We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very chilled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Having never been to Cyprus before or away for Xmas I didn't know what to expect from this trip. I hired a car from the airport which was daunting but turned out very easy. The roads in Cyprus at this time of year are virtually clear and the road themselves are excellent as to are the road signs. Definatley recomend this as a means of transport from airport to resort.
The hotel itself was lovely, definatley deserves it's 5 stars. The staff are friendly and helpful, the holtel is very clean and weel equiped for most travelers. The food as with all hotels does get monotinous after a while but the standard is great. I am a very fussy eater but even I manged to find plenty to eat. I would say my only complaints would be the fact that the facilites in the hotel such as jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are NOT included in the price. The indoor pool is included but it would be nice if you could use all of the above especially this time of year when you can't necessrily get in the outdoor pool as much as in the summer months.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped but the hair dryer is a differnet matter, I would recomend you take your own if you need to use one.
Would like to return to this area maybe even tis hotel in the summer months to get a different perspective as it was very quiet around the area with most shops and bars closed for the "winter". Sea looked very inviting but cold.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2009

Well what can I say? Our usual main holiday trip is for November and December as we don't do heat and summer hols but we decided on Cyprus this year and picked the Constantinos as it looked really nice 5 star and right on the beach, but as we don't normally do beach holidays but thought we'd give it go this year. As it was when we arrived we had glorious weather it was 25c and 23c to start with - wonderful. However we did not expcet what we got! Arrived in Cyprus in evening picked up hire car drove to Protaras thought we'd gone to the wrong place as it was completely in darkness (hotels shops shut!) no life drove around twice before finding life to ask where hotel was then evenutally found hotel (very small sign in road and hotel lighted sign hidden behind another buidling)

Hotel was good, rooms nice spacious clean staff friendly perhaps a 4 star in this country but although we had 'free breakfast and dinner' it would certainly only be a 3 star rated in this country as the food was not good, enough of it but lack of immagination I thought. One night on the menu was squid and octopus yum yum I thought however we ended up with cold bacon and tuna!!! Not much different eh? 5 star hotel with buffet dinner - I think not! Want it served at least, no a la carte available only small selection for room service only really poor show.

Swimming pool being refurbished so no pool available no mention of this on hotel site!

On our first full day went for walk around Protaras. My goodness I've seen more life in a morgue! we counted 5 shops open and 1 bar, street was deserted and place completely dead. It must be so busy and noisy in the summer momths almost unbearable I think considering how many hotels and bars etc there are there. We found out from a local trader that Protaras closes down from October to April no one around, this was not indicated in any description of the hotel or area so beware!! We like a quite holiday but there is quiet and dead! Just as well we had a hire car otherwise we'd have gone mad! Protaras has numerous hotels 9 at least owned by Tsokkos in Protaras (apart from Hotel apartments and villas for rent) but only 2 hotels in the whole of Protaras were open totally and utterly unbelievable

We went for walks in the evenings through the deserted streets of Protaras only to be followed by four legged creatures - cats. every where you turned they roamed around friendly little things even followed us for a whole hour one night never realised Cyprus was a catty place.

Loved the island beautiful place can understand why people like it and even move there and we would go back again but NOT to Protaras, even Aiya Napa had more life as did some of the inland villages. Roads very good wish our motorways were that quiet! Bit boring at times but perhaps they need big roads during the summer monthsand the hoards of holiday makers they must get. Larnaka and Lefkosia were good too

On the whole a peaceful (very!) holiday and a lovely break just a shame about Protaras! Adverts should really tell people how quiet and shut up it is

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Have just spent our 9th holiday at the Constantinos and have already booked for next year.
This is a lovely Hotel positioned on the beach in Protaras with a beautiful pool area and plenty of Sunbeds for all.
The Staff cannot do enough for you. From the minute you are checked in you are well looked after.
The food is great. For Breakfast there is everything you could want from cereals, continental style breakfast, full English, freshly made omelettes or pancakes, fresh fruit and yoghurts.
Lunch is always a buffet with both hot and cold choices, or there are always Beefburgers and chips or Toasted sandwiches from the beach bar.
Dinner is also Buffet style but with a tremendous selection from Soup, Salads, Carvery with Various Hot dishes and vegetables, Various desserts (very fattening) Ice Cream and Cheese and Biscuits.
The Local Wines served at Meal times are great - try them.
The Drinks on all inclusive are all local but they are also lovely.
All I can say is that if you are going to Cyprus you Eat and Drink the local fare and we have never had cause to complain.
The People are charming and we have made so many local friends over the years.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy42Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I staed with my sister and our daughters and, a friend and had a really nice time. Cyriot people are lovely and will go out of their way to make your holiday perfect.. The chezs and polish a little more serious but are very propfessional and work long hours. The beach is fab, always a sunbed, night life avergae. We live in manchester so found it a little quite. Good fun on the last bus to Ayia Napa. Thankyou to Luke and his lovely wife and of course the very gorgeous Alex.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela_wroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Just got back from Constantinos after spending a week there with my wife and daughter and daughters friend. We all enjoyed it from start to finish. The staff were excellent so to was the food. The rooms could do with a bit of an update but were nevertheless very nice. The hotel had a very nice relaxed atmosphere about it. The only negative thing I would say is the lack of quality entertainment. I would definately go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonywGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

was very disappointed with this hotel. The only thing 5* was the price, the food was 3*, the all-inclusive was only inclusive of the cheapest low quality drinks and snacks; could not get fresh fruit juices or even decent quality local wine without additional costs. The service provided by the staff was in the main A1 but the entertainment at the time I was there was appalling. The animation team were clearly overworked, unprofessional and extremely badly managed. The girls in the animation team worked extremely hard from early morning until late at night whilst their manager, (lounging, chain smoking and swearing, Carl(os)), was to be found by the Odessa bar or pool.
On the positive side the hotel was in a beautiful location, there were plenty of sunbeds, the beach was clean, the sea was blue and it was not over crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpannerMonkey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Lets start with it's not a 4-star and it's not a 3-star....it's simply a superior hotel. The structure is fairly modern and kept in a decent condition. The staff were mostly from Czech, Russia, UK and a few oddball places. They make a huge effort and I will give them some credit in making it a good place. Their English is good and communication is not an issue. The hotel guests are 50 percent British, forty percent German, and the rest are Greek, US, Italian, or Russian. The room? In decent shape....wallpaper had some rips and you could see some wear on the wood....but it's not a terrible spot. They were quiet, which was a major deal with me. The meals? Well.....they couldn't go wrong with breakfast. Lunch was ok, nothing special. Dinner shifted around every single night.....Asia night, Mexican night, etc. I was there for seven nights and found by the fifth night that I'd like to have just an average Cypriot meal but you'd have to leave the hotel to get that. I had the all-inclusive deal....which probably saved on the costs of the meals. You do have to dress up with trousers for dinner in the evening, but the other meals can be done in shorts. As for the all-inclusive drinks....this was a joke.....all of the cocktails were watered down.....you could consume twenty cocktails and never get drunk. The wine? It was the cheapo stuff and tasted like sour grape juice. The beer barely had taste. Security? Never a problem.....always safe and sound. The beach? Right there and in good shape. The pools? Decent in great shape. The one plus-up was the grilled ham and cheese on sesame seed bun at the pool bar.....order it and get a wine....and enjoy a pretty decent deal. There was nothing truly negative about the place.....but I wouldn't give it a 4-star plus rating. If you have kids, it's a safe place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepsionice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
0.1 mi away
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
Vrissiana Beach Hotel
#19 of 65 in Protaras
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
#26 of 65 in Protaras
862 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 65 in Protaras
2,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anastasia Beach Hotel
Anastasia Beach Hotel
#37 of 65 in Protaras
1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel

Address: 29 Protaras Avenue | Protaras, Paralimni, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Protaras
#15 Family Hotel in Protaras
#16 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#17 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £103 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the beach hotel of dreams! Constantinos The Great Beach Hotel is directly located on Protaras golden sandy beach and impressively overlooks the endless shades of blue stretching towards the horizon. An exclusive all seasons 5 star hotel with stylish accommodation, elegant atrium lobby and excellent service complement the wide range of activities and facilities. From you balcony you may enjoy the first sunrise in Europe and the panoramic view of the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. It is located in the heart of Protaras with a big selection of bars, shops and restaurants just a foodstep away. The quality accommodation, friendly staff, and relaxed ambiance make this hotel an all-round appeal for a perfect luxurious beach hotel. Guests return year after year to the popular Constantinos The Great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantinos The Great
Constantinos Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing