We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont think we will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vangelis ApartHotel
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in the Vangelis for a week in May 14. Pool is a good size,the room we had was in C block, looked like a throw back from the 70s, Very basic to say the least.The living room had black out curtains which should really be in the bedroom. not that we got much sun in our room, the noise from the local bar was really bad,the reception seemed surprised when we told them, I am glad we did not go all inclusive.I want to go for a break not to hear music blaring round the pool all day. Glad we hired a car so we could visit local secluded beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mallymally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here last week with my mother in a one bedroom apartment. We stayed all inclusive and the food was fine. Lots of beef, pork and lamb based food. Lots of salads available and always a vegetarian option.

If I stayed again I would probably stay self catering, the selection of restaurants and pubs with entertainment is too good to miss out on.

I would like to say a special thanks to Alice. She worked really hard and was head and shoulders better than the rest of the staff. She also helped out with hints and tips too.

The fact it was in the middle of the strip didn't affect us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnightyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

at the hotel april28 - may 9 2014

this hotel is close to the main street in protaris and so you need to be careful if you are likely to be wanting to sleep before 2am. we stayed there recently, and after 4 nights of interrupted sleep managed to organise a room change to room 4302 in D block, these are rooms at the back of the blocks, and are much, much quieter, ok the view isn't fantastic but you get a good sleep. don't know if you can contact hotel beforehand and arrange this, but it would be well worth considering, and of course it was early in the season and so not overly busy. that said as the saying goes you get what you pay for!! the rooms are basic, but a decent size (there was only the 2 of us) clean and tidy. towels are changed regularly, but are a bit ropey. kitchen is fine for cooking basic stuff + we had enough crockery etc.

positives:
pool area nice, plenty of sun beds but it was early season.
ideal location 5 mins from beach, bars and eateries on the doorstep.
staff were v nice and helpful.
lidl supermarket close by ideal for little extras or a basic shop.
not many russians at this time of year, how can you be so sour faced and glum on your holidays????

Room Tip: rooms at the back of blocks c + d are much quieter, and i would think this applies to b block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paullO5835SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at Vangelis last June/July for 2 weeks, first off the location is fantastic, right on the main strip, within easy access to everything, this was the main reason we chose these apartments.
The apartments were ok, fairly basic, nothing special but adequate, we had an apartment with a lovely sea view but had to pay a supplement of 140 euros for it.
The pool was nice but sun beds get taken early you really need to get your towels down by 9am to get a good spot.
The staff were ok, bar and reception staff could have been friendlier, the entertainment crew were a good bunch, however the entertainment itself was quite bad, specially in the evenings, we didnt't stay in the bar there at all, which was ok as there are many bars to choose from on the strip, it would however have been nice if Vangelis made the effort so it's British guests were made to feel a bit more welcome, we found they very much catered more for their Russian guests and there were mostly Russian guests.
We have stayed in Protaras itself many times and love it for it's friendly people, great bars and restaurants, beautiful beaches, weather, food.........etc.
Our favourite restaurant is Island Affair, which is slightly more pricey than other restaurants along the strip might be but it's worth it, the food is so good and the service is first class.
Our favourite bars are Rockerfellas (the entertainment here is great) and if you like Karaoke it has to be Zodiac, a crazy fun filled karaoke bar which is usually packed every night with people of all ages.
For food shopping there is a Lidls abut 3 minutes away that is very cheap, ideal if you're self catering and cooking in the apartments, although the self catering facilities at Vangelis aren't great but ok for cooking burgers and chips I suppose.
The cleaners were good and left the apartments as clean as they could, they even did our washing up for us :)
I would only stay at Vangelis again if we got an amazingly cheap deal.
They really should make a bigger effort, they are in an amazing location and have so much potential, it's such a shame they're not making the most of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Fantastic location, rooms well maintained and staff are brilliant (Michael in particular ) We holiday here every May and always book self catering as there are so many fantastic restaurants/bars just a stone throw away; all very reasonably priced. Just booked Vangelis again for May this year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed at the Vangelis every year since 2004 and always find it fine. We stay self catering because we like the freedom to eat out at the numerous and differing restaurants in the area but we often have breakfast and 1 or 2 evening meals. I agree with the posters who say that the location is a prime factor. We came home on Oct 9th and room was cleaned every day (including the day after our arrival which we weren't expecting) except Sunday which was cleaner's day off. the towels aren't great but they are gradually being replaced. Room was comfortable as usual and furniture fine. If you want towels you can use by pool/take to beach and luxury then book the Capo Bay.
There were predominately Russians and they were rude to staff and arrogant but we really only came across them in the pool area or coming to and fro in lifts. A nod and hello seemed to do trick. We left towels and books on sunbeds when we went to lunch and weren't disturbed.
We actually stayed in dreaded block B for the first time ever ( presumably because Thomas Cook have fewer rooms) but were in front facing room and actually preferred it ! We overlooked the strip and were entertained by the comings and goings. The apartment was huge and we didn't find it a hardship going across to the main block/pool. This block is farthest away from Rives and Rockefellas so we didn't hear anything but in any case we go out in the evening and generally stay out till after 12. loud music has to stop by 12.30 and all music by 1.30.
For what we pay we think this hotel is good value. We would also be happy to be all inclusive as the food is excellent, if that was our type of holiday. We will be booking again next year.

Room Tip: Really depends on if you go to bed at 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewportCyprusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Was not as bad as some reviews.great location the hotel is in the middle of the strip .the staff were very friendly .others were right about the noise we were in block b .lucky in Oct its a lot quieter .got what we expected for the price .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHardy307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#21 of 65 in Protaras
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#46 of 65 in Protaras
123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#50 of 65 in Protaras
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#25 of 65 in Protaras
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangelis ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangelis ApartHotel

Address: 34 Hotels Avenus, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £114 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangelis ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vangelis ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangelis Apart Hotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing