We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We spent three days, at the beautiful Malama Holiday Village , and the experience was wonderful. Our room was very quiet (which we had requested), spacious and comfortable.

We booked an All Inclusive package (as we always do!) and were very pleased with the hotel in every aspect.



Thanks for the great stay and congratulations to the chef, many thanks to the waiters and bar tenders that were so helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stelios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
There are newer reviews for Malama Beach Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just a few words to say thank you about the lovely holiday we had at Malama. Our “batteries have been recharged”. We really enjoyed our holidays, the place is unique, the food fabulous with some local specialties that are really fantastic.
 
The resort is vey well maintained and recently refurbished. The apartment looks great.
 
Our vey special thanks to the animation team who made our stay really enjoyable.
 

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agisilaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

went to this hotel for 3 wks in may/june on arrival impressed with the book in went to rooms which were clean met liven andmaniros best 2 waiters in this hotel they knew what customer service is pity none of the other staff do went all inclusive big mistake poor selection as this hotel has a 1970 attitude to its customers and its older staff look down on a/inclusive customers the following was the experience we meet in this hotel
1 i asked for tomato juice on first night sorry none available then asked for ammerotto sorry wou want that thats extra on the 2nd night aked again any tomato juice the answer was if you want some go to the resturant yourself nice service malamo
my wife went to wash clothes in washing machine put money in did not work went to reception to get money back advised to go back maintanance would come and fix so back she went maintanace came looked at it and told her put clothes in ready as would get other guy to repair so she did puting in washing gel ready to start it up comes another joker did not even look at it and put an out of order note on it my wife pointed out that her clothes were in there full of soap he said not my problem fix later tomorrow
we phoned reception who advised to try again next day at 4 pm so did this guess wat still not done it took 4 days to repair and only thing wrong with it was they were too lazy to empty coins out of it
went to pool and noticed snacks were being served to local people went up told the rude waitress we were all inclusive and could we order snacks on all inclusive no you pay was answer
what when we were all inclusive
that night myself and one of my party went down with voimiting and diarhiea which put us in bed as so bad after this episode went and asked to see manager who was not there so saw a lady who took down my complaint and made apponintment for me to see the manager that evening went to the restuarant gave the room number next second the so called MAITRE D came up shouting out that i should see him about complaints this was in front of my party all other customers and his staff this is not very proffesional aND SHOWS WHAT THEY THINK OF THERE CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS owing to this i decided not to see the manager as could not endure having a slanging match with this rude ignorant man again
the next thing was on the 3 june when at 9 am a knock came on the door opened the door and chamber maid was there she said how long are you going to be in there i said 5/10 minutes her answer was well hurry up and get out as i am too busy to wait well sorry we are on holiday at her manner i said look give us clean towels and go which she did also please note they do not clean rooms or change towelson a sunday and on a saturday only change towels so 2 day a week room not cleaned
then we come to the pool bar demintrous the most rude ignorant bar waiter i have ever encountered he was only concerned in serving locals and taking euros went up to bar where he had just served greeks staying in the hotel he was all over them maybe because one was a woman they asked for large drinks ie fanta lemonade etc after he had served them looked at me and walked about trying hard not to serve me when he realized he had to serve me he said yes wat you want i asked for a large lemanade his answer was give it you know but next time you only get small one wat 2 mins before he had served other people no bother
restaurant after being bad was wheary of food in there went into dinner they had so called pork fillet and beef on menu i asked the server for a piece of each he hacked a piece of beef off seems he did not have the art of carving put the knife down took the carving fork and picked up a piece of fatty pork i informed him i wanted a fresh piece good job i did he hacked into the pork which fell apart under his onslaught showing that the whole inside of the pork was red raw i told him right away forget it as i did not want further stomach upsets he just shrugged his shoulders and askked the next customer what he wanted took the carving fork and put it back into the beef AS I HAVE BEEN IN CATERING FOR 40 YEARS THIS IN MY BOOK WAS CROSS CONTAIMATIONS OF THE WORST KIND AND MAKES YOU WANDER AS UNDER HEALTH RULING ALL FOOD STUFF MUST HAVE DIFFERENT UTENSILS FOR CARVING ALSO ALL FOOD STUFFS SHOULD HAVE A PROBE TO CHECK FOOD IS COOKED AT THE RIGHT TEMPERATURE AND IS FULLY COOKED
the next day i probed further asking the food servers what qualifications and training they had also did they have basic hygiene certifcates to which they said no traning and no hygiene certificates
also one asked me what i thought of the food when i said not much he said all food fried and recycled not very good that was from one of there own staff so it makes you wander what went on in the kitchen
as far as all inclusive its the worst one in cyprus and wouls i return to cyprus yes would i stay in this far out of town hotel no

there are many far better hotel,s to pick from which are real all inclusives and are in protasurus

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank driver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to read your comments regarding your stay at Malama.

We believe it is of no use to anyone to comment on each and every point of your review however we would like to emphasize the following two points.

Details of our all inclusive package are given to all the Tour Operators we have agreements with and are published in their brochures or websites. We are offering our guests, not less but in fact, much more from what we advertise. Our philosophy towards the all inclusive concept is quality rather than quantity. This approach undoubtedly, is greatly appreciated by all our guests and their comments are self-explanatory.

Our holiday village is certified with ISO 22000 which incorporates HACCP, a state-of-the art approach to food safety. More details of this certification are given in our website under “Awards”. Furthermore the local authorities regularly inspect the hotel and the relevant certificates are available for inspection.

Lastly we would like to clarify that the "pork" you are referring to as "red raw" was in fact a pork Gammon and as a food expert we are sure you know that when cooked it gets that reddish look.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just returned yesterday from Malama. Really enjoyed whole experience. Hotel is aprox 45 min by taxi from airport (cost us 97 euro return,booked with transfers4u) took some guests up to two hours on a transfer bus. It is not in protaras as I thought, its betrween there and parlimini.
The hotel is immaculate inside rooms and garden area, one of nicest places I've stayed. Lots of free sunbeds at pool, however you always get the usual sad sun-bed reservers! But still got beds easily when needed one.
The food was gorgeous, very greek, very high standard, more like restaurant standard, not a huge selection but enough for me, however, if you have plain eaters I do think you'd struggle, not a very big selection for kids, - chips, sausage and nuggets.
A chef often on preparing fresh stuff individually like pasta, stir fry or poached egg at breakfast, all looked devine but I refuse to stand for 20 min in que for it.
The all-inclusive is very limited, should be called some inclusive! There are lots of drinks not included like fresh juices, milkshakes for kids, slush puppies ect, so if you ask for these and they do not tell you they are extra you will be billed as you leave, not cheap either, 3/4 euro each, think this is wrong not including them. No snacks during day like burgers chips pizza round pool as most a.i. have, (not unless you order and buy them) only set meal times and only in restaurant.
Can't get why anyone would do self catering here, as theres nowhere to buy food and to eat out there is only 2 or 3 resturants, some-inclusive is def best option.
All in all we had a lovely week, glorious weather, nice place, lovely staff, very clean and roomy apartment with lovely food, what more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mitchy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Malama as a facility is very well situated.The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. The pools are nice and the sea beautifull. Especialy the children play park is huge and the animaters they good nice job with the kids.

Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Evros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend satyed at the malama holiday for 10 nights and it was the best holiday EVER. The hotel was absolutely spottless and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Most days we stayed around the pool and they have an animation entertainment team who just make it so much fun. All the reps were brilliant, especially Dorothy, Tony and Nikita. We joined in most of the activities but us and the reps loved vollyball, it was so funny. The food is fantasic, and the chef demetris is a fantastic cook and has a passion for food. Also all the bar staff are brilliant and friendly, we associated more with, Livin, Lidia and Marinos. Honestly the best holiday ever and we cant wait to go back. I would reccomend malama to everyone, they made my 21st birthday one to remember, they even gave me a card and champagne, so thank you all at the malama xxx

Room Tip: we chose sea view and it was absolutely brilliant. we had no sun shining in the morning on our balco...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Malama is located close to a little nice beach. Good for children of all ages. Great for snorcling and the hotel itself is great.
Nice architeckture, nice pools, desent food - espeacially the breakfast is great. If I was to go back to Cyprus this hotel would sure be consideration.

Room Tip: Go for 16-12. Great view over the poolarea and Sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JANHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Grecian Park Hotel
Grecian Park Hotel
#12 of 65 in Protaras
1,110 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
894 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunrise Pearl Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range: £53 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing