We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have reservation for standar one bedroom apt and the manager Mrs Katia give us a studio
suite in 4th floor. This is a fantastic room with anatomic beds, refrigarator microwave,hair dryer,safe box and anythng you need for cooking in the room.
The Fig tree bay is 2-3 minutes from hotel and night life is in the hotel street.
The breakfast for 3 stars hotel is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms in 2nd and 4th floors are refurnishig (Suites) For 2-3 persons a studio is good. For 3-5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    165
    48
    21
    10
See reviews for
156
196
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

WE stayed for four nights here in a studio very big well equiped if you wanted to do self catering, we used the fridge, kettle, we went with our son and his family,\
we had a great time . staff were very good and the Recception was very helpful.
Plenty of choice of places to eat, and very good value and food, also lots of entertainment , some to loud but you can find something for most tastes.
Would stay in this Hotel again. thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've never been compelled to sit and write a hotel review, but after my last two weeks at the Alva-I had to. I'm not a fussy holidayer - as long as it's relatively clean, the bed has a pillow, a shower - I'm good. But the Alva is something else.. it really is a NO FRILLS kind of place, coupled with inhospitable staff.

Overall - we went as a group of friends and family in various rooms - and the general consensus was that this hotel was poor. They charge far too much for what you are given. Had it been cheaper, I doubt we'd be so bothered by what we'd experienced.

Rooms - If you're staying in one of the new suites then it will be a different story all together.. however the standard rooms are not ok.

There is barely air con, if you're lucky it will work in one of your rooms - which means sweaty hot nights.

Sleep Quality - you can hear music/karaoke from the bars one the strip so clearly it's as though you're in the bar itself until early hours (the windows and balcony doors don't close and hence don't keep any sound out). You can hear other holidayers above walking up and down, moving chairs at all hours. You can hear the cleaners first thing banging about, as well as the music from the poolside early morning onwards - so no ly ins!

Staff - aren't too friendly - however if you're spending money with them, they'll love you

Cleanliness - I'll give them their dues where they're owed.. the rooms and main areas are spotless

Food - they offer an all you can eat breakfast for 6 euros which we loved and made the most of when we had this. It works out alot better than the 3 euro breakfast two doors down, for the fact that drinks and variety are included.

Location - is fabulous - a 7 minute walk from the beach, and 2 from the shops.

TOP TIP - Try the Vrisakki beach hotel (just down the road) It's stunning, affordable, directly on the beach which means you have the option to go out on the strip (dinners/drinks/clubs/shops) but you can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep once you're back, and the bonus of a 2 minute walk from the pool to the beach. I know this as I spent the majority of my holiday with a friend who stayed there instead of the Alva

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your Review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us when we feel we went out of our way to help you and other members of your Group with queries and personal matters!!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

well where do I start...avin stayed here for 2 wks I found this hotel quite poor......stayed on 3rd floor, room wasn't to bad quite spacious if u don't mind sharing with LOTS ov ants I know hot countries do av ants but this hotel really has got a SERIOUS problem with them. we booked half board id advise u to go self catering if u stop here.. food was poor,breakfast no choice but coped with that evening meal is waiter service and ur just handed a piece ov paper with 3 choices on it very poor indeed infact we ate out most ov the time..this hotel really is at the bottom end ov "no frills"....this hotel really is in need ov a makeover...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyrajai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a Review on your holiday.

We have already stated in previous Reviews that we are in the process of renovating and hope to complete the project as soon as possible.

We are sorry you did not find the food provided to your liking. If you had mentioned this, I am sure we could have found a satisfactory solution.

Would guests please note – it would be helpful if guests could voice their complaints or grievances to us during their stay so that we have a chance to try and resolve them.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

SUNNY CYPRUS (PROTARAS) STAYING IN THE ALVA

Having stayed in Protaras for the past few years and ten years previously in Larnaca the experiences of hotels have been somewhat contrasting.
My husband and my self arrived at approx 19.00 and had booked one of the new suites we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff who made check in a pleasure following a long day of travelling.

A lovely surprise awaited as we entered the self contained apartment, these lovely rooms have been decorated to a high modern standard and are extremely clean fresh and bright and actually look very much nicer than on the website pictures.

The kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal, a hob, microwave, pots and pans and utensils, a toaster, kettle and a lovely clean fridge with an adequate freezer department. A lovely glass table with candles made the dining experience very pleasant indeed.

Lounge area was also super cosy with a large sofa filled with chunky clean cushions which I believe doubles up into an extra bed should it be needed, a modern coffee table was very helpful for drinks and snacks and finished off with an effective state of the art chrome fruit bowl.

I particularly loved the bathroom with glass surrounds and a large pull down blind, two sinks ideal for two people using them at the same time the shower was powerful with a large head and a second lower shower was very handy, the tiles are neat clean and modern.

The bedroom area was very spacious a comfy bed with a super mattress stacked with lots of very good quality pillows, lights on the beside tables and electric sockets for charging your mobile (is there anything they have not thought of???), large flat screened TV was placed on a low chest of drawers that could be turned to use either whilst chilling on the sofa or relaxing in bed, also to my surprise there was a powerful new hairdryer provided!!! (Thank you Alva), free combination safe in bottom of the large wardrobe was of good size.

All areas of Alva Hotel are maintained well and the bar area at front is relaxing and also very modern fresh and comfy.

Cannot fault the staff at all, always ready to assist with any enquiries and so very consistently friendly and helpful………..
A very big thanks you to the lovely cleaners for being so patient and did an excellent job in very warm conditions keeping the apartment spick and span …..

If your reading these reviews please consider staying in the Alva especially in the new suites, I have stayed in many hotels along the strip and by far this has been the best in all ways…..

If you have not been to Protaras before you will be pleasantly surprised of how convenient the strip is, there’s an array of shops restaurants and bars, freshly made ice cream and a great bakery that has a fantastic salad bar with lots of variety and so much to choose from for little money, everything to suit all tastes for all the family, best places in Protaras in my opinion (zodiac karaoke bar, Greenery with free unlocked wifi, super s meze restaurant, Molti restaurant ) and so many more, all the eateries are of very good standard and cater for all, Mexican Chinese Japanese Italian Greek American English and even Kfc and McDonalds.

The beach is within walking distance and runs all along the back of the strip, buggies quads cars and bikes can be hired and buses regularly run to Paralimni Ayia Napa Pernera for just a euro fifty !!! a lot to do and places to go and on a very safe island, you could even consider a trip to the north and see the ghost town of Famagusta, or Kyrenia (very pretty indeed), boat trips run every day and lots of water sports on the beach.

Room Tip: The new suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BerkshireLancelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

the alva has an amazing position. it is just a munite away from the famous fig tree beach and just in the center of protaras. but the rooms are not aso awasome as the location, you have to also pay extra for aircondition. the pool is ok and in general the hotel is not bad but not good too(it is just acceptable) , but the location is really good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavrospapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. As stated previously in other Reviews, we are in the process of renovating the hotel and hope to continue as soon as the present economic situation allows. Regarding your comment about the air condition (second unit), please see previous replies to guests' comments.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a week in Cyprus and stayed at the Alva. After reading the previous reviews it seems we were lucky enough to stay on the 2nd floor which apparently had been refurbished. Room was excellent- had its own kitchen although we didnt use it at all but was well equipped. The room was a big size- had two single beds, a third single bed, a couch which was alao a pull out bed, coffee table and also table and chairs! It was also very modern- white stylish decor and was very bright. Our room looked onto the pool. The bathroom was lovely too with nicely tiled walls and an excellent walk in shower which my boyfriend kept saying he was impressed with. Staff on reception were nice enough but cleaners were a bit rude. On the last day we were finishing packing and they barged in and started cleaning the room which made us feel a little uncomfortable. Would stay at this hotel again because of the excellent location- fig tree bay is just across the road then you have all the bars and restaurants. Although its on the strip there was not a lot of noise at all. One thing that could be improved is to offer guests free wi fi as almost everywhere else- hotels/restaurants/ bars seemed to offer it. Could also have better tv signal. Didn't eat at the Alva so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowmellow_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We apologise if you found our Maids to be rude. I have had a word with them and they also apologise. With regard to the provision of Wifi, as stated previously, we are looking into the matter.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#33 of 65 in Protaras
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#27 of 65 in Protaras
406 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Property: Alva Hotel Apartments
Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing