We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice family holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Louis Althea Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice family holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. We were a family of three staying for a week all-inclusive. It wasn't our first all-inclusive holiday but it stands out for quality. Our apartment was well-equipped and spacious and we liked the balcony with a view over the pools to the sea. Access was from an external stairs rather than through the hotel, which added a sense of privacy and independence. Our 3-year-old particularly appreciated the kitten who lived outside the door (her highlight of the holiday), but I imagine that this is not supplied as standard. The apartment was cleaned regularly and well during our stay.

The room was great but this hotel stands out from other all-inclusive resorts mainly because of the food. It was tasty and varied and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. In a warm Mediterranean climate you expect tomatoes, melons etc to be succulent and juicy, but the warm dishes also surpassed expectations. We tried the rose and white wines and both were fine.

The entertainment for the kids was also very good. We signed our daughter up for the Bamseklubb but, after the first day, we left it up to her if she wanted to go or preferred to stay with us. Most of the time she chose to go. She also liked the evening entertainment and we were very impressed with the two clowns - they really knew what they were doing and noticed when some children were shy or needed encouragement.

There are three pools including one suited for small kids as well as the small sandy beach enclosed by rocky outcrops, so we always found something that suited us.

Clearly we were very happy with our choice but it's worth noting that Pernera is not a very big place so if shopping is important you need to take the bus or hire a car and explore further afield. There are however other (larger) beaches nearby and a little Orthodox church that is well-worth the short walk.

Overall we were very pleased and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirmuid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Althea Beach and for sharing your impression online.

We are most delighted to hear that our outstanding property has exceeded your expectations with its high quality together with the well-equipped and spacious appartments. We are also glad that your daughter enjoyed our children's Bamse Club. Moreover, we are thrilled about your remark in regards to our marvellous cuisine and it is a great pleasure to know that our wide range of tasty warm dishes has surpassed your expectations. All in all, it is wonderful to know that overall you were very pleased with your stay and you would like to return.

Thank you for your kind words and admiration and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Louis Althea Beach soon.

Warm regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    89
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
131
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice Apartments. Lots of Space. However the living room needs a proper sofa in stead of two beds that you need to use as sofa. Two arm chairs would also be great. Would recommend to change a traditional room key to a magnetic/Card Lock. The gardens and swimming pools are very good and nicely keept. 50 meters to nice small Beach with sand/rocks. 200 metes to nice sandy Beach. 400 meters to great sandy Beach. Supermarkets and restaurants nearby. Pool bar restaurant with very good food. Buffet restaurant with good food. All of the staff are very helpfull and most of them always smiling. Plenty of staff providing efficient service. It is a Blue Village with lots of children and activities mainly for children. Nice atmosphere at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis Althea Beach and for posting your feedback online.

It is wonderful to know that you had a brilliant holiday at our superb hotel. We are especially delighted to see that you greatly appreciated our attentive staff and our stunning facilities.
We thank you for bringing your observations in regards to the room sofas and the key to our attention. Your comment will be taken note of as part of our continuous work for improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to the Louis Althea Beach in the nearest future.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Best family place I`ve been. Great service+++, Fantastic buffet:):), Nice staff og clean aereas and rooms.
This concept with a small intimite hotel ,small streets between apartments and no large concrete hotelbuildings, but narrow funny apartments houses around the hotel, green areas and flower arrangements made the atmosphere very cosy and intimate.

And I must give a lot of credit to the show crew. This concept with childrens Bamse Club, childrens evening, show followed by show for parents and grandparents was the fantastic. And the artist was outstanding, both as clowns during daytime and entertaniere in the evening show.
Thanks to everyone on Althea Beach hotell that made us want to return next year.
And with all inclusive also next time:)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
" Dear guest,

Thank you for holidaying at the Louis Althea Beach.

It is such a pleasure to notice that you had a fascinating vacation at our lovely hotel and that the service you received played a significant role in making your stay special. Furthermore we are happy to hear that our animation team did a sensational job in keeping you well entertained and busy.

It would be a great pleasure to have you here at the Louis Althea Beach again.

Best regards,

The Management
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here with our kids (2 and 4 years). The oldest one was in the bamseklubb and he absolutely loved it. The entertainment in the nights (starting 19:45) was very good and the kids absolutely loved it.

We did not have all inclusive but there was some good restaurants nearby. The hotel is about 20 min walk from Fig Tree Bay so its best suited for families with small children.
The beach is outside the hotel. it is small but when we where there in May it was good space.

The pool area is very nice and the staff and star tours personnel are very friendly. We will go back to this hotel. The kids absolutely loved bamseklubb!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is 20 meters from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesstlinkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
"Dear guest,

We want to express our gratitude for your stay at the Louis Althea Beach and for taking some of your precious time to post a brief yet lovely review concerning your experience.

It gives us great joy to see that you and your children had a terrific time at our property and that you felt well-treated and welcome. It is also nice to see that you appreciated our wonderful outdoor facilities.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Louis Althea Beach soon.

Yours respectfully,

The Management"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for a week late April/early May 2014, booked through Finnish travel agent Finnmatkat. We'd never stayed in this type of hotel before, and it was pretty much what we expected - family-friendly, clean, good service, reasonable food. The only real issue we had was with the noise from the entertainment in the evenings - it was on until 10pm every night bar one, and it was VERY loud. Our room wasn't even that close to the stage, so I can't imagine how loud it must have been for those staying in the main building above the restaurant and stage! Our 2-year-old didn't fall asleep most nights until after 10pm, and as the curtains in our room didn't block out the sun in the mornings so well, she woke up at dawn (around 6-7am). Short nights...

We hadn't quite known what to expect of the buffet foods as some say in their reviews that it isn't very good, but we actually thought it was okay, except on our last night when it was just plain odd. We had half board which suited us, definitely wouldn't go for the all inclusive option as drinks, snacks and lunch at the pool bar are inexpensive and tasty (only added up to 140 euros for the whole week for the three of us, including the drinks we had with our dinner in the evenings).

We didn't spend as much time in the kids' pool as we'd expected as it was very windy during our stay and our little one got very cold very quickly, but it was quite a nice pool with a sun cover and a small slide that even kids our daughter's age could easily master. We spent a lot of time on the beach instead, right below the hotel. It was mainly sand, and nicely protected from the wind, as it was lower down and protected by some cliffs. Lots of sandcastles built during the week!

It was odd to spend a week in a hotel surrounded only by Scandinavians and it's not something I'd want to do very often as I quite like a more local vibe when I go on holiday usually, but for kids it's quite nice I guess as there's a bigger chance they'll make friends with other kids who speak the same language(s).

The location and area overall also wasn't very exciting - 100% built for tourists, nothing authentic in sight. We had to rent a car and drive to Larnaka for a day to get out of the tourist ghetto :) As the high season hadn't quite started yet, we didn't see many tourists in Larnaka which was a lovely change! And to actually hear some Greek instead of Swedish/Danish/Norwegian/Finnish was a big bonus too!

Overall, we thought the trip was quite expensive for what it was (roughly 2500 euros with flights and half board), but the hotel was a lot nicer than any other ones we spotted on our walks around the area, so it didn't feel like a rip-off in that sense.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the main building if you're a light sleeper! The eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
"Dear guest,

First and foremost we want to thank you for holidaying at the Louis Althea Beach and for posting such an extensive and sincere summary of your stay.

We are glad to see that you favored our clean and hygienic premises and that the food on offer matched your expectations. However, we regret to hear that the noise level from our animation performances was disturbing; please be aware that we will follow up on this matter immediately and will discuss possible, if any, solutions.

Despite some niggles, we are glad to hear that you spent an enjoyable vacation at the Louis Althea Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

The Management"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vetlanda, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stepping out of the bus looking at the hotel was impressive. entering the hotel was not bad and the entrance gave a good impression. Then....after getting the key and heading for the elevator (we had room in the main building) stepping out of the elevator at the second floor it stopped being impressive. More of the old been around for quite a while feeling came. The room was very much the same, some paint would be nice an redo the toilet and shower.
OK, thats it for the rooms, now to the food....and the rest
I've been traveling quite a bit in the line of business and perhaps i'm getting spoiled.. but this was not a super pleasant experience. It just didn't taste that good,some dishes you simply just left a went for something else. The drinks that was included in the all inclusive package was among the worst I have tasted. Not even the Gin-Tonic tasted good, the soft drinks for the kids was black water with 4times to much suger, they didn't even want to drink it ending up in us going to the supermarket buying the "real stuff".
The pool areas was the best together with the very close to the beach distance. 2 nice pools and a nice beach just at he back of the hotel. Bring cyclops since this was a super place to snorkel.

Finally!
The hotel offered entertainment at almost every dinner in the evening, this was very appreciated and must ay that they did great!

All together this was not the best place I've been to and not the best food but there where lots of restaurants close by.
It's a OK place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
"Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Althea Beach we would like to thank you for holidaying at our hotel.

First and foremost we are glad to read that our outdoor facilities got your full approval and that the close proximity to the beach was also a major plus. However, we regret to notice that you perceived our interior design as old fashioned; though this is often a matter of personal taste, we take note of your complaint. Furthermore we are saddened to hear that our food and beverage products were far below what was expected. We are slightly surprised by that remark because our customers usually value the quality of our food and beverages. In fact, we have won numerous Blue Village awards in that regard over the years, nevertheless we take your comment on board for our improvement. Naturally, we will examine the issue closely and thank you for bringing it to our full attention.

Despite some disappointments, we hope to get the chance of welcoming you back to the Louis Althea Beach in the future...should you be looking for a more modern room design we can suggest our Louis Ledra in Paphos or Louis Corcyra in Corfu.

Warm wishes,

The Management"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very good entertainment programme for the kids (almost unbeatable). A lot of pools and close to the sea. For the first time we tried the all inclusive concept (80%? of the guests at the hotel bought this package) and I cannot say I recommend it. Watery, sugary drinks, beers, and average minus wine - although you get as much as you want, after a while you stop wanting. Buffet food that although not bad and despite good intentions to make it varied, repetitive and you loose that very nice thing to go out and try to find a nice restaurant for the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsEmmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Althea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for holidaying at the Louis Althea Beach.

We are delighted to hear that you found our entertainment programme absolutely ideal for children and that you were very pleased with our many pools and our close proximity to the sea. However, we are sorry to hear that our All Inclusive offer was not to your liking, please be assured that we duly note all your remarks and that we will speak to our chefs in regards the aspects that can be improved on. Nonetheless, we are surprised to hear this as we usually receive much commendation for the variety of our cuisine. As for the drinks we want to inform you that we provide beverages of local brands on our All Inclusive offer, as is the practise in many All Inclusive hotels around the world. Overall, in spite of these issues, we hope that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again at the Louis Althea Beach, even if you choose to stay on terms other than all inclusive.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Penelope Beach Hotel
Penelope Beach Hotel
#38 of 65 in Protaras
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#36 of 65 in Protaras
220 reviews
2.0 mi away
TUI Family Life Nausicaa Beach
0.8 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Althea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Althea Beach Hotel

Property: Louis Althea Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 37008, Protaras, Paralimni 5306, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Protaras, Cyprus with its world famous crystal clear waters, golden sand and sunshine to last for a life time, the Louis Althea Beach is built in the traditional monasterial style on a promontory of Pernera beach. Overlooking the beautiful water of Protaras, this Mediterranean holiday complex offers outstanding accommodation and services. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing