We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Well what can i say!?? We were a family of 4 who have not long got back from the papantonia. The hotel is a little old but, clean, excellent location for families and local shopping! The rooms are very clean, and cleaners very freindly!
The bar staff could not be more friendlier, especially Matty, he could not help us enough, on hearing previous comments i think its disgusting that they have said this about the bar manager as when we were there he would only have one drink and drive home, even though we TRIED AND TRIED to get him to stay for another drink with us!!
We are only writing this comment about him as we have been to this hotel 2yrs running and know him as a friend now, especially with our chiildren! Maybe people don't like having arguments with management, especially when they get told off for drinking there own drinks in the bar area and jumping in the pool at night, not to mention the constant moaning with food!
Now, on to the resort, the area is easily accessible on foot and by local bus, we also reccomend the the red bus, was great day out! You like water, get to waterworld!!!
There is a waterpark near the hotel that has just been built if you dont want to travel far!
Taxis can be a little expensive as i have noticed on previous visits!
All in all a fantastic holiday! Big thanks to Matty, Emma, Llotd and little snowy (kitten), will be back same time next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank higgins1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just came back from a 1 week stay at the hotel. Was a bit unsure about the hotel after reading some of the older reviews. However, when we arrived the hotel was clean, reception was modern and the location was great. The rooms are a little dated but are spacious and they were cleaned every second day. Could do with more storage space as only had one cupboard and 2 bedside drawers were not enough for our family of 3. we were lucky to have a pool view and it was easy to get to sleep and quiet. The food was good, breakfast was cereals, cooked items and toast, although not a lot of fruit. Lunch was a choice of salads, hot meals and pastas etc. And dinner was mainly the same. My daughter who is fussy always found pastas or rice to suit instead of the usual childrens fish fingers and chips that were there. Also there was bar snacks available such as toasties, burgers etc during the day. The drinks were good, the alcohol was local but still good value. The staff for the entertainment Danny and kelly always gave 100% and were a a good laugh. The bar staff Matty, Emma, Lloyd, Patricia and Julia were fantastic and pleasant. The kids club girls Sam and Dorey were brilliant and my daughter enjoyed the activities. Our rep Craig helped us on many occasions and his knowledge was brilliant of the local area. I would recommended the hotel but please remember it is only a 3 star and there are things that could be improved such as the rooms, the surrounding area of the pool is not the best but it is one of the best holidays we have been on! Proper value for money too.

Room Tip: Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinnkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

just returned from a family holiday at the papantonia in cyprus, the stay had ups and downs, the hotel its self is a little dated altho for the amount of time spent in the rooms wasnt an issue, the entertainment group was fantastic and my kids loved them, however i think the bar managment need a few lessons in appropiate english and should think more about serving the drinks rather than drinking them, its a family hotel and i was not too impressed with the language that my children had to hear, we ventured to station bar on a few occasions to once again whitness the bar manager drink pint after pint of beer and then get on a moped and drive off, not a very good example set to those with young children who looked up to a 'respectable' member of the hotel managment, after seeing a few accidents while i was here its terrible! apart from that, emma was lovley, polite and helpful and many thanks

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jag3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We went to protaras as my brother was getting married in the golden coast hotel which was 20min walk or 8euro in taxi 3mins up the road. After reading some reveiws on here i worried abit as we have 2 young boys 1 of which has special needs,but when we got there i was releived to see the hotel was fine,we stayed in room 112 apartment which was comfortable and what you'd expect for a 3*.the pools where lovely.Dirty? swim wear turned yellow from chlorine so far from dirty,so be advised not to take best costumes.entertainment was ok but would'nt go as far as great have seen better in other hotels eg when we went to the golden coast children were entertained all day every day excellent! Hotel staff on other hand were great! beach a 2min walk across the way,protaras beach 15min walk beautiful clear waters and white sand. We went on the red bus trip to ghost town of famagusta which was really interesting,kids were entertained also which we worried about before setting off as they are 7 and 4 but we all enjoyed it. Recommend this trip and the day trip to famagusta if you get chance brilliant! we went all inclusive,snacks were hamburgers,chips,sausage n chips,toasties etc which were all lovely,chrisps were'nt included they were very expensive. wide range of nice food in the resturant and again staff were brilliant. we all had a great time and would go back.I think 10days next time as there are pleny of trips which we'd have liked to have done but ran out of time as we only went for 7days.small waterpark next to papantonia 15euros adults 7.50 kids,but the main waterpark is aiya napa which is 2euro day ticket on the bus,this is cheaper if you go yourself than going through reps.our room was also cleaned everyday! Overall Excellent Holiday!!!

Room Tip: our room 112 was out the front so no pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spongebobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I'm taking a break from the ironing to write about our fab holiday, just got back from 10 nights at the Papantonia Apts, Protaras, Cyprus. The hotel is spacious, clean and modern in the communal areas. The rooms are a bit dated, and the bathrooms not great but it is only a 3* hotel, the room was clean and towels changed regularly. They need to put a chest of drawers in there though. 4 people, one wardrobe and 2 drawers the size of a matchbox. You can always drape your clothes over the TV and backs of chairs, my kids seemed to really like that feature...
One grumble... our room overlooked the car park and I had to stuff my ears with cotton wool to get to sleep due to the noise from the karaoke bar. If you sleep heavily or drink your way down the cocktail menu you will have no trouble though.
The hotel staff, including Emma, Julia, Patricia, LLoyd and Matty are great, most are English or speak english well and are more than happy to help.
We went all-inclusive, the breakfasts were very good-could have done with a bit more fruit though. The lunches were good too, and if you fancy a change from the buffet the snack menu of toasties, pizzas etc was great. The evening meals got a bit samey but you can always stroll down the road to one of the many restaurants for a change of scene. I am vegetarian and found that the salads, pasta dishes, pizzas often contained meat. After I asked the chef to please provide at least one veggie option the choice improved immensley. After all, us veggies are not asking for anything extra, we just want something left out :-)
The entertainment team (Kelly and Danny) work very hard and are great fun. We all enjoyed the kids disco, bingo, quiz nights and the Mr Papantonia night was the icing on the cake. My face was aching from laughing at "Sue, Pat, Lucinda and Rita"!
The first choice kids club was great, my youngest daughter (lottie age 7) loved Dorey and Sam and cried when we had to leave.. My twins (Joe and Liv) aged 10, and friend Adam (10) loved the chocolate party night and the pyjama party and other events. The older kids love the air hockey, pool table and x-box. It gets them out of the sun in the afternoons and helped them make friends with the other kids. Just make sure you have plenty 1 euro coins! The day activities were pool, water polo, darts etc and are good for restless types, personally I was glued to my sun bed. Planty of those as well, no need to put towels out at 6 in the morning. we travelled as a group of 4 adults and 4 kids. It was a marvellous holiday, highly recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoolnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have just returned from this hotel to a wet, dull, rainy Manchester! I went with my hubby, and two daughters aged 9 & 7. The rooms are quite spacious but dated (who cares when you only sleep in there). The only downside to the rooms is there is not enough wardrobe space. We hung the dresses up etc and then just lived out of 4 suitcases! The location of the hotel was great, 20 minute walk into Protaras, 2 minute walk to the Beach, a pub 50 yards away showing all the Sports and they also do cracking Breakfasts! its called The Station. The staff at the Papantonia were really helpful and friendly. My girls loved Dorey and Sam in the kids club, they made their holiday! The girls actually moaned when we said we were going to the beach for the day because they wanted to go into the Kids Club?!? so much for spending time together. The only downside to kids club is they're shut on a Sat and Weds - how rude, how dare they have a day off!!! (Weds is the Airport runs) .
Danny and Kelly were the evening Entertainment which included a nightly game of Bingo at 9.30pm which my girls loved too (and Steve!). There is also mini disco and the normal reps shows which they all try really hard for!
We didnt eat once in the Restaurant at the hotel, but we got the vibe that the people who went all inclusive were a bit sick of the food by the second week. We ate the pool bar snacks cheese toasties, burgers etc which were absolutely fine.
The rooms were really clean and towels were changed every other day. Would definately recommend this hotel and would definately go back!

Room Tip: I would ask for a Pool View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJ0rdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just arrived back from Papatonia Apts. Loved it so much cant wait to go back next year.
We travelled with my daughter and her friend, both 13 years.
Never saw them the whole holiday!!! they loved the hotel team so much.
.Pool lovely, location great, food scrumptious. the rooms need updating but cleaned everyday.
Hotel staff, matty, Danny, Kelly,Craig and emma were great, would go out their way to help.
We had a view overllooking the back of the hotel which was ok if you didnt mind the kareoke from the Station bar, but that finished at 1.30 and we were awake till then anyway, so was never a problem.
Location was great and you can walk into Protaras down the boardwalk within 15 mins, which was a nice walk at night.
Canes beach bar on the boardwalk is very friendly and a must if you need a drink along the way.
Cant wait to be back next year, only problem is First Choice are not at this hotel next year and cant seem to find another tour operater that is selling this hotel:(
will try though. this is the only holiday where my husband didnt want to comehome from.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.2 mi away
Polycarpia Hotel
Polycarpia Hotel
#63 of 64 in Protaras
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#39 of 64 in Protaras
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#36 of 64 in Protaras
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#31 of 64 in Protaras
1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#51 of 64 in Protaras
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#24 of 64 in Protaras
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papantonia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papantonia Hotel Apartments

Address: 23, Athinas Street | Pernera, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £128 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papantonia Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully refurbished Papantonia Hotel Apartments features spacious, bright interior and friendly, hospitable atmosphere the ideal base for a great holiday. This complex enjoys a lovely peaceful location close to the golden sandy and shingle beach of Marlita Bay and a few minutes away from Pernera center with its colorful attractions. The brand new pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center is a great opportunity for an afternoon walk and within minutes from the hotel. Next to the Papantonia Hotel apartmetns you can enjoy the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offering exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. An ideal choice for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papantonia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papantonia Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing