We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at the Alva Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

(I'm writing this review for a friend who doesn't have access to a computer)

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a very pleasant receptionist, who informed us we could upgrade to one of the new suites which was a nice addition. The suite itself was absolutely stunning, couldn't fault anything in the room. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, right on the strip and 2 minutes walk from the beach. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool was clean and enough beds so no fighting in a morning. Hotel restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. Would definitely use this hotel again and would be recommending it to any friends visiting Protaras. I even left my bikini bottoms in the hotel room and the hotel generously posted them back to me (thank you for that)!

We ate at Promises Restaurant (right next door to Alva) went to Romeo's Garden Taverna for the Greek night (opposite from the hotel). Both restaurants highly recommended too.

Overall had a fantastic stay in Protaras and at the hotel and I'm already looking at coming back again next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to see us in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a great week at the Alva Hotel apartments.
The girls on reception were great, nothing was too much trouble for them at all, all staff were very friendly and helpful. They even organised our transfers from the airport for us and sorted out a buggy for our daughter.
The apartments were clean and tidy and had everything we needed.
The location was fantastic, just a short distance from the beach.
There is also a beautician and hairdressers there, they were able to make over the bridesmaids for the wedding at short notice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

ok were to begin we stayed in room 109 in the block with the reception below and booked it through thompsons this will have a great impact further on in this review.First the location of these apartments is perfect few minutes to fig tree bay ,on the strip ok there is noise from the loveboat pub but since we were at the back of the block with a great view over the pool and a sea view so it didn't bother us but could imagine it would if you were on the front.
The apartment we stayed in was dated and tired but size and layout was fine but i complained to the manageress (who is very nice and helpful) the very first few minutes i arrived the bathroom smelled very badly of urine i mean bad was told the fan was not very good and it helped to leave door open ? ,it didn't it just made the whole apartment smell two bottles of bleach and cheap deodorant from lidl which made it bearable (lidl just at the back of the apartment about three hundred yards away) a deep steam clean floor and walls and disinfectant to remove the mould from the grout also silicon removed and replaced make big diffrence .
Now the big problem if you book through thompsons who will be getting a roasting next on there site and to there head office no air con in the main room only bedroom the manageress again sent a fan up to the room within minutes but as much use a chocolate fire guard so the rest of the holiday was spent taking turns each sleeping in the living room it was so hot it i think could be very very uncomfortable in high season my lad is 18 only came because his mates dropped him in it ,but if you had small children as they sleep 4 i think could be dangerous with no air con.
NOW THIS WILL BE HELPFUL I HOPE if you book though thompson skytours are allocated rooms on first and third floor in the block above the reception and no air con in main room, only bedrooms the block opposite all have air con ok you don't pay for bedroom air-con but living room costs 6 euro a day to have it well worth it.
The first and third floors were the next to be refitted but when the Greek government had its money crises the grants were all taken back so all the refit stopped.
Take a tip book the the rooms on here or direct don't make the mistake i made and use thompsons, book a new refurbished suite.
I WOULD use these apartments again but ill book direct and get a suite, the location and staff are great the staff on the pool bar and in parco restaurant are brilliant and the manager owner is a star.
The pool area is clean and we found it a pleasure to use and sit around beach in the morning back to pool about two ,we spent a whole day around the pool one day the English people mainly from down south were lovely but have to agree with aliwplymourh the Russians have spoilt this location dont speak ,dont mix,very rude and ignorant on the over hand the Cypriot people including surprise to me the large amount of young children teenagers hanging around were very polite.
wifi is 30 euro for the week but signal is limited to the reception and pool area,there are different packages i think 10 euro for 24 hours was one.

Room Tip: book through this site or the reception direct book a newly refurbished suite if there are two of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeromed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation. Please note that Thomson and Sky Tours do not have specific rooms in their allocation, their guests can be allocated in either Block. Hopefully, we can continue with our renovations in the near future.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I couldn't believe my eyes when i saw the room, most places in Protaras are not well taken care of, and they do not bother to renovate. The room was very tastefully renovated, the beds were very comfortable, the linen was new, and the location was excellent, two minutes walk from the best beach in Protaras. And the staff was very polite, we did not use the pool as we rather swim in the sea but it looked very clean and quite big. Last but not least, the view from the balcony was breathtaking, i would definitely stay there again if i had the opportunity

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms, even if they are a bit more expensive, but rooms at the back are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Alva. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a few minutes walk from the beautiful beach of Fig Tree Bay. Although we were in a studio room that has not yet been renovated it had everything we needed and plenty of storage. The view of the sea was great and we could watch the world go by from our balcony. The room was clean and bedding and towels were changed regularly. The staff were very friendly and helpful and although we did have a problem with our air con unit leaking the reception staff did everything they could until the issue was resolved and they made sure we had fans in the room until it was fixed. The only reason I havent give 5 stars is because I was a little disappointed that there wasnt a guest communal bar open in the evenings where you could get to know other guests. There is an on site restaurant which is also open to the public but it doesn't have your usual small bar that guests gather at to get to know one another. Having said that, there were many Russians staying at the hotel and having had several bad experiences with the Russians (very rude and ignorant) I would not have wanted to spend time with them around a cosy bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again although due to the island being overrun with Russinas at present it will sadly be a while until I return to this beautiful island. Hopefully the invasion of the Russians will pass soon and Cyprus can retrun to being the beautiful and very friendly place I have always known. Please note I am not a typical Brit that likes mixing with the British only but unfortunately the Russians are a nation that are very different to us and do not mix with each other let alone other nationalities and I found it difficult accepting their rude behaviour. The hotel itself is not at fault for this and I would say again that this is a lovely hotel and should be considered if wanting to stay in Protaras. You may want to take ear plugs as sometimes there can be a little late night noise from the Love Boat next door but with ear plugs this did not cause us a problem. Previous guests have said about the rooms next to the lift being noisy, our room was right next to the lift and we did not find the lift noise an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliwPlymourh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We would just like to say that we have found that most of our guests are very pleasant and sociable, no matter what nationality and all are welcome.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you don't want to be disappointed, ask for a room in the MAIN building on the 3 or 4 floor, they are refurbished (pool view extremely recommended), otherwise you will get very-very dated place to stay in, plus you will need to pay for an air con and tiny safe which isn't suitable even for a very small laptop, if you take “up to date” room, you get all that for free with a bigger safe. If you upgrade from standard 1 bed apartment to Refurbished Studio Suite, the price is €20 per night.
4 minutes walking distance to Fig Tree Bay. About 10 minutes walking distance to Lidl which is much-much cheaper than any shop in Protaras. Wi-Fi ONLY AVAILABLE AT THE POOL, but don't pay for it through reception, you can get free one from Parco caffe which is right on the pool as well. Best view - 2 rooms on the 4th floor facing the front of the main building. We've stayed in 411 for 10 days (it is at the rear of the building), definitely recommend that room too, very quiet with pool and amazing SEA VIEW and it is very PRIVATE (no one can see through your windows from opposite hotels). Don't get ALL INCLUSIVE, there are lots of very reasonable priced restaurants and cafés right next to the hotel (like breakfast for €3-5 per person) check my other reviews. Other thing to mention, bathroom/toilet is not as private as it should be, the glass door is not soundproofed at all, with 1 inch gap between the doorframe and the door itself. On TV you get 4 or 5 channels, 2 of them in Russian language and rest in Greek, no music or radio channels either, so don't forget to bring a portable iPhone speakers, definitely will be very useful.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room in the MAIN building on the 3 or 4 floor, they are refurbished (pool view extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments with regard to your stay with us. Please note that the price of an upgrade is calculated on the number of persons per room, the type of accommodation originally booked, time of stay, etc. Please note that wifi in the Restaurant is free for customers only.
The hotel does not offer an all inclusive facility. With regard to the cost for air conditioning, some Tour Operators include one air condition unit in their prices, which is the one in the bedroom. Some rooms have a second air condition unit in the Lounge, which is an additional charge if you wish to use it. This was pointed out to you and has been explained in previous reviews.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is very average in parts, but do not let that put you off.
I had a suit on the front of the hotel and I loved it!. It was very modern and stylish. The beds were very comfortable and linen was of a high quality. The only down side for me was there was no bath but the shower could have fit a family of 4 in.
This hotel is on the strip and in a great location. You can hear some noise from the Love boat bar but it didn't bother me.
The room I stayed in had wonderful sea views.
I was on room only basis and that suited me. The supermarket was 2 minutes walk away and could get everything I needed.
The room had a modern kitchen with fridge/hob/microwave and all the utensils needed.
The hotel is a bit old fashioned in areas(around the pool) however it has a very friendly feel and the staff are great and very accommodating

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Berniemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We hope you will come stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#37 of 65 in Protaras
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#23 of 65 in Protaras
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#3 of 65 in Protaras
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#25 of 65 in Protaras
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#54 of 65 in Protaras
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#26 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £40 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing