastic time. Of course if you are the kind of people to go looking for faults you will find them, it isn't the most modern hotel I have ever stayed in but it is lovely, clean and the staff really couldn't have been any nicer. Would recommend the salon in the hotel too, its run by some English ladies who spoilt us rotten on the big day, before & after! They really made the morning!! Food was lovely and was plenty of choice but we did eat out in Protaras some nights too which is a short bus trip / taxi ride. Beach was clean and beautiful and looking forward to going back next year with our soon to be new arrival! Would highly recommend a sea view room xxx

Room Tip: Sea view room highly recommended - beautiful views x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We and our team thank you for sharing your experience from your recent wedding and stay with us at the Golden Coast Beach Hotel.

I am very pleased to read that you had a fantastic time with us and that we made you feel like royalty. We are very grateful for your wonderful compliments about the staff, cleanliness, food, beach and the salon of the hotel. We have already made some renovations this year, in order to modernise the look of the hotel with even more planned for next year.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We would be more than happy to accommodate you again this year.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful Hotel situated near the cost . Professional and helpful Staff, very comfortable spacious room with fantastic sea and pool view. Weather you use the pool or the sea for a swim all is very conveniently close. Everything you need is within the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coni2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We and our team thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at the Golden Coast Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were overall happy with the services provided by our staff. Thank you for compliments about the room, staff and views of our hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are looking forward to accomodate you again in our hotel within the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a ten night stay at the Golden Coast. We did not choose this hotel ourselves we stayed there to attend the wedding of our friends Mike & Wendy. Our room 402 was on the 4th floor and faced inland. The room was a good size and had the sun in the afternoon, The interior walls are very thin and we could here the Russians talking in the room next door, we did not understand a word they were saying but we heard every word. The pool was a good size and along with the rest of the hotel it was kept clean. The music around the pool was far too loud so we used the sunbeds on the lawn away from the noise.It got rowdy in the pool while water polo was played at 3pm. The food could not not be faulted and there was plenty of it. When the restaurants opened both at lunch and in the evening guests would wait to be seated by the waiters but many a time the Russians would just barge past and get a seat, sometimes at lunch they would move the barrier and go and sit at a table before the restaurant was open.The waiter told us it was a waste of time asking then to leave because they did not speak English. The entertainment was poor and geared up for kids and not adults.
Our friends got married at the chapel in the hotel grounds, there is another chapel near the beach which was used mainly by locals. The wedding was at 3pm the same time the water polo started and sometimes the noise from the pool could be heard above the vicars voice. The English vicar who returns to England in September was very good and played the guitar while singing the wedding songs.The wedding reception was held at the far end of the hotel facing the sea and was next to the area the kids disco was held. The hotel supplied a cd player for us to use and we played our own cd's. We had just finished our main course of our wedding meal and was waiting for the waiter to bring the deserts, when the kids disco started with there music drowning out the music we where playing. We complained about the disco to the hotel but they did not care. It was not very good having to listen to the birdie song, Rolf Harris the court of king caractacus and other kids songs played at full blast while we tried to eat our deserts.So if you intend to get married at the hotel be warned about the kids disco.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis T, Reservations Officer at Golden Coast Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We and our team thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Golden Coast Beach Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your compliments about the food and cleanliness of the hotel. Getting in touch with the wedding couples prior to events, the animation shows are normally moved to another area in order not to disturb. In this case the wedding couple were informed about the animation being held near the wedding. The hotel follows a specific animation programme with certain times, therefore making it difficult to alter this during the events. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,780 reviews
4 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
920 reviews
1.7 mi away
Malama Beach Holiday Village
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#36 of 65 in Protaras
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 33171, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#12 Family Hotel in Protaras
#14 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#24 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £66 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Coast Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Coast Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Beach Protaras
Hotel Golden Coast Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing