We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from a week self catering at the golden star hotel, Very impressed with the clean room, all the kitchen utilities you need. Free air con in the bedroom. Great location beach is a minutes walk, supermarket is on the door step. Towels and bed sheets changed daily. Bathroom could have been better as it was more like a wet room, however it would not stop me from staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    87
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
103
79
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Was in golden star apts sept 2011 with my partner & daughter. We all had such a good time. Right on beach, 2 mins walk to main strip. 2 bars across the road. Air conditioning in bedroom at no extra charge, a/c available in living room at €5.50 per day but we didn't need it. Maid service everyday. Anyone who complains about these apts shud just stay home because they obviously are lookn 5star accomm at 3.5 star prices but are to tight to pay for it. I have been on alot of holidays within Cyprus, Greece, Spain & canary islands & these were by far the best apts iv stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpsauceloverhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

After paying a lot of money to go all inclusive we were all very disappointed with the lack of entertainment at night it was a joke and would be funny if you hadnt paid all that money and then had to go out and spend more ,then you had to share the pool with everyone that live there, they emptied the pool because they just went mad jumping in not looking to see if anyone was in the way.The bar closing at eleven every night was a joke you had to go to bed or spend more money going out will not be going back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

SUPERB WOW WHAT A HOLIDAY. Just returned from the Golden Star Relaxing Calm ,Beautiful clean hotel.Great people Lovely food great views so relaxing just fantastic .If you go to Cyprus go to the GOLDEN STAR you will not be Dissapointed. Alredy booked for next year...... you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Conski09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshirelufc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Have just returned from a really lovely time at the Golden Star - perfect position and really benefits from the recent refurbishments, particularly the pool area. Staff were all really nice and helpful when needed and the apartments plus all communal areas were kept very clean and tidy. Had some fantastic meals especially at the Japanese restaurant, Molti, Hippopotamus and of course at the Yianna Marie.
Went on boat trip with Captain Panacos which is very good - 30 euros for 3 adults.The new pathway along the front has made a nice walk between Protaras and Penerna. having been to Cyprus for a number of years it would now seem that they are now catering for the Scandanavian and Eastern European countries far more now, but don't let that put you off they still love us Brits.

Room Tip: I emailled before going to request a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireLufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here from 5th July to 19th July and had a fantastic holiday.The location was perfect overlooking the pool and the sea, and only minutes from the main strip.The hotel was spotless with clean towels and bedding every day,pool was great, nice and peaceful and always managed to get a sun lounger.The apartment was more than adequate, there was a kettle, toaster 2 ring hob and a microwave, also you can hire an iron from reception for free.We had a 1 bed apt on the 3rd floor and although there was enough space for us ( 3 adults) i feel they may be a bit cramped for 4 adults, but then you don't really spend a great deal of time in your apt, it's just a place to sleep at the end of the day.The resort was fantastic lots of bars and restaurants and really good entertainment, especially at Rockerfellas,some really good acts on there and the local beer Keo was perfect here.
I would definately recommend this hotel and we would not hesitate to book it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littleminx44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protaras, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed in Golden Star room 18 on the ground floor recently (3 adults)basic rooms,disabled bathroom with grimey tiles which flooded each time you took a shower as it had no shower tray,it flooded out into the bedroom.When on holiday abroad you expect to be woken up by the lapping of waves onto a beach or even children playing by the pool not the noise of human waste being flushed down the soil pipe and inpacting on the bend of the soil pipe which believe it or not runs through room 18.On 1 occasion my husband counted between the hours of 7am - 8.30am 23 toilet flushes.Apart from the disappointing room the facilities of the hotel were excellent.We strongly advise you request a room above ground level.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacqueline_cleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandali Hotel
Mandali Hotel
#50 of 65 in Protaras
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
Vrissaki Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odessa Beach Hotel
Odessa Beach Hotel
#32 of 65 in Protaras
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
Tsokkos Beach Hotel
#25 of 65 in Protaras
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel

Property: SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star Hotel
Address: Lefkollas 14, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated the SunConnect Protaras Beach - Golden Star supplies high services to its customers, so you can spend a relaxing holiday with your family here. It is situated in the heart of Protaras, directly at the beautiful Flamingo beach - just like the sister hotel SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star. It offers 100 comfortable and family friendly rooms. We are happy to welcome you and your family in our SunConnect Resort. SunConnect Resorts are great for modern families and offer a variety of activities for the entire family. All facilities can be used by guests of both parts of the hotel. The comfortable family-friendly apartments with one or two bedrooms accommodate up to 4 guests. They have air conditioning in the bedroom, TV, kitchenette with cooking rings, microwave or mini oven, fridge, kettle and toaster, a bathroom with bath/shower and WC and a furnished balcony. Our reception is open 24h a day and offers currency exchange. There are three lifts and free wifi in the entire hotel. Parking is available. Towels for the beach can be rented against a charge. Enjoy breakfast between 7:30 and 10:00 in our Yianna Marie Restaurant. Here you can also order international and cypriotic a la Carte dishes between 11:00 and 22:30. Lunch and dinner are served in our SunnySkies restaurant in the Rising Star Hotel. The ConnectBar is opened between 10:00 and 19:00. Here you can enjoy cool drinks, get in touch with other guests and recharge your mobile devices. You can choose between half board (breakfast and dinner) and holiday inclusive which includes breakfast, lunch, dinner (except Mondays and Fridays) and selected drinks. IN front of the hotel there's a small supermarket for basic necessities. Restaurants and cafes are situated nearby. Football, table tennis or beach volleyball will keep you active during your stay with us. Your ConnectScout is your personal holiday guide and will organize sports activities for the entire family like water polo, family games or KidsYoga. You can rent tennis rackets (against charge) for a game at our tennis court or use the fitness center (against a charge). Our Venus Massage Center offers lots of different relaxing treatments, so you can lean back and revitalize. You can treat yourself with a Thai Massage or a back massage (against a fee) or relax in the sauna or steam bath (against a fee) or use the indoor swimming pool. Children under 7 will be happy with fun activities in our kids club with fun activities like different pool games or creative time. With games, books, movies and lots of new friends your kids will have a memorable holiday. For kids from 8 years on there are also a lot of water activities like water polo, a pool race or swimming competitions. Further activities include football, volleyball, basketball, table tennis, billiard an air hockey. The ConnectTeenLounge invites teenagers to hang out, get to know new people or play video games. Our mini disco which takes place 7 days a week is a highlight for our youngest guests. There are life shows with music every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Star Protaras
Golden Star Hotel Protaras
Golden Star Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing