We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a "great" hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Sadly Constantinos The Great is no longer the great. During our stay we experienced sheets that are so old they are bobbly, they have been ripped, stained and even had cigarette burns. The towels were also stained and some were so old they were grey.
The dinner buffet area was all in 1 corner and at times was busier than the strip!. Although the food was cooked well, the choice was similar to lunch!
The staff did their best and some were very friendly and helpful. The “Boss” sauntered around the hotel and didn’t appear to communicate with guests, other than Cypriots! This may be because of the language barrier or perhaps he was more comfortable speaking to non residents, who were quite happy t o use the facilities of the hotel for a fee! This was despite signs on the umbrellas and in the the grounds that the use of the hotel and the pool, was for resident guests only! Local children came in with backpacks and used the pool and the facilities as if it was an after school club!
Children in the “kids club” were left to their own devices and the room and the facilities were poor!! The entertainment team tried their best with their non existent budget and playing bingo with a cocktail stick was an experience!
The reception staff did their very best to accommodate us and was quite helpful when we had a problem with the rooms; 1 smelt of smoke, the patio door wouldn’t lock in another, they were noisy and the air con leaked in one!! We also had a medical issue and needed WIFI and the office kindly allowed us to try and use the office internet. Unfortunately it wouldn’t connect to the site, but we were successful in a bar on the strip!
Although the location was great and we did meet some lovely people, as with a lot of other guests we would not recommend the hotel or return! It’s a 5* which gives you less, rather than more!!

Room Tip: dont book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

If I always believed what i had read i would never have stayed in this hotel. I have just returned from a holiday there and out of idle curiosity decided to read previous reviews. Some people will never be satisfied! The location of the hotel couldn't be better and the sea is absolutely glorious. The pool was never too crowded and we always got sunbeds near it as there were plenty of them. The staff were all always polite and pleasant and very willing to help.We went half board and the food was lovely with a great choice every night. Our room was comfortable with a lovely view. Personally my husband and I don't like lazy beach holidays (we went there for our daughter) and we did get bored just lying by the pool; however we went on a boat trip and a couple of others but we met people who do like that type of holiday and they were quite happy with what was on offer as were we. If you like to have a lazy holiday in a beautiful setting where the staff are only too willing to help then you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Food was out of this world! Best in protaras, gret service very friendly and clean great pool! And great facilities! Bit apprehensive after reading te viewed to begin with but definitely not disappointed would reccoment this to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fgoffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Arrived very late first impressions were good. Rooms definitely need updating didn't expect to pay for fridge, safe ice creams other than a small choc ice, and slush puppies on all inclusive. All expensive when having to buy separate!!
Too many non residents allowed use sun beds, parasols and pool for free, very crowded at weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. Fridge and safe is charged ONLY if you are not All Inclusive and this is clearly stated in the tour operator brochures and websites which obviously means you have been informed about this at the time of your booking. If you are All Inclusive the fridge is free, the safe is charged. Rooms are as the pictures you see at the time of booking. Regarding the non-residents, the hotel residents have priority at the hotel areas than others. We have already added signs at the pool area regarding this matter and has now been resolved. The hotel is officially rated as a 5 star by both local authorities and tour operators and fulfills all requirements for this rating as such.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Generally you could tell that this USED to be a nice 5 star hotel. However, it now looks a bit run down and leans more towards a 4 star (if not 3 star) hotel.
Nice location though, right on the beach and the pool area was nice too.
Breakfast was good, including a wide range of warm and cold options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATY_YIAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

arriving at the hotel thought it looked lovely checked in o.k found our room ourselves no help from a porter room o.k but not one of the refurbished ones had to ask for sheets to be changed after 5 days and we weren't the only ones! food was adequate you wouldn't starve but most of the restaurant staff surly having to share pool with locals at weekends made the pool area very noisy evening entertainment was a joke girl on piano playing Russian dirges and night porter playing key board with two fingers morbid if we didn't go out we were in bed by 10pm the only redeeming factors are the location and the lovely bar lads who were right to tell us not to try the all inclusive cocktails yuck! I have never written a review before but we were so disappointed with this holiday and even the Thompson rep said it should not be classed as a 5* hotel

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Hotel is NOT 5 star more like a great 3, The public can use the pool ect as long as they pay which I found very poor for a "5" star Hotel. I got married there and the day was unforgettable, This was only made possible because of the great staff of Thomas Cook there not in the UK. Once they got there payment they were not interested. The staff and food were fab but the management was very poor. Don't be fooled when they tell you no children or free wi-fi. My new wife had to put her son in a different hotel because a'lot of what we were told in the UK was lies. I have stayed in a few real 5 star Hotels and this the bottom of my list. The best thing I can say about the Hotel is that the staff were 5 star, the rest was not. Would only go back there is a few million pound was spent on it and the management was replaced.

Room Tip: Choose sea view or face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#18 of 64 in Protaras
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 64 in Protaras
1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#28 of 64 in Protaras
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#10 of 64 in Protaras
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 64 in Protaras
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Address: 29 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#15 Family Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £107 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing