We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alva Apartments Protaras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Alva apartments with our 11 year old daughter.
We rented through book Cyprus.com a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was as expected for budget accommodation in Cyprus with regards to size and facilities. The cleanliness of the apartment was acceptable and the kitchen facilities were adequate for what we needed.The bathroom was very tired but the shower worked well. Our package included twice weekly change of linen and towels which we thought would be ok, it was for the bed linen but as we were unable to use the pool as it was so cold (to be fair all the pools in the area were the same as the resort was nearing end of season and closing shortly so heating them was mostly unnecessary) we found the towels got dirty quickly from the sand we seemed to carry back from the beach. We asked if we could pay to have clean towels more frequently, we were called the next morning in our apt and told that this would be provided free of charge which was nice. However the one big thing that we found totally unacceptable was the condition of the mattresses in the main bedroom. After a sleepless night on mattresses that were completely worn out sagging in the middle, we got up feeling like our hips were bruised from the springs that dug into us all night. I went and spoke to reception and the staff immediately said they would change them, however the one they bought were no better so we asked if they could be replaced with the same ones that they had used to turn the sofa bed into a bed for our daughter. Two of these were bought over although they were not new like the one we had on the sofa bed already. Although the staff who I have to say were very nice did there best to sort this problem and checked the next day if we were ok, my husband and I did not have the most comfortable nights. I appreciate that we booked the older style apartments and that some have been refurbished with new furniture, but I think that it was unacceptable to rent these apartments out with the beds in this condition.

If you are on a budget then the Alva apartments are acceptable, clean, good size and reasonably
priced but to be honest I would rather pay a little more and have a decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid road and lift noise
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We apologise that you did not find the mattresses comfortable, but we were under the impression that the replacement mattresses were acceptable to you. Unfortunately, the mattress from the sofa bed is not suitable for the single beds, being smaller in size.
We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Alva Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

hotel was a bit run down this time the air con did not work other friends of hours had to move rooms. The staff are very nice but were not very helpful.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Protarus and very near the beach.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars near by.

Room Tip: We just had a studio for the 2 of is and it is well equipped and standard. Lovely sea views in some...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry you did not find the staff helpful - they do try their best!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at the Alva From 22nd Sept to 4th Oct. we have some weird needs in our group, I sleep with a respiratory machine and one of our group need near silence to sleep. I read the one about the light fitting leaking water yep it happened. not dangerous in my opinion a couple of drips on the floor.
The rooms were kept spotless by diligent and friendly Cleaning staff ( I had to tip Our girl, she was so good and I'm not a tidy person. new towels every day and more than a couple of linen changes too. The rooms are a little tired but that's just cosmetics. A good shower but the temperature changes sometimes which is a bit of a shock. could do with a few more clothes hangers in the wardrobe. Air conditioning was fine in our apartment in fact I had to turn it down and off on more than one occasion.
some of the bars can be noisy but we already knew this and stayed in the other block. its a case of view or quiet.
The staff are nice and the breakfast I had was adequate.
The pool floor is cleaned regularly at least three times while I watched. the water is too cold in the morning but in the afternoon its lovely. a bit of mould on the grout but so what, the chlorine will kill stuff off.
My overall impression of the place was nice, a good location, facilities are pretty good. staff are great. beds comfy, would I stay again???? Yeah I think it would be on the list.

Room Tip: You are better off on the opposite block to reception and facing the pool don't stay in 451 the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mystafyxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We were not aware there was a problem with the water temperatures in the showers, we will look into this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having been to the Alva many times, we have never been disappointed. We had a beautiful one bedroom apartment recently refurbished, had a stunning view of Fig Tree Bay. All the staff here are so helpful, friendly and professional. Just a walk up the road and you have so many different restaurants to choose from. The beach is so clean and safe for children. We are booking again to back in May 2014 and cant wait.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, book the studio apartment, if you want a bit more luxury, but not for much m...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in september. I had read all of the reviews about this hotel and ones in the vicinity. I hadn't been back to Cyprus for about fifteen years so was looking forward to seeing any changes. I booked direct with the hotel which worked well and a little cheaper. I had noticed on the website that there were delux appartments which I requested on booking which we managed to get. They only have a few of these appartments although I understand that they are preparing to upgrade more over the closed season. We were not disappointed with the apartment it was beautiful so bright and airy massive shower area surrounded by glass. We were on floor four so had spectacular views across the Mediterranean. The staff were all really friendly from reception to bar staff to cleaners. Room made up every day and spotless. There is no need to have bed and breakfast as so many local places to eat. The restaurant linked to the hotel was fantastic the food was amazing and waiters very attentive.
The pool area was a little tired but again I think this is being upgraded. No problem getting a sun bed and not heaving like some of the bigger beach side hotels. The location is first class right next to the bars restaurants and beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel do not hesitate in booking we would definitely go back again.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank argylePlymouth_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very clean and very close to one of the most beautiful beaches in Cyprus. It is in the center of Protaras (restaurants/cafes etc), so you don't need a car. The staff were very helpful, friendly and locals. The room was comfortable with all kitchenware we needed. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PACO_fa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will come to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Alva hotel apartments on 06/10/13 for 1 night. We chose to book a suite as the pictures of the other rooms on the company's website were very dated. When we arrived at reception, the area was small but clean and welcoming. The man at reception was friendly enough but when we enquired about late check out the gentleman couldn't tell us any information until the next day. We headed up to our room on the second floor which exceeded all expectations. The suite was spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom had large walk in shower and provided were dressing gowns, towels and toiletries. The bathroom looked over the bedroom through glass walls- luxurious! The beds were very comfortable and extra pillows and blankets were provided. The lounge area offered a very large couch and flat screen tv. (The Television had a USB port which we was handy to watch movies on via a memory stick) the kitchen area was small but had everything you would need for a self catering holiday including large dining table, microwave, hob, fridge and kettle. One tiny complaint is that no tea or coffee were provided. The balcony was small but had a table and chairs that looked out over the pool and the sea. All in all we were very happy with our stay, our only negative is that we wish we could have stayed longer! The only reason we have nit given 5/5 is because we didn't have time to use the pool or bar facilities and therefore can't rate them! We are hoping to book for a week next year!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Azza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We hope that you will return for a 'longer' stay in the future!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#34 of 65 in Protaras
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#20 of 65 in Protaras
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#56 of 65 in Protaras
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#26 of 65 in Protaras
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £38 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing