We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papantonia Hotel Apartments
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Do not book this hotel.entertainment what entertainment we went all inclusive and had to go elsewhere for entertainment which cost me more money..staff were moody exception of the cleaners they were lovey..no atmosphere ,meals times uncomfortable as staff would stand there and stare at you ,not nice..all other hotels had great entertainment !! very disappointed with this hotel as this was our first family holiday.no kids club no entertainment.food was ok but same dessert every night which was rather boring.but had some great days out country is lovely lots to do but don't book this hotel, but would recommend goin to Cyprus..

Room Tip: Not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Travelled last week or august with lots of extended family.

Food - average samey, but tastes ok and didn't make anyone I'll.

Pool - nice and clean and lots if sun beds.

No entertainment - no kids club.

Close to the beach.

Weather beautiful - take sun cream!

Room - big, had a safe, bathroom could do with an update, double room had two singles pushed together, fridge, air con, balcony.

A manager did come and fix the air on in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy_Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Been back a week now but where do you begin with this hotel. Firstly, I would like to say my partner and I travel a lot and our philosophy has always been to make the most of any sisutation and its what you make of it that counts! And trust me we tried very hard here and thank goodness for the lovely Gordie family we met in the first week!! The rest of the time we just relaxed and enjoyed the lovely weather which is always a plus. However . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
My advise is please do not book this as an All Inclusive holiday - its not a true reflection on AI and you will be disappointed - rather book a hotel that only offers All Inclusive. If you have small children again book a different hotel. If you fancy being on your own a lot and entertaining yourself and only using the hotel as a base then this is the place for you!!!!
Firstly, when arriving the receptionist was very grumpy and unhelpful. We asked for a sea view and ended up with an amazing view of the back of the hotel sign, a carpark and a supermarket. Thankfully we were moved after our air con didnt work - but that took a lot of effort (we were accussed of not being to operate it properly (by the rep) when in fact it was broken. We were treated by the staff and rep (Lisa) that they were doing us the favour by moving us.
The rep did not give us any details in the welcome meeting about how to get the best out of our holiday and failed to tell us things that we needed to know about the hotel. (ie that for 2 days a week there are no cleaners - you have to fend for yourself - not funny if you are a family with small children) I have never heard of this before and found it amazing that our rep did not even mention it to us!
The apartments are spacious but the furniture is very out dated and the beds are so uncomfortable - you will get aches and pains. Cleaniness is not good either in the hotel or around the pool area.
I understand (which I might be wrong) that Thomson and First Choice are only offering this as an All Inclusive holiday from next year (2013) when really these are self catering apartments. The hotel staff are geared up for SC and actually find and treat their All Inclusive customers as if they are pains and an inconvenience to them. If you book as AI you will find that you are the only people around in the evenings and the day as most of the guests are out and about enjoying their holiday elsewhere. This in turn does make it hard for entertainment - very difficult to do when you have just a handful of people - a bit like flogging a dead horse really. The hotel offers Self Catering, BB, half board, full board basis & all inclusive - which means that there are a lot of guests that have no real incentive to stay on site, which does turn the hotel into a bit of ghost town. The hotel does have a Kids Club area which apparently is lovely but the management have chosen not to open it up this year.
The hotel food is on the whole good the Chef does make an effort but there isn't really much choice but you will always find something you can eat! But after dinner if you munchies you need to stock up before hand as no food is available.
There are a lot of Russians at the hotel but I have to say most of them were very pleasant and chatty probably feeling lonely like us and just pleased to see another human being so would chat to anyone even if they dont speak the same language.
Plus even the pool area is large and you have 2 pools - the other hotels in the area use the facilities so you end up with kids and people not from your hotel using the facilities which does make you wonder about security.

Room Tip: My advise is please do not book this as an All Inclusive holiday - its not a true reflection on AI a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon_farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Bearing in mind the size of the hotel, my wife and I found it very spooky to be the only occupants for the last couple of nights.The hotel was closing for the Winter on the day of our departure and it felt strange to be sitting in reception watching people removing the stock,and locking up. The cloakrooms had been locked and the staff had gone- the last one with a load of vegetable from the kitchens. There was no entertainment of any nature throughout our week which was probably a blessing as we would have felt very silly being the only two people watching.
Any families would have been disappointed and bored rigid but for a couple of sixty year olds, it was ideal- very quiet and relaxing and two lovely pools to ourselves.
The neighbouring hotels allowed access to their facilities so long as drinks were bought there-
we were self catering and are still wondering how we would have been dealt with as "all incusive" being the only people there. The hotel appartments were fine- clean and comfortable,
the staff were very friendly and irrespective of other reviewers comments, we found food and drink prices very reasonable- 7 euros pretty well everywhere for a large Gin and Tonic and
a pint of lager. Food prices also very fair. The walk from the Hotel to Protarus is lovely- 20 or 30 minutes on a boardwalk following the beaches and lots of good Cafes/Bars..
Can't help feeling that Olympic Holidays should have made us aware that the hotel was closing for the season but "all in all" a lovely relaxing break despite daily thunderstorms.

PS- Aegean Airways aeroplanes are far more comfortable than the other charters

Room Tip: pool view- inland looks out over a car park and supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at the papantonia from the 3rd-17th october 2012 , picked this hotel because brochure said there was entertainment day and night unfortunately this wasnt true as the entertainment was vertailly non existant! In fourteen nights there was 3 acts one of which was angelo the entertainment man doing a fire act which lasted 15 minutes!! entertainemnt man would often dissappear into his room to do hair dressing on guests this would happen either day or night , the managment seem to be aware of this but didnt seem to care.The hotel itself is a good base as the apartments are clean and staff friendly, but they are definately winding down for end of season and i think thats why they put up with this.It ended up costing us much more money going into protaras strip for entertainment of a night time and as we had young children in the group we had to pay out for transport as it was quite a walk. all in all the hotel is okay but dont expect any entertainment!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friendlybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

went on the 30th sept for 2 weeks.hotel was clean,but very quite.could not comment on food ate out all the time.couple of nice places to eat SPECTRUM PUB and MOJITO BAR.its 15 mins walk to protaras main strip and 5 mins to pernera center.the red bus is a must to famagusta.entertainment in the hotel is a no go.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a nice view of the swimming pools and sea.bottom floor noisey from hotel equipm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from papatonia and having payed to go there I should have payed peanuts for!! Entertainment was shocking wasn't even any entertainment at all! Except from maybe darts or anything the entertainer could be bothered to do!! On the other hand hotel was clean but beds very uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyprusisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
Tsokkos Gardens Hotel
#36 of 65 in Protaras
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#40 of 65 in Protaras
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#27 of 65 in Protaras
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
smartline Protaras
smartline Protaras
#33 of 65 in Protaras
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#53 of 65 in Protaras
842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
Jacaranda Hotel Apts
#46 of 65 in Protaras
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papantonia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papantonia Hotel Apartments

Address: 23, Athinas Street | Pernera, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range: £117 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papantonia Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully refurbished Papantonia Hotel Apartments features spacious, bright interior and friendly, hospitable atmosphere the ideal base for a great holiday. This complex enjoys a lovely peaceful location close to the golden sandy and shingle beach of Marlita Bay and a few minutes away from Pernera center with its colorful attractions. The brand new pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center is a great opportunity for an afternoon walk and within minutes from the hotel. Next to the Papantonia Hotel apartmetns you can enjoy the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offering exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. An ideal choice for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papantonia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papantonia Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing