We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malama Beach Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantasic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend satyed at the malama holiday for 10 nights and it was the best holiday EVER. The hotel was absolutely spottless and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Most days we stayed around the pool and they have an animation entertainment team who just make it so much fun. All the reps were brilliant, especially Dorothy, Tony and Nikita. We joined in most of the activities but us and the reps loved vollyball, it was so funny. The food is fantasic, and the chef demetris is a fantastic cook and has a passion for food. Also all the bar staff are brilliant and friendly, we associated more with, Livin, Lidia and Marinos. Honestly the best holiday ever and we cant wait to go back. I would reccomend malama to everyone, they made my 21st birthday one to remember, they even gave me a card and champagne, so thank you all at the malama xxx

Room Tip: we chose sea view and it was absolutely brilliant. we had no sun shining in the morning on our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    332
    59
    22
    8
See reviews for
636
196
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strib
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Malama is located close to a little nice beach. Good for children of all ages. Great for snorcling and the hotel itself is great.
Nice architeckture, nice pools, desent food - espeacially the breakfast is great. If I was to go back to Cyprus this hotel would sure be consideration.

Room Tip: Go for 16-12. Great view over the poolarea and Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is the second year running that I have stayed at Malama in May. I was with three other adults. We had a two bedroomed apartment close to the reception area. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble to ensure you enjoy your stay. They have a very good animation team that encourage you to get involved with water polo, volley ball, darts and other games around the pool that help to get you involved - if you don't want to be they leave you alone but stop to have a chat.
Plenty of sun beds around the pool and recently developed upper terrace which is covered in rather sharp sand - plenty of sun shades if you want to shelter from the hot sun.
Very safe beach - shelves gently into the sea and safe for younger ones. A water sports centre and diving club on site - paid for seperately. If you use the sun loungers and shades on the beach you have to pay as these are run and owned by the local 'council' but probably worth the reasonable charge for the day.
Our accommodation was comparable to a 4 star establishment. Free air conditioning in the 2 bedrooms and living area, as well as a large ceiling fan in the lounge, all work indepently. The bedroom had one double bed and two singles in the other, en suite in the double room - the beds were comfortable with good storage and double ward robes (take some additional coat hangers) In the bed rooms with additional storage in the lounge. There were a couple of benches that doubled as single beds and seating during the day.
The kitchen had everything you need for a self catering holiday. Micro wave, toaster, kettle, cutlery, glasses etc etc even an iron and ironing board, a table with six chairs and enough space for six people. Flat screen Satelite TV with a range of international channels and kids channels.
Our rooms had been completely refurbished with lovely ceramic wall and floor tiles and modern bathroom fittings - the maid service came in every day to clean and the beddings were changed every couple of days.
The pools are kept very clean as is the whole resort - lots of palm trees, shrubs, plants and welcoming greenery that gives the whole resort a calm and pleasant feel throughout the day and night.
On site is a well stocked supermarket, restaurant and bars that are very popular with guests - there is always something in the evenings for younger children and a well organised kids club during the day. Every evening there is a different themed event in the bar which was also very popular.
There is an indoor swimming pool and spa including jacuzzi pool, steam and sauna, well equipped gym and squash court.

There is also a car and bike hire company on site and Chris and his family will help to meet your transport needs.

Everything you need is on site with a number of bars, restaurants and supermarkets within a five minute stroll. A good choice is the Pig and Whistle or Karas - both good value, service and choice.
if you want to go to Protaras, Pernera or Ayia Napa (the main resorts) a bus stops within a 5 minute stroll and the cost is a couple of Euro each way - if you go to Protaras find Nicholas Tavern (opposite end of the strip from McDonalds) for the best Meze or Kleftico you will find.
A very relaxing, comfortable and value for money resort with everything on site with as much or as little as you want do - the choice is yours!

Room Tip: Our room was opposite reception -2012 - great balcony drenched in sun all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenco105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My family and I visited the Malama on the 7th May for the first time after 5 previous trips to Cyprus. I have twins aged 4 and we had a fantastic holiday which was helped by staying at the Malama. The hotel was lovely and well maintained and the room was very spacious especially as we have twins. I have read the recent poor comments on this hotel and can say that we found the restaurant service very good and food of good quality. My wife and daughter slept in the double bed and I slept with my son in the two sofa beds pushed together. I found the sofa beds perfect with plenty of space and we requested extra pillows which came within 15 minutes of asking. We had maid service everyday which again helped us to relax.

We hired a car which we picked up from the airport and the cost was £160 for the week including petrol. This was great as we left the hotel after breakfast and went to Landa beach in Ayia Napa for the day and then returned later in the day for our evening meal. We went out again at night to Protaras and Ayia Napa (not drinking as we have kids) and this again was great as having a car we had freedom. We did not experience the entertainment in the hotel so I could not comment.

My conclusion is that the hotel has a modern feel about it with good service, clean and should be considered for your stay. It was the perfect hotel for us with kids but this was helped due to hiring a car as it helped us to get out and we stayed half board.

We have stayed in some top 5 star hotels in the world including the madinat in Dubai, Four Season in Boston, etc and we understand good and bad hotels. You get what you pay for and this hotel is not a 5 star but offers excellent value and I would call it a good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was a garden view suite upstairs which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Antony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was a lovely hotel. The appartments and grounds were well maintained and clean. It was only 20ish steps down to the lovel cove beach. There were plenty of sun beds, it was the last week before the season really began but they were getting ready for that by putting many more out. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was good and plentiful. Not a huge buffet but adiquete.
The shop on site was small but stocked a large selection of gifts and every day things. Papers were avaliable frrom around 09.30hrs! There were very few aminities surrounding the hotel but a 10min walk takes you to the bus stop. Would deff return here.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a pool/sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fastbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Although the rooms were spaceious the furniture resembled caravan furniture the accomodation was booked for 3 adults and 1 child the sleeping arrangements were 1 double bed which was hard and very uncomfortable and 2 single sofa chairs that did not even transform into a bed not suitable for an adult although on request a camp bed was provided for the child. The room we were oringinally in we had to move from as the shower base was blocked and over flowed.
On arrival we were able to order 1 drink rom the bar as it was closing the bar man was moody and abrupt not a warm welcome to paying guests.
The restraunt areas were small eating area inside and a large conservatory which was chilly to eat in at night and the furniture again basic, the waiting staff were slow to bring drink orders serving across your meal and putting their hands around the tops of the glasses confusing orders as we had to continually provide room numbers for the ordering of any food or drink, would had made more sence for wrist bands to be provided for fully inclusive guests.
Food was good although to the end of serving times choices were limited and some of the menu not available. Drinks from the bar were slow and on one occassion i was served by another rude bar man black currant tea when i ordered English tea when questioned he could not be bothered to get the requested tea from the kitchen this was served in dirty cups.
House keeping was poor I was aware the maid had been in if i had clean towels only I exspected clean linen each day but this was not completed the rooms did not smell clean or fresh on a daily basis. I contracted a really bad cough on holiday not surprising with the poor cleanliness of the accomodation, this was not only me as I was part of a wedding party and most of us suffered this illness whilst there or on our return.
The evening entertaiment was basic and repetative in a small dark and dingey area attached to the only bar in the hotel which was very busy at times and could not accomodate the guests.
Th shop on site was very expensive and the shop is not part of the hotel and the hotel will not take any responsibilities for complaints given by hotel guests about the shop or its staff which i experienced as my son who is an adult was accused of stealing a pack of mints.
The beaches were beautifiul and some of the surrounding area for walks but car hire would be required to venture out as the bus was packed and unsafe i would advise you to use the hire firm away from the hotel site as cheaper.
The hotel was rated 4 star and in reception states 3 star this would be questionable at times check the prices you are paying as i really over spent on this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hoodlum69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristos K, General Manager at Malama Beach Holiday Village, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to read your comments and find out long after your departure, since nothing was reported to us during your stay, that your holidays at Malama were not so “enjoyable”.

We believe that it is unnecessary to comment on every point in your statement as the comments made and published by many other happy quests are self explanatory and give a true and realistic picture of our standard of service.

However, we are obliged to comment regarding the unfortunate incident with your son who was caught stealing from the Hotel’s mini market and wish to inform you that the video from our security cameras is available and if you wish copy can be sent to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just got back from Malama and would never stay again alot of the reviews on here seem really good hence one of the reasons we booked but . the hot water in the room doesn't stay hot for long even though we had the immersion on for the whole 2 weeks of our stay !
The waitresses and waiters 2 in particular were dreadful we timed it we ordered the wine which was like vinegar i hasten to add, it took 20mins to get it to our table this happened on several occasions , so my husband and i sat there the next night and ordered the wine again just to see what an earth they were doing in the time, first they come over take or drinks order ask us our room number annoyingly for the hundredth time then must be the head waiter gives it to the waitress she puts it in her pocket goes and clears a few tables and take,s some other drinks orders ,then takes the other people there drinks and leaves us high and dry at this point my husband goes over to the bar to complain they send another waitress over she takes our room number again grrr then we get our drinks , as we finish our meal the original lady give,s us our drink this is a good 45 mins after its a joke , and rooms should be cleaned and sheets changed even on bank holidays and sundays there are no english chanels on tv bar from news and mtv don't norm watch tv on holiday but the evening entertainment is shocking everyone is crammed into this dingy room with brown floral chairs that have seen better days !!! a message to the management GET WITH THE 21ST CENTURY AND GET COLOR CODED WRIST BANDS that way you don't annoy your guest who have paid good money to have what food and drink available to be ask room number every time you go to the bar etc , and finally internet is way too expensive its a rip off and needs sorting out !! only positive thing is beach is beautiful rooms are clean but change floral sheets and curtains and get rid of the old fashioned brown blanket,s this hotel was rated 4star but in reception it clearly says 3 bear this in mind when staying here there is no way its a 4 star oh forgot drinks and food all finished at 12 so buy snack outside hotel not from the overpriced hotel shop nearly 3 euros for a bag of crisps !!! and you will be fine .

Room Tip: go on top floor as being on the ground was way too noisy with other peoples kids screaming at all ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leighsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Property: Malama Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing