We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand the bad reviews of this...”
Review of Iliada Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iliada Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't understand the bad reviews of this...”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Can't understand the bad reviews of this hotel, me and the wife have just returned after a sun soaked week at the iliada,can't fault anything, the staff were friendly, the rooms cleaned every day, aircon Everywhere, great choice of food. Allround great hotel, perfectly situated in the heart of prorated.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddoliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    178
    102
    51
    27
See reviews for
195
224
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We arrived at Iliada during the middle of the night and was greeted warmly. Upon opening our room door, I was slightly concerned at how small the room seemed, but needn't have worried too much as we only spent time there to sleep, shower and change!
The view was amazing when we looked out from the balcony, on to the beach the next morning. We had been allocated a side, sea view which also looked out on to the dinning areas of the hotel.

We stayed at this hotel on half board basis but feel that we would definitely stay here as all inclusive next time. The price of soft drinks and food are pricey at the pool bar although there is a supermarket directly opposite the hotel. You also have the option, being on half board for breakfast and lunch or breakfast and dinner. There is a dress code for the dinning room though which seems to be that women and children can wear almost anything as long as it's not beach wear and men MUST wear trousers/jeans so no shorts!!!! (it did make it a little uncomfortable for my husband and teenage son as we were experiencing a heat wave which hit 43 for several days and evenings)
The food which was served in the dinning room was set on a two week menu and varied everyday with several different options of food. We enjoyed the food greatly as did our 5 yr old, it is set out buffet style and never seemed to run low with the chefs continually filling it up with more. There is a separate children's menu but you do have to ask for it although I don't think it necessary unless all your child eats is chicken nuggets!!!!
Breakfast was a problem sometimes though as there was so much to choose from! :0)

Service across the hotel was wonderful, the cleaner came in everyday to hoover, mop etc. Staff usually started on the breakfast shift at 7 am and were still smiling whilst working at 10pm.......
There was also a resort entertainer offering games etc for all ages ranging from beach-bowls, water polo, table tennis, pool, darts, children's mini disco to bar entertainment of an evening.
All the staff seem to be very hard working people with a smile for everyone.

The location couldn't have been any better for us with the hotel backing onto the beach and front of the hotel being on the main high st. with all the bars, restaurants and shops.

I have read a few reviews talking about the locals using the facilities of the hotel. Yes there are local people using the the facilities but most of them are there for the same reason as us......They too want a break at a beautiful beach hotel, and this is usually only of a weekend. Not once was the swimming pool packed out though, it didn't need to be with the beach at the end of the garden!

With so many things to do on offer it was sad when we had to pack to come home. Our flight wasn't until the late evening and our hotel check out time was at 12 noon!
The hotel offered somewhere to store our luggage, a shower room and a meal voucher all free of charge.

All round, we found the hotel perfect for our family needs, and Protaras is a beautiful place to be. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Iliada, all i can say is what a fantastic hotel this is, the location is perfect, front of hotel you have main strip of bars, restaurants etc, back of hotel you have pool, sunbed area and then the beach with some of the clearest water you will see, on arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, we even had our luggage taken up to our room. The room was plenty big enough for the 3 of us with plenty of hanging space for clothes, fridge was 28euros for 2 weeks, The safe was 44euros, As i am quite a fussy eater i was worried by some of the earlier reviews about the food, but i can asure you there is nothing to worry about, the food was plentiful, with a large variety of choice for all tastes, there is no kids section but all you have to do is ask a waiter for a menu which has kids selection and they will cook it for you. The Restaurant has a different food theme every night from greek,bbq.mexican,Italian to french, which we really enjoyed. Breakfast was very good loads of choice from pancakes. omelette, egg, bacon, cereal etc which was served buffetstyle in the open air restaurant. Therefore, i urge you to take no notice of the negative feedback on the food at this hotel.
The pool was spotlessly clean everyday and the area around it, there were plenty of sunbeds and parasols, i started putting our towels down at 8.30 ish the first week and a bit earlier the second week as it seemed to be a bit busier, on past reviews it has been mentioned about the number of locals coming to the hotel and beach at the weekends, to be honest we couldnt see a problem with this, yes it was busier at the pool bar and the beach but we couldnt see how this would affect anybody stopping at the hotel, one good thing the hotel offer is free beach towels, take your dirty ones back to reception at the end of everyday and they give you clean ones, saves weight in your cases.
The beach was beautiful, with an excellant watersports centre( xs watersports) very professional and safety conscious.
Every member of staff we came across whether it was the maid, the chef, the reception staff, the bar staff, waiters/waitresses were extremely friendly and would do anything for you.
The resort of protarus is very family friendly, some good bars Rockafellas being one just over the road from the hotel, Dodgy Elvis tribute show and a bloke called Jimmy Spender who is one of the worst singers you will hear, but worth a listen and a laugh, Crazy Golf course was very good 10euros for 2adults and 1 child, the dancing fountain show was a good show for kids, watch the water dancing to the music, with a laser show and a volcano erupting, 15euros for adults and 8for kids, we were half board so didnt eat out, but there are plenty of restaurants with good menus at a reasonable price, we spent a day at the waterpark in ayia napa which was brilliant, the only waterpark weve been to were you dont have to pay for sunbeds or inflatables when you get inside, loads of good slides and a very relaxing lazy river, 32 euros per adult to get in 16 for kids, through Thomas Cook it was 36euros with transport for adults and 18 for kids so transport not too dear, took about 25mins with pick ups to get there, all in all we had a great time at this hotel, we got home Sunday night and booked for next year Monday morning, One last mention to Judit the entertainer who kept our daughter busy everyday doing table tennis volleyball, aquagym etc.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeriBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We have just returned home & we can't wait to go again next year! There was myself my husband & our daughter who is aged 14. We thought that every single member of staff were marvellous i couldn't pick out a certain staff member because all of them worked hard & always with a smile on their faces. Our room was fine & our daughter had a single bed rather than a camp bed, the room was also quite big. The hotel is in the perfect place in the centre of the strip, we have stayed at many of the tsokkos hotels in protaras & we have enjoyed this one best. The food was very nice, although we found the lunch time menu better than the evening buffet. The locals do come at weekends but we did not find this a problem. Judit from the animation team made our daughter feel really welcome & she enjoyed playing water volleyball & table tennis. Our thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so memorable we hope to see you all again next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My husband & I spent 2 fantastic weeks at the iliada beach on our honeymoon in July 2010. The hotel is in a perfect location on the stunning fig tree bay beach with bars, restaurants & shops on the doorstep. The hotel itself could do with a bit of modernisation & the rooms were fairly basic for a 4 star hotel but everything else just cancelled that out. The hotel Is spotless with fresh towels & maid service everyday. The food is excellent & plentiful - would recommend going all inclusive though as drinks & food are fairly expensive, you definitely get your moneys worth on all inclusive.

The best thing about this hotel though is the staff, they are brilliant! They are so friendly, helpful & polite.

Having never visited Cyprus, but being recommended it, we weren't disappointed as it really is beautiful & spotlessly clean & the Cypriot people are great, really friendly & welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amasterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed all inclusive for 12 nights and came home looking to book again for next year. Situated right at the beach, you had a choice of sunbeds at the pool or near the beach. The rooms are very good and spotlessly clean. We didn't have a sea view but that didn't matter as we only really slept in the room and there was plenty to keep you amused throughout the day.

Being a fussy eater, I did worry about about the food but I found plenty to eat and dinner at night was a brilliant experience with highly trained staff looking after your every need and being prepared to get me something different to eat if there wasn't anything I really fancied on the menu.

The head barman, Makis, was brilliant and really went the extra mile to make everybody feel welcome and his very able assistant Ramona made sure our glasses were never empty.

If I have one gripe it is the number of local residents who congregate at the pool during the weekend making it harder to get a sunbed. Service didn;t seem to suffer though and we really can't praise the staff highly enough. Brilliant hotel.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

After reading reviews before going we were a bit worried, but we had nothing to compain about. The hotel is lovely, rooms are slightly basic but spotless, clean towels every day and sheets every second day. Staff could not have been more helpful. we went half board and although we did not eat in hotel every night it wasn't because the food was bad there is planty to choose from even if your fussy. We had no bother with sunbeds, it does get busy at weekends with locals but it didnt effect us. Entertainment is a bit poor but u will find most hotels are empty at night as everyone goes onto the main street where there is lots of bars and restaurants. Makis in hotel bar is enough entertainment to keep u goin! We would go back to this hotel for def, we had a great time

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#24 of 65 in Protaras
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#32 of 65 in Protaras
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#25 of 65 in Protaras
1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliada Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliada Beach Hotel

Property: Iliada Beach Hotel
Address: 21 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iliada Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iliada Beach Hotel combines comfortable accommodation with one of the finest golden beaches in Cyprus in the heart of Protaras center. A wide choice of restaurants, bars, shops and water sports will ensure an unforgettable holiday for the most discerning traveler and families alike. Our beachfront location will enhance even more this perfect holiday under the sun and the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. Iliada Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for guests seeking quality accommodation and excellent service along with a wide range of facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iliada Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iliada Beach
Iliada Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing