We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 Star Magic Hotel (Kapetanios Bay Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

On holiday May 5th-19th with Olympic Holidays flying from Glasgow to Larnaca, on to Protaras and the hotel. Our welcome as usual very friendly as we were returning guests. We had e/mailed ahead for a poolside room and we got that. The hotel had many staff we recognize from previous years. Breakfast in the large dining room had anything that you would wish to eat from fry-up to vegetarian continental all Buffet style. The evening meals were also Buffet style same again a good varied menu every night. The hotel has been spruced up for the coming season. Guests come from all nations this year and quite a lot of children no problems with them most days at the pool the younger people went to the various beaches close at hand. After dinner most guests make their way down the main street to the various shops and the local pubs. One we used a lot was The Flora bar good pint local lager 2 euros this is the pub to use for sport as Tony/Michelle and staff will always try to get you any sport you would like to watch and also very welcoming.

Room Tip: The room we had was very good after all as long as the room is cleaned which it was everyday bed mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacktimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Went to hotel on 10 th April with mercury direct for 3 weeks had a great time .hotel was basic but very clean rooms were clean daily we had a superior room with fridge kettle over looking magic water fountains so had a free show very good.Food was better than many places I have stayed at and really enjoyed it .Staff were very friendly weather perfect enjoyed it that much have booked to go again in October just make sure you take tea coffee they don't provide any .Beaches are very good and spent many hours on them .Sun beds at hotel there were plenty so no need to get up early .

Room Tip: Choose superior room over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzywong57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel is slightly dated but the food was good and the staff are helpful and just walk outside the hotel and everything is close at hand.The room was of a good size but the bathrooms are a bit small,the room was cleaned every day and the noise level was low.The pool area was never crowded . Overall the hotel seems to suit families and older couples.

Room Tip: The "side sea view" is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank leicesterrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Jusr spent three weeks in Kapetanios hotel, was a bit doubtful after reading some of the reviews before going but need not have worried as it is not as bad as some would have it.
We found the best thing about it was the friendliness of the staff in all areas. We were initially allocaated a room overlooking McDonalds on a late arrival due to flight delay of one hour. We asked the night porter if we could change the to pool side of the hotel, he said we would have to wait until next morning, but he assured us that there would not be a problem and he was correct, next morning we went to the desk after breakfast and the lady receptionist transferred us straight away. Room 204 overlooks the carpark and also the swimmimg pool. Very efficiient air/con too. Room was comfy and clean with a small but adequate balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Sheets changed about every 3 days.
The bathroom was small everything worked as it should, but it was difficult to use the wash basin as there was a small glass shelf pretty close above it, shower was good with a constant supply of hot water.and towels changed most days.
Dining room when we went in early, it was always easy to get a table, in fact we sat at the same one for most of our stay. Breakfast had something for every taste. Dinner was not so varied day to day, but plenty to choose from.Only complaint, the food was never very hot, apart from the soup. That was scalding.
There were a lot of East Europeans in the hotel during our stay. They like their food and plenty of it, they soon demolished the grapes when they came in.
Dancing waters at the end of the hotel started at 9pm to 10pm. but we never heard it from our room.
The beach which is one of the best we have seen on Cyprus so far is not on the doorstep as one reviewer put it, but is a ten to fifteen minute walk away depending on your fitness and is a gentle down hill walk. We found it tiring walking back up after mid day, but we are getting on a bit now. The beach front has all been updated with a good promenade right up to Fig Tree Bay from the jetty and a good way in the opposite direction.
The only real downside to our stay at this hotel, I have to say its the cigarette smoke inside. It drifted out of the offices behind the desk in reception and it was in the corridors upstairs, it also came in through the balcony into our room.
There is a no smoking sign stuck on the mirror over the dressing table, when you look at it closer, it says in small print at the bottom IN BED. OK if you are a smoker I suppose, but not very nice if you have just got over a chest infection as we had.
In general, its a small but comfortable hotel right in the centre of bars and restaurants. One good place to eat if you want a change, try Mr Cod just round the corner from the hotel. We were on half board but we went and can highly recommend it. They do Sunday roasts too.

Room Tip: rooms on the poolside are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The staff are very helpful,diningroom gets quite crowded at times,but food adequate,the rooms are bit dated but understand some are being reovated.
my husband and i recommend The Greenery pub for a drink and snack jhe staff there are very friendly. for eating out try Ripples just up the road good good and comfortable atmostphere.

Room Tip: superior are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank justme123515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We looked for cheap hotel in the centre of Protaras and we choosed this one. We asked room with pool view, because other side is oriented to the nain street. Rooms are little bit tired, but we only sleep there, so it was not important for us. The food was very very good, staff excellent especially waiters.And the room was cleaned every day, if you want and the tavels changed. So, we have got the best for our money. And that is the reason for the 5points.

Room Tip: choose the room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank najkimmikjan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights returning on the 30th September and found the hotel perfectly adaquate, the room was comfortable (bathroom a bit tired but clean), the food was really good plenty of choice and not repeated very often and the staff were very polite and helpfull The positition of the hotel was excellent right at the top of the strip, would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank polly2NeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#24 of 64 in Protaras
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#32 of 64 in Protaras
144 reviews
1 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#28 of 64 in Protaras
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 64 in Protaras
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#21 of 64 in Protaras
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#37 of 64 in Protaras
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £36 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing