We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to love it ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it ...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in cyprus! This was our second time at the Constantinos the Great and we wanted to love it however this wasn't the case!
Our first visit to the hotel 2 years ago seemed good but on second visit this year we were very let down!

We arrived at midnight and were greeted by very unfriendly staff and were offered no food or drink and all the bars at the hotel were shut. Luckily we had some juice and crisps from the flight left which could do us till the morning.

When we got to our room we noticed how dated and tired the room looked. Our original room had a carpet floor which in 30+ degrees doesn't seem very hygienic. The carpets were worn, bed sheets were torn and the curtains were stained. When we arrived in the room the air con didn't seem to be making a difference and there was a terrible banging noise coming from it. The next day the air con stopped working and after 4 times of complaining at the reception, A maintenance engineer was eventually sent to our room at 9pm and confirmed that the air conditioning was broken and he couldn't do anything to fix it and suggested we moved room. Reception advised they had a room so we had to quickly pack everything back in our cases and move room. When we got to our new room, the room wasn't a double and not everything we asked for which was disappointing when we had paid a lot of money for our holiday. Again room was very tired. Sheets torn and wall paper peeling. The air con worked great in this room and this time we had a wooden floor which seemed more hygienic. The TV was like something from the 90's. One day we were out, came back to our room and the TV had been switched to a slightly newer yet used model and this didn't work at all. Something which is handy to listen to music while getting ready. Also bathroom seemed to recently have had a makeover and was very clean.

Nighttime - we had terrible night sleeps at this hotel. Every night we heard ridiculously loud music being played from several bars on the strip who seemed to be competing to be the loudest. With the balcony doors shut and curtains closed you could still hear every word of the music and it was like you were in a club. This carried on till between 2-3am. We could never get to sleep till after this!

The hotel is in a fabulous location situated beside the beach, metres away from the main strip of Protaras with many shops, bars and restaurants. From the outside the hotel looks beautiful but the inside is stuck in a time warp compared to a lot of the surrounding hotels which are all very modern and up to date.

Food - we were all inclusive and the food was good. There wasn't a lot of variety at night and not a lot for kids to eat however for adults there was always something to eat. Waiters and waitresses were fantastic.

Entertainment team - we didn't participate in any of the activities however the staff were brilliant! They tried to involve everyone and were on the go all day. At night there were shows for kids and adults which were good although we tended to go out at night to the bars.

Staff- the restaurant staff were fabulous all good at their job and friendly. However reception and pool attendants were very straight faced and not interested. The pool attendants were constantly closing parasols at 1pm in the day when a lot of people were going to be using them. On one occasion we were sunbathing and very rudely the pool attendant came to our sunbeds said he was putting our parasol down and chucked our bags (which we had hanging up) at us at 3:30 in the afternoon! Very annoyed at this, very rude! We also noticed on several occasions the pool attendant was throwing people's clothes out while they were at the beach or in the pool just because they weren't at their sunbeds - it was 5pm at night.

Late checkout room - our flight didn't leave till 10pm at night and so we would need to keep our room on as we would be thrown out at 12pm that day. Before going on our holiday I emailed and had been told it would cost €35 to keep room on till 6pm but could only do this when we arrived. When we arrived we asked the second day into our holiday and were told we couldn't do this till 2 day before holiday. I went 3 days before and were told I should come back tomorrow which I did then was told to come back the next day. I went the day before we were due to leave and was told to come back after 6pm which I did and was told by yet another member of staff that they wouldn't know till the next day due to arrivals and to come back at 9am. I got up the day we were leaving and were told very rudely NO CHANCE! No apologies .. Nothing! We paid a lot of money for this holiday and to be treated like this throughout was very disappointing. Due to this we were thrown out had to pack everything and wait 8 hours on our transfer.

The hotel is predominantly occupied by Russian guests who are very rude. Didn't ever smile or try to say hi. On several occasions as we tried to get out the lifts they barged their way in and pushed their way into the queue at dinner skipping people.

If there had only been a few issues on this holiday we wouldn't complain but unfortunately there was that many we were so disappointed. Full credit to the entertainment team and restaurant team who work fantastically and were one of the only good points of the hotel. We were so hopeful it would be like our last stay but unfortunately we were let down especially with the price of our holiday. Next time we will be trying another hotel. The Constantinos is advertised as a 5 star hotel but it is far from a 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    378
    269
    101
    45
See reviews for
546
607
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in June for the second time. I can't really fault the place great staff, nice food, great pool area, on the beach, clean, location excellent. The only thing I would say is if you are not ALL INCLUSIVE the drinks are expensive so be warned. Protaras itself is a lovely place with lots to do and the locals are very friendly. There are plenty of water sports within walking distance from the hotel and take a walk to Perllinni nice little village. So much more to say but you shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oldham_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 14 nights from 22/6/14 on an All Inclusive basis.
We arrived at midnight and upon enquiring about the availabllity of food was advised that there is a McDonalds half a mile down the road. This response epitomised the approach of the Constantinos a third rate hotel on a budget aspiring to be 5 star. The positives -: great location, on the beach and plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within 100 metres. The seaview is spectactular and plenty of watersports. The restaurant where you eat your evening meal is tastefully decorated with a varied choice of food and the staff are efficient. The bar in the lobby is also managed extremely well. Equally the staff who run the pool bar work very hard and it isn't their fault that the hotel charges €1.50 for. A bottle of water. But after that the Hotel lets itself down. The negatives-: excessive charges for wi-fi (€30 for 7days),extra charges for using the fridge in your room, there seemed to be plenty of staff but no organisation it was very difficult to find a waiter to order drinks - it was as though the hotel policy was to avoid serving drinks whenever possible, saving on the hotels costs! The hotel is in need of an urgent refurbishment, furniture/decor very dated, although no complaints regards cleanliness of room. No air con in the lobby, no atmosphere around the pool and the entertainment team are virtually invisible.The evening entertainment consists of live acts who perform for 45 mins on a make shift stage,the lighting is so bad you only see their silhouette. If you wish to sit and watch the act pick up a chair and table from the dining area no attempt is made by staff to set out an audience area. At weekend the locals descend on to the beach via the public right of way through the hotel gardens utilising the hotel pool and sunbeds on the way. We certainly will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jbt553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 15/06/14 to 29/06/14 and are already planning to go back next year. From the moment we arrived the staff were great - friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. As we arrived late and missed dinner we were given a lunch voucher for the next day. You could also swap dinner for lunch any time you had evening plans outside the hotel (we were half board). I was a bit worried before we arrived, having read some of the reviews, but now I don't understand what the complainers expect? You couldn't ask for more - even the fussiest of eaters could cobble something together every mealtime. And as for those who say the staff are miserable - all I can say is it's most likely a case of 'you reap what you sow'! The staff, all of them that we encountered, were great. They work extremely hard, doing long hours every day in the very hot weather and remain cheerful. Even management ensure they are visible, approachable and friendly - everyone is invited to a Management reception at the beginning of their stay where you can chat, ask questions and raise any concerns. I can't say that night time noise was an issue at any point during our stay. I do agree with most about the majority of the Russians, they walk around looking miserable, they don't integrate and do not know the meaning of the word courtesy but at the end of the day, if they really are as miserable as they appear, it's only their own holiday they are spoiling. We had a fantastic time in Cyprus, loved the resort and the hotel and will go back because although we packed many trips into our two weeks, I still feel there is much more to discover. I would consider B&B next time because the main strip in Protaras is home to hundreds of reasonably priced restaurants, many of which are highly recommended by previous customers and the hotel is perfectly placed to make the most of all the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quitecontrary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband myself and our children (aged 16 and 18) stayed at this hotel for 10 nights on 15th June 14, the location was brilliant for the younger ones as the bars were just up the road, however for my husband and I we got very little sleep due to the noise. we could put up with the noise from the bars but is was the noise coming from the air conditioning units on the roof. our bed had a big hump in the middle and had to wedge it up with a pillow so I didn't roll out.
Now for the food, we went all inclusive and was just about average not what you would expect from such a hotel, some days we just had to pick at food and hope better was laid on for next meal.
Now for the entertainment, what entertainment ??? the activity team were not entertaining at all and need more go in them they obviously didn't enjoy there job and it showed. they have not got a clue how to get people involved. evening entertainment was a joke, with putting one of the activity staff on a makeshift stage and having her sing (poor karaoke style).
now last of my disappointing stay at the hotel is the pool side, it was dirty and never once did the pool side get hosed down, the hotel next to ours (lower star rating and same chain of hotels) was hosed every day they also had padded sun loungers and was a lot cleaner than ours and spa was not working either, Easy to say we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

wasnt sure what to expect read good and bad reviews all i can say is you make your own holiday
cant fault hotel clean. staff thats is all staff are so friendly do all they can to help food great dont know what people expect but i am fussy eater but ate everything what was there

Room Tip: any room is fine but if you want pool view go to the front but i had loverly sea view at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shall71Staffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from a fab week at the Constantinos the Great.
Agree with what people are saying i.e. fab hotel and staff and the location is spot on, as its in the middle of town right on the beach and is an imposing hotel. Defo agree that the "Russians" were in the majority and were rude and barged around ALOT !
However we had a lovely week and feel that the all enclusive package was well worth the money as although the drinks were a bit below standard the food was lovely and the staff were exceptional.
My husband and I went to the Mangers Champagne reception and they remembered us and at diner sent us over a bottle of champagne which was a lovely gesture.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. :)

Room Tip: Due to set up just ask for a limited sea view and you will still get a great view (no need to pay fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OLD-KAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
1,534 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#15 of 66 in Protaras
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#15 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#21 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing