We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is in a central location close to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. There is always someone at reception and staff were helpful when we needed travel information. We stayed in a ground floor studio that was bright, clean and spacious. The sound insulation was good and we had no trouble sleeping despite the proximity to bars and clubs. However, the room is adjacent to the carpark and the public footpath, so there's no view and little privacy. We asked for a room on a higher floor but were told nothing else was available. The toilet could be improved also: it smelt musty, toiletries aren't provided, the sink was blocked when we arrived (fixed) and the floor was wet due to a leak somewhere (not fixed). Nonetheless, since all we needed was a place to sleep and shower, it did the job and is fair value for money overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twocranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Alva. We place a high value of comments received from our guests as they allow us to respond and to review the services offered.

We wish to make the following comments to your observations:

* The majority of hotels have high and low floors; it is not always possible to guarantee a guest's request as the allocation of the rooms depends on what is available at the date of their arrival.

* As we have previously stated in other reviews, we are in the process of renovating the hotel and this includes the bathrooms. Our records show that both problems you referred to in your Review were attended to. We apologise if this was not the case. If you had reported the problem again to Reception, this could have been attended to again. Nothing is too much trouble for us - we are here to please.

* Please note that, as we are self catering apartments we do not have to provide toiletries but we do provide liquid soap in the bathroom.

We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    157
    45
    21
    10
See reviews for
148
189
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Me and my wife have stay in the hotel for a few days because of its great location. Its a great value for money stay if we eclxclude the extra charge for the airconditioning, which is rediculous for a hot country like cyprus. Why dont you guys add it to your price anyway? We found the room descent, althouth definitelly needs their matresses changed. The reception was ok, they could be a bit more welcoming, and give more info, like breakfast hours, events in the hotel, extra services they might offer and car parking avaliability. We were with our two young sons and i had to take a hell of a laggage trough their extra mini elevator.
The location is the best in protaras, walking distance, 5 minutes to the fig tree beach, tge best in protaras for its facilities. Literally located in the middle of the protaras main avenue with all the stores, restaurants etc. its also an ideal hotel location for families with young children because of the small distances to the main road and great facilities beach. The price could have been if not cheaper, at least including breakfast, which was descent, especially for english breakfast lovers, and the airconditioning. Generally, an excellent place to stay for everybody, especially, families. To be fair they have started the refurbishment of rooms. Definitelly go their next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wideawakeconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Alva. We wish to respond to your comments, as follows:

* Extra air condition charge: By law, we have to provide one air condition unit only in each apartment. These are installed in the bedroom area. Since last year, we have begun installing a second air condition unit in the living room of the 1 bedroom apartments. Unfortunately, we have not managed to install them in all the rooms yet, this is the reason we have not included the charge of the second air condition unit in the accommodation price.

* We have spare mattresses. This could have been changed if you had mentioned at Reception that you had a problem.

* It is very unusual to receive bad comments regarding the Reception Staff. We will bring your comments to their attention; we apologise on their behalf.

* We are not sure about your comment regarding 'mini elevator'. The elevators are specific sizes and are built to accommodate the size of the hotel.

We are pleased that you were happy with other services offered by our hotel and its location and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I needed a much earned holiday break, and for our 25th wedding anniversary, we decided to book a two night getaway in Protaras. Seeing as we never went on a honeymoon, we wanted this to be our best holiday ever. Being in the travel and tourism industry in Cyprus for the last 22 years, I didn't want to stay in any of the 5 or 4 star hotels I had previously worked with, we wanted to be "incognito" without Hotel Managers trying to make sure that everything was perfect! We looked at apartments in the area of Protaras, close to Fig Tree Bay, our favourite beach. As we live in Cyprus, it's easier to make a phone call and book a reservation, but we used the internet for the first time, therefore we could only go by the photos and reviews of the apartments made by other guests. What I liked about the Alva Hotel Apartments, was that for each review, the Hotel Manager, Ms. Katerina Michaelidou, responded to each and every review, whether there were positive or negative remarks, and her responses showed that the feedback was being assessed and acted upon. Despite other apartments in the area being of same price etc, we determined that a hotel manager that takes the time to review comments and respond, means that the hotel apartments will be of the same high standard as the communication process used. We arrived at the hotel apartments on Thursday 30 August 2012, greeted by a very, very friendly receptionist, who was so polite and efficient, she informed us that we had been upgraded from a studio apartment to a one bedroom apartment, to which we were surprised in the least, and we went to our room, to see a spotless apartment, spacious, clean, tastefully decorated in earth colours that relaxed us immediately from the stress of daily life, we didn't even need to turn on the TV that was in the family room. The kitchen, had beautiful granite everywhere, and a balcony with the best seaview we've ever seen, right opposite our favourite "fig tree bay". We didn't want to leave the apartment! 5 hours after sitting on the balcony we decided to go for a walk and dinner. The shops, pubs, bars, restaurants, pharmacy, banks, were a doorstep away, not to mention the bus stops and taxi stations if one wanted to go anywhere. We had a car, and didn't need to move it from the hotel private parking until we left on Saturday 1st of September. The supermarkets next door are very cheap, the pubs and restaurants are very reasonably priced, and for Protaras, we were surprised at how inexpensive everything was. The next day we spent by the hotel pool, very clean as well as safe. The apartments were so quiet during the day and evening. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. The cleaning staff were wonderful, even asking us if we were enjoying our holiday when they would come to clean our apartment. When we checked out, at reception, the staff were asking us if we enjoyed our holiday, and to our surprise, one of the staff members, was the Hotel Manager, Ms Katerina Michaelidou, who's concern, together with her wonderful team, was that if we had a good time. We certainly did! Thanks to the Alva Hotel apartments.... a 3 minute walk to our favourite beach, a very, very clean apartment, a beautiful view from the balcony, comfort and luxury which I can honestly compare to some of the finest 5 star hotels I have stayed in on the island, but most of all, the quietness of the apartments and all the facilities, utensils, amenities one needs to live there forever! It was sad leaving, but we will be back, and very soon. Above all, it was "authentically perfect" as I did not mention to the hotel that I am in Tourism and Travel on the island!!!! Thank you Alva, and a special thanks to Marianna at reception for that beautiful welcome smile upon arrival and for her assistance throughout our stay, together with the other wonderful staff, and a special thanks to Ms Michaelidou for managing such a great team and great hotel apartment accommodation.

Room Tip: Sea view apartments will give you that 5 star feel, shade in the morning for that coffee on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments regarding the hotel and its staff. It is always a pleasure to have guests who are pleasant and appreciative, like yourselves.
We hope its not another "25 years" before you visit us again!!
Good health and happiness to you both for the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a four night stay at the Alva Hotel Aparments in August 2012. When we arrived, we were shown to an apartment which my husband described as having 'less charm than a boarding school dormitory'. When we complained, we were upgraded to a suite which was wonderful. There was an extra cost involved but it was worth it. The suite was tastefully decorated in white and was modern.

The great attraction of these hotel apartments are their excellent location, a few metres from the famous Fig Tree Bay, a wonderful beach in the Protaras area. At night, restaurants, pubs and other night-life venues are just a stroll away. We also were able to visit other beaches in the area such as Konos and Makronissos.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or a studio. Much, much nicer. And worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Alva. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stay at the Alva 29th July to 12th Aug, we arrived late at night after our flight was delayed for an hour and a half,we were greeted by a very friendly night porter who checked us in quickly and efficiently.we were upgraded to one of the new suites, which was a pleasant surprise! newly refurbished with white walls,white furnishings with grey accessories.The glassed walled bathroom has a huge walk-in shower big enough for two people,it has a rainfall shower head and also a separate shower hose, the bathroom also has twin sinks.Finishing touches were added while we were there..a brand new digital safe in the wardrobe( which ,by the way had plenty of storage room and more than enough coat hangers) and a new stool for the dressing table. These suites wouldn't look out of place in a 5* hotel.. they are absolutely beautiful .
All the staff are very friendly and helpful - the maids ..who work very hard, the girls at the pool bar..always smiling in the mornings at breakfast time,and the lovely ladies on reception ..who go out of their way to help with any thing.
All in all this is THE best hotel we've stayed at and i would recommend it to anyone.. we're definetly going to return next year,its a really gem of a place.
.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor..you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cyprusmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at the Alva. We place a high value on comments we receive from our guests.
Your comments regarding the staff, including the maids, will be very much appreciated by them all.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lefkosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent 5 days in August 2012 at a studio. It was our second time there, since we stayed last year as well, but this time I have some things to critigue.

To start with the positive, the location is very good, just opposite "Fig Tree" which is one of the beaches with the clearer waters. Within walking distance of all the main restaurants, beaches cafes, hotels of Protaras, with bus stops near by, for those without a car, and free parking for those bringing their own car. In addition it has a moderate swimming pool and offers breakfast, although one can find good breakfast cheaper at the restaurants near by. Furthermore the rooms are cleaned five days a week and the common areas daily.

Now to go to the negative, the building is a bit old but well reserved. Some parts of the room equipment, though, should have been changed...last year! The air-conditioning unit was very noisy, the bed lamps were broken and rapped up in tape and the showerhead was broken. To their credit, the technitian came right away and tried to fix what could be fixed, but the problem was just that: There comes a point when fixing is not enough! A replacement is needed!

Overall, I would go again and I would recommend it to others, but only at a good price. If the prices raise some variation wouldn't hurt...

Room Tip: It mostly has to do with what is inside the room, not the location. Avoid the rooms near the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheodorosTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Alva. We place a high value on comments received from our guests as they allow us to review the level of standards and services offered to our guests.

As many guests know, we have begun renovations at the hotel but this will take a few years to complete the whole project. We apologise for the damage to some of the items in the room (lampshades). We were awaiting replacements from the suppliers.

We would like to take this opportunity to point out to guests that if they find any faults (which may have been missed), we would be grateful if these could be reported to Reception so that these can be remedied immediately.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent location, near the beautiful fig tree bay, near the bars and restaurants. You don’t have to take the car, all the facilities are within walking distance. Spacious apartment but the sewers smelled badly. Not very clean, I had to ask for the cleaning lady to come and do the room. The excuse was that there were too busy to clean! The baby cot did not have a mattress, there was no remote control for the tv, no hair drier (had to ask from the reception). Extra charge for the air con in the living room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We thank you for your positive comments in your review; however, we wish to reply to the negative comments:

* We have never told any guest that our Maids are too busy to clean, that is their job which they carry out thoroughly and effeciently.

* The baby cots are Mothercare Travel Cots; they do have a mattress but they are not very thick.

* Television remote controls are kept at Reception because, as with other items, they are frquently taken from the rooms. The Receptionist should have given you a remote control and we apologise for the oversight.

* All our rooms have hairdryers but we have had one or two go missing recently. There are always spare ones kept at Reception, just in case!

With regard to other comments made, we have answered these in previous reviews so do not wish to repeat ourselves.

We hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#33 of 65 in Protaras
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#22 of 65 in Protaras
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#20 of 65 in Protaras
787 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#44 of 65 in Protaras
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Property: Alva Hotel Apartments
Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing