We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malama Beach Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malama Beach Holiday Village
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed here on a self-catering basis with my elderly parents. The apartment was spacious and well serviced. As mentioned by others, Alexia was very helpful. The amenities on site are excellent - the shop sold a wide range of goods,
The location, right above the beach is excellent. There appeared to be plenty of activities for children and the entertainers went around the pool-side encouraging the kids to join in. Adults were invited to have a go at archery.
It is about 5 minutes drive from a big supermarket and 10 mins from Protaras, but there are a range of restaurants within easy walking distance.
We stayed in a 2-room apartment above reception - and a bar - not open every night - I think they just used it when weather prevented the outside entertainment. Fortunately, everything was finished by 10.30pm, and the noise didn't disturb our Scrabble playing, but it might have been an issue for a family with small children.
The only other thing was that the pool area was completely open at the back to the public cliff-top path - but that seemed to be fairly common in the area.
The whole area is really nice. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, if possible. The rooms open onto patios which are completely open to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    332
    59
    22
    8
See reviews for
636
196
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here the first 10 days of June 2014 very impressed with everything and everyone top marks for accommodation staff in particular hellyana entertainment and her staff also Johnny and Stella bar staff they all looked after us exceptionally well As did all the staff we met recommend room 1611 great view of pool and sea this hotel gives you a fantastic holiday food great and varied we will definitely be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhac152948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a great holiday at Malama. We moved from a garden view room to a room overlooking the swimming pool, right next to the Seaview bar. Alexia in reception was very helpful to us throughout our stay and she had expressed concern that we may find this new room a bit noisy. However it was perfect. Once our 5 and 4 year olds were worn out from the Kids Disco, we were able to put them to bed and then sit on our balcony listening to the evening entertainment going on next to us, without it being so noisy that it kept the kids awake. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The pool and beach are lovely, the staff were all very helpful, and the weather was stunning (29 degrees every day, and about 21 in the evening. We never had to put the air con on at night, it was just a perfect temperature). Breakfast buffet was nice enough, nothing spectacular. But Alexia had recommended some fabulous traditional Tavernas to us so we took Taxis each evening to sample them all. All in all a great holiday with little ones in tow.

Room Tip: If you want to be ablel to see and hear a bit of music / life in the evenings once little ones are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a fabulous week here in May 2014. Our apartment was very spacious, well appointed and clean on our arrival. The amenities around the pool and on the nearby beach were great. We were self catering so didn't sample the on site restuarant but found plenty of good bars and restaurants a short stroll away. We wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Malama and we absolutely love it, we have just got back from a 9 day stay and we couldn't fault a thing. The staff are so friendly and always willing to help you, there is a large selection of food to choose from, it has a gorgeous pool and beach all right on the resort, it's perfect.
The accommodation are clean and very spacious.
We took our 2 daughters and they had loads of fun in the kids club, where they had there face painted, coloured in there own tshirt s, played pirates, went on treasure hunts, played in the pool, made sand castles on the beach and also had fun at the mini disco in the evening.
Short bus ride to Protaras which is only 1 euro and 50.
I really do highly recommend this hotel. We are now looking to go back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We weren't really sure what to expect of our week in Cyprus at Malama Beach Holiday Village, not having been on a holiday like this before, and overall we had a really good time. Our children are seven and four and are the ideal age for Malama's facilities and entertainment - especially the outdoor pools and the rather magical spa pool in its 'cavern' setting.

Plus points: the apartment was spacious and comfortable, and had a surprisingly well-equipped kitchen which we used most days to prepare lunch as we were half board. The whole village is spotlessly clean thanks to the tireless domestic staff, and the staff generally were excellent - special mention for Jonny at the Swimming Pool Bar and Alexia and the rest of the reception team. And of course the 'animation team' including the amazing Helly and her colleagues who persuaded a somewhat reluctant four-year old to take full part in the activities and overall it is done with such enthusiasm and good nature that it is hard not to be charmed - and the magician 'Dr Who' was excellent! The tennis courts are in good condition and were rarely busy (for keen players I would highly recommend the tennis coach Marios who can be booked through reception) and similarly the pools never felt too crowded. The mini supermarket is very well stocked and again the staff could not be more helpful. And the grounds are beautifully maintained...

We were slightly less impressed with the food. It is buffet style which is ideal for the kids as it meant plenty of choice and no hanging around with restless hungry children, and the quality overall was fine but the whole experience was reminiscent of an upmarket canteen/college dining hall rather than a hotel. Having said that I can see exactly why they do it as they do for a family venue and our expectations may have been slightly unrealistic given the excellent value of the accommodation. And when they put on special dishes which can be very good the queues were often rather slow.

Location is o.k. in terms of the access to the main road into Protaras and to Larnaca, but the local area is nothing to write home about and the beach is rather small, though the bay is very attractive. Empire Car Rentals in the hotel forecourt were excellent.

Finally the acid test - would we return? Probably not, but that is not down to the hotel, more to the surrounding area as we found that side of Cyprus a little arid. We would however recommend the Malama Beach Holiday Village to families looking for a very well run, small and safe facility for this type of holiday with pretty much guaranteed good weather.

Room Tip: Ground floor suites have their own little terraces. Our suite was 21-02 ideally situated between Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was our 3rd Malama visit and I can say that everything still in very high level. Room is very clean. Service is perfect. Special THANK YOU to Vidas, who did our each breakfast incredible and Maria Koutsolouka who help us in to solve any issue gracefully and with unbelievable speed. There is only one small minor thing - espresso at breakfast is totally not available.

Room Tip: Rooms which near the pool is little bit noisy during animation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.7 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#11 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.7 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
#14 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
Sunrise Gardens Hotel
#1 of 66 in Protaras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.3 mi away
Constantinos the Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malama Beach Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malama Beach Holiday Village

Property: Malama Beach Holiday Village
Address: Kennedy Ave, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#6 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#6 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malama Beach Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Malama Beach Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malama Holiday Village Protaras
Malama Holiday Village Hotel Protaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing