We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach”
Review of Iliada Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iliada Beach Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent beach”
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Fantastic holiday! Nice hotel with friendly staff. Restaurant staff was very friendly to everyone, reception staff was helpful.
The main contingent of tourists in the hotel in May were retirees. By the end of May, a contingent of holidaymakers became noticeably younger, there were young couples and children.
Our holiday was great, we loved it! Protaras is a nice place with beautiful beaches.
Iliada Hotel is located in the heart of Protaras. Protaras is actually one street with shops and restaurants.
Just outside the hotel on the beach there is a center of water attractions. You can take a catamaran for half an hour for 10 euros or buy trip to Cavo Greco for euros per person.
Near the hotel - bus stop, you can reach Paralimni or Ayia Napa for 1,5 euros per person. Buses run approximately every half an hour. Buses are oldish and without air conditioning. Nearby you can rent a car or a bike. In Protaras surrounding area there are bicycle lanes.
Directly at the airport take free hand out maps. Do not pass by, tell a place where you are going and they'll give you a map of this area, with marked bicycles, pedestrian and auto roads, attractions.
The hotel territory is rather small, but nice. There is a swimming pool, beach cafe and sunbeds on the grass beside the pool.
The hotel has a gym with fairly primitive equipment.
There was Wi fi Internet, for free, but only at the reception. A signal was weak, and it worked sometimes only at reception desk.
Hotel room was neat and tidy. Furniture was rather old, mattress on one of the beds was sagging. The room has a TV, refrigerator, hairdryer (its holder has been screwed), there is a balcony. Air conditioning worked properly. There were not enough rooms with double bed.
Rooms have connection doors, so the audibility is high.
Towels are changed daily, but the bed linen was not changed for period of 10 days at all! The quality of cleaning is average, but generally ok.
Our room was on the 3 rd floor, with excellent side sea view.
Half of the rooms overlooking the Sunrise Hotel, and the other half - the other side, where there is construction, so I do not advise to take them. Situated on a hill, the hotel has -1 (where the restaurant) and -2 (flush with the pool) floors.
Food is good. All tasty, just enough variety. Main courses at dinner vary depending on the theme nights (Mexican, Oriental, local cuisine, etc.). Breakfast is always the same, standard (eggs, sausages, bacon, croissants), at the end of our stay were pancakes.
We had our launches at the hotel restaurant on the beach. I would recommend frapuchino, and chicken kebab in pita. Portions are just enormous.
Protaras has the best beaches in Cyprus. Golden sand, clear water.
5 minutes walk from the hotel - Fig Tree Bay.
On the weekend locals come to the beach near hotel, it becomes overcrowded, very noisy. Locals occupy even hotel sun beds; use the hotel's toilet at the pool, although it is written that it is for hotel residents only. But except weekends the beach was not that crowded.
At the reception you can take a beach towel (10 euros deposit), change them daily.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    181
    104
    55
    30
See reviews for
204
231
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Having visited Protaras several times over the years, we decided to stay at the Iliada Beach as we knew where it was & we plumped for the all inclusive option as the food had good reviews on Tripadvisor.
The food is the only area where it let itself down. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice etc well prepared etc.
Lunch was taken by the pool, again reasonable choice (same menu every day) the food was generally good but the portions were far too big.
Where the hotel let itself down very badly was with the food in the evening. The choice was very limited, the food was tasteless, many of the items used were heavily processed food eg crab sticks, tinned mushrooms etc - also there was baisically no care put into the preparation. The food in the evening was just depressing to the point where we started to eat out most evenings
We have stayed many times in all-inclsive hotels, so we do not expect hote cuisine but we definately expect considerably better than this
The hotel itself was very well located in the centre of Protaras but well back from the main drag - handy yet quiet
The hotel is right on the sandy beach with a lawned area for sun beds (unbelievably uncomfortable) & quite a good pool.
The room was good though the bathroom was small & did not have ventilation - the beds were very hard so be warned.
The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.
The staff at the hotel particularly room, reception & bar staff were excellent.
Generally we would recommend this hotel but try to get a package that did not involve eating in the hotel in the eveneng!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

our first time to cyprus for a relaxing break, the hotel itself is fine in a nice posistion on the beach, the rooms are nice and clean but the beds are really hard, the food not up to much and bar prices over the top, weekend the hotel pool and lounge areas outside get overun with locals with all the exessive loud music you cant hear yourself think and the management seem to ignore the rowdy locals getting slowly drunk making it an uncofortable place to be, i would not go here again even if it was a freebie,save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael50manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Im actually typing this review in the lobby of the illiada hotel waiting to get collected for flight home. What can i say. We arrived on Sunday night, hotel room was basic enough but very clean. We put on the air con to find a crisp warm air wafting from the machine which made the room even more uncomfortable due to the heat. We complianed 4/5 times and were not given another room but instead were givin a plug in fan. We were also charged a deposit of 20 euro for the safety box key and 12 euro for use of the fridge in the room for a week. They also charged us 10 quid for a beach towel refundable at end of week. Apart from the heat being quite unbearable in theroom at night i think that this is a lovely hotel. The beach is amazing adn the coastline beautiful. The local resaturants are great and a local greek dish called MEZE is highly recommended as it gives you a taste of all greek food on offer in one sitting. The bars here are lively enough but be warned...if you do not like karoke keep well away, they have it EVERYWHERE!!!! In summary...nice hotel, lovely beach, never again for us...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We were moved to here from the Polycarpia after repeated complaints, anyway, what a difference, everything about it was superb, the food, cleanliness, service, rooms etc. The food- loads of choices from salads to roast, sweets were superb, cleanliness - spotless, dining room again spotless and the staff couldnt be more helpful - all of them. What a difference from our previous. 2 min walk to the beach. Yes we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieranlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Having just spent two happy weeks at the Iliada Beach Hotel, I cannot think of a single thing that would stop me returning for another two weeks. The position of the hotel is perfect - right on the beach and in the middle of all the night life. The place itself is kept spotlessly clean. The staff are some of the friendliest people that I have ever met - they can't do enough to help you and are really efficient at what they do.
Having read some of the reviews of the Iliada before we went, we were not axpecting the food to be the highlight of our stay! I am a fairly fussy eater but I genuinely cannot understand what people can find to complain about. Although not Michelin star food, there was so much choice that it was just about impossible not to find something appealing - most nights it was a case of restricting the size of the portions so that I could have some of everything I fancied!
Another complaint that I had read before going was that of an influx of "locals" at the weekend - I didn't notice any difference - residents were more of a problem reserving sun beds at the crack of dawn for use after lunch!
When we first arrived, we were offered the chance of upgrading from half board to all inclusive AT NO EXTRA COST if we stayed at the sister hotel next door. We would still be able to use all of the Iliada's facilities. We declined the offer (we had a wonderfully spacious sea view room) but a lot of people took it up. It appears that the management regularly overbooks the Iliada and hopes that the offer of an upgrade will help fill the adjacent hotel.
I would highly recommend the Iliada as a great holiday hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston,Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Myself and hubby have just got back from 2 weeks of beautiful sunshine.We were offered all incl if we stayed at Silver Sands but declined as we didn't want to come back even fatter than we did. The reason for this was the fantastic food at the hotel. There is something for everyone. They have theme nights ie:mexican,cypriot, and as for the puddings, well they were delicious, my hubby was quite fond of the bread and butter pudding!! The hotel is kept beautifully clean, your rooms cleaned everyday. The beach is beautiful and the sea is sparkling clear. There are loads of shops,supermarkets and bars on the strip outside the hotel. Saying that the noise didn't come into the hotel. A few tips: Cypus is very expensive so if you are the type to stay round the pool and eat and drink loads then it's worth taking the all incl offer if offered it. as you can still have your meals etc at this hotel. There are offers in most bars ie: cocktails for 2e beer 1.80e you just need to look round although we found the best cocktails at the recently opened Jewel to be the best.The cheapest shop we found was Happy Days which as you turn out left from the hotel it's the first shop you reach. I wouldn't bother with Larnaca market. It's more like a flea market full of junk. Try getting the bus to Konnos beach. They have plastic sunloungers that also can be used to float in the sea as a sort of lilo. We had no end of fun dragging those in the water and lying on them and Konnos bay is beautiful except it's a bit of a treck down steps to it. Paralimni is also a lovely small town but go in the day time as it closes early. The buses are cheap and cost 1.50e each one way wherever you go along the Paralimni-Ayia Napa route. There is also a lovely walk you can go on along the prom. It takes you to Pernera and has taverns and hotels dotted along where you can stop for a drink. It's all lit up in the evening and looks like it is quite new. We found the Cypriot people so friendly, from the bus drivers down to the maids in the hotel.To any cats lovers out there, if you have room in your luggage take some cat crunchies with you. There are quite a few cats there and they are quite tame due to being fed by tourists. I wanted to bring a tiny kitten home we saw!. The only thing that disappointed me was it is obviously a resort for tourists. We didn't see any small villages locally which were traditionally Cypriot so if you are after something a bit more authentic then it's not for you. Maybe Paphos would be better or somewhere further in land. If you want a lovely hotel, fantastic food & beaches, friendly people and a host full of bars (check out the Friends bar) then this is for you. Also if you can afford it book a Sea View, The views are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattnvic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#28 of 65 in Protaras
1,281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#16 of 65 in Protaras
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliada Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliada Beach Hotel

Property: Iliada Beach Hotel
Address: 21 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliada Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iliada Beach Hotel combines comfortable accommodation with one of the finest golden beaches in Cyprus in the heart of Protaras center. A wide choice of restaurants, bars, shops and water sports will ensure an unforgettable holiday for the most discerning traveler and families alike. Our beachfront location will enhance even more this perfect holiday under the sun and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. Iliada Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for guests seeking quality accommodation and excellent service along with a wide range of facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iliada Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iliada Beach
Iliada Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing