We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing holiday!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing holiday!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Just returned from a week of holiday in Malama Holiday Village in Protaras. The hotel is really fantastic the staff very friendly and extremely helpful. We have been there a couple of years ago but now you can see the big difference, the hotel has been refurbished and the new reception and restaurant looks great. We stayed in suite 15-21 which has not been refurbished yet (they told us that they shall be refurbishing the remaining 80 suites this coming winter) it was very spacious and clean. We requested to see one refurbished unit and it really looks fantastic, modern, fresh, very well equipped with flat screen TV and much more. We very much look forward to visit the place next year.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool area are very convenient for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skevi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    341
    60
    22
    9
See reviews for
660
206
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My family and I have been to Malama several times over the past few years. It has been absolutely fantastic every single time without fail. The food is delicious and with a service to match. With three sons I can safely say that I would recommend this destination to any family looking for some rest and relaxation. A plethora of different activities keep any child whether he is in his early years of childhood or teens busy and interested day after day. Sports such as beach volley ball, football and tennis as well as several swimming pools and many other water sports such as water ski, jet ski and even parasailing are just of few of the activities which we enjoy every summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have stayed at malama 8 times and wouldnt consider any other hotel in Cyprus, this place has everything i want and more. Just back on 12th having spent a week there with my 15yr old son, this was the 1st time i had travelled alone with him and i wanted to go to somewhere were i felt comfortable and safe.
Have previously stayed in apartments around pool area before as i always thought they were the best, this time we stayed in 2812 toward the rear of the complex and found it to be spacious and well equipped much the same as all of the previous apartments we have stayed in, the only difference was it had been refurbished making it more modern although this is an ongoing process and all apartments will eventually be updated,
but as malama is only closed for three to four months in the winter its not surprising that this will take a liitle time as there are 166 apartments in total.
The apartments are both comfortable and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, they are cleaned daily all but sunday but then everyone needs a day off :), fresh towels and bedding again makes this place very much home from home for me, love it.
The pool area can be busy during peak time but there are plenty of sunbeds around the pools and in the garden area, the walk in pool is a must for those with young families, this was what first attracted us to malama when our son had just turned 7.
The staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive, what a wondeful welcome we have always gotten from them, cant praise these people enough for their wonderful nature, from the reception, restaurant, bar and supermarket we are always greeted with such friendliness.
This complex is not for the party animals out there, you can go stay in napa if thats what you want from your holiday, this place is much more relaxed and more geared for families and couples.
The food is excellent in the hotel with a huge amount of choice at breakfast and themed dinner nights, cyprus night is a must as is chinese, although we tend to eat out some nights to cater for everyones taste as we are not big fish or italian eaters. There some lovely restaurants up on the main road like faliros, karas and tonys but you all must try folio, seriously amazing food made by the lovely chef christopher who comes round your table to make sure you have enjoyed your food, dont be put off by the menu being a little upper class, try the zucchinni soup or the vegetable and almond soup.
I will return to malama as soon as i can because i was born to be there, so glad i found this little gem all those years ago.
Wish the hotel every success in the future and hope it goes from strength to strength in its continuing refurb.
To alexia: hope you have a great time at the wedding on 24/09 ( happy birthday to me also:)) hope you found your dresses in larnaca!!! And to panikos: love the kindness of this man, he made our holiday so wonderful xx
Kind regards to you all and hope to see you very soon
Lorraine and christopher minus dennis this time.
5/08/11 to 12/08/11 (2812)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is about our 5th visit to Mallama and as always the holiday was fantastic. We did not come in 2010 and this was only due to our daughter graduating that year. But missed it terribly. We came with another family we met at Mallama about 5 years ago and have kept in touch. We all had a brilliant time. Service is excellent and cleanliness of the whole complex is outstanding. We are always greeted with warmly from all staff at Mallama and cannot fault any aspect. We will be aiming to return next year

Room Tip: We always asked for a room with seaview and we like 15/11 and have always been accommodated with thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

excellent food
excellent service
excellent place
excellent swimming pool
very clean
great facilities
friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flu37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

1. is expensive
a. you don't have any room service
b. themenu is limited to a few kinds of food especially for lunch
c. the wine is some variety of vinegar
d. the all inclusive to very few specific products
f. the internet is very expensive and is an additional charge even for all inclusive guests

2/ the swimming pool smell horribl , you get the smell after you have come out of the pull and you have dried .

3. there are not enough sun beds and you need to compete with local residents that visit the restaurant near the pools

4. the waitress service is pathetic you have to wait for over 15 mins to give your oder and the same to bring what drinks you ordered ,

5. you have no potions and ther is no understanding , you are most likely to be simpky dismissed no matter for what you complain or you are requesting assistance for. And the management never gives reasons .

6. if you are to exchange british pounds to euros be aware they use the rate euros to a pound as pounds to a euro thus instead of getting more euros for your pounds you end up getting less and they pocket this way a hefty 15% commission.
7. beware of cockroaches in the rooms

8. the entertainment offered is awful .

my advice spent your money to places owned anr run by well know international hoteliers

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkrinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalamaCyprus, General Manager at Malama Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read the comments relating to your visit at our resort and please allow us to comment as follows:

On average our lunch buffets offer as a minimum choice of 8 different salads , 6 hot dishes and additionally there is daily a live cooking station offering either pasta, soup, jacket potatoes etc. There is also a selection of desserts and seasonal fruit.

We serve mainly locally produced wines however you may request another variety of wine from our very rich wine list. We assume that the particular wine you have been served was not to your expected standard but you could always request a change with a new bottle if the particular one was not to your satisfaction.

With all due respect we do not entirely understand your comment regarding our All Inclusive concept; your stay was not on all inclusive basis but on a half board basis and you are therefore expressing an opinion on something you did not experience.

With regards to your comments for our swimming pools we wish to inform you that we maintain them at very high standards. Frequent daily checks are made and recorded in full compliance with ISO 22000. Regular water analysis is also preformed and copies are available upon request.

We kindly request you to provide as with more information regarding comment number 5 as we wish investigate further.

With regards to the exchange rate the way it is stated in your review, we are sorry to say, but is misleading, we do charge a commission for the service we provide however it is equal to the commission that the banks are charging us for the exchange of foreign currency.

Regarding the entertainment we feel that this is a matter of taste as a lot of our guests are very happy with the entertainment we offer.

Finally we would like to assure you that effort is made for a continues improvement of our service in order not only to meet but to exceed the expectations of our guests and assure you that we welcome all reviews as a tool to improve every aspect of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had a lovely time at Malama. The resort was a mix of good and not so good so we find it difficult to sum up but I hope this is helpful.

The room/apartment needed updating it was very shabby but spacious and clean.
The pool area is really too small for the amount of people in the resort, therefore you have to save sunbeds by 8am or you dont get one all day and the pool is pretty packed so dont expect a leisurely swim. The resort is NOT in Protaras, but far out near Paralimni. The bus to Protaras is not reliable and a taxi did cost us 10euro! The entertainment programme repeated itself everyday which got boring, we were glad when they had a day off on Sunday.

The whole resort is very clean and tidy and the staff work hard at it all day. The food was lovely with loads of choice. The entertainment staff were very friendly and alot of fun (we felt sorry for them having to do the same thing everyday). The beach is small and rocky but the water is beautiful and there are caves to explore, it is a pretty cove. We would not rate this as a 4 star resort due to the shabby rooms but its not far off.

In summary we had a good holiday, probably would'nt go back merely due to the location.

Happy holidays...... Chrissie from Winchester!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the pool which was noisy at night as entertainment near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalamaCyprus, General Manager at Malama Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
The hotel has commenced a renovation program and about 80 out of a total of 166 suites have already been fully refurbished. The remaining 86 suites shall be refurbished this coming winter.
Included in the 86 units are all the suites around the pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#13 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 65 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Property: Malama Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#5 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing