We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 Star Apartment be Warned!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vangelis ApartHotel
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is not a 4 Star Apartment be Warned!”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

rooms are basic with dated furniture and the most uncomfortable beds i have ever slept on. The whole place needs a serious revamp as old and shabby. Drinks at bar expensive. However other guests did say it was a popular place and was 4 star standard compared to other places in Protaras! I would rate it 3 star tops and that is generous.

The staff are very friendly and the thomas cook entertainment staff were brilliant and made the stay more enjoyable.

Protaras itself is nice and the Vangelis is very centrally located for all of the bars and restuarants. Didnt have a bad meal out all week, so i think all places are good, were told to avoid the chinese's though?.

Did stay last week of season so very quiet and many bars started to shut by the e/o week, but imagine it would be pretty busy in its peak months. Beaches are good and can recommend XS watersports for their Parasailing, the kids loved it.

Would recommend Protaras, but look around for better accomadation first, or accept the dated Vangelis.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergie142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    150
    135
    53
    50
See reviews for
217
155
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

great hotel, very clean. me and my wife stayed there for 14 nights. we loved every minute of it. the pool was the best pool in any hotel i have ever stayed in. everyone was very friendly. lots of activities to do. good location. right by the great restaurants and nice pubs. 5 minute walk from the beach(fig tree bay) the only bad thing was the food in the hotel. we went self catering so only eat twice in the hotel and the food was poor both times. but will deffo go back.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookysvbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

On arriving at the Vangelis our first reaction into the lobby was shock as its supposed to be a 4* hotel! All the sofas in reception were dirty and covered in stains so when entering our room our horror continued. The furniture is so basic and dated,dust all over the shelves in wardrobe,tv did'nt work,my 14 year old daughters bed was a small hard camp bed in lounge. Just looking round at everything made her burst into tears so went down to reception at 1.30am and complained but he said all rooms would be the same and to see our first choice rep Kerry next day.We met up with Kerry who was so helpful but all nearby hotels at a better standard were full she only had Capo Bay which we had a large charge but was so worth every penny!We r an ordinary working class family but be warned this aparthotel is not a 4*star hotel and we did read the reviews before we went which were mostly good(can' see how!)so if you are at all fussy stay clear of this place. Also we only had one evening meal here which was cold and we could hear other guests complaining as well.Protaras is a beautful place though and we ended up having a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshirePolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Protaras hotels

Milton Keynes, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed at the Vangelis at the end of September for a week with my partner and 13 year old son and thought it was perfect for our needs with nothing negative to say. The rooms were large and the self catering factillies were better than anywhere we have ever stayed plus we had the extra bonus of a sea facing view which we weren't expecting! I had been worried that my 13 year old son would be bored during the day and although there wasn't many other teenagers at the hotel he had a fantastic time purely down to the reps who kept him and most of the other males (ranging over various ages) entertained playing darts, pool, football, tennis and volleyball throughout the day. The noise (or screaching from the Karaoke bars) from the main strip goes on until the early hours but didn't prevent any of us from sleeping.

The beaches are fantastic and just a mear 5 mins walk but we found the resort its self quite quiet and would have prefered it to be a bit more upbeat with less Karaoke bars and tribute acts, but we definately would stay at the Vangelis again should we ever go back to Protaras.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachwest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

just got back from the vangelis 26 sept,what a great hotel,the rooms are large and spacious,bedrooms are huge with comfy beds,and loads of wardrobe space,bathrooms are large with shower bath,the kitchen has all you need,not that i used it,and you dont need to take a travel adaptor all 3 pin sockets like home bonus,rooms are cleaned almost daily bedding towels etc,pool is large and clean and has a no saving sunbed rule with towels great idea.the staff are all friendly and helpful,michael on reception hes a diamond, air con costs 20 euro deposit for the fortnight which you get back so its free and in all rooms.we ate out every night wow what a choice of places to eat and not expensive you must try island affair great place to eat.you must try their ribs to die for,over all great hotel and location, some of the reviews on here that slate it should stay at home and get a caravan fantassssstic holiday thanks vangelis

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooncrow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Just returned from a great week at the Vangelis staying on a self catering basis on the top floor of Block C. We had a fantastic time and would go back again. Protaras was not packed but the bars were still busy until late with some fun entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashgill
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

we have just returned from a two week stay at the vangelis and cannot disagree more with the negative reviews on this hotel. we had a studio room in block b which had a sea view and the room was very large with comfy beds and air conditioning which you pay 20 euro deposit for (and is a must as it it so hot). the room was cleaned practically everyday and was spotless.

the pool was huge and very clean and there were plenty of sun loungers available and there was no rush in the morning to secure one.

the vangelis is located in the middle of the strip and 10 minutes from the beach.

the best places we found to eat were: breakfast in the rivas only 2.50 euros and the cocktails were only 2 euros.
for dinner you should try il basilico and erato which are located next to the vangelis the food was excellent and you get free cocktails after your meal.

if you are on a budget cheers bar is excellent the food is great and the portions are huge.

I would definately recommend protaras and the vangelis

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotscoupleAshgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Alva Hotel Apartments
Alva Hotel Apartments
#25 of 66 in Protaras
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Silver Sands Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#26 of 66 in Protaras
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#47 of 66 in Protaras
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#60 of 66 in Protaras
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#53 of 66 in Protaras
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vangelis ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangelis ApartHotel

Property: Vangelis ApartHotel
Address: 34 Hotels Avenus, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangelis ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vangelis ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangelis Apart Hotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing