We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean apartments in great location - but can be noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alva Hotel Apartments
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at the Alva really late in the evening but received a friendly welcome. Our 1 bed apartment was on the first floor and on arrival the noise from the Love Boat seemed really loud and I did feel disappointed. There wasn't another room available that night so we fell into bed with the plan to resolve things in the morning. On getting up and opening the curtains the view of Fig Tree Bay was lovely and we decided that this made up for the noise from the bar - a good nights sleep certainly helped. The apartment was clean and well appointed with microwave, toaster, 2 electric rings, fridge, hair dryer, air con in bedroom. The only comment I would make was that our shower head leaked everywhere and flooded the bathroom every time we had a shower but we learnt how to stop the water escaping so resolved this. The cleaner came in 5 times a week and was very thorough.

We had opted for the bed and breakfast option but personally wouldn't do this again. The cooked breakfast was okay but the fruit juice tasted watered down and there was only full fat milk for cereals. There was tinned fruit and yoghurt but the yoghurt wasn't chilled so I didn't go for it. I chose in the end to buy cereal and milk from the local shop. My husband had breakfast each day so maybe I'm just fussy.

The apartments are located at the bottom of the strip in in close distances to all of the bars and restaurants. Fig Tree Bay is just over the road and is beautiful. The Parko cafe (at the front of the Alva)had great deals on cocktails as do many of the local bars. The icecream parlour next door is fabulous!

The pool is not huge but it never felt too busy with people often going to the beach as an alternative. The pool was cleaned every day and I though it was well kept. The snack bar I felt was a bit sad with empty shelves and no real atmosphere. Not many people ate there so this could do with a refurb (which we were told is planned).

The reception staff were always really friendly and helpful and assisted us in booking trips and finding local shops etc.

I would certainly stay at the Alva again. It can be noisy if your room is on the side closest to the love boat and the corridors are very echoey.

We had a great holiday so would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaraBee755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are sorry the breakfast was not to your liking.
We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed as a family of 5 (aged 54, 32, 30, 5 & 2) at the Alva for 1 week self catering July 2014. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment, also 1 night in a studio due to shortage of rooms. The studios are really modern and located in the 'loud' side of the hotel. The music was really loud from the bars and went on till the really early hours.
We much preferred the 1 bed apartment as this was located on the quieter side of the hotel. Even though it wasn't as modern and stylish as the studio, it was very spacious and has everything you need. The apartment was extremely clean and the maids came 5 days out of 7 and were fab.
The pool is average but our 5 year old son loved it. This hotel is in an excellent location in Protaras, everything you need is literally on your door step.
The air condition is fantastic and is really needed at this time of year.
The water park in Ayia Napa is a must if you have children, taxi rank is just outside hotel and does great deals for taxi and park tickets.
All the staff at the hotel were really friendly and the maids worked extremely hard, the receptionist was really helpful due to our mix up with rooms.

Room Tip: Request the quieter side of the hotel, air conditioning is a must and is at an extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Although we have explained many times before in previous reviews, SOME of the 1 Bedroom apartments have an extra air conditioning unit in the living room. Some Tour Operators include air conditioning in their rates. As confirmed by the Cyprus Tourist Organisation (CTO), it is compulsory that we provide air conditioning in the bedroom only. As the second air conditioning unit is an optional extra amenity, which as stated is not available in ALL rooms, a charge is made. This does not apply to the Studio rooms nor the Suites as air conditioning is throughout the room. We hope that this clarifies the situation.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have to pay extra for a suite which is upgraded room, no wifi, safe extra fee air con extra fee, lift tiny can fit 1 pushchair in at a time, pool very basic dirty, drinks in bar far too expensive better going to shop across the road- to sum it up won't be staying there again for the price save up and stay in capo bay complete luxury!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Vickyhorne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,
We find your review extremely unfair and inaccurate. Despite making enquiries with us directly regarding the Suites, you booked a 1 Bedroom apartment through a Tour Operator and expected to be upgraded to a Suite without a charge. Please note that you were not charged for the air conditioning nor the safe thus we feel your review is unjust and very misleading to other guests.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

ALVA HOTELS APARTMENTS - very clean, great friendly staff, rooms were very good for price,, all the facilities, fridge, cooker, toaster, hairdrier, TV, air con, 200 metres from beach, right on the main strip in Protaras, but very quiet, pool great, nice and clean, loads of sun loungers.
only draw back was the sun disappears between the two hotel blocks in the afternoon, and only 10-15 sunbeds are in the sun all day. but hey, what a great base, ideal for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: 1st - overlooking pool, 2nd - front facing, can get a little noisey late evening, but good sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank simps296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

(I'm writing this review for a friend who doesn't have access to a computer)

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a very pleasant receptionist, who informed us we could upgrade to one of the new suites which was a nice addition. The suite itself was absolutely stunning, couldn't fault anything in the room. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, right on the strip and 2 minutes walk from the beach. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool was clean and enough beds so no fighting in a morning. Hotel restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. Would definitely use this hotel again and would be recommending it to any friends visiting Protaras. I even left my bikini bottoms in the hotel room and the hotel generously posted them back to me (thank you for that)!

We ate at Promises Restaurant (right next door to Alva) went to Romeo's Garden Taverna for the Greek night (opposite from the hotel). Both restaurants highly recommended too.

Overall had a fantastic stay in Protaras and at the hotel and I'm already looking at coming back again next year :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to see us in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a great week at the Alva Hotel apartments.
The girls on reception were great, nothing was too much trouble for them at all, all staff were very friendly and helpful. They even organised our transfers from the airport for us and sorted out a buggy for our daughter.
The apartments were clean and tidy and had everything we needed.
The location was fantastic, just a short distance from the beach.
There is also a beautician and hairdressers there, they were able to make over the bridesmaids for the wedding at short notice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

ok were to begin we stayed in room 109 in the block with the reception below and booked it through thompsons this will have a great impact further on in this review.First the location of these apartments is perfect few minutes to fig tree bay ,on the strip ok there is noise from the loveboat pub but since we were at the back of the block with a great view over the pool and a sea view so it didn't bother us but could imagine it would if you were on the front.
The apartment we stayed in was dated and tired but size and layout was fine but i complained to the manageress (who is very nice and helpful) the very first few minutes i arrived the bathroom smelled very badly of urine i mean bad was told the fan was not very good and it helped to leave door open ? ,it didn't it just made the whole apartment smell two bottles of bleach and cheap deodorant from lidl which made it bearable (lidl just at the back of the apartment about three hundred yards away) a deep steam clean floor and walls and disinfectant to remove the mould from the grout also silicon removed and replaced make big diffrence .
Now the big problem if you book through thompsons who will be getting a roasting next on there site and to there head office no air con in the main room only bedroom the manageress again sent a fan up to the room within minutes but as much use a chocolate fire guard so the rest of the holiday was spent taking turns each sleeping in the living room it was so hot it i think could be very very uncomfortable in high season my lad is 18 only came because his mates dropped him in it ,but if you had small children as they sleep 4 i think could be dangerous with no air con.
NOW THIS WILL BE HELPFUL I HOPE if you book though thompson skytours are allocated rooms on first and third floor in the block above the reception and no air con in main room, only bedrooms the block opposite all have air con ok you don't pay for bedroom air-con but living room costs 6 euro a day to have it well worth it.
The first and third floors were the next to be refitted but when the Greek government had its money crises the grants were all taken back so all the refit stopped.
Take a tip book the the rooms on here or direct don't make the mistake i made and use thompsons, book a new refurbished suite.
I WOULD use these apartments again but ill book direct and get a suite, the location and staff are great the staff on the pool bar and in parco restaurant are brilliant and the manager owner is a star.
The pool area is clean and we found it a pleasure to use and sit around beach in the morning back to pool about two ,we spent a whole day around the pool one day the English people mainly from down south were lovely but have to agree with aliwplymourh the Russians have spoilt this location dont speak ,dont mix,very rude and ignorant on the over hand the Cypriot people including surprise to me the large amount of young children teenagers hanging around were very polite.
wifi is 30 euro for the week but signal is limited to the reception and pool area,there are different packages i think 10 euro for 24 hours was one.

Room Tip: book through this site or the reception direct book a newly refurbished suite if there are two of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeromed44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alvia, Manager at Alva Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are really sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation. Please note that Thomson and Sky Tours do not have specific rooms in their allocation, their guests can be allocated in either Block. Hopefully, we can continue with our renovations in the near future.
We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.5 mi away
Livas Hotel Apartments
Livas Hotel Apartments
#26 of 64 in Protaras
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#38 of 64 in Protaras
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anais Bay Hotel
Anais Bay Hotel
#22 of 64 in Protaras
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#25 of 64 in Protaras
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#11 of 64 in Protaras
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 64 in Protaras
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alva Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alva Hotel Apartments

Address: | PO.Box 30040, Protaras, Paralimni 5340, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £48 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alva Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alva Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alva Hotel Protaras
Alva Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing