We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When I checked the reviews or this hotel I was so looking forward to my stay.
I paid extra for a seaviw room which was definatly worth the money as the views were amazing.
The downside was the room itself. The room did no have any appaling factors and I have stayed in 3* hotels in Ayia Napa that had more comfort.
the first night the air conditioning blew out hot air and the water for the sower was lovely and hot.

when we mentioned this to reception the ar conditioning became cold but then so did the shower!!!
we was on a bed and breakfast basis which had a decent selection of food but if I was on all inclusive i would have wanted alot more variety.
In summary..... I would not stay again but its a decent hotel if you get it for a decent price

Room Tip: 4th Floor sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NICOLAS S, Owner at Crystal Springs Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for staying at the Crystal Springs and for taking the time to write your comments. I apologise for the delay in responding due to some restructuring at the hotel but assure you that we take every comment extremely seriously and are continually working on any areas that reviewers have had concerns with.
Thank you for your comments on the seaview rooms, these are certainly a favourite with guests and I am sorry that you experienced some issues with the cooling. The central system is a dual system of heating and cooling and as it was October, it may accidently have set itself to winter mode, that said, I am glad that a quick call to reception remedied the issue.
We have very positive feedback regarding our food, and as yourself commented, you liked the selection but feel that there should have been more choice for all-inclusive. This is something we have taken into consideration and will adapt accordingly.
I hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again and meet your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed at the end of October over the half term period. We arrived late to be told that there was no record of our booking? We were given a family room but it was not what we had asked for on our booking. However the following day Christou, the reservations manager, apologised and said a room like we had requested would be available the next day. The next day we were given what is probably the best family room in the hotel- on the 5th floor with views to die for. You do have to pay for the safe/tv remote and fridge but Internet access seems to have been sorted with 7 days access for 30 euros. The location is great if you are looking to get away from it all as we were. The gardens are beautiful and lead down to a small bay - the water is warm and excellent for snorkelling. The sunbeds on the beach are council owned and you must pay to use them but this is not a problem as plenty of hotel beds available in the gardens. The pool was cold when we were there but this was not a problem with the sea being so pleasant. Nina did her best with the entertainment but don't go here if you are looking for wild nights! The staff here are brilliant- everyone works extremely hard but is always friendly and can't do enough for you. The manager is very accessible and approachable and is interested in any suggestions or concerns you may have.
We found the food and drink on all inclusive perfectly adequate- there was always enough choice for everyone. The room was very comfortable and kept very clean.
Overall for the price we paid the hotel offered extremely good value for money and we would defiinitely go there again. Thank you Nikos and staff for a great holiday :)
The Perrin family.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have spectacular sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perrin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Weve just come back from 10 days all inclusive in Crystal Springs.A trouble free check in,even though our flight was delayed and we didnt arrive until 0130.Beware of the lifts,as the doors are very narrow and they close suddenly,especially if you are struggling with suitcases,as we were!Our room on the 2nd floor was exactly what we needed with a fantastic view of the swimming pool and the Med.Only a slight problem for one day when the shower was running cold and when we asked for extra pillows and blankets we got them within 10 minutes.
The pool was cold on first getting in but we soon got over that..The big problem is flies..and lots of them!!!!! We were bothered constantly.Dont know if its to do with all the stray cats around the hotel and the occasional dog.The food has a different theme every night so it was never repetitive.If you sat outside you would be guaranteed at least 5 cats or kittens under the table.
The only problem we had with this hotel was the location.A bus ride away from Protaras or Ayia Napa.Quite remote area with not a lot around it.Only 1 euro on the bus is a bargain..Would definetely recommend this hotel to anyone after a relaxing holiday..
A small tip to anyone going to this area...dont bother with the semi submarine dolphin tour for 5 euros..we were tipped off that the only dolphins in the area are during may and june so all you will get on this trip is ripped off and seasick!!!!!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clairem38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of October. We arrived very late around midnight, to be handed two rounds of bread with ham and cheese in the middle, not on a plate, not wrapped or covered and just passed to us hand to hand. Suffice to say we did not eat it. A nice touch but this has to be improved upon! The hotel is clean although rooms basic but fine and the majority of the food was good. We found much of the food to be cold at breakfast and as the chef at the omelette station only cooks one at a time it can be a long time to get a freshly cooked one. The variety of food was good considering it is a small hotel. The staff were excellent and a credit to the hotel . We used both pool, bay and gardens and all were good. Can recommend the massage , very good especially for a wet, stormy afternoon, very relaxing. Hairdressers is also very good and friendly . Perfect for a relaxing holiday with sun .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chezza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

When our party arrived at the hotel we initially found there had been a problem with our booking, and only one of the two rooms we'd paid for were available. The staff at reception (particularly Chryso) were more than helpful in finding a solution to the problem by arranging for us to stay in another hotel for one night, and promising us that our rooms would be ready the next day.

The hotel that they sent us to was lovely, and all travel expenses were covered by Crystal Springs so although it was an unwanted blip to the start of the holiday... they made sure it was dealt with as efficiently as possible.

As promised, we were placed in our rooms the next day... they were bright, fresh, airy and most importantly very clean. The TV in the bedroom only has one English channel to view (BBC World News), but this wasn't a problem as the only times we were in our rooms was to get ready for our evening meal and to sleep!

Although quite remote, the hotel is only a 1 Euro bus drive away (though expect to be packed on like Sardines when you get on them) from the main shopping area of Protaras. If you just need a few basic items though there is a Souvenir shop in the hotel which has gifts, toiletries, swimming accessories, clothing and newspapers/magazines, or there are a couple of mini markets on the main road from the hotel (I'd advise to use the smaller one straight opposite, as the staff in the bigger one further down the road are downright rude)!

As far as the staff in the Crystal Springs are concerned, the best part of them are extremely helpful and friendly, with a special mention going out to the restaurant staff; Eric, Bob, Adrian and the two Katerinas, who sometimes seem to be a bit undervalued by some of the other staff!

The pool is a decent size and there are plenty of sunbeds (both around the pool, and in the gardens stretching down to the beach area). The water in the pool can get a little bit too cool at certain points in the day, but the sea is delightful to swim in! The only complaint we had about the pool was the wicker "parasols" that are placed randomly around the place... Mind your head... they're very low! Every family we met had an incident with them!

The only real con I found while staying there was the limitations with the All Inclusive, as I'm someone who believes ALL Inclusive, should be just that; ALL! Certain drinks were off the All Inclusive menu and had to be paid for separately. AI also stopped after 11pm, which I personally found to be quite early. AI doesn't include the use of the fridge in the room or of the safety deposit box either... if you're paying that little bit extra, you would expect all the little extras to be included!

But overall, the holiday was lovely, stress-free, and very enjoyable! Looking forward to going again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuppyConqueress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Absolutely fantastic!
A clean, smart and modern hotel.
Friendly staff, particularly on reception.
Good choice of food at all mealtimes. Salad bar, a selection of hot meals, bread, cheese, fruit.. Nothing too much trouble. Chefs in restaurant area who answer any queries about food ingredients.
Bar area service a little slow and tables frequently left with empty glasses on and sticky. Could maybe do with more staff here.
Pool extremely cold however with such a beautiful bay in the hotel grounds the sea was my preferred option every time. Small sandy beach and shallow water. Ideal for families.
The gardens are kept immaculately and plenty of sun beds for all although these do get reserved overnight!
Rooms are simple but modern.
A bus stop is situated right outside the hotel costing only €2 to get to Protaras. The hotel is a bit far to walk to anywhere of interest but at those bus ticket prices that's nothing to worry about.
Would recommend and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have mixed feelings about the Crystal Springs. It is a very very clean Hotel, everything is spotless. The staff are lovely, every one of them worked tirelessly to make sure we had a good time and were looked after properly. The gardens are beautiful, and private, we always managed to find a sun bed with sea views, and by walking down the steps in the garden, you came to the small bay.The sand and shingle was OK, but you had to be careful as you could sink. We saw one older man have a nasty fall as he over balanced on it. We walked a long for 10 minutes and found another bay I think called Serena, which was far nicer. Back to the Hotel.... On arrival at 12.30 am, and feeling very tired after a 14 hour journey, we were told there was no room for us, we would have to be transported to another Hotel in Aga Napa, 20 minutes drive away. We accepted this grudgingly, too tired to argue. While we waited for the taxi, the man receptionist gave us a sandwich, which consisted of one slice of processed cheese in very cold bread, which felt like it had just come out of the freezer, it wasn't cut in half, and we later realised it was what the chef prepared for the pool bar toasties! But again we were tired, and accepted the sandwich with a thank you. e went to the Hotel and to be fair, it was all new and very nice, a small bungalow, it was very comfortable and we eventually got to sleep. We were picked up at 1.00pm the next day after hanging around, cases unpacked. As recompense, reception gave us a free fridge, free safe and free remote control. The lady on reception was most apologetic, but we couldn't help feeling that this is being done on a regular basis, and I don't feel it is good to do this to people who have paid quite a lot of money for their holiday. I think we were very lenient with them, and decided to put it all behind us and enjoy the holiday. At lunch, our first meal at Crystal Springs, I was amazed at all the cats, and the silly people who throw food on the floor to feed them. This attracted the flies, a constant nuisance, a big problem at this Hotel. It can't be hygienic, and I felt sorry for the staff who keep everything spotless, to have to deal with these feral cats. We spotted 2 lots of cat sick around the pool area, which is very bad. I hope the manager will deal with this as soon as possible. The food was always nicely cooked, the Chef was always around and would chat to you if he had time. Myself, I preferred the lunchtime meals, I suppose it was quieter, and there was a good variety of everything. I didn't ever have soup, my husband did, and said it was delicious but always cold, not once was it hot. He said had it been hot it would be perfect. The same with the tea/coffee machines, tea and coffee were always warm. We loved the bread and rolls selection, always fresh. The ice cream is more like Sorbet, not proper ice cream. Breakfast we always enjoyed, a selection of cereals, a good full English breakfast, scrambled and boiled eggs, fruit and cooked meats, something for everyone. Fried eggs were cooked to perfection. The waiting staff were always cheerful and friendly, I am not going to single any one of them out, it wouldn't be fair, they were all just great. Another recompense we got was the best room in the |Hotel, room 404, a full on view of the sea and pool, it was lovely, very quiet, and the bed was comfortable too. We enjoyed being in room 404. The entertainment was the worse thing about Crystal Springs. Nina tried her best to make things happen, but not many people wanted to join in anything during the day. Next to Crystal Springs is the Kouzalis Hotel, and you could hear guests having fun until past midnight, and throughout the day. Nothing happened in the evening, we had a couple of nights where a fairly decent singer/guitarist and his keyboard player sang a few songs, a few got up and danced. There is nothing else that I remember of any significance, no decent music played on the speakers, mostly Greek music that made you feel sleepy. At 11.00pm the man receptionist started to walk around locking things up, it looked like a signal for you to retire for the night! To be honest, most people were in their rooms by 9.00pm. At this time of the evening it felt a bit like an old people's home! Luckily we palled up with a lovely couple from Kent, and we had a good laugh with them every night. If we hadn't met them and been on our own, it would have been very boring. So you have probably figured out that there are a few issues here that wouldn't take much to iron out. If the entertainment improved, they stopped people feeding the cats, they made sure soup, tea and coffee were hot, and didn't over book, it would deserve a nearly 5*. The Hotel is situated in a perfect place, it is quiet, with beautiful sea views, exceptionally clean, staff lovely. Come on management, a few changes and 5* it is!

Room Tip: We were given room 404, anything from 401to 410 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthebeachEllesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NICOLAS S, Owner at Crystal Springs Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your stay with us and for your long and detailed review.
Firstly, thank you for stating that the hotel is spotless and the staff are attentive.
We are sorry that you were not happy with the sandwich you were given. For health and safety reasons, we never give meat for takeaway sandwiches.
You are correct that the issue with cats. The hotel’s policy is not to feed or encourage them, but a large number of guests ignore this and feed the cats, thus further encouraging them. As a result the cats breed and increase in number. The sad thing is, that once the summer season ends and the hotel is empty, the cats that have become used to being fed, are no longer fed and left to fend for themselves. We are trying to come up with a solution that will satisfy the guests who like the presence of the cats, and the ones who don’t and are exploring various options. It is important to note that this is not a problem that is isolated at our hotel, but one that is common in Cyprus across hotels and restaurants, due to tourists who feed the animals.
We are surprised to hear that the soup was cold and believe that we keep our foods well heated. We will look into this. The ice-cream you say is like sorbet is most likely to be the banana and strawberry which are high-fruit content ice-creams and as such, more sorbet like, whereas the other flavours (for example the vanilla and chocolate) are not. We also have a variety of different ice-cream brands.
In regards to the entertainment at night. Firstly, we receive good feedback on the quality and variety so it may be a matter of taste, and secondly, as a family hotel, we do end the entertainment at 11pm as there are many guests with children who go to bed earlier and we find that this time is the best compromise for both early sleepers and those who want to start off at the hotel and then continue their night out at the neighbouring resorts. The bar though is open till midnight.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope that one day we may have the privilege of welcoming you back to Crystal Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
2.6 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,195 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Springs Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Springs Beach Hotel

Address: Vrysoudion Street | P.O. Box 33246, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#4 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#4 Family Hotel in Protaras
#6 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £89 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Springs Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Welcome as warm as the sun's rays... The four-star, award-winning Crystal Springs Beach Hotel sits within its own tropical gardens that give way to an exclusive sandy beach in one of the most beautiful areas of the Mediterranean island of Cyprus. Its privileged location on the outskirts of the popular Protaras resort commands breathtaking views in a calm and relaxing environment. Stepping out of the hotel, the vast amenities and vibrant nightlife of Protaras are close by, making the hotel ideal for couples and families alike. The hotel was recently renovated in 2011 to include exclusive suites and modern public areas and has won numerous awards for excellence.... We invite you to experience this excellence first-hand and to relax in the stunning natural surroundings of the Crystal Springs Beach Hotel, where your Mediterranean holiday will leave you with memories that last a lifetime... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Springs Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Springs Beach Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing