We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malama Holiday Village - Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went to Malama Holiday Village with family. This is a great place to stay weather you are going as a couple or as a family. Its away from the hustle and bustle. The village has everything you need in there so dont really need to step away. The site has lots of small blocks with self-catering apartments which are very modern, clean and roomy. You will also get a balcony. The kitchen area is very good, and YES you do get crockery, pots and pans and utensils. we had to request a microwave so not sure if some rooms dont have then as standard but just ask. The village has a resturant and a convenience shop on site which opens until late. The buffet breakfast is very good. We did alot of self catering so could not comment on the buffet lunch and dinners. You can opt for half board or all-inclusive bit we had gone self -catering which gives you the option of if you want to cook or eat out. There are several outdoor swimming pools which are very clean. You wil get clean towels every few days. There is plenty of sunbeds available. We never had any problems getting a sunbed. You will get free towels to use on sunbeds. There are regular activites for kids (except sunday) to keep them amused. You cannot hear any of these from your apartments. The village leads onto a small public beach area which everyone uses which is very handy. The village is kept very clean. the staff are friendly. I found the Wi-fi internet access to be very expensive, then again i dont know what the going rates are in Cyprus. Locally the village is off the main road where you will find some pubs, resturants and several local supermarkets . The are is quiet and not busy at all. Pefect for a quiet break. Protaras centre is just a bus ride away which takes about 10-15 mins where you will find some nice beaches. There is an area for small children to play on swings and slides which i found is in need of improvement . Otherwise the location is very nice and does not look over any other hotel . I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank khushvinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

l have just spent 2 amazing weeks at the Malama.l can't praise is enough.while we were there it was our 25th anniversary and the staff there made it one to remember, FAB. The whole place was wonderfulThe apartments were spotless and cleaned every day.The gardens were lovley.The food, a different menu everyday and plenty of it. l would recommend the Malama Holiday Village to everyone all inclusive, full or half board or self catering. Oh nearly forgot you didn't have to pay for sun-beds around the pool or on the lovely little beach which is on the door step. Roll on next year so we can return. A special mention to Rita on reception who pointed my husband in the right direction for wonderful flowers for me on our anniversary and her help for our stay also for dear Bobbi she kept our apartment spotless and always had a lovley smile. lll stop now l could go on andon how geat it is but instead why not try it yourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms were great we did stay in both garden view and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tish608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Visited the Malama with my partner, parents, brother/sister in law, sister/brother in law, and 3 young nieces in september for 10 nights and this place far exceeded my expectations!

If you are planning a relaxing holiday, i would recommend going all inclusive, as we did. This is because the food was exceptional. There was always a lot of choice, including freshly cooked food at Vidas's station, which was superb food.

All of the staff were very helpful and genuine, including Alexia who assisted with our reservation, and was very professional. Also the bar staff, especially Filip & Marinos were fantastic and very friendly! The rooms are very clean, and spacious.

I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a wonderful, relaxing holiday. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We had a 10 day stay at the Malama Holiday Village ( end Sept to 1st week Oct ) The room was perfectly adequate with good facilities + a nice balcony with a view of the sea. It was fully equipped with all the things you might need to use and the maid service was VERY good with a regular change of towels. In fact all the staff we encountered from the girls on reception, the staff in the restaurant and the entertainment staff were all very nice and seemed genuinely pleased to be working here and nothing was too much trouble for them. The resort at nightime was also nice and quiet so when you went to bed we didnt have to worry about doors slamming, loud music playing, roudy revellers etc keeping us awake !!! We had a breakfast basis only which was buffet style and the choice was excellent. A great way to start the day. There are a few restaurants within walking distance and we tried a couple of these which were good but the main area of Protaras where all the shops and eateries are is about a 10 min drive away. Not a problem for us as we hired a car for the 10 day duration but it would certainly be a loooooong walk. Taxis would be required. The best part of the Malama must be the pool area which is where we spent a fair amount of time relaxing on the comfy sun loungers which at this time of year were in abundant supply- I did hear that when the place is really busy you need to be quick to bags a sunlounger. The view from the pool area across the secluded sandy beach to the sea is just what a sunseeking holiday maker wants to see. Very picturesque. The beach area is fairly small but the sea is ideal for kids and swimming as it is fairly shallow for a fair way out and the water was very clear and warm. I understand that parts of the Malama are due to be refurbished during the winter season ready for next spring / summer and no doubt these improvements will make this resort even better than it already is. I would certainly return for a hoilday here and would whole heartedly recommed the place for all ages.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and baby daughter stayed here whilst attending a wedding on Cyprus. We found the location quiet but convinient for Protarus and the surrounding beaches. The accomodation was clean and well keep and the facilities were also well looked after. The kitchen was basic but well equiped with an oven, hob and microwave. Nice family location. We didn't go to any of the evening entertainment but it looked as if something was organised each night. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice. Some rooms are close to the pool which may be nosier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rjsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just come back from Malama and we have had a great holiday. The apartment was fantastic, clean, spacious and perfect for a family of 3. The one critisicm of our self catered apartment was that there is no oven or microwave facility, only hobs which was a bit resticting.The swimming pools were excellent, clean and safe for our 3 year old to play in. There are daily water aerobics and keep fit sessions which my wife enjoyed. The beach was OK, a little scruffy perhaps but the sea was warm with no large waves so ideal for small children. The hotel run a nightly mini disco for kids which was great fun and all the children were encouraged to get involved. The staff employed to run the kids activities were brilliant, very enthusiatic and friendly. We chose to eat out of the hotel most nights as there are several decent restaurants nearby. Good restaurants in particular are Faliros, Folio and Just Italian but for decent pub food, The Pig and Whistle is hard to beat. For those self catering, there are also several take aways nearby. Overall, an excellent 2 weeks and would recommend to those with children or couples looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brechiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Malama Village for a week and returned on 1st October.
We had read the reviews and were encouraged by the positivity of the people's comments.
Our flat was clean and nice and quiet opposite the children's playground. Having read other reviews, one overlooking the sea would have been better but actually our flat was quiet which was perfect for us. Though it had no morning or evening sun- but at least this allowed us to 'recover' from the day's heat!
We booked B&B but were informed on the night before we went away that we were booked in as self catering. We did question this, but were told that Malama did not offer a B&B option.
In any case, we were happy with this as it allowed us to eat when we wanted and were happy to eat on our balcony.
The good choice of restaurants were a 10 min walk away and we ate out every night. We avoided Tony's as there were conflicting views from people about the food but we felt it lacked atmosphere from the outside anyway!
The food did at first seem expensive, beef stiffado at 18 euros but the portions were huge and the flavours of the dishes fab!
Alcohol was as we thought quite expensive at 14-22 euros for a bottle of wine so we had the local and reasonably priced Keo, which was a locally produced beer and this was good.
We went for a drink at the Pig n Whistle run by Tony which was nice. We sat outside watching the people go by while catching the rays and having the choice to watch football. On our last morning watched England rugby and the atmosphere was fantastic!
The beach at the resort was small but pretty. Shelving,calm, mill pond waters. On the last day the waves were big due to strong winds which was unusual for the time of year.
We did have rain on our arrival which was brief. We had thunder for the next 3 days and no rain. On the Friday we sat on the beach down the road with other holiday makers watching a terrific thunder and lightening storm which turned into a few hours of gusty winds and rain but it was fun 'sitting it out' on the beach under a sun umbrella!
A bus ride anywhere was 1 euro each. Proteras was as we ahd seen on our journey at the beginning of our trip, a very touristy resort but there is a boardwalk which runs from the outskirts and beyond Proteras. This was enjoyable as we were able to stop for drinks on our walk and take in the more scenic area.
Good tips- free beach towels at Malama- can change them whenever you want and no need to take electric adapters as sockets same as in UK. Ask for water at the beach bar which is free to drink as apposed to the pricey food and drink on site. Supermarkets slightly cheaper than on site shop but this shop was very handy if we didnt want to walk outside complex.
Only negative points- for us the young children and babies shouting and crying but we realise this is a family holiday village and the light in our bathroom was very dim- but to be honest this was all we could say on the negative front.
All good things come to an end and i was quite upset to leave!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of complex noisy from carpark quiet room by playground area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,124 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#5 of 65 in Protaras
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £55 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing