We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very satisfactory week spent while stranded during the volcanic eruption”
Review of Sweet Memories

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sweet Memories
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very satisfactory week spent while stranded during the volcanic eruption”
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a week in the Evelena apartments and were due to return home when our Belfast flight was cancelled and Olympic bused the full coach of us to the Sweet Memories apartments were we all checked in very effeciently.It was located near supermarkets, bars and restruants and a short walk to the main strip and the beach. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was bright and spacious and well kitted out for a self catering stay. The pool area had plenty of sun loungers with padded covers and the pool itself was a good size. Around the apartments were planted shrubs and trees which were well maintained and there was a small play area for children. It was a friendly place for families and couples alike and the bar area had reasonably priced drinks and snacks served throughout the day. Lisa was one of the staff who served behind the bar and although the staff were all nice she had a lovely way with her, enjoyed a joke and was always smiling and good at her job. We had a problem 1 night when the lights fused and the maintenance guy was around within minutes and had it sorted very quickly. It was an anxious time for a lot of the quests but everyone certainly made us feel welcome. My only criticisim would be the towels were only changed once but then again they didn't know how long we would be with them.Overall it was good and we would return to these apartments.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoonplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    112
    56
    15
    20
See reviews for
104
155
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent weeks Easter break at Sweet Memories apartments.For only being 2 star accomodation we thought that it was excellent value for money. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.After just one week there you would have thought we had known Lisa and Caroline for years! We are just home and are now booking up for a week in October.We can't wait to go back. Our best holiday ever.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk south
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Being new to the reviewing on this site i felt i should go through all the places i have been a review , so definitely had to mention Sweet Memories.
Although it was 2007 , around April time! i think! cant remember fully , i can say that it was one of the best holidays i have been on.
The hotel room/ apartment slept all 4 of us comfortably 2 in the bedroom and 2 in the living room. Our only issue was that one bed was a camp bed that was awful! a quick call to the rep and all was sorted , another mattress on top and i was away. Th air con. is a pain to pay extra for but all this should be told to you before you go! if not you have reason to moan to your rep about it ! not the hotel. The staff were fantastic but didn't clean as often as we would have liked in the rooms. we loved the hotel! esp after winning 50.00 at bingo one night on a spur of the moment game whilst we sat at the bar in our pj's waiting for some of the best cheese toastie's ever!
A short walk to the beach , ok for us! stayed at the pool most days as it was sooo nice! would definitely stay there again! nothing was too much trouble! fantastic! x x x

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tink6226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I have written loads of reviews on Tripadvisor and now only contribute if I feel I have something different to add or if I disagree with recent reviewers and I feel I have to counter the 2 very negative reviews left recently (in September 2009). I stayed for a week with my girlfriend in late September/early October and here are what I think are our most important observations:

1) The Apartment: we were allocated room 141. Having requested a move on our first morning after arrival I can report that both apartments we were given were identical. Unfortunately though block 1 is at the front of the property and as such is situated right next to a busy main road which meant we struggled to get to sleep and were woken up early. We were also on the 4th floor and this felt a bit high for my liking! On our second morning we asked to be moved and were given apartment 334 2 days later when other guests had left. This apartment was much quieter and on a lower floor. The receptionist Caroline was really helful in sorting this.

2) The apartments are spacious and well equipped with toaster and kettle etc and are serviced twice a week. The balconies are a little cramped but fine otherwise. As others have noted when you arrive there is loads of shopping left for you and you pay for what you want but this means lugging the rest back to reception within 24 hours. We found that only the 6 bottles of water represented good value as everything else could be bough more cheaply from the nice Asian woman in the supermarket directly opposite the apartments (Nicosia supermarket, I think it's called. Much cheaper for things like milk and less of a rip off than the bigger, more corporate A-Z supermarket further down the road)

3) The Pool area is fine. The pool itself seemed clean and no loud music is played as seems to happen in many apartments. Plenty of recliners although as others have commented loads of (British) numpties put their towels out on sunbeds when there's no need (I counted 13 when I got up at 7.30 on the second morning!).

4) The bar staff are friendly enough and the area is fine for watching footy although the food is uninspired and I would not personally recommend the half board option because....

5) One of the best things about the apartments is that they are close to 2 excellent restaurants. Anatolia is excellent but can be very busy and has music which starts to grate after a while. Super S is also great and the owner (Tassos?) is very friendly. You also get free fruit and a liquer or coffee at the end of your meal. Both restaurants were excellent value. Steens was very good for breakfast (although they overcharged us on the last day)

6) The beach is a 10-15 minute walk away but it's worth it as the water is gorgeous to swim in and it's only 2.5 Euros per sunbed for the whole day. We used to treat ourselves to a doughnut from the 'Bake my day' bakery on the way home and I fully recommend these despite their calorific content!

I think these apartments represent good value and a good base for your holiday. I would, however, recommend paying the £40 per week more for an apartment rather than a studio and I would be inclined to ask for an apartment not higher than the 3rd storey and certainly avoid block 1 if possible. I would also bear in mind that you would need the air con for most of the season. We just about managed without in early October and it's 35 Euros per room per week so this would be expensive for a family staying a fortnight in high season.

If you take the above into account I would be inclined to ignore most of the criticisms left in what I would consider to be the unnecessarily harsh reviews which have been left recently.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheplobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Having just read the review dated 14/09/09 we can only say they must have stayed in a different apartment complex to us! The apartment, although basic, was spotlessly clean. Our sheets were changed 3 times during our fortnight stay. It was a nice touch to find the basics already in the apartment as we arrived at 8.00pm and the soft drinks, beer, tea, coffee, milk and bread were really appreciated as it meant we only had to find somewhere to eat that night rather than having to go shopping first. We had the same view as the reviewer on 14/09/09 and whilst it is true that there is scrubland and partially built houses to the rear of the apartments, the reviewer failed to point out that there were also panoramic sea views. How on earth does the apartment owner control what happens on land adjacent to their property if they don't own it?
The staff at Sweet Memories couldn't be faulted either! They were helpful, pleasant and efficient at all times without being intrusive. The supermarket was slightly more expensive than A-Z down the road towards the resort centre, but it was great for convenience. The breakfasts at €3.50 were really good value and the sausage and mash was to die for!
The Libra rep Toulla was very helpful and went out of her way to find us maps, etc. when we hired a car.
If you want to watch your team I would recommend Malmia bar about 100yds towards down the road towards the centre, where the staff were really friendly and recommended beaches or places of interest, or Wave Bar which is near the beach and ideal to stop off on your way back after a hard day sunbathing. Don't bother with the boat trip if you want to see Famagusta - you get to see the skyline only and the coach trip is better (according to the rep). Cape Greco is worth it though. For snorkelling Connos Bay was brilliant and there was a decent snack bar. The bus to Agia Napa was also good value at €1.50 each way.
All in all a really good value holiday - we will go back when we've been everywhere else we want to go

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

jst come back from sweet memories all i can say on the good side is the bar staff are very friendly the english lady on reception and the cleaners also. the rooms were very clean but basic the downside was having to pay extra for airconditioning. firt nite there we had a power cut day after the gas wasnt working ,went to reception to complain as we were self catering. some kind of handyman came and would you believe sterted sprayin wd 40 on the gas rings and pokin them with a wire he went without speakin a word ,wen the cleaner came i told her about it and she said the gas had been switched off because of a leak. complained 2 rep who gt it switched bk on while we cooked breakfast this went on 4 3 days. wot a nitemare the only good point was the irish bar across the road with a geat guitarist on named keith. by the way its a 20min walk to the strip not 10 and on an incline nt good for people with walking difficulties.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We booked this holiday last minute in August because we were fed up with the English weather, we found a good deal from our local airport to Cyprus which we love. We knew with the price we paid the accommodation wouldn`t be up to much, even paying for two weeks air-con still made it a good value holiday. From the outside the apartments look very dated but they are in a good location, and the swimming pool is a good size with plenty of sun-beds (but you still get the usual numptys who place towels on them and don`t use them for at least 5 hours (all British by the way)
The bar area is clean with a good atmosphere and the English breakfast is really good value at 3.5 euro`s. The apartments were of a good size, but we didn`t bother attempting to cook on the two ring cooker; and yes we had ants on our veranda, a small price to pay for the 30c sun, as they didn`t come into our room we wasnt that bothered. There are four feral cats which roam around the apartments, they are harmless and my girls aged 9yr and 6yrs loved them.
We ate out every night and i`d recommend the "Super S" restraunte along the road towards Protaras, the food was nice and the staff were loverly.
Please hire a car and see some of this fantastic island, we`v been 10 times to Cyprus and we always go to Knossos beach near cape Greco, it is so beautiful, and makaronis near waterworld. Along the south east coast of Cyprus you could literally spend every day of your holiday on a different beach between Ayia Thekla and Kapparis.
If you want luxury ,don`t come here, but spend a lot of money (i`d recommend the Adams Beach on nissi avenue) otherwise these apartments will be sufficient for most people.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmelLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#46 of 65 in Protaras
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#26 of 65 in Protaras
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#23 of 65 in Protaras
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
#40 of 65 in Protaras
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seagull Apartments
Seagull Apartments
#45 of 65 in Protaras
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Property: Sweet Memories
Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#25 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing