We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suited our needs perfectly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alva Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“suited our needs perfectly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have just returned from a 10 night stay in the Alva, but thought I'd better break the review up a bit.
The Hotel:
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on s/c basis. The rooms were very large, very good air con in the bedroom which was free to our surprise. The beds were comfortable and there were lots of windows to let the gorgeous sun in. The rooms were spotless and the cleaners did a great job. The staff were always so friendly, we got married whilst we stayed here and they seemed genuinely pleased for us all. Putting my wedding bouquet in a vase for me in the room was a lovely touch!
The only issue I would raise, which is no reflection on the hotel, is that if you're a light sleeper and plan on having early nights you might want to take some ear plugs and there is some noise from a neighbouring bar. We were offered a change of room but were happy to just use ear plugs. The music goes off at 1.30am is so it didnt bother us into the small hours.

The Resort:
Protaras was so much bigger than I expected. There are an abundance of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes, although a few more traditional, small tavernas would have been nice. W liked Cheers bar, there were no novelty acts of and the cocktails were 2.90 and very strong.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday / wedding. All of my family had a great stay at the Alva. It's just a shame the resort was not exactly to our taste or we would be back in an instant. Thank you to all of the staff who work very hard there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view as they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We wish you both a long and happy married life together.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    146
    44
    20
    10
See reviews for
140
172
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

stayed at alva end of august beginning September check in quick and painless staff were all verey helpful and friendly always had time to chat to guests and give advice on resort and surrounding areas nothing to much trouble.hotel verey clean, rooms are bit dated and sofa beds in apartments verey hard found them hard to sleep on but did not matter as asked if we could upgrade to new suite after reading reviews about them and was told their would be one free the next day so payed the extra and WOW worth every penny.given top floor room on the end of hotel above enterance door what a view overlooking fig tree bay had a great stay at the alva and would not hesitate to go back to new suites when the rest of the hotel is done the capo bay and sunrise pearl will have some seriouse competition.thanks again to all the staff and hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: book new suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the last week of August with my partner and parents! The hotel is a good hotel with some outstanding features. We booked studio rooms but decided to upgrade to the new suites and pay on arrival! We arrived late and were greeted very warmly and promptly, and were given our upgrades free of charge. Great start. Our rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. I would however not reccomend sharing a suite with anyone you are not comfortable with as the bathroom walls are glass, although there is a blind on one wall. The hotel itself is a good 3 star, basic but clean and tidy. Breakfast was good and plentiful, with a range of cooked items, a small continental selection and two choices of cereal. We did find abit of an ant problem outside in the breakfast area, but it was nothing more than what we have seen in other hot countries. The location of the hotel is excellent, right on the strip, opposite fig tree bay. We didn't find it the cheapest hotel at just under £800 pp for 6 nights bed and breakfast, but it's worth it for the location. Nice bar and restaurant and lovely staff. Would reccomend and return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulabe11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us.
Please note that the rate you quoted in your Review, does not relate to our rates as you did not book directly with us and presumably the price you paid includes other costs, such as flights, transfers, etc and not just accommodation.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is in good location near the sea and the restaurants.There is a small kitchen with a small fridge.
Clean enough for the price that you are paying.
negative
Only one a/c in the main room.If there is another a/c in the other room(child room) they charged 6 euro per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinosCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. To save repeating ourselves, please see our replies to previous Reviews regarding the second air condition unit in some rooms.
We hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from the Alva 21st august 2013, the hotel was clean and quite.
The staff could not be more helpful (they even had 12 red roses ordered delivered and placed in the room with the card which made my wife very happy) for our wedding anniversary.
the pool was clean there was no problems with sun beds it was nice to go any time of the day to get a bed.
i read the odd review about this hotel about ants we did not have any problems whatsoever
the hotel is in a brilliant location away from the noise but close enough for everything
there are two types of rooms ones which were renovated but we had room 306 not renovated but everything there for a two week break, the air conditioning was free which made our stay much more comfortable.
i cannot thank the staff enough for making our holiday very pleasant
Before we checked out we had already decided to return next august.
The hotel has no free wi fi but every bar nearby has (that’s all i can fault it for)
i have given the hotel a rating of 3 because that it the standard (if all rooms were renovated it would easily get 4)
Thank You Alva

Room Tip: the rooms on the right hand side overlooking the car park but still have a sea view get the sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyleeds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and your wife 'loved' her flowers!!
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first holiday together as a couple on our own and picked the Alva to stay for a week. Reasonably priced and had overall good reviews.

Check in was painless and the room was very clean and tidy - had the benefit of a nice balcony facing Fig Tree Bay. Bed was comfy enough and the benefit of some ear plugs kept most of the noise at bay. Air con was good enough to keep the room nice and cool (at a fee sadly). Bathroom is a little enclosed with no natural light but did the job. Considering all there was to see and do in Cyprus, we didn't spend massive amount of time at the apartment...preferring to visit the numerous beautiful beaches on offer so never did manage a pool day here.

We found the location of the Alva to be absolutely perfect. It's near one end of the main strip in Protaras so it's a few minutes walk to Fig Tree Bay, a shorter walk to a bus station to take you to Ayia Napa and further (or in between), and also perfect for nights out too. Only time we needed a taxi was coming back from Ayia Napa.

Did one or two excursions such as the Jeep Safari (very recommended). Didn't eat loads here at Alva...think we had breakfast once and a dessert or two in the evening. Both tasted nice. There were so many places to eat in Protaras though that it was difficult to want to pin yourself down to one place.

Checking out was pain free as well and we were able to leave our luggage at reception before the evening flight and use the changing rooms downstairs after our last day at Fig Tree Bay.

Must say that the holiday was one of the best I've ever had and remember it very fondly, and the Alva contributed to that by being a good base to crash after a hard day lounging in the Cyprus sun.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have reservation for standar one bedroom apt and the manager Mrs Katia give us a studio
suite in 4th floor. This is a fantastic room with anatomic beds, refrigarator microwave,hair dryer,safe box and anythng you need for cooking in the room.
The Fig tree bay is 2-3 minutes from hotel and night life is in the hotel street.
The breakfast for 3 stars hotel is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms in 2nd and 4th floors are refurnishig (Suites) For 2-3 persons a studio is good. For 3-5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#26 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
Flokkas Hotel Apts.
#24 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#22 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#20 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Property: Alva Hotel Apartments
Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing