We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“basic, does what it says on the tin - but thats about it! - go with an open mind and you wont be dispaointed!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Faringdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“basic, does what it says on the tin - but thats about it! - go with an open mind and you wont be dispaointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed here in May 2011, Booked on a HB basis with olympic holidays, basic/average value apartments, reception staff especially memnia and kevin very helpful and polite.

We are a family of 4 but for some reason we got allocated one of the disabled wheelchair accessible rooms on the ground Floor - bathroom was grotty and grubby with dirty grout and tiling, and more of a wetroom than bathroom, so after having four people showering the bathroom usually ended up under 2 inches of water! which meant until it drained away you couldnt use the toilet or hand basin unless you wore wellies!! the water very often leaked onto the tiled flooring in the corridor which we had to get extra towels to stop it being like a skating rink!

The Apartments were Basic (definately not 4* standard), Maid service every other day and just a quick wipe round with a cloth! i dont think the bathroom was ever cleaned during our entire 8 night stay and the standard of cleaning was debatable to say the least!

We booked Half Board as we know in advance the cost of eating out as a family in cyprus, The meals are taken at the Yianna Marie resturant which is on site, lovely resturant but you DEFINATELY do not get the same standard of service for your evening meals if you have pre-paid for them.

The first 4 nights we had a very limited set menu which after the 3 night was rotatated and the kids could chose form the childrens meals in the menu. Waiters took ages to seat us, take drink orders and even serve food - however we watched customers walk in from the street long after we sat and their service was very prompt and efficient. the remaining nights of our stay the resturant brought in a hot and cold self service buffet for those that had prebooked the Half Board, this was much better in terms of service. The food is of a reasonable standard, certainly no more and no less. As i have said, if you visit the resturant as "walk in" guest im sure your experience would be much more positive than ours was.

The Pools are lovely (bit on the chilly side) and the areas around a well furnished, of course the usually "bagging" the sun loungers goes on with people reseving them with towels and not showing up, but to be honest we never had an issue finding a couple of spare sunbeds.

On a Previous review, someone mentioned about the noise, its really not that bad! the Tsokkos beach is next door and you can use the pool (which is warmer and has the sun all day) the noise generally finished no later than midnight and only very occasionaly could you here the entertainment from the Odessa ( about 500 meters opposite) nothing that shutting your bedroom window doesnt solve!

The on site mini market is cheaper than the one up the road and stocks a good range of grocerys and toiletries, beer wine etc, and the pub opposite always has a good variety of entertainment as does the sister hotel the rising star.

All in all, i would say its Basic, good value for money but please go with an open mind and dont expect luxuries or extras and you wont be disapointed.

Make sure if you need car hire book it with the hotel and that way there is no need for credit card security deposits etc - Personally i would get a car in this area as there is so much to see which is NOT on a bus route Ie sea caves, cape greco etc DO DO try the 2 hour boat cruise which sets off from the jetty opposite the hotel and if you want to go accross to the occupied side you will need to hire a car without the red plates.

Room Tip: Top Floor Rooms are nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Victoriaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    74
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Our room was not available when we checked in because they were " overbooked" ( the hotel was half empty) so we were put in their disgusting ground floor, smelly rooms with no a/c, and after 3 days were told to move our stuff and they put us in the room we actually booked. The Manager was a disgrace to customer service, and if you are reading this you know who you are! The hotel is great, the beach is great, located in the resort centre, the two pools are great, the breakfast was fine and we ate out every evening. Highly recommend this hotel for a family holiday. We took the bus to Ayia Napa for a few evenings out, only2 Euro return, takes 20mins ish, nice ride though!

Room Tip: Dont book the ground floor the rooms are disgustin
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic_and_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollywood birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We have just returned from our 8 day stay and would highly recommend this hotel - its basic but very clean - and the service from the staff was fab.
I requested a room above the ground floor - however when we got to the hotel - they had given me a ground floor - the hotel was full but the manageress Mem - was great she sorted me a room on the 4th floor and it was lovely.
All the staff always had a smile and each time we passed reception they always had a cheery smile and a few words - i felt very welcomed.
There is internet access in the hotel 2 euros for 20 mins, there is also a laundry 3 Euro for a wash a 2 euro for dry (however i just hung them on the balcony and on hangers and were dry within a day).
The hotel has 2 pools which overlook the beach, it did say not to reserve sunbeds - however as usual people were doing it and not showing up until lunchtime.
We stayed for breakfast which was good value for the 3star hotel - there was bacon, eggs beans sausages, tomatoes (whole) boiled eggs, bread for toast, buns, cereal and cold meats and cheese and sliced melon and oranges - it did get a bit repetative but did the job.
My friends who we travelled with went half board - we were going to upgrade but glad we didnt - they said the service they got for prepaying was different to the paying customers and they had a set menu with 3 dishes on and after 3 days the first menu came back again, however the food was still good.
You could use the sister hotel across the road, we went over a couple of times - but would help if the entertainment programme was also displayed in the Golden Star so you knew what was going on.
If you have a puschair or wheelchair - there are ramps so very user friendly.
Protaras is very expensive especially for sun cream so take your own (i even took a bottle of Robinsons juice for my son and just brought water).
If the kids want an ice cream take them to mcdonalds 50c, buses are 1 euro which was good value.
There is also no hand soap or toiletries so take your own (expensive to buy).
I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask - you dont know until you try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bargainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

My overall impression of the hotel is just barely ok.

Let's start with the positive sides:
- The Yianna Marie restaurant is super, great service and even better food.
- The pool area is clean and cozy.
- The hotel interior is nice.
- The weather was great.
- Good location, almost on the beach.

Then the negative sides:
- It took ages to check in to the hotel. We came with a bus and they had only one working in the reception. We probably waited an hour in line.
- There was construction going on, constantly.
- The hotel next door had really LOUD entertainment every night. Several of our neighbours complained, as the children weren’t getting any sleep.
- The beach had cigarettes all over the place. And there were a lot of big, sharp rocks in the water.
- The hotel's internet payment system didn't work, so I lost 5 euro. Some of it was refunded by the reception.
- Fig Tree Bay itself didn’t have much to offer, but that's really not the hotel's fault.
- And last but not least, I became hospitalised because of a bacterial infection. Can’t say why for certain, but it certainly didn’t help that the bedroom’s air condition was black with filth and not cleaned for ages.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I've just got back from the Golden Star and would recommend it to others. It was the end of the season so probably quieter than normal, which is why we loved it. I was at the quiet end of the beaches, away from the lovely but way to busy fig tree bay. We also enjoyed the Yianna Marie restaurant owned buy the hotel (We got two free wine vouchers).
The smaller pool was our favourite, quiet and all very new, though a touch cold.
Our room was nice, though did smell of smoke when we first arrived. This soon went when the door was open and the breeze came in. The bed was nice and large and the aircon was really useful. I think they had been painted recently, though I think outdoor balcony furniture could do with being up dated.

I think we'd stay there again as it was a great relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We have just returned from a 11 night stay at the Golden Star Hotel Apartments and would say that this is one of the best holidays we have ever had. Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. The apartments are at least 4 star and the restaurant is superb. The bars and supermarket were faultless and the entire area always spotlessly clean. Maid service every day with fresh towels every other day and clean bedding regularly. Perfect location. Thanks to all concerned

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

If you want to go to Protaras this is indeed a very nice hotel. But we would never go back. This is by far the most touristic and soulless place ever. But since we were there for a fothnight, golden star is a nice place to go.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.0 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#12 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandali Hotel Apartments
Mandali Hotel Apartments
#49 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#32 of 66 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
smartline Lantiana Gardens
smartline Lantiana Gardens
#26 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel

Property: SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel
Address: Lefkollas 14, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated the SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star supplies high services to its customers, so you can spend a relaxing holiday with your family here. It is situated in the heart of Protaras, directly at the beautiful Flamingo beach - just like the sister hotel SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star. It offers 100 comfortable and family friendly rooms. We are happy to welcome you and your family in our SunConnect Resort. SunConnect Resorts are great for modern families and offer a variety of activities for the entire family. All facilities can be used by guests of both parts of the hotel. The comfortable family-friendly apartments with one or two bedrooms accommodate up to 4 guests. They have air conditioning in the bedroom, TV, kitchenette with cooking rings, microwave or mini oven, fridge, kettle and toaster, a bathroom with bath/shower and WC and a furnished balcony. Our reception is open 24h a day and offers currency exchange. There are three lifts and free wifi in the entire hotel. Parking is available. Towels for the beach can be rented against a charge. Enjoy breakfast between 7:30 and 10:00 in our Yianna Marie Restaurant. Here you can also order international and cypriotic a la Carte dishes between 11:00 and 22:30. Lunch and dinner are served in our SunnySkies restaurant in the Rising Star Hotel. The ConnectBar is opened between 10:00 and 19:00. Here you can enjoy cool drinks, get in touch with other guests and recharge your mobile devices. You can choose between half board (breakfast and dinner) and holiday inclusive which includes breakfast, lunch, dinner (except Mondays and Fridays) and selected drinks. IN front of the hotel there's a small supermarket for basic necessities. Restaurants and cafes are situated nearby. Football, table tennis or beach volleyball will keep you active during your stay with us. Your ConnectScout is your personal holiday guide and will organize sports activities for the entire family like water polo, family games or KidsYoga. You can rent tennis rackets (against charge) for a game at our tennis court or use the fitness center (against a charge). Our Venus Massage Center offers lots of different relaxing treatments, so you can lean back and revitalize. You can treat yourself with a Thai Massage or a back massage (against a fee) or relax in the sauna or steam bath (against a fee) or use the indoor swimming pool. Children under 7 will be happy with fun activities in our kids club with fun activities like different pool games or creative time. With games, books, movies and lots of new friends your kids will have a memorable holiday. For kids from 8 years on there are also a lot of water activities like water polo, a pool race or swimming competitions. Further activities include football, volleyball, basketball, table tennis, billiard an air hockey. The ConnectTeenLounge invites teenagers to hang out, get to know new people or play video games. Our mini disco which takes place 7 days a week is a highlight for our youngest guests. There are life shows with music every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Star Protaras
Golden Star Hotel Protaras
Golden Star Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing