We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday would return anytime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great holiday would return anytime”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

great hotel as already mentioned a bit dated but very clean and comfortable
fabulous staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly
food in the resturant was great and service was good
lovely pool area very quiet and clean
in a good location the balconey doors shut out any noise from the surrounding bars
we had a room overlooking macdonalds golden arches which might not please everyone but just made us laugh
the bathroom is a bit small but was perfectably acceptable
would definately return to this hotel and just love protaras

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d-k-milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    95
    55
    22
    9
See reviews for
96
110
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a good 3 star hotel in protaras close to all the entertainment in the bars but where it is still possible to get a good nights sleep. The rooms are a little dated and the shower we found dire but that said the rooms are comfort able and clean. We were on the fourth floor right by the Macdonalds sign which gave us a laugh and good photo opportunity but also a great view down the strip and of the sea. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you all. Food-wise it was fine, enough choice to please everyone and well cooked. The pool area was lovely, clean and peaceful with a side-on view of the vulcano in the watershow . No real entertainment in the hotel but its not needed. All in all a great value for money hotel in a brilliant position.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbiejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel again, 4th year running. The first comment from the staff was 'welcome back', and we were happy to be there. Yes, the hotel could be upgraded in the rooms, as the toilet is rather small, but the cleanliness and the overall stay at the hotel was again very pleasant. The staff are excellent, and are always ready to please. Whether it be to serve in the restaurant, sort out any problems we may have, or just be there for a blether, they always have time for you. This year again we stayed on half board basis. The food was plentiful, lots of it, and very tasty. Local transport is very cheap, 2 euro ticket per person for all day travel. If you want to see the island, this is recommended rather than taking an operator tour which can be costly. Protaras is a quieter resort compared to Ayia Napa. Fig Tree Bay is beautiful with a massive sandy beach. There is now a walkway along the beach leading down to Pernera, and is also being built further up the coast. This is a real boost to the area as it is lit in the evenings and makes a relaxing walk along the shoreline. I would recomment this hotel and resort.

Room Tip: email the hotel previous to your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacktimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Yes, it is dated and in need of some modernisation but for the price it is a bargain. Our room was quite outdated but the bathroom was quite modern and everything was very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. There was some noise from the nearby 'Sphynx' but it didn't disturb us too much. If you want a cheap, clean well located hotel this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngsbungalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for the past 15 years and when i first came here there was no macdonalds, no water show and no sphinx bar. Protaras was only a tiny place which has been built on since. If i was coming to protaras now i would probably quail at the horrors of the dreaded elvis tribute shows etc. i still go there despite the built up nature of this resort because of the fantastic staff in the hotel, and the effort they make to help you enjoy your holiday. if you want to get the best out of cyprus try and learn a little greek such as please and thank you as a little goes a very long way and unlike the spanish costas the cypriots are pleased that you have come their island. it's not a cheap place to get to which does bump up the cost of your holiday, but once there exploring the surrounding villages, secluded beaches and tavernas is great fun, so don't think that cyprus is all about these trashy bars - use the kapetanios as a base to see the island from, and you will get far more from your holiday. yes it probably is a bit old fashioned in parts, but they added on a completely new wing and dining room to the building and built a large pool at the side. The original pool wasn't much bigger than the bedroom !! come and try this small and friendly hotel and if you are expecting the ritz - go there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eappyayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Arrived at the new airport in October this year. A smooth transfer with a very nice coach driver. The hotel ( which we have stayed at a number of times before ) is very dated and in need of an urgent refurbishment. The bathrooms in the old part of the hotel are extremely small in fact tiny. Our room was not vacummed for a week as the apple pip which was there when we arrived lasted the whole week. The general condition of the room was sub standard for the price paid.The staff were friendly and obliging in most instances. We were upgraded by our tour operator to half board for just 28 pence for the two weeks. The food was in general was ok, we have eaten a lot better and a lot worse, if you eat later ( after 8.30pm ) then the choice of what is left is limited. The hotel is rated as 3 star and some of the guests arrived for evening meal in cut off tee shirts, shorts and flip flops, not particularly tidy.Breakfast on most mornings was cold. The location is very good for this busy resort with plenty for all. Plenty of bars and restaurants offering a wide choice of fare.
It appears that the hotel is going to have a facelift and, in spite of the poor decor and general condition we will return again, hopefully.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

having just come back from this hotel ..... what can i say . this was our fisrt time abroad and picked this hotel for location and were not disappointed at all ... very close to all ammenities night life and very close to mc donalds for an evening snack. The hotel was very clean. and the staff very helpful. On our arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the night receptionist PHANOS well l what can i say about him except, what a lovely friendly man he is who always had time for a chat when ever he was on duty.. Danny the bar man was also very nice always chatting away to you whenever he could. We went HB and would highly reccommend it as the selection of food was amazing. the beach was only a 5 min walk away and very clean.If you are planning a trip to protaras we would reccommend you look this hotel up you wont be disappointed and we are palnning on going back again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhayward49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#55 of 65 in Protaras
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#25 of 65 in Protaras
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#41 of 65 in Protaras
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
800 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#15 of 65 in Protaras
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Property: Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, HostelWorld, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing